Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

darrenboy
post Jul 5 2015, 10:30 PM

733 posts

Hey guys,

1. For those of you already now working in Singapore, I know that you need to file your tax returns in Singapore, right? Then what do you do with your Malaysian tax return? I am sure the LHDN still post it to you every year. Do you declare "nil" or what?

2. How do you transmit your money back to your Malaysian bank account? Say, you open a Maybank account in Singapore, can you go to the ATM machine and just transmit it over? Or, do you still need to go to bank counter and apply to do a TT (telegraphic transfer) to your Malaysian account?

I am new to going to Sgp to work. I appreciate if anyone of you already working in Sgp can help.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Jul 5 2015, 10:39 PM
darrenboy
post Jul 6 2015, 11:01 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Jul 5 2015, 10:30 PM)
Hey guys,

1. For those of you already now working in Singapore, I know that you need to file your tax returns in Singapore, right?  Then what do you do with your Malaysian tax return? I am sure the LHDN still post it to you every year. Do you declare "nil" or what?

2. How do you transmit your money back to your Malaysian bank account? Say, you open a Maybank account in Singapore, can you go to the ATM machine and just transmit it over? Or, do you still need to go to bank counter and apply to do a TT (telegraphic transfer) to your Malaysian account?

I am new to going to Sgp to work. I appreciate if anyone of you already working in Sgp can help.
Hello... why nobody answers me?? sad.gif
darrenboy
post Jul 7 2015, 12:21 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Jul 7 2015, 12:07 AM)
Hi Darren,

1) Just to help abit, I have been submitting 0 zero income in Malaysia LDHN, but if you have property and have rental income, need to declare i heard is subject to 25% tax of the rental income.

2) you can open a cimb sg account, it provide free transfer fee back to CIMB MY account,  all done through online. rate might be lower or higher than the money exchange shop outside, need to compare. but that's one of the channels.

hope it helps above
ok, thanks. I have no rental income... hahaha... so it will be nil income.

CIMB huh? ok. thanks.
darrenboy
post Jul 7 2015, 09:51 PM

733 posts

Anyone from Malaysia, now working in accounting firms in Sgp? How did you guys get in?

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Jul 7 2015, 09:52 PM
darrenboy
post Jul 8 2015, 11:23 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(morgana_jara @ Jul 8 2015, 04:35 PM)
Constantly apply to the accounting firms until one of them answers back. Do so preferably during their hiring period (please see their websites for the peak hiring periods/intakes)
Thanks for suggestion. But I feel afraid to go to Sgp to work because I have no friends. I will be alone.
darrenboy
post Jul 9 2015, 01:12 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 8 2015, 11:44 PM)
Go meet new friends ???
That's why I come to this forum. Hope to make new friends. I guess on one hand I want to earn sing dollars but on the other, I am sceptical whether I can compete with the Sgpreans, esp. Their attitude towards work. Workaholic? Kiasu? So, there is this fear in me.
darrenboy
post Jul 9 2015, 01:13 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(PrincZe @ Jul 8 2015, 08:38 AM)
I read few pages back, by internal transfer
I haven't found the page yet.
darrenboy
post Jul 9 2015, 09:34 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 9 2015, 06:03 PM)
Especially them brown skins wan

Very many

Already packed like sardines in the mrt to Lapland
I know. Many expats from India. Even in KL got many. Their salaries are lower than equivalent Malaysians but they don't complain because to them it is very high than what they are getting in India. It's like us M'sians going to Sgp. smile.gif The thing is, a lot of them are really very good.
darrenboy
post Jul 9 2015, 09:35 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 9 2015, 05:14 PM)
everywhere u go, there will be ppl who are aggressive in the rat race or deeply involved in office politics
whether u wan to join them or ignore them....it is up to you.
furthermore, why would you be worried abt competing, especially against singaporeans?
there is a reason why singaporeans are raising an issue against hiring FT...THERE IS TOO MANY OF THEM (us included  laugh.gif  laugh.gif )
I am not competing with them. Rather I am worried I will be bullied by them. sad.gif
darrenboy
post Jul 11 2015, 01:09 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 10 2015, 11:09 AM)
Speak for yourself. Lots of us here come to Singapore on a competitive wage, not "my skills are crap so you pay me less than a sinkie I oso happy" nonsense.
We, Malaysian, want a competitive wage as what the Sgporeans are getting, but usually initially when we come, the firm will offer not as high as what we are getting in Malaysia dollar for dollar. That is what I meant. But the Indians, at least the ones that I deal with, are really good. I was informed their pay is not as high as hiring, say an Australian or European expat. The Indians mostly accept it, and they don't complain. This is because it is much higher than the rupees they will be getting back home.
darrenboy
post Jul 11 2015, 11:16 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Jul 11 2015, 01:43 AM)
Depend on how you negotiate la..some malaysian can match dollar to dollar term in Sg but some willing to slash their remuneration by 30-40% because they always benchmark against myr.
After listening to all your advice, I will try to negotiate for at least equal to market rate. But they say I don't have the Sgp specific knowledge, so need to downgrade initially before they adjust perhaps one yr later. What do you guys think?
darrenboy
post Jul 12 2015, 01:46 PM

