7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

wildwestgoh
post Jul 29 2013, 09:40 AM

2,215 posts

Hi, I wonder if anyone has installed and successfully activate TRIM on their Lenovo G400S?
I'm going to purchase that soon (with 1TB HDD) so I'm thinking about slot another adapter to put the HDD and put the optical drive aside for external use.
Now the real question is:
1. Any settings on BIOS (UEFI?) to activate the TRIM?
2. Does fresh install Windows 8 automatically activate the TRIM? Or do I need to runs through the steps to activate it?
I want to save much trouble cause I'll be short on time and need to transfer all 200GB of data from my (this) laptop quickly to the new laptop.
All comments (and critiques?) are appreciated. Thank you all. notworthy.gif

Note: I'm going for Plextor M5S 128GB, if info confirmed, I'll straight bank-in and have it ship right away. brows.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 29 2013, 09:43 AM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 29 2013, 10:48 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 29 2013, 10:34 AM)
On the Windows platform, wasn't TRIM enabled if the SSD was on AHCI and you have a TRIM-supported OS?
Erm, I believe the laptop that I'm going to purchase is going to support TRIM right? (Windows 8 support TRIM??)
If it's going to be a new laptop, I assume the BIOS (UEFI?) will default AHCI on the SATA right? I just want to confirm.

And, to rephrase my question: Will fresh install Windows 8 on a new laptop (Lenovo G400S) auto enable the TRIM?

Thank you for your input. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 29 2013, 10:50 AM
wildwestgoh
post Jul 29 2013, 11:19 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Jul 29 2013, 10:55 AM)
Windows 7 and above (including Windows 8) supports TRIM. Windows Vista and below doesn't support TRIM.

I can't confirm if your intended laptop would default to AHCI or not, but I would be surprised if it defaulted to IDE. And even more surprised if you can't manually change it to AHCI. I have a five year old laptop that can be manually switched to AHCI, long before SSDs came around.

It also doesn't matter if it defaults to AHCI or not, as long as you can manually switch it to AHCI.
Even with the latest laptop and manufacturer still uses IDE mode? shocking.gif doh.gif
FYI my Dell Studio 1555 near 4 years is AHCI by default and can switch between IDE and AHCI. hmm.gif
Oh gosh, now I'm even more confused... need Lenovo G400S owner to clarify this:

Lenovo G400S, SATA default mode, AHCI or IDE?
And can it changed between mode?

notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Jul 29 2013, 11:25 AM
wildwestgoh
post Aug 2 2013, 08:55 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(iori57 @ Aug 2 2013, 07:47 AM)

So from your explanation, can I assume that from Windows Vista and above, we do not need to worry about alignment any more for any new SSD during fresh installation, is that correct? hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 4 2013, 02:26 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Aug 4 2013, 10:32 AM)
Hi all, I have a question about ssd. Let's say for a regular user,whose usage is just normal web surfing, some movie maybe, some uni work(word,ppt). Is ssd needed or worth it in this case aside from the fast boot time?

From what I know, ssd will decrease boot time and application loading time, but since I only use the browser, dont game at all... Is it still worth it to spend so much on an ssd?
If you don't mind drinking a cup of coffee or tea while waiting for the whole system to be fully usable then SSD or not does not matter.
If your time is precious, multi-task and require instant loads of application then YES! SSD will worth your Time (money).
If you needs just faster Windows boot up, latest mainboard UEFI + Windows 8 already considered as the fastest boot up, SSD will double the speed and cut the time in half though. wink.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 4 2013, 05:11 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ck.chunkeat @ Aug 4 2013, 04:58 PM)
Thing is, its for my gf. But she dont game and she mostly just surf net on the comp. So, I've been wondering whether its worth it to spend extra for ssd or spend extra for a better laptop since im choosing a laptop for her..
If she's quite rough and no laptop cooler on her laptop then SSD will probably last longer for her and she'll feel very snappy without slowing down, but she'll ("probably") feels annoyed very easily if she does switch to normal PC with the "normal" HDD, believe me, the huge different is just too tempting shakehead.gif
But if you have limited budget, just take the normal Core i3 or equivalent then put some into SSD rather than Core i5 of which she'll never use it. wink.gif

