196 Pages « < 179 180 181 182 183 > » Bottom

Working in Singapore V17, All about living in the Lil' Red Dot

Kikokent
post Oct 21 2015, 10:59 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Dagger69 @ Oct 20 2015, 08:10 PM)
how much your rental near Yew Tee? I'm interested in that area too because there is a nearby gym few minutes from the MRT.
Hi, its an utilities room (Regent Grove condo)...

very small, around 7 feets...

480 sgd per month, no agents fee...

I'm lucky to meet a very nice house owner, who is very patient and friendly and I think there at least cost 550 and above per month rental ba.
Kikokent
post Oct 21 2015, 04:08 PM

20 posts

QUOTE(libragurlshirl @ Oct 20 2015, 04:55 PM)
Hi, can advice wats MOM medical test be like? Wat test do they do? Only blood and urine? Any exception they are looking for?
Hi, erm...

I'm not sure whether I mess up with the test my company assign, urine test, blood test and Chest-X ray for EP is a minimum must...

There would be a form from HR specify which test you need to go through, don't worry the procedure is faster than MY government hospital...
coolguy99
post Oct 21 2015, 04:28 PM

7,349 posts

Did you guys manage to get permanent job? Most of the jobs that I see now is contract based. Would you go for contract based jobs?
TSdeodorant
post Oct 21 2015, 04:41 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Oct 21 2015, 04:28 PM)
Would you go for contract based jobs?

If now contract new job contract why not?
If now perm new job contract ... has to be attractive enough to give up the security lor.
knwong
post Oct 21 2015, 05:52 PM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(Kikokent @ Oct 21 2015, 04:08 PM)
Hi, erm...

I'm not sure whether I mess up with the test my company assign, urine test, blood test and Chest-X ray for EP is a minimum must...

There would be a form from HR specify which test you need to go through, don't worry the procedure is faster than MY government hospital...
For EP the health check is not require by MOM. If you are requested to do it then it's the company policy I think
TSdeodorant
post Oct 21 2015, 08:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 21 2015, 05:52 PM)
For EP the health check is not require by MOM. If you are requested to do it then it's the company policy I think

Not always, I remember my EP I no need health check by MOM but my wife's EP she needed.
Similar to how some WP (I think like if you have diploma or degree) MOM will waive those "cannot get married cannot get pregnant" clause.
I'm not sure what the criteria is for whether you need or don't need health check.
crazy25kid
post Oct 21 2015, 09:11 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

If I remember correctly it is as below...cannot find the page anymore in MOM website or was it written in the IPA...cannot remember. laugh.gif laugh.gif
For EP, P1 and above, medical is optional...or probably for renewal only
P2 and below, medical is required if you have not done it for a period of time (cannot remember the period).
I know this personnally cause of the increase in salary requirement, i escaped 1 year but following year downgraded to P2
when i came, P1 was 2.5-3k...within the 1-2 years, increased to 4-4.5k sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by crazy25kid: Oct 21 2015, 09:12 PM
IwanAGP
post Oct 21 2015, 09:11 PM

Nothing is Possible!
9,590 posts

QUOTE(Kikokent @ Oct 21 2015, 04:08 PM)
Hi, erm...

No leh nomally MOM require just blood test (for HIV) and Xray (for TB). No urine test leh. Now don't know la.

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 21 2015, 05:52 PM)
Not really leh. I think is depend on MOM. MOM will say whether you need to go for the medical check.

And any extra than HIV and TB I think is company policy.
rawrkun
post Oct 22 2015, 12:03 AM

316 posts

I was required to undergo medical check up when I first started working in Sg and it wasn't needed when I moved to another company.
ghodul
post Oct 22 2015, 09:22 AM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

I just received an interview invitation on 27th evening at Changi. I have some question to ask,

1.I am from Seremban. Issit easier for me to go on my own transport, or using public transport (bus, flight, etc...)
2. Do I need a pasport, bcoz its just 1 day. Bcoz I heard there is special pass for Malaysians, if they go there just for a day.

Thats all, thank you...
TSdeodorant
post Oct 22 2015, 09:44 AM

5,691 posts

ghodul Yes you most certainly need passport. Last time donkey years ago can apply for some sort of limited travel doc valid only for SG but no no more d.
yrh0413
post Oct 22 2015, 09:47 AM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Oct 22 2015, 09:22 AM)
I just received an interview invitation on 27th evening at Changi. I have some question to ask,

1.I am from Seremban. Issit easier for me to go on my own transport, or using public transport (bus, flight, etc...)
2. Do I need a pasport, bcoz its just 1 day. Bcoz I heard there is special pass for Malaysians, if they go there just for a day.

Thats all, thank you...
1. Take KTM from Seremban to Woodlands SG in the morning, you should reach SG in the afternoon. From Woodlands to Changi you can take the MRT red line from Woodlands to City Hall, then switch to green line continue from City Hall to Changi. Book same day train tickets for night train back to Seremban to save on accomodation. Flight is possible too but it should be more expensive.

