Proton Prevé V23, Livin la vida loca

axsatr
post Apr 17 2016, 09:39 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(lol~ @ Apr 13 2016, 10:19 PM)
Hi, anyone here own manual preve? I currently list some cars to buy. Preve manual is in my list. Is the gb performance good?got any issue?

Why manual? My mum own cvt preve and i dont like it but the handling is great. So i wanna seek some comment from owners who own manual gb preve. Hope someone can give me comment. Thx smile.gif
I have one, lemme give you some pros and cons:

Pros:
i) The GB is smooth and gear change is very slick (no/minimum rubbery feel)
ii) Power is more than enough for me, acceleration feels good, only gear 1 feels slightly heavy (heavy car)
iii) RPM at 110 km/h ~ 2700; 120 km/h ~ 3000
iv) The clutch feels good, bite is good, very hard to almost impossible mati enjin.
v) Fuel consumption is great considering it's a C-seg (Town~8-9 l/100km; Hway~5-6.5 l/100km)
(I went Seremban -> Cameron (Uphill + Jam + Jalan2) -> Penang Island in one full tank -- 7.8 l/100km average)
vi) It will easily maintain a high speed for highway crusing (>160 km/h)
vii) No CVT whine or any noises from the GB at all rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif

Cons:
i) Proton QC (Front doors have minor plastic rattle, seat bunyi, and some other random cheap plastic sounds)
ii) Already in SC 3 times for because sometimes the car susah nak start doh.gif
iii) Proton customer service rclxub.gif
iv) Radio reception a lil' bit fragile

Overall, still have my doubts since my car is just 4 months old and already 3 times in SC, but driving it feels good. I'm just glad that I didn't take the Iriz instead sweat.gif rclxub.gif whistling.gif

SUSBlackscreamerz
post Apr 17 2016, 11:44 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Apr 15 2016, 02:55 PM)
what tyres are you using? last time i use 'cut water' tyres for my old car, also got this problem
Stock tyre lo. I havent change the ori tyre yet.

I remember i read it somewhere in the thread got ppl face this issue too. But dont know solve already or not.
alexander3133
post Apr 18 2016, 07:19 AM

1,716 posts

QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 15 2016, 12:37 PM)
Did you guys experience the car keep align to the left while driving? Even after alignment done.
QUOTE(yokoloco @ Apr 15 2016, 02:55 PM)
what tyres are you using? last time i use 'cut water' tyres for my old car, also got this problem
QUOTE(Blackscreamerz @ Apr 17 2016, 11:44 PM)
Stock tyre lo. I havent change the ori tyre yet.

I remember i read it somewhere in the thread got ppl face this issue too. But dont know solve already or not.
Road design comes with cross slope, to let the rain water flow to the side of the road to prevent water pool on the road.

Therefore the road will have certain slope, and that's why car will move to the left of the road slowly when you drive it hands free after you keep the steering straight.

More information here:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cross_slope
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drainage_gradient
lol~
post Apr 18 2016, 01:51 PM

365 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Apr 17 2016, 09:39 PM)
I have one, lemme give you some pros and cons:

Pros:
i) The GB is smooth and gear change is very slick (no/minimum rubbery feel)
ii) Power is more than enough for me, acceleration feels good, only gear 1 feels slightly heavy (heavy car)
iii) RPM at 110 km/h ~ 2700; 120 km/h ~ 3000
iv) The clutch feels good, bite is good, very hard to almost impossible mati enjin.
v) Fuel consumption is great considering it's a C-seg (Town~8-9 l/100km; Hway~5-6.5 l/100km)
    (I went Seremban -> Cameron (Uphill + Jam + Jalan2) -> Penang Island in one full tank -- 7.8 l/100km average)
vi) It will easily maintain a high speed for highway crusing (>160 km/h)
vii) No CVT whine or any noises from the GB at all  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif

Cons:
i) Proton QC (Front doors have minor plastic rattle, seat bunyi, and some other random cheap plastic sounds)
ii) Already in SC 3 times for because sometimes the car susah nak start  doh.gif
iii) Proton customer service  rclxub.gif
iv) Radio reception a lil' bit fragile

Overall, still have my doubts since my car is just 4 months old and already 3 times in SC, but driving it feels good. I'm just glad that I didn't take the Iriz instead  sweat.gif  rclxub.gif  whistling.gif
Thx for the comment. For cons no i & ii, is it only your car or a common problem for manual preve? And is the problem solved?