Core i3 3xxxm
4GB RAM
128/120GB SSD (swap with HDD then can use as external using USB adapter)
DVD drive? (well, if she don't use it then can opt for very slim and light profile)
Integrated Intel GPU 3000

All of these should have a budget of around RM2000 and below (SSD included). nod.gif

wildwestgoh
post Aug 5 2013, 11:27 AM

2,215 posts

Just received my Plextor M5S 128GB from Hikari85, though a bit slow but still waiting for the caddy bay so I can slot the 1TB for the extra capacity to my new laptop... Yay! Yay! Yay! Can't wait to use my new laptop with SSD!
wildwestgoh
post Aug 5 2013, 01:22 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(riku2replica @ Aug 5 2013, 12:15 PM)
congratz on ur purchase. Had upgraded to SSD for quite some time.
The reason for my slow in adapting SSD is the price/capacity, now with the price drop, and the time to change to a faster laptop, I have good excuses to put SSD in my laptop. brows.gif
I don't think I can ever return to the HDD, well.. except for my desktop as it's still the old BIOS so it'll probably be another year or 2 before I switch my desktop to SSD (primary boot disk) as well, with UEFI the boot is even faster by hell lot. drool.gif
New laptop boot speed now with 1TB 5,400rpm HDD is less than 15 seconds to desktop, switch to SSD? shakehead.gif Unthinkable speed. brows.gif

This post has been edited by wildwestgoh: Aug 5 2013, 01:23 PM
wildwestgoh
post Aug 6 2013, 09:47 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(nuekkacak @ Aug 6 2013, 05:53 AM)
Just wondering, any heat issue if using hdd caddy? Anyone with experience with it?
Wondering as well about that issue but the heck with it, since I'll be using it for data and the burden for it to seek & write will be less so probably it won't generate so much heat plus it's running on 5,400 rpm so the heat won't be too high. hmm.gif
My current laptop is using the good old Scorpio Black, darn hot and fast but after long years of torture it's facing the old age already... sweat.gif
Speaking of Seagate, his SSD are in the market very late and their pricing isn't so much of talk about, except in the enterprise arena, hope WDC will bring down the price even more (for normal consumer). icon_rolleyes.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 6 2013, 02:55 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(everling @ Aug 6 2013, 02:34 PM)
You haven't experienced how poisonous SSDs are yet? blink.gif
You really don't need to wait for a UEFI motherboard. UEFI only takes care of the pre-boot. SSD takes care of the boot and everything else afterwards. Take your SSD poison today!
I already has my SSD, just waiting to be installed to my laptop and never turn back, brows.gif now just waiting for the caddy bay to arrive... kinda slow sad.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 11 2013, 09:02 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(AaronFPS @ Aug 11 2013, 01:44 AM)
my windows 7 need 20 seconds to boot up with Plextor M5S, how to configure it to make it faster? already removed some startup programmes
Please find the optimization guide at the first page, follow it and it should improve your boot up time by a few.
Please Note Windows 7 does has slower boot up compare to Windows 8, and Windows 7 itself is not optimize for SSD as yet, Windows 8 is designed to optimize for SSD.

And here's my SSD result after a struggling days of installing Windows 8.

wildwestgoh
post Aug 14 2013, 08:17 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(iwant2 @ Aug 13 2013, 09:30 PM)
Alright then.
Don't ask shop to DIY as they'll probably mark you as non-warranty, simply modify manufacturer configuration may just void your warranty, but if you know how to put it back properly when you RMA then it should be fine I guess. hmm.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 15 2013, 07:26 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jimmy.soo @ Aug 14 2013, 05:46 PM)
Mine doesn't look fast at all especially the write speed cry.gif
[attachmentid=3581813]
Nah, your 4K write is much important, and it's ridiculously high. shocking.gif
Looking at mine... cry.gif so much slower after installing drivers. yawn.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 15 2013, 02:59 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(imrance @ Aug 15 2013, 12:57 PM)
i Know SSD IS good. but i dont know hat happen with my laptop y500, only use 1months, with SSD very very slow. first i think problem with HDD Sata i change, but same problem.
after that i remove ssd. and it will be ok.

