The SSD Thread V4, Solid State Drive

TShmwgbworld
post Jul 5 2013, 10:33 PM, updated 10y ago

3,375 posts

Official SSD Discussion Thread

Introduction
A solid-state drive (SSD) (sometimes improperly referred to as a "solid-state disk" or "electronic disk") is a data storage device that uses integrated circuit assemblies as memory to store data persistently. SSD technology uses electronic interfaces compatible with traditional block input/output (I/O) hard disk drives. SSDs do not employ