Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.15, Strictly for FD Discussion Only

bbgoat
post Mar 29 2017, 08:40 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(5p3ak @ Mar 29 2017, 08:31 PM)
Thanks for your reply, kinda interested for that 5 years, no need to think too much  laugh.gif
laugh.gif how about "asking too much ................". devil.gif

BR wise seems to change policy from time to time. Diff branch seems to operate differently. From not giving BC to giving then now not giving BC. Today has to do Rentas to xfer out the dough. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Mar 29 2017, 08:42 PM
Bonescythe
post Mar 29 2017, 11:00 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(vivienne85 @ Mar 29 2017, 08:01 PM)
hi. MV hlb branch opens until what time for both weekdays and weekend?
Weekday 7pm
Weekend i think 5pm

pearl_white
post Mar 30 2017, 09:54 AM

232 posts

With the prolific use of online banking (transfers etc), banks are starting to discourage, charge RM2, discontinue the use of paper transfers.

2 years down the road, when the majority of population goes online, banks are going to restructure their operations, starting with the closure of branches.

Fyi, in 2016, UK closed 1000 bank branches, in 2017, they are expected to close 700 branches just because of the "online" phenomena.

It is going to happen to M'sia too, and I am sure the unions are going to be up in arms.
pearl_white
post Mar 30 2017, 12:11 PM

232 posts

As you are aware, BR would be bought over by PNB soon and hence will change considerably. Good FD rates will be a thing of the past, and most likely, would be based on KLIBOR reference. It may be merged with another bank.

For those of you who have FD's > 5 banks with rm300k+ in each bank. you might consider merging it for better efficiency on your part. Look at it, rm300k+ (thus gaining the hadap PB status) is as what genxgenygenz shiok sendiri status, may not be giving you the best returns.

Put it in one piece, to nego better.

And for PIDM, it just a feel good. In reality, any bank troubles 1st takes away your deposits, and when PIDM is paid to your a/c, the bank has every right to take it away from you the 2nd time.
lamode
post Mar 30 2017, 12:51 PM

anything could happen!
3,902 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 29 2017, 05:39 PM)
In BR to withdraw FD. Have nego before. They do not have FD promo currently. So nego for 1 year from 3.7% board rate to 3.9%. For 2 yr can offer nego of 4.1%. 5 yrs 4.5%. Up to March month end only. April offer not known yet.  biggrin.gif

I think BR 5 yrs 4.5% can consider better than AmBank 4.35%.

Anyway moved to CIMB at 4.2% 12 mth. This is only for CIMB Preferred customer. For normal customer, CIMB FD promo 12 mth 4.1% for conventional and 4.05% for Islamic FD.

[attachmentid=8660585]
For CIMB FD placed from branch, anyone manage to do both principle and interest credit to account upon maturity? icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif I was told the principle is set to auto-renew by default, it can't be changed.

anyhow, managed to place a conventional FD at 4.2% for 12 mth without being preferred customer at Jalan Sarjana, Cheras branch. The min for this rate is 100k. smile.gif

This post has been edited by lamode: Mar 30 2017, 12:52 PM
bbgoat
post Mar 30 2017, 12:57 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(lamode @ Mar 30 2017, 12:51 PM)
For CIMB FD placed from branch, anyone manage to do both principle and interest credit to account upon maturity?  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif  I was told the principle is set to auto-renew by default, it can't be changed.

anyhow, managed to place a conventional FD at 4.2% for 12 mth without being preferred customer at Jalan Sarjana, Cheras branch. The min for this rate is 100k.  smile.gif
Yesterday I was asked if I want to auto renew principal and interest together. But since I want to keep the sweet round figure so I opted for interest to SA and principal auto renew.

For CIMB Preferred, the minimum amt for the 12 mth 4.2% is 10k only. biggrin.gif
mushigen
post Mar 30 2017, 04:42 PM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(Cookie101 @ Mar 19 2017, 05:46 PM)
Encountered that too... They are quite lenient about the fresh funds requirement.. The counter lady offered renewal upon request of upliftment.

But won't place with them till there's better promo. They have a troublesome rules- the most annoying is you must uplift at the branch you place unless the other branch's manager that u want to uplift allows. Otherwise only 20k per slip. If you happen to ask for interest to add to principal renewal then you can't take at all.

It is also restricting interbank withdrawal of 20k. Wtf. First bank encountered to restrict funds moving within branches.

Those who travel or work at other state frequently won't be able to withdraw or uplift due to these restrictions. And by default placement they will lock it to your domicile branch - original account branch. No issue for placement funds to existing account but hard time withdrawal with all those rules.
That is why I only put RM10k max per certificate due to ease of uplifting at another branch. If you put RM20k with interest added to principal, for sure you will not be able to uplift at another branch as it will exceed RM20k/certificate.
They also limit the number of certificates you can uplift to IIRC 3 pcs as I could not uplift more than 3 certificates from other branch.
This is better than tiger bank where the max amount per non-branch certificate is just RM10k the last time I tried to uplift.

