FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D

biastee
post Feb 12 2017, 11:51 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Feb 11 2017, 05:05 PM)
... "do you think your brain will still be as sharp 50 years from now?"

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2596698/
:-) Fortunately, the shrinking brain and cognitive decline which are highlighted by that article, can be combat with aerobic training.

https://academic.oup.com/biomedgerontology/...es-Brain-Volume

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-...ordination.html

https://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/05/07/a...it-brain-at-50/

:-) Isn't this a good excuse to step back from this forum and entrust the RM to invest on your behalf, so that u can channel your limited free time to training for the marathon / triathlon ?
biastee
post Feb 25 2017, 02:48 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 25 2017, 09:35 AM)
people jumped on Rhb emerging markets bond after xuzen talked about it.

Rhb Asian total return fund too was mentioned by him last year and suddenly every new member had it in their portfolio

so yeah. kinda scary when the new guys take things literally and form their portfolio based on ours here
Noob question alert

Why is the RHB EM's performance (bid-to-bid ann. return) so different from United Asian EM's when the former invests >95% into the latter?

For a new guy with neither time nor interest to do the necessary research, then the shortcuts are: 1. chase FD promos (follow bbgoat), 2. let the Relation Manager lead us by the nose (typically to poor returns), or 3. follow Xuzen's and other sifus' ports.

This post has been edited by biastee: Feb 25 2017, 02:50 PM
biastee
post Feb 25 2017, 04:14 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 25 2017, 03:03 PM)
The feeder fund is in MYR, the target fund is in SGD.

MYR performance will be influence by currency fluctuation (if myr depreciate against SGD, MYR performance will boost and vice versa)
Thank you for the answer. RM--SGD was relatively stable over 2012-2014 and so, I didn't expect to see such a large difference between the 5-year ann. returns.
biastee
post Feb 26 2017, 02:19 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(AIYH @ Feb 25 2017, 04:27 PM)
You sure? sweat.gif

[attachmentid=8525248]
Thank you for sharing the currency chart. Pertaining to the 2012-2014 period, my memory has failed me :-)
biastee
post Mar 6 2017, 09:42 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 6 2017, 08:53 PM)
All FSM bond funds have 0% SC but you pay platform fees la every quarter.  ranting.gif vmad.gif   bangwall.gif
QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 6 2017, 09:03 PM)
ya-lor...for every RM100 000 in Bond must pay them 0.4% (RM400) for year,
but then some people also said,...why invest in UT EQ funds when for every RM100 000 in EQ must pay them 2% SC (RM2000) + 1.5~2% Mgmt fees (RM1500~RM2000) per year  doh.gif
If buying either RHB Bond or RHB Islamic Bond, it is cheaper to do so on CIMB as there is neither s/c nor platform fee for these two. :-) Can buy on CIMB and then quietly transfer them to FSM?

This post has been edited by biastee: Mar 6 2017, 09:44 PM
biastee
post Mar 6 2017, 10:07 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 6 2017, 09:44 PM)
Thanks for the info.  thumbsup.gif I am looking for platform for Affin Select Bond Fund with 0% SC and 0% platform fees.
Me too! If I recall correctly, there was a 0% s/c promo at EUT last year. Anyway, won't this month should be an opportune time to buy this fund as it historically distributes in mid-March?

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 6 2017, 09:44 PM)

I don't know how to provide a link as the relevant page is behind a login. However the screen capture shows the relevant fund with the 0% s/c in red circles. Attached Image
biastee
post Mar 6 2017, 10:17 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(T231H @ Mar 6 2017, 09:44 PM)
after you quitely transferred...still will kena the platform fees wor
My bad. Shud transfer to EUT instead of FSM

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Mar 6 2017, 09:54 PM)
if no fees at all, why not just keep in CIMB?
I was dreaming of switching to RHB EM Bond during good times and then back to RHB Islamic during a recession....
biastee
post Mar 7 2017, 10:22 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 7 2017, 03:28 PM)
You use FSM to buy, you pay 0% service charge vs banks at 3%.
Maybe not all banks impose sales charge for PRS. Last year I bought 3k worth of PRS from CIMB and there was NO sales charge. However there was a RM10.60 PPA fee. But the fund choice is very limited.