733 posts

If you rent only a room, where do guys wash the clothes? Does the house owner usually have washing machine? Or, you take your clothes to the laundry shop? Expensive?

darrenboy
post Jul 13 2015, 10:35 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(the99percent1 @ Jul 13 2015, 09:47 AM)
Lol!!

This is the most ridiculous thing I've read in LYN.. ever

Indian expats being compared to european counterparts... Lol! Dude, stop making me laugh at my desk. My colleagues are staring at me wondering what's so funny.
I think you have misread what I wrote. I still stand by what I said - the kind of Indian professionals (at least in the field I am in) I have seen and dealt with, they are really good.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Jul 13 2015, 10:36 PM
darrenboy
post Jul 14 2015, 11:12 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Jul 14 2015, 10:48 AM)
unfortunately, the ones that we meet....most are  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
they may be good, too good....in overselling what they can do

i met one which i ended up having to clean up his mess and supervise him although he is the specialist and i was a total newbie to the system.
he was released after 1 month
the bar may had been set very high as his predescessor on the other hand was good, very confident (also indian).
but to be outdone by a total newbie in the field you specialize in really speaks a lot in his skill which he is supposed to be specialized in

there is also another that could never understand instructions but kept on arguing that he is right and disappears all the time.
he even requested another colleague to do his interview assessment test because his contract was not goin to be renewed and needed to get a new job.
worst thing is....he got the job !!! my fren is regretting for helping him now....hahaha
i seriously doubt his skillset is up to par since he was only exposed to that tech during his 1 year and the feedback for his work is  doh.gif  doh.gif
2 teams did not trust his work.  rolleyes.gif  rolleyes.gif
i wish the company good luck.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

and the list goes on.
Thanks for sharing. I am not in the tech line, and the ppl I deal with are not newbies.
darrenboy
post Jul 16 2015, 07:03 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(fool1988 @ Jul 16 2015, 09:30 AM)
I staying Bukit Panjang nearby CCK..so far so good, not so crowd compare to those CBD area. smile.gif
I am looking for a suitable place

- near eating place
- near train station
- got vegetarian food nearby

Looking for a large size furnished room. Anyone got info, can contact me. Thanks.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Jul 16 2015, 07:04 PM
darrenboy
post Jul 16 2015, 07:06 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(Tigerr @ Jul 16 2015, 08:17 AM)
I renew my Re entry permit this year. Only granted 1 year until I produce employer letter stated my job requires me to be out station most of the time. Then only they gave me 5 years.
They give more years if you travel outstation more often? Why is the regulation like that?
darrenboy
post Jul 17 2015, 09:10 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Jul 16 2015, 11:31 PM)
Simple. Rent studio condo or 3room HDB. If not too fussy about location ~S$1.8k can liao.
what do you mean by "studio condo"?
darrenboy
post Jul 17 2015, 01:59 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Jul 17 2015, 11:33 AM)
My friend rent a studio condo in city area cost sgd3k per month.

It depends on location.
oic,... SGD3k is too high. Any studio condo available for less than SGD2k?
darrenboy
post Jul 22 2015, 10:21 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 22 2015, 12:42 PM)
I nearly coming to two years this July

Also didn't knew about it group
So, how do you feel on your 2nd anniversary? Do you think you have saved a lot of money? Happier? Work/career wise, going well?

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Jul 22 2015, 10:22 PM
darrenboy
post Jul 23 2015, 10:08 PM

733 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jul 22 2015, 10:33 PM)
Saving lots yes since I was traveling
But started staying in batok on July
So became less

Now more restless coz too much time
And since room
Has no wifi
No cookin
No tv

Only guitar and reading newspaper
Congratulations. It means your job is quite easy lar. Jealous only. smile.gif

By the way, do you need to access to your company email outside of office hours? Do you do that thru your PC or smartphone? Or, do your colleagues message you directly on your phone? Do you not feel stressed by all these?

In my previous job, I don't have to worry at all of my company email outside of office hours. But now - it's a different story. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Jul 23 2015, 10:09 PM

0.0574sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:26 AM