7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Proton PrevĂ© V23, Livin la vida loca

plumberly
post Aug 24 2015, 10:56 AM

4,761 posts

Just came back after my 1st year service. Now switched from S 1000 to S 800.

The SC did not do the car body check. They don't know how to do that! Where do you send yours for the annual car body check? Hope that mine is not too late as it will void the car body warranty.

plumberly
post Aug 31 2015, 06:44 PM

4,761 posts

Like to know whether the positions (distance apart) of the steering wheel and the brake/oil pedals are about the same as in Preve and in Wira.

Why?

My wife and I have been using our old Wira sedan and Wira aeroback for about 10 years. During that time, we never adjusted the seat position of either cars to suit our different height.

But when it comes to Preve, a BIG difference now. She has to move the seat very close to the steering wheel, so close that I cannot get into the seat when I want to drive!

Sorry to the fairer sex, lady drivers indeed! Ha.

This post has been edited by plumberly: Sep 1 2015, 09:24 AM
plumberly
post Oct 11 2015, 10:16 AM

4,761 posts

Speaking my mind:

AA
I was driving my son to school on a 2 lanes road. There were 4 cars: 1,2 infront and 3, 4 behind the front 2 cars. I was #4. Car 3 squeezed into my lane, cut into his original lane overtaking car 1. He did it at quite a high speed and without using signal lights. You bet, I was cursing this guy. I don't care how good is he in driving, he should not do such an aggressive overtaking. One question came to mind then. Are the professional F1 drivers good/safe drivers on the road or are they the speedy, careless type on the road?

BB
Noted a hr+min data on the front panel (press the button at the end of the wiper stick a few times). Initially I thought it tells me what is the approximate driving time I have after topping up the petrol. Realised later is the total driving time since I got the car. It is only 50+ hrs. Cannot be, I have used the car for 14 months now. That works out to be 0.1 hr or 6 mins per day. Cannot be. I use the car for at least 30 mins per day.

Maybe disconnecting the battery will reset that? I sent in my car for a checkup in Aug and they checked the battery. So starting from Aug, it works out to be 50/60*60 = 50 mins /day. That is more reasonable.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Oct 12 2015, 07:46 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(efilah @ Oct 12 2015, 05:10 PM)
For BB, the time will reset by itself once it goes beyond 99:59. Same as Trip Mileage, it will reset back to zero once it goes beyond 999.9km.
I see. Thanks.
plumberly
post Dec 27 2015, 04:20 PM

4,761 posts

A quick sharing here. Used my 1+ yr Preve for a family trip to a town some 200 km away during the Xmas break.

AA
Checked spare tyre pressure, took some time to reach 60 psi. That was the second time I checked the pressure of the spare tyre. Surprised at how fast it has deflated. Better check your spare tyre more regularly.

The design for the spare tyre placement is no good. Hard to get to the inlet valve. Need to turn the tyre upside down in order to have access to the inlet valve.

BB
For the 480 km return trip, my fuel usage was 7.0 L/100 km and average speed was 53 kmph.

CC
Used the GPS for the second time. Find it very useful especially when I need to go back to the hotel in the evening.

Like to know whether it is possible to enter a GPS co-ordinate and then view the map of that location on the screen WITHOUT physically getting to that location. Why? Like to know whether it shows the road etc or not as my GPS software is some 2-4 yrs behind.

DD
Impressed with the turbo power. Made my over taking easier. Can feel the car speeding up. POWER! Ha.

Excellent Preve car! Ha.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Jan 4 2016, 10:16 AM

4,761 posts

Noted that my car GPS is now 4 years old, or rather 4 yrs out of date. Options available are:
AA
update to the latest one and pay RMxxx
BB
somehow and somewhere, upgrade for free
CC
change over to GPS on tablet

Appreciate your view especially if you have updated yours recently.

plumberly
post Jan 4 2016, 04:30 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(zgerm @ Jan 4 2016, 04:15 PM)
why not use waze
Many thanks.

Had a look on the web on this WAZE.

If I understand correctly,
AA it runs on mobile or tablet
BB requires net connection (not just GPS connection)
CC gives direction to destination like the GPS in the car

If BB is correct, then not really suitable for me as my car does not have wireless net gadget.

Please clarify.

The other option is Here Map Here Drive.

plumberly
post Jan 4 2016, 08:33 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jan 4 2016, 07:23 PM)
Try option A, be a good human and let me copy your SD card and hope it works tongue.gif
OK, I may buy one?

But I am not a good human. I am a bad alien. Aliens are very selfish, we do not give things to others to copy!

Aliens Tak Boleh!!!

Ha.
plumberly
post Jan 4 2016, 08:49 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Jan 4 2016, 08:38 PM)
Well if it works, next time we could chip in some money in a group and send one car to update.

