The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive
Alexdp21
Feb 5 2014, 09:21 AM

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 4 2014, 06:48 PM) If you bought a high end OCZ product, you dodged a major bullet. Of you didn't and bought cheaper end ones, I'm sorry, but Toshiba just canceled your warranty. http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=60077Wah so bad luck to those. But OCZ SSD's have quite high failure rate compared to other manufacturers eventhough it was the flagship model. So avoid it if you can. QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 4 2014, 09:38 PM) Nobody is doubting your claim, we all have achieved such boot time speeds also what  I'm using a Pro version and I remember having such speeds when I first installed the OS and some programs/etc but fast forward 7 months and the speeds drop quite a bit. Yep. When its in a clean state everything is smooth and silky. My Samsung Evo going in the 2 month, still doing OK.
Sentinel92
Feb 5 2014, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(Alexdp21 @ Feb 5 2014, 09:21 AM) Wah so bad luck to those. But OCZ SSD's have quite high failure rate compared to other manufacturers eventhough it was the flagship model. So avoid it if you can. Yep. When its in a clean state everything is smooth and silky. My Samsung Evo going in the 2 month, still doing OK.  Yeah, pretty damned sad for those who bought older legacy OCZ products. And those are the products with the most failure rates too, way worse than the flagships. But I do hope Toshiba can overhaul OCZ and make it competitive again. They do actually make good stuff. As for your SSD, you better make sure you do not fill it up beyond 80% to sustain comfortable speeds. Once you fill up your SSD there will be some slowing down.
-kytz-
Feb 5 2014, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 5 2014, 01:21 PM) Yeah, pretty damned sad for those who bought older legacy OCZ products. And those are the products with the most failure rates too, way worse than the flagships. But I do hope Toshiba can overhaul OCZ and make it competitive again. They do actually make good stuff. As for your SSD, you better make sure you do not fill it up beyond 80% to sustain comfortable speeds. Once you fill up your SSD there will be some slowing down. So you know that the EVO still performs at the highest potential even when filled up? That is according to the benchmarks...
Sentinel92
Feb 5 2014, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 5 2014, 02:57 PM) So you know that the EVO still performs at the highest potential even when filled up? That is according to the benchmarks... I'm talking generally. Benchmarks can't represent using an SSD at 90-100% for long periods of time up to 3-4 years. The only reason EVO 840 is fast at any situation is due to the RAPID tech.
1024kbps
Feb 5 2014, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 4 2014, 09:38 PM) Nobody is doubting your claim, we all have achieved such boot time speeds also what  I'm using a Pro version and I remember having such speeds when I first installed the OS and some programs/etc but fast forward 7 months and the speeds drop quite a bit. The slowdown is not due to SSD ware off, it's cause by the amount of software accumulated on your system that will set themselves auto start-up after boot, and a lot of non-Microsoft services, background apps(windows 8, apps eat quite a lof of RAMs  )
sai86
Feb 5 2014, 04:51 PM
QUOTE(1024kbps @ Feb 5 2014, 04:35 PM) The slowdown is not due to SSD ware off, it's cause by the amount of software accumulated on your system that will set themselves auto start-up after boot, and a lot of non-Microsoft services, background apps(windows 8, apps eat quite a lof of RAMs  )  add in rainmeter - complex customization and bla bla bla it will have some effect. but still the speed will always faster than hdd. btw, what kind of w8 background apps you talking about? coz i did not use it at all since its not urm....low end pc with touchscreen? to have faster startup, disable some non-critical program in the startup settings.
Dickong
Feb 5 2014, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Feb 4 2014, 09:38 PM) Nobody is doubting your claim, we all have achieved such boot time speeds also what  I'm using a Pro version and I remember having such speeds when I first installed the OS and some programs/etc but fast forward 7 months and the speeds drop quite a bit. In fact i am not trying 2 show my boot up time but trying 2 tell those interested 2 buy 840 evo is worth it but u are like kiasu telling u even achieve that boot up time before, have u load other os, bla bla n even trying 2 show off u are using 840 evo pro. Who cares what u got n even trying 2 say down the road it will slow down, that everyone know, i am not here 2 argue i am here 2 paint the real picture n i have said many times i dont believe what i see about the boot up speed. For info 2 others only who might be keen on 840 evo.
