Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot
simonhtz
Oct 19 2015, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 19 2015, 02:53 PM) simonhtz standard checks lo. Whether you got any criminal record or not. Whether your CV got bullshit any of the education or work experience. Whether your uni degree is southern pacific uni or not. Thanks for the information. Oookay...the bullshitting part of education is probably the start dates and end dates. Guess I need to go home get my dates straight.
TSdeodorant
Oct 19 2015, 03:12 PM
QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 19 2015, 03:07 PM) Thanks for the information. Oookay...the bullshitting part of education is probably the start dates and end dates. Guess I need to go home get my dates straight. Inaccuracies within reason should be OK one. Example if u said you have degree. HR won't really care if your resume said u grad Jan 2010 on CV but actually you grad Jan 2011 as long as you really do have your degree. But work experience if u say u got 5 year exp on CV but actually only 3 years. Or if your claimed salary figure is 10k but actually only 8k. Or if you claim yourself assistant manager but actually is just senior officer. Those kind of discrepancies would be harder to accept.
junky_89
Oct 19 2015, 04:44 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 19 2015, 03:12 PM) Inaccuracies within reason should be OK one. Example if u said you have degree. HR won't really care if your resume said u grad Jan 2010 on CV but actually you grad Jan 2011 as long as you really do have your degree. But work experience if u say u got 5 year exp on CV but actually only 3 years. Or if your claimed salary figure is 10k but actually only 8k. Or if you claim yourself assistant manager but actually is just senior officer. Those kind of discrepancies would be harder to accept. How do they check about the accuracy of the salary?
KilJim
Oct 19 2015, 04:46 PM
^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
QUOTE(junky_89 @ Oct 19 2015, 04:44 PM) How do they check about the accuracy of the salary? HR la....
TSdeodorant
Oct 19 2015, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(junky_89 @ Oct 19 2015, 04:44 PM) How do they check about the accuracy of the salary? They call up or email your previous company HR to ask lo.
junky_89
Oct 19 2015, 04:56 PM

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 19 2015, 04:49 PM) They call up or email your previous company HR to ask lo. I thought salary is a confidential and private question
TSdeodorant
Oct 19 2015, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(junky_89 @ Oct 19 2015, 04:56 PM) I thought salary is a confidential and private question If you disclosed it on your CV and/or whatever application forms to the new company as part of the job application process then why would it be confidential any more?
simonhtz
Oct 19 2015, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 19 2015, 04:58 PM) If you disclosed it on your CV and/or whatever application forms to the new company as part of the job application process then why would it be confidential any more? You got a point. Plus, I signed some consent form or something, probably they can access my tax/bank details to verify pay slip. I'm not sure, to what extend, the rights that these 3rd party has...
crazy25kid
Oct 19 2015, 05:51 PM
QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 19 2015, 05:28 PM) You got a point. Plus, I signed some consent form or something, probably they can access my tax/bank details to verify pay slip. I'm not sure, to what extend, the rights that these 3rd party has... i think most likely they will be referencing against your referees they can request for the details...but it is not necessary for the other party to reply. my list of referees requested the information from me to provide my future employer last time.
Fiona Chin
Oct 19 2015, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(highwind85 @ Oct 19 2015, 01:10 PM) *shrugs* and the colleague who took 7 months till approval is a very qualified candidate..NTU Bachelor till PhD, Asean Scholarship holder, and we both work in the area where the emphasis is now (knowledge based industry)...Still took so long.. Wah lao World TOP 13 leh. PhD Dr. Ah-Dog leh! Wait 7 months for PR? ICA think NTU own PhD grads are more inferior that all those imported FTs? Sometime I really feel what the locals are complaining. QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 19 2015, 05:28 PM) You got a point. Plus, I signed some consent form or something, probably they can access my tax/bank details to verify pay slip. I'm not sure, to what extend, the rights that these 3rd party has... Banks don't entertain those kind of requests unless it come from the authorities. HR departments and agents can go talk to the wall 1800-wait-long-long. Don't worry you as a client we protect good good. Unless you yourself submit your bank statement to them lo.
