The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

-kytz-
post Jul 7 2013, 12:43 AM

12,573 posts

Thank you so much for the revamped and informative new SSD thread hmwgbworld smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 17 2013, 06:34 PM

12,573 posts

Just got my Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD smile.gif

So far only did Crystal Mark benchmark (which I suppose is for compressible data only?). Later will post HD Tune Pro smile.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 17 2013, 06:35 PM
-kytz-
post Jul 18 2013, 03:46 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 10:50 AM)
Mac Book Air 2013 PCIE SSD macam ini ker?

Not impressed with the 4k speed at all.

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 18 2013, 03:51 PM
-kytz-
post Jul 18 2013, 04:01 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Jul 18 2013, 03:53 PM)
Ohh ya my bad.

Here's the fella's AS SSD:

And here's mine:

Damn mine lost LOL

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jul 18 2013, 04:06 PM
-kytz-
post Jul 21 2013, 01:01 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(hmwgbworld @ Jul 21 2013, 12:36 AM)
There should be some others using kingston ssd too, but no ppl post here for ownership i guess.
You will be the first  unsure.gif .
Nope, Kingston is also good SSD brand. Maybe not just as famous as other brands.
Come I donut satu biggrin.gif

Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD smile.gif
-kytz-
post Jul 27 2013, 04:09 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 26 2013, 04:23 PM)
My first SSD at the beginning of time... 40GB only lol install windows then no space for anything else already... but that time damn expensive

I think is corsair force series

[attachmentid=3554914]
Update: My Samsung 840 pro arrived!! quite happy with the write speed though I not sure why the 4KQD32 score so low.. but I don't know what is 4KQD32 also lol

[attachmentid=3555316]
Ya...your 4KQD32 numbers are low. Even my 128GB is higher hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Aug 1 2013, 10:21 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Jul 31 2013, 09:02 PM)
Hehe.. make sure you aligned your ssd, that will give it max performance. The numbers doesn't mean anything as long as it is running its full potential while eliminating unnecessary writes -> longer life!

Usually higher speed comes with a price (for example overclocking runs hotter) but for ssd seems like speed and reliability is in the same direction..
Align SSD? What's that? hmm.gif

Btw, I did do some SSD optimization steps from theSSDreview.com
-kytz-
post Aug 7 2013, 05:26 PM

12,573 posts

My SSD seems to be taking much longer to boot up, what could be causing this? hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Aug 7 2013, 07:02 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(quadcube @ Aug 7 2013, 06:45 PM)
SSD geting filled up?
Not really. 60GB+ free out of 128GB
-kytz-
post Dec 16 2013, 01:20 AM

12,573 posts

Intel 530 series 120GB for RM359 only... very tempting. Initial target is Samsung 840 Evo 120GB which is around the same price hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Dec 28 2013, 12:58 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(VinceCheong @ Dec 25 2013, 05:55 PM)
Bit the bullet, got myself a Samsung 840 EVO 250GB for RM620 from ViewNet! Good deal, or ok deal or so-so deal? Lol.

Next challenge, migrating data and installing/reinstalling the SSD into my rig with Win7.

Doubts:
I Should be leaving the Sata Mode on my Bios to "Raid" instead of "IDE/ACHI" right? Since I have another pair of WD RE4 Black 1.0TBs in Raid0 as a Data drive? smile.gif
RM590:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=2435838&hl=

Anyways, was that after discount? Usually for Viewnet, there is some discount (they have to check with the computer)
-kytz-
post Jan 2 2014, 07:46 PM

12,573 posts

Can't decide between Samsung 840 EVO 120GB or Intel 530 series 120GB

Samsung has rapid mode and can sustain max performance even when fully filled up whereas Intel has 5 years warranty hmm.gif

icon_question.gif
-kytz-
post Jan 16 2014, 12:10 AM

12,573 posts

Samsung 840 EVO 120GB @RM329 is freaking cheap!!