This post has been edited by lol~: Apr 18 2016, 01:51 PM
plumberly
post Apr 18 2016, 07:45 PM

4,761 posts

Planning to do my oil hose replacement (the one announced some months ago by Proton).

Like to know from those who have done it, do they drain the oil, replace the hose and then top up with new oil?

If that is the case, then I will postpone it till my next car service.

TS:3mushy:3
post Apr 18 2016, 10:14 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(plumberly @ Apr 18 2016, 07:45 PM)
Planning to do my oil hose replacement (the one announced some months ago by Proton).

Like to know from those who have done it, do they drain the oil, replace the hose and then top up with new oil?

If that is the case, then I will postpone it till my next car service.

Not sure, I did mine long time ago during service.

Any way, did any of you change the coil springs of your car? Mind to share the brand, cost and driving experience?
axsatr
post Apr 18 2016, 10:59 PM

185 posts

QUOTE(lol~ @ Apr 18 2016, 01:51 PM)
Thx for the comment. For cons no i & ii, is it only your car or a common problem for manual preve? And is the problem solved?
For the QC issue, I think it depends on your luck with Proton. My uncle's Iriz rattles like hell. Meanwhile, my rattles are barely audible (I have stupidly good hearing, everyone else says there are no rattles when tumpang my car). Oh the seat squeaky sound they settled for me though, now all good

For the susah start issue, I honestly don't know, it doesn't happen every time, maybe once a week, or even more, but when it happens, the just won't start for a minute or so, I normally will lepak for a while and try again, should work. Already sent to proton 3 times, better now

Today my ESC light suddenly came on during driving, normal road, 80 km/hr and baru one week plus after my 10k service. After off and on engine, light gone, sigh.

My car is 4 months old...Proton quality is really not the best

This post has been edited by axsatr: Apr 18 2016, 11:01 PM

yokoloco
post Apr 19 2016, 12:37 AM

1,116 posts

my airbag indicator light is always on. occasionally it goes off.. any fix? or sensor problem?
Boy96
post Apr 19 2016, 01:07 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Apr 19 2016, 12:37 AM)
my airbag indicator light is always on. occasionally it goes off.. any fix? or sensor problem?
Having the same issue too, some adviced to check the cables under the seat, it might be loose. But for mine i checked already still ok but airbag light still on
lol~
post Apr 19 2016, 06:17 AM

365 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Apr 18 2016, 10:59 PM)
For the QC issue, I think it depends on your luck with Proton. My uncle's Iriz rattles like hell. Meanwhile, my rattles are barely audible (I have stupidly good hearing, everyone else says there are no rattles when tumpang my car). Oh the seat squeaky sound they settled for me though, now all good

For the susah start issue, I honestly don't know, it doesn't happen every time, maybe once a week, or even more, but when it happens, the just won't start for a minute or so, I normally will lepak for a while and try again, should work. Already sent to proton 3 times, better now

Today my ESC light suddenly came on during driving, normal road, 80 km/hr and baru one week plus after my 10k service. After off and on engine, light gone, sigh.