300+ is too much for a mere update, one could buy a much more content-reliable GPS like Papago for example.
Yes, come to think of it, I think they modified the SD card system such that it will only read their SD cards for the update.

Is this security breakable by an IT friend here? Ha. Any one has done that?

Yes, RM300+ for an upgrade is too much.

plumberly
post Jan 18 2016, 06:49 PM

4,761 posts

As per the manual, need to swap the wheels, front to back and back to front once 20,000 km is reached. Mine is nearly there.

AA
Do we do that at SC?

BB
Free?

CC
Do they also do wheel balancing as part of the wheel rotation? Or no need as long as I have not changed any thing on the wheels? But the tear and wear on the threads will result in some in-balance.

plumberly
post Jan 19 2016, 11:13 AM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Jan 19 2016, 09:10 AM)
Some SC can do it, some can't.
Not free, even in tyre shop is not free.
Optional.

The tyre swapping is entirely optional, although suggested. Check the tyres condition yourself and you can justify if a rotation is needed by the wear. I used to do it religiously, but I've learned that it is not necessary as long as there is no unusual/excessive wear.

Will measure the threads and see. If they are uneven, then I will swap the tyres.
plumberly
post Jan 19 2016, 03:26 PM

4,761 posts

Took measurements on my tyre's treads.

The front tyres are about 2 mm lower than the back tyres. Measured at 3 locations for each tyres.

With 1.6 mm depth as the minimum (see manual), looks like I better swap the tyres around at the end of 2016 rather than now, and change out the 4 tyres at the end of 2018 (or earlier if the tread depth gets to 1.6 mm earlier).

I know the wear and tear vary from day to day even with the same driver. The above will give me a guide.

Cheerio.
plumberly
post Jan 27 2016, 03:11 PM

4,761 posts

Like to know what is the resale value for a 2 yrs old Preve turbo? In excellent condition.

plumberly
post Jan 27 2016, 06:56 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(myteam94 @ Jan 27 2016, 06:47 PM)
can check on carbase.my

Tried it but it does not have Preve turbo for 2014 model.

Will see later.
plumberly
post Feb 16 2016, 06:52 PM

4,761 posts

Need help.

My car GPS map is playing up. It shows the last map on starting up. When I drove around, the map remained static.

How can I reset the program?

What else can I do?

plumberly
post Feb 26 2016, 02:30 PM

4,761 posts

Sent my Preve in for 1.5 yr service.

After having the ESC faulty error for 1.5 years, now they finally fixed it (I hope!). Said they have adjusted the steering wheel. Have suggested to them to check with their HQ, get the error messages from the computer (eg adjust steering wheel?).Will test it out.

My car GPS is still not fixed yet. Position will remain stagnant while the car is moving. Said about refer to service book and replacing the software. Any one has similar experience with faulty GPS and they replaced the software? Hope that it will be latest GPS software and free under warranty!

Like to know what types of special engine oil we can add to Preve Turbo to improve the engine performance (smoother drive). Appreciate feedback from those who have used it. One type is banned by Proton due to the breakdown of the oil at high temp in the turbo part.

plumberly
post Feb 26 2016, 07:05 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Feb 26 2016, 04:32 PM)
1)
Experienced the same problem before.
Mine was happened after changed the steering rack. ESC indicator will lit up when drive straight at certain KM (tested at LEKAS highway).
Complain at SC Nilai, they check thru PADT and found steering angle was the culprit.
Did steering angle calibration/re-zero, problem solved till now.

2)
Is yours Preve Premium 2015 (Blaupunkt HU)?
Mine, no problem.

3)
No comment.

plumberly
post Feb 29 2016, 02:05 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(danielstc @ Feb 29 2016, 11:30 AM)
I had the GPS issue - Change the Antenna base and it solved.

Waiting for the SC to let me know on how they are going to solve that.
plumberly
post Feb 29 2016, 05:46 PM

4,761 posts

QUOTE(danielstc @ Feb 29 2016, 05:15 PM)
Good luck - they change the internal antenna cable 3x - the fourth time they change the antenna base... so technically they took 2-3 months with me going back there multiple times before it was resolved... i hope proton do improve this area cause what they lack now is the service which makes me  vmad.gif
I see.

I do feel that their SC technicians are not really that good. Basic things like oil change etc, they can do. But troubleshooting, doh.gif ?

Worse still in rural Sarawak compared to W Msia!

I guess the problem is, good technicians are very mobile and in demand. Thus they leave for greener pastures elsewhere.
plumberly
post Mar 9 2016, 10:53 AM

4,761 posts

SC checked and adjusted the steering wheel for my faulty ESC alarm recently.

Now still getting the ESC alarm (non blinking = faulty alarm).

Beside steering wheel, what else have they adjusted to fix the problem if you have done it?

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1242sec    0.16    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:36 AM