Source: Viewnet pricelist
-kytz-
post Jan 22 2014, 03:48 AM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(CocoMonGo @ Jan 21 2014, 07:02 PM)
hi guys can help explain something to me regarding intel 530 SSD please? am noob here.
Noticed that on anandtech.com review of the drive they summarised the 530 as sequential read at 530Mbs and seq write as 480/490Mbs for even the 120Gb. But for many other reviews, seq writes is always lower the smaller the SSD is. any reason y?
You shouldn't be looking at the sequential read/write speed. You should be looking at the 512K and 4K read/write speed instead.

In the end, it confirms something we always thought but just didn’t really understand.  Large sequential read and write access (high sequential and 512kb) are utilized by the average user less than 1% of the time yet the most used method of access is smaller random write access as shown by the 4k write at over 50%.

Manufacturers showcase high sequential disk transfer speeds in selling their SSDs solely for their lightning fast appearance yet, these high sequential speeds are actually the disk transfer method that is used the least at less than 1% in  total.  As much as we would like to lay blame solely on the SSD companies, the majority of blame actually goes right back to the new SSD consumer who knows of no other way to differentiate between the myriad of SSDs available other than through high sequential performance.

http://www.thessdreview.com/ssd-guides/beg...acturers-bluff/
-kytz-
post Jan 28 2014, 05:42 PM

12,573 posts

For sure it's SATA II, I don't even know if there are any laptops with SATA III connection nowadays, maybe not even the high end laptops.

Honestly, don't need to bother between SATA II and SATA III, won't make any real world difference.

Btw, just got my 2nd Samsung SSD. This time in the form of the Evo brows.gif

This post has been edited by -kytz-: Jan 28 2014, 05:43 PM
-kytz-
post Feb 4 2014, 01:36 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 3 2014, 05:56 PM)
I agree with u samsung 840 evo is a great ssd, i just install on my lappy n u dont believe my boot time is on 2-4 second only.
You just only bought your SSD isn't it? You try again once you fill up your SSD, see whether still can get 2-4 seconds or not whistling.gif

Btw, there are two methods people use to test boot speed, one is right after pressing the power button and one more is when the BIOS screen appears.
-kytz-
post Feb 4 2014, 01:58 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 4 2014, 01:48 PM)
The 4 sec is until window but before the password, i myself also dont believe it.
Ya la, everything is the fastest when you just only installed the OS into the SSD. Like I said try to fill up your SSD first the say again later, but hor I'm not exactly sure how the EVO would perform hmm.gif
-kytz-
post Feb 4 2014, 09:38 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Feb 4 2014, 07:22 PM)
I have install window, office, graphic driver some os, n few games it still boot at 4sec until window, believe or not up 2 you  becos i am using one myself n as i have said earlier i also dont believe what i saw.
Nobody is doubting your claim, we all have achieved such boot time speeds also what brows.gif I'm using a Pro version and I remember having such speeds when I first installed the OS and some programs/etc but fast forward 7 months and the speeds drop quite a bit.

-kytz-
post Feb 5 2014, 02:57 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(Chew Yongxian @ Feb 5 2014, 01:21 PM)
Yeah, pretty damned sad for those who bought older legacy OCZ products. And those are the products with the most failure rates too, way worse than the flagships. But I do hope Toshiba can overhaul OCZ and make it competitive again. They do actually make good stuff.

As for your SSD, you better make sure you do not fill it up beyond 80% to sustain comfortable speeds. Once you fill up your SSD there will be some slowing down.
So you know that the EVO still performs at the highest potential even when filled up? That is according to the benchmarks...
-kytz-
post Jul 7 2014, 06:47 PM

12,573 posts

QUOTE(hackcremo @ Jul 7 2014, 01:27 AM)
Hello guys. I have wondering wheter is it ok to put OS in HDD and game in SSD. Currently I only play BF4 and it loads map very slow on HDD. I am at low budget so option on left at 120/8 GB ssd. Would this method ok or not? Kindly advise. Tq.
QUOTE(hackcremo @ Jul 7 2014, 11:42 AM)
I know what u means, able to load OS fast and open app in glimpse of an eye sure I want. But no budget for 250Gb. Raya near somemore, need to cut cost.
Can get 256GB SSD for about RM420 including postage if you rajin buy from Amazon

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-MX100-adapte...s=crucial+MX100

Can't say I'm not interested lol.

0.0590sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:46 AM