Thx for the comment. I really appreciate it.
JunJun04035
post Apr 19 2016, 09:02 AM

Sir Kalahari, Duke of Autocorrect
1,167 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 19 2016, 01:07 AM)
Having the same issue too, some adviced to check the cables under the seat, it might be loose. But for mine i checked already still ok but airbag light still on
your airbag is frightened with your driving je la
SportyHandling
post Apr 19 2016, 09:32 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Apr 18 2016, 10:59 PM)

QUOTE(yokoloco @ Apr 19 2016, 12:37 AM)
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Apr 19 2016, 01:07 AM)
Seems like I am not the only one who noticed on the airbag light that is intermittently lit up on the screen. Not on my Preve Turbo but the replacement car that Proton provided last year when my car was stuck at the service centre for the gearbox replacement. Kudos to Proton for customer service, generally better than Ford, only applicable for COSE and not smaller Proton service centres elsewhere.

The replacement car that was loaned to me by Proton was the same model Proton Preve Turbo, and upon starting the engine, the airbag light was on, permanently. Even when driving, the airbag light was permanently on, which gave a weird feeling on the lack of quality of the car. After sometime, the light went off for few minutes, then it came back up again.

Fortunately, my car does not exhibit all these lights malfunction issues (touch wood), airbag or ESC. Only rattling and buzzing sound in the cabin from plastics and doors.

benny888
post Apr 20 2016, 10:31 AM

Gadget Freak
27,801 posts

My wife Preve CFE is already 3 years old
The only quality issue we had was slight rattling noise at back which was rectified within an hour at service center in the week 2 of purchase
I must say we are very lucky to get a near perfect car without all those problems reported here

HeReLiSm
post Apr 22 2016, 11:34 AM

488 posts

Went to a SC to service my car for 80k. Was recommended by the SA to change timing belt, plus several other things, as he said 80k is a major service. I just paid over rm1k for major service at 60k, now I have to pay another rm1k+ just after 20k?

I changed my mind and leave the SC. Upon further checking in the periodical service schedule book, timing belt changing only at 120k. Lucky i didnt go ahead and service my car as per recommended.

This post has been edited by HeReLiSm: Apr 22 2016, 04:18 PM
post Apr 22 2016, 12:19 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Apr 22 2016, 11:34 AM)
Went to a SC to service my car for 80k. Was recommended by the SA to change timing belt, plus several other things, as he said 80k is a major service. I just pay over rm1k for major service at 60k, now I have to pay another rm1k+ just after 20k?

I changed my mind and leave the SC. Upon further checking in the periodical service schedule book, timing belt changing only at 120k. Lucky i didnt go ahead and service my car as per recommended.
Case of bad SC being gullible trying to con unsuspecting customers. Best to 'make a scene' in order for them to learn a lesson.
ben3003
post Apr 22 2016, 12:36 PM

10,859 posts

anyone got recalled for the wat window hemming thingy? the service advisor told me is like change the glue or wat i dunno.. can share details if anyone got?
fikku
post Apr 22 2016, 02:35 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(HeReLiSm @ Apr 22 2016, 11:34 AM)
Went to a SC to service my car for 80k. Was recommended by the SA to change timing belt, plus several other things, as he said 80k is a major service. I just pay over rm1k for major service at 60k, now I have to pay another rm1k+ just after 20k?

There's a thread about which proton sc is good or not. Mind contribute there for other ppl to know which sc they can safely go? smile.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3289183
HeReLiSm
post Apr 22 2016, 04:20 PM

488 posts

QUOTE(fikku @ Apr 22 2016, 02:35 PM)
There's a thread about which proton sc is good or not. Mind contribute there for other ppl to know which sc they can safely go? smile.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3289183
Yup, I have referred to the thread before went there, and the SC is quite highly recommended by other forumers as well.
Higuain
post Apr 22 2016, 06:26 PM

906 posts

anyone knows what does it mean by black tape repair and sundries sealant sand paper?

post Apr 22 2016, 07:07 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Higuain @ Apr 22 2016, 06:26 PM)
anyone knows what does it mean by black tape repair and sundries sealant sand paper?
No idea what they are used for. Were they charged? How much?

269 Pages « < 65 66 67 68 69 > » Top

0.0445sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:02 AM