elvenchou1987
Oct 19 2015, 07:13 PM
QUOTE(rawrkun @ Oct 18 2015, 11:24 AM) I'm actually hopping for 4 months coz I know some people that managed to get theirs within that time frame.. just no sure how common it is or maybe just for a few exceptional case.. Me. Applied since Jan 15 and got letter by May 15. But I've been here since 2012 though
darrenboy
Oct 19 2015, 11:29 PM
QUOTE(simonhtz @ Oct 19 2015, 02:03 PM) Hi Guys, I applied for a position at a bank in Singapore (IT related). I received 2 phone interviews, no face to face interview. Oddly, I got the job and confirmed it via e-mail. Is this common for job applicants in SG? The HR said that they need to do background screening and EP application concurrently, and by the way, they are using a third party firm called First Advantage to conduct investigation. It was briefed to me that after I pass the screening process and EP application, I will then be given the offer letter. I signed the consent form without asking much. Do you guys happen to have any idea what does First Advantage checks for, especially for job applicants in the banking sector? The work place will be in Changi Business park, getting a room to rent in Tampines would be a good idea, you reckon? I'm thrilled getting a job at Sg. Girlfriend have mixed feelings though. :\ Background checks? I suppose it is not just criminal records they are checking. Will it include social media? Anyway, good luck to you! This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 19 2015, 11:38 PM
simonhtz
Oct 20 2015, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(darrenboy @ Oct 19 2015, 11:29 PM) Background checks? I suppose it is not just criminal records they are checking. Will it include social media? Anyway, good luck to you! Hey, social media? That's something new. Thanks man, will hit up you when I manage to get there.
Kikokent
Oct 20 2015, 11:18 AM
Hi all, Just want to say thanks for the advise here, I'm manage to find a room one road across Yew Tee Mrt. Well, things happened. My medical report for MOM had already pass and taken, but the eyes checkup for my company 1 need to re-test with spec. Seem like I need to spend a bit more to go Singapore for the spec and eyes checkup, and then come back KL for notice period. lol, just crab abit and really appreciate for the helpful info at here...
SUShuaweie5830
Oct 20 2015, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Kikokent @ Oct 20 2015, 11:18 AM) Hi all, Just want to say thanks for the advise here, I'm manage to find a room one road across Yew Tee Mrt. Well, things happened. My medical report for MOM had already pass and taken, but the eyes checkup for my company 1 need to re-test with spec. Seem like I need to spend a bit more to go Singapore for the spec and eyes checkup, and then come back KL for notice period. lol, just crab abit and really appreciate for the helpful info at here...  hah dun remember i got do eyes check up last time
Kikokent
Oct 20 2015, 02:09 PM
QUOTE(huaweie5830 @ Oct 20 2015, 12:16 PM) hah dun remember i got do eyes check up last time  lol, for MOM medical checkup its not necessary... just an extra test from my company...
libragurlshirl
Oct 20 2015, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(Kikokent @ Oct 20 2015, 02:09 PM) lol, for MOM medical checkup its not necessary... just an extra test from my company...  Hi, can advice wats MOM medical test be like? Wat test do they do? Only blood and urine? Any exception they are looking for?
TSdeodorant
Oct 20 2015, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(libragurlshirl @ Oct 20 2015, 04:55 PM) Hi, can advice wats MOM medical test be like? Wat test do they do? Only blood and urine? Any exception they are looking for? HIV and TB. You got these two then forget ever being able to work in SG.
libragurlshirl
Oct 20 2015, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 20 2015, 05:27 PM) HIV and TB. You got these two then forget ever being able to work in SG. Anything else in particular? Smoking? Hepatitis etc? or recovered TB patient?
Dagger69
Oct 20 2015, 08:10 PM
QUOTE(Kikokent @ Oct 20 2015, 11:18 AM) Hi all, Just want to say thanks for the advise here, I'm manage to find a room one road across Yew Tee Mrt. Well, things happened. My medical report for MOM had already pass and taken, but the eyes checkup for my company 1 need to re-test with spec. Seem like I need to spend a bit more to go Singapore for the spec and eyes checkup, and then come back KL for notice period. lol, just crab abit and really appreciate for the helpful info at here...  how much your rental near Yew Tee? I'm interested in that area too because there is a nearby gym few minutes from the MRT.