This post has been edited by biastee: Mar 7 2017, 10:29 PM
biastee
post Jun 14 2017, 12:30 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(aoisky @ Jun 14 2017, 12:20 AM)
at 12 noon, updated price is RM 0.571, equivalent to 21.8% drop

This post has been edited by biastee: Jun 14 2017, 12:32 PM
biastee
post Aug 8 2017, 02:23 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Aug 8 2017, 10:52 AM)
In the first place are bonds able to survive a crash ?
QUOTE(Drian @ Aug 8 2017, 11:13 AM)
Depends on the ratings on the bond.
I'm pretty sure all A- to AAA rating bonds will be weather it.
biastee
post Jan 27 2018, 10:34 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jan 26 2018, 10:23 PM)
I personally prefer funds with a Sharpe ratio above 1 and avoid anything below 1
When we followed the Master into RHB EMB, it has a desirable Sharpe ratio (1.55). Attached Image
biastee
post Jan 27 2018, 10:26 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(WhitE LighteR @ Jan 27 2018, 11:06 AM)
Check again now for the latest one...
Of course, it is teruk now. mad.gif How swiftly fortune (& Sharpe ratio) changes....
biastee
post Jan 29 2018, 09:55 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(i1899 @ Jan 24 2018, 04:51 PM)
I just finished the switch processes of my Ta global Tech to United Global Quality EQ, for more diversification purpose and also for below reason.

[attachmentid=9540263]

Ta global tech is lagging behind its mother fund more than 20% in 1 year time, because Ta Global tech only invest 70% into its mother fund, and keep 30% of ur money as liquid asset, which is against to it asset allocation in Product Highlight Sheet :

"minimum of 95% of the fund’s Net Asset Value (NAV) will be invested in the Henderson Horizon Fund – Global Technology Fund (“the Target Fund”), with the balance in liquid assets."

[attachmentid=9540297]

It is not acceptable for me. Like information on the packaging is different like things inside.
Semi-annual report emailed to me last week showed that the cash fraction has increased further to 36%.

This post has been edited by biastee: Jan 29 2018, 09:56 PM
biastee
post Nov 3 2018, 08:07 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Oct 25 2018, 08:24 PM)
https://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/artic...emailblast.html

anyone interested in this?

whats the pro and cons... ?
Since nobody answered, I will take a stab at your question. However, I must warn that I am just a novice. Hopefully, other sifus can correct me if I am wrong.

Pro's
No annual management fee (vs. bond funds' 1% typical).
Assuming no default, full refund of capital on call date
Availability of high-yield / unrated bond (vs. local bond funds' typical better than BBB rated, but lower yield )

Con's
One-time 0.5% processing fee (vs. 0% sales charge for bond funds on FSM)
Concentration risk
You'll need to judge the bond's creditworthiness / default risk
High minimum amount (>=RM10k for Bond Express)

Two problems specific to this EcoWorld bond are:
No step-up coupon if the issuer doesn't redeem on the call date
No guarantor ( smile.gif unlike 1MDB which is guaranteed by both IPIC and gomen)

This post has been edited by biastee: Nov 3 2018, 08:11 PM
biastee
post Jun 21 2020, 02:42 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jun 21 2020, 09:21 AM)
No, switching within the same fund house is free.

But it is strange though that I could not switch from TA Global to TA Dana Afif which is less volatile.
I was trying to do the same switch in March, but CS told me that TA Dana Afif is no longer available for purchase. :-( Within the TA universe, there's no bond fund to seek refuge in.
biastee
post Nov 6 2020, 02:31 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(IdiotGuY88 @ Nov 1 2020, 03:31 PM)
the new website i dont like the watchlist page, i prefer old watchlist UI, can compare performance to see, 1week, 1mth, 3mth, 6mth  that kind of info
If the missing 1W, 1M, 3M, & 6M, etc data negatively affects you, try dropping your CS an email. If enough of us make noise, they will be compelled to address our grievances. My CS replied that they will make some changes on the watchlist module by next week.

0.0598sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 06:29 AM