Enigmatic
Feb 5 2014, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 5 2014, 07:17 PM) In fact i am not trying 2 show my boot up time but trying 2 tell those interested 2 buy 840 evo is worth it but u are like kiasu telling u even achieve that boot up time before, have u load other os, bla bla n even trying 2 show off u are using 840 evo pro. Who cares what u got n even trying 2 say down the road it will slow down, that everyone know, i am not here 2 argue i am here 2 paint the real picture n i have said many times i dont believe what i see about the boot up speed. For info 2 others only who might be keen on 840 evo. Chill la Dickong.  -kytz- is not implying anything, don't worry about it. Just from his personal experience his 840 Pro indeed slowed down a lot after he started filling up his SSD - Not sure what the exact issue is though. Maybe had to run some optimisation, eg, TRIM? Anyhow he recently bought the Evo, so he can test for himself the performance consistency between the Pro and Evo lol Anyhow if the SSD is set up with OP (over provisioning) of 15~20% or so, the disk should not see any major slowdowns, I would guess: http://www.myce.com/review/samsung-840-evo...r-heavy-use-12/My 840 Evo is a dedicated Windows drive, so won't be having the opportunity to (nor letting it!) fill it up anyway.
barry80
Feb 6 2014, 02:18 AM
QUOTE(300thecat @ Jan 28 2014, 11:19 AM)  Here's my readings. Dunno why the writing is so bad, almost 5 times worse than advertised. I've having the same problem due to the acronis backup & restore from hdd partition. the 104422K - BAD indicate that ur ssd is not aligned correctly. u need to re-align by using any partition alignment tool. this is what i did by using aomei partition assistance standard free edition before
after
This post has been edited by barry80: Feb 6 2014, 02:34 AM
SUSbingding
Feb 7 2014, 01:04 PM
guys, what is the best ssd i could get that costs around rm300+? and will there b any speed diff between 120gb and 240gb or just the capacity?
wildwestgoh
Feb 8 2014, 01:17 AM
QUOTE(bingding @ Feb 7 2014, 01:04 PM) guys, what is the best ssd i could get that costs around rm300+? and will there b any speed diff between 120gb and 240gb or just the capacity? The only different between 120GB and 240GB is the sequential transfer speed, maybe a little higher at the 4K read/write, other than that the response rate are pretty much the same. For RM300+, Samsung EVO 120GB seems to take the crowd for now and with its RAPID tech that boost the overall performance.
300thecat
Feb 9 2014, 09:43 PM
QUOTE(barry80 @ Feb 6 2014, 02:18 AM) I've having the same problem due to the acronis backup & restore from hdd partition. the 104422K - BAD indicate that ur ssd is not aligned correctly. u need to re-align by using any partition alignment tool. this is what i did by using aomei partition assistance standard free edition before
after
THANKS A BUNCH!
huzzLEE_82
Feb 10 2014, 04:23 PM
i'm looking for 2.5" SSD with rm300++ budget... hard to decide lah..so many choices... any recommendation? Intel SSD 520 series 120GB=rm359 Samsung 840 Evo 120GB=rm330 Corsair Force GS 120GB=rm339 etc This post has been edited by huzzLEE_82: Feb 10 2014, 04:27 PM
wildwestgoh
Feb 10 2014, 04:46 PM
QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Feb 10 2014, 04:23 PM) i'm looking for 2.5" SSD with rm300++ budget... hard to decide lah..so many choices... any recommendation? Intel SSD 520 series 120GB=rm359 Samsung 840 Evo 120GB=rm330 Corsair Force GS 120GB=rm339 etc  Samsung 840 Evo FTW!! Most value/performance right now.
huzzLEE_82
Feb 10 2014, 05:10 PM
QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Feb 10 2014, 04:46 PM) Samsung 840 Evo FTW!! Most value/performance right now. did rapid mode has significant effect on the performance?
wildwestgoh
Feb 10 2014, 05:26 PM
QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Feb 10 2014, 05:10 PM) did rapid mode has significant effect on the performance? According to experiences and reviews, it does has some but I don't think you'll notice it in real life, just a splash second faster unless you're into benchmark and IO heavy workloads. Read a few pages back, some users does enjoy the boosted speed.
huzzLEE_82
Feb 11 2014, 12:02 PM
a piece of mind.. with extra rm30 and 2 more extended warranty (total 5 years) i go with Intel 530 120gb...adoyai really have the conflict between Intel 530 and Samsung 840 been reading this 47 pages of thread,then must admit Samsung 840 Evo wins the crowd.... i think for average user (gaming,surf) the difference in real life performance not so noticeable..mayb this time i bought Intel 530 (compensate rm30 extra for extra 2 yrs wrnty+bracket+fancy stuff inside) next purchase of SSD,Samsung 840 Evo for sure... This post has been edited by huzzLEE_82: Feb 12 2014, 05:14 PM
300thecat
Feb 12 2014, 07:51 PM
Noticed that while an SSD will speed up boot time dramatically, it doesn't do anything to shutdown time.
Uncle Ron
Feb 14 2014, 10:13 AM
QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Feb 10 2014, 04:23 PM) i'm looking for 2.5" SSD with rm300++ budget... hard to decide lah..so many choices... any recommendation? Intel SSD 520 series 120GB=rm359 Samsung 840 Evo 120GB=rm330 Corsair Force GS 120GB=rm339 etc  QUOTE(wildwestgoh @ Feb 10 2014, 04:46 PM) Samsung 840 Evo FTW!! Most value/performance right now. Agree with u... Get the samsung 840 evo...
Uncle Ron
Feb 14 2014, 10:14 AM
Want to know any WD Black2 Hybrid user here?