It seems like the requirement for PBB is not standard across the board. For example, proof of residence to open savings account in a state where the state is different from your IC. One branch simply requires you to produce a TNB/TM bill which does not need to be in your name, whereas another requires the bill to be in your name.
Some branch are very strict in definition of fresh fund, whereas another allows you to get a new FD cert if you top up 10% of face value (example: you can use the fund from the RM10k FD cert you just uplifted provided you top up RM1k to get a new RM11k FD cert).
cklimm
post Mar 30 2017, 05:20 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(pearl_white @ Mar 30 2017, 12:11 PM)

And for PIDM, it just a feel good.  In reality, any bank troubles 1st takes away your deposits, and when PIDM is paid to your a/c, the bank has every right to take it away from you the 2nd time.
During the last bank run in Bolehland, Bank Negara takes over control of the troubled MBF, hence the management wont take your money, and BNM wont take your money, as they were the one established PIDM
bbgoat
post Mar 30 2017, 05:41 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 30 2017, 04:42 PM)
It seems like the requirement for PBB is not standard across the board. For example, proof of residence to open savings account in a state where the state is different from your IC. One branch simply requires you to produce a TNB/TM bill which does not need to be in your name, whereas another requires the bill to be in your name.
Some branch are very strict in definition of fresh fund, whereas another allows you to get a new FD cert if you top up 10% of face value (example: you can use the fund from the RM10k FD cert you just uplifted provided you top up RM1k to get a new RM11k FD cert).
For PBB, they will ask for 10% top up. But I have encountered before just top up few hundred will do, then get renewed FD to current promo rate. biggrin.gif
lowdensity
post Mar 30 2017, 07:00 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 30 2017, 05:41 PM)
For PBB, they will ask for 10% top up. But I have encountered before just top up few hundred will do, then get renewed FD to current promo rate.  biggrin.gif
usually, did you ask service counter or the customer service for the exception?
mushigen
post Mar 30 2017, 07:11 PM

4,950 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 30 2017, 05:41 PM)
For PBB, they will ask for 10% top up. But I have encountered before just top up few hundred will do, then get renewed FD to current promo rate.  biggrin.gif
The PBb Sunway teller didn't give me this option after i uplifted 3 matured promo FD certs. Told me must trf out the money for don't know how many days b4 it is considered fresh fund. This sum now sits in my MBB Gia account.
bbgoat
post Mar 30 2017, 07:59 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(lowdensity @ Mar 30 2017, 07:00 PM)
usually, did you ask service counter or the customer service for the exception?
Just the counter staff. They will ask u if u want to renew. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 30 2017, 07:11 PM)
The PBb Sunway teller didn't give me this option after i uplifted 3 matured promo FD certs. Told me must trf out the money for don't know how many days b4 it is considered fresh fund. This sum now sits in my MBB Gia account.
Bank branches SOP differs quite often. tongue.gif
vivienne85
post Mar 30 2017, 09:54 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Mar 29 2017, 11:00 PM)
Weekday 7pm
Weekend i think 5pm
thanks!
Pain4UrsinZ
post Mar 30 2017, 10:07 PM

1,856 posts

any offer for 1 year with monthly interest credit into principal ?
StarPrimo
post Mar 30 2017, 10:18 PM

1,845 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 30 2017, 10:07 PM)
Looking this promo too...
icon_question.gif
Any banks offering this?
.......1 year with monthly interest credit into principal....

Thanks in advance.

This post has been edited by StarPrimo: Mar 30 2017, 10:19 PM
GloryKnight
post Mar 31 2017, 11:05 AM

1,770 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Mar 30 2017, 12:57 PM)
Yesterday I was asked if I want to auto renew principal and interest together. But since I want to keep the sweet round figure so I opted for interest to SA and principal auto renew.

For CIMB Preferred, the minimum amt for the 12 mth 4.2% is 10k only.  biggrin.gif
hey brogoat, which cimb branch is this though? How can we get it - preferred? I thought 100k to get that.
bbgoat
post Mar 31 2017, 11:09 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(GloryKnight @ Mar 31 2017, 11:05 AM)
hey brogoat, which cimb branch is this though? How can we get it - preferred? I thought 100k to get that.
Not CIMB branch related. If u are their Preferred customer, then min 10k will do. 100k is what the other forummer said for non Preferred customer. But I think need to depends on the branch concerned. biggrin.gif
pearl_white
post Mar 31 2017, 01:07 PM

232 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Mar 30 2017, 05:20 PM)
During the last bank run in Bolehland, Bank Negara takes over control of the troubled MBF, hence the management wont take your money, and BNM wont take your money, as they were the one established PIDM
You are referring to bail out situations where taxpayers save the bank. The use of this option no longer applies or is going to be used with new BASEL requirements. EU and Japan has abandoned it. US and China is in the process of abandoning it. Soon, it will be shunned by more countries in this part of the world.

In a bail-in, where depositors/bondholders/creditors are used to save the bank, your PIDM will also be used to save the bank.
michaelho
post Mar 31 2017, 01:50 PM

546 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Mar 30 2017, 11:07 PM)
QUOTE(StarPrimo @ Mar 30 2017, 11:18 PM)
Looking this promo too...
icon_question.gif
Any banks offering this?
.......1 year with monthly interest credit into principal....

Thanks in advance.
CIMB . Opt for their Islamic FD, monthly interest NOT into the principal though, into Savings account
enriquelee
post Mar 31 2017, 02:11 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

Got any good FD for kids?

1670 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:30 AM