2. Definitely need a passport.
crazy25kid
post Oct 22 2015, 10:53 AM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:47 AM)
1. Take KTM from Seremban to Woodlands SG  in the morning, you should reach SG in the afternoon. From Woodlands to Changi you can take the MRT red line from Woodlands to City Hall, then switch to green line continue from City Hall to Changi. Book same day train tickets for night train back to Seremban to save on accomodation. Flight is possible too but it should be more expensive.

Take 168 and alight at Tampines MRT then continue by MRT is A LOT faster

poor_engineer
post Oct 22 2015, 12:28 PM

96 posts

Thats all, thank you...
Take bus from Terminal One to Sg (most buses stop at Beach Road) will take you around 5 hours.
ghodul
post Oct 22 2015, 12:30 PM

Ghodul + Shoei = GhoSho
596 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Oct 22 2015, 09:44 AM)
ghodul Yes you most certainly need passport. Last time donkey years ago can apply for some sort of limited travel doc valid only for SG but no no more d.
QUOTE(yrh0413 @ Oct 22 2015, 09:47 AM)
1. Take KTM from Seremban to Woodlands SG  in the morning, you should reach SG in the afternoon. From Woodlands to Changi you can take the MRT red line from Woodlands to City Hall, then switch to green line continue from City Hall to Changi. Book same day train tickets for night train back to Seremban to save on accomodation. Flight is possible too but it should be more expensive.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Oct 22 2015, 10:53 AM)
Take 168 and alight at Tampines MRT then continue by MRT is A LOT faster
Thanks for the swift response. I have new question.

1. The train system at Sg (MRT) is using cash, or some kind of card like Touch n Go?
2. What is the room rent rate for that place?

Mackiddo
post Oct 22 2015, 09:34 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

Thats all, thank you...
Most convenience is to drive down. Changi is not too difficult to go. Sg custom --> BKE --> SLE --> TPE --> Changi. Just need to stop a while at Sg Immigration LTA office to buy autopass. Then you are good to go. Bring your passport.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Oct 22 2015, 09:36 PM
darrenboy
post Oct 23 2015, 12:06 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(studyboy @ Dec 21 2014, 02:17 AM)
I'd personally recommend Singtel but M1 and Starhub are fine too. I believe all telcos offer a 2 year contract with 2GB of data if memory serves.

As for accommodation, how much are you prepared to dish out for rent? I would imagine the rentals for accommodation in the vicinity of Tanjong Pagar to be quite expensive!
Does all telcos in Singapore need to be on 2 year contract with 2B? I am shocked. shocking.gif Usually in Malaysia, you are on 2 year contract only if the package comes with a new handphone.

I am thinking of getting a iphone 6S which costs me about RM2100 (Maxis) with contract. I have no problem signing up with them if I am still working in Malaysia. The problem is, I cannot tie up with Maxis or any Malaysian Telco, because I will be in Singapore next year (at least I plan to).

I was wondering if I should wait till I got a job in Singapore and buy the iphone there. What is the price of iphone 6S in Singapore? Any great offers from the telcos in Singapore? Cheaper than those offered in Malaysia? I am sure if we buy direct from Apple shop in Singapore, it will be expensive.

This post has been edited by darrenboy: Oct 23 2015, 12:08 AM
Mackiddo
post Oct 23 2015, 08:01 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Oct 23 2015, 12:06 AM)
Does all telcos in Singapore need to be on 2 year contract with 2B? I am shocked.  shocking.gif Usually in Malaysia, you are on 2 year contract only if the package comes with a new handphone.
you can take one without contract but generally it's slightly more expensive on the plan compares to contract.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: Oct 23 2015, 08:01 AM
knwong
post Oct 23 2015, 08:52 AM

3,559 posts

QUOTE(darrenboy @ Oct 23 2015, 12:06 AM)
Does all telcos in Singapore need to be on 2 year contract with 2B? I am shocked.  shocking.gif Usually in Malaysia, you are on 2 year contract only if the package comes with a new handphone.

I am thinking of getting a iphone 6S which costs me about RM2100 (Maxis) with contract. I have no problem signing up with them if I am still working in Malaysia. The problem is, I cannot tie up with Maxis or any Malaysian Telco, because I will be in Singapore next year (at least I plan to).

I was wondering if I should wait till I got a job in Singapore and buy the iphone there. What is the price of iphone 6S in Singapore? Any great offers from the telcos in Singapore? Cheaper than those offered in Malaysia? I am sure if we buy direct from Apple shop in Singapore, it will be expensive.
You should worry about getting a job first, then only you think about getting a telco plan in SG. Without work permit or EP you can't sign up for 2 year contract telco plan in SG
KilJim
post Oct 23 2015, 09:10 AM

^-_-^ ZzzZzZzZzzz....
4,424 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ Oct 23 2015, 08:01 AM)
you can take one without contract but generally it's slightly more expensive on the plan compares to contract.
Starhub's plans are about $8 lower per month if you take it without the phone + contract
Not sure about Singtel and M1, i think theirs is the same with/without contract

Subsidy is in the phone, not the monthly fee which is why they want to bind you by contract

196 Pages « < 179 180 181 182 183 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:42 PM