why SSD got problem any body know.
Have you enabled TRIM? Refer to first page "SSD Optimization" and see if yours is already optimized.
wildwestgoh
post Aug 15 2013, 04:23 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Aug 15 2013, 03:03 PM)
can anyone tell me what is the use of installing the driver to ssd? currently im using ssd 160gb intel 320 series.. the driver i installed is intel ssd toolbox, it got ask me to upgrade something but after upgrade i dont see any different, so can i ask what is the different i install driver and without install driver into my pc?
QUOTE(imrance @ Aug 15 2013, 03:31 PM)
TRIM I dont know? how to enable.
Please refer to first page for all the info and instruction on how to optimize your SSD for performance and lifespan improvement. It's all there, just need to take your time to read.
After all the optimization, post your AS SSD benchmark result, from there we can help you much better.

Note: Don't expect Windows Vista and below to perform par with Windows 7 and above (especially 8) and also note the combination of hardware used aside from the generation gap of SSD.
wildwestgoh
post Aug 15 2013, 04:41 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(jrshow @ Aug 15 2013, 04:39 PM)
i alr read through the first page n know what is the use of the driver alr..thxs for the infor..btw how i get my ssd bencemark?
wildwestgoh
post Aug 19 2013, 10:20 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(ronaldlim91 @ Aug 17 2013, 08:27 PM)
hey guys, been having a hard time deciding which SSD would be better, by first impression i would like to go for the plextor m5s 128gb, due to it's cheaper price (RM309 from zhen^wei). but my friend did suggested me to consider the sandisk 128gb (RM325) as well. based on write speed sandisk would be slightly better and also the brand is more widely known. can you guys suggest which is better? which might serve me for a longer period of time? budget wise is around RM300+. thanks!
The advertised speed is sequential (compressible) read/write speed which only less than 0.1% used daily, the only thing you should focus on is the 4K read/write, this is the only thing that affect your daily usage (bootup, running applications, background process, browsing, etc.)
Therefore, look at the review before you start pulling your wallet. But for most cases any SSD should provide you the heavenly speed over normal HDD and that's for sure, the rest is your wallet capabilities... brows.gif
wildwestgoh
post Aug 21 2013, 09:29 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Aug 20 2013, 08:13 PM)
Hi ssd sifu,

may I know whether Plextor M5S 128GB can be fit into lenovo y510p with the potential fully used? (i mean full speed after install all those drivers, not hardware limited)
What's the exact model that you want or have? Because on certain model there's mSATA option, or you just want to turn the HDD into SSD and don't mind the HDD space. hmm.gif
I did modify mine (Lenovo G400S) HDD to optical drive slot using a caddy bay so I can have both SSD speed and HDD space at the same time. cool2.gif

Well for you info, almost any laptop has no problem installing SSD, for that model, it's capable of 9.5mm HDD so Plextor M5S 128GB is no problem at all. Potential? That'll depends on the optimization that you may done, also the OS that you going to install. ("I" recommend Windows 8 brows.gif )
wildwestgoh
post Aug 21 2013, 11:05 AM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(Vcys86 @ Aug 21 2013, 10:52 AM)
there is no hardware limitation like bottleneck on certain transmit medium like SATA, etc that will hold back the ssd to reaching the maximum speed right?
Bottleneck? Don't think so, unless your optimization went wrong in the middle or something.
New laptop already has the SATA3 (6Gbps).
wildwestgoh
post Aug 22 2013, 04:18 PM

2,215 posts

QUOTE(nuekkacak @ Aug 21 2013, 12:17 PM)
Did u experience any heat issue while using Hdd caddy bay? I want to add one..
For my laptop the heat isn't an issue, for the original HDD isn't really generating much heat and I think the space between caddy bay a the space at the keyboard is fair and there's some room for the air to move through, I'm using notebook cooler to cool it down. Rather the RAM is heating up at the left side of my palm rest so I don't really rest my palm on too long when typing.

For those wondering about warranty, you can buy the bigger size at the very same price 3 years later so not much use of warranty unless you're in the IT professional field where longevity is a long term consideration. nod.gif
Also those higher end unit has better IO and performance, so it's actually up to your wallet in the end. brows.gif

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0541sec    1.07    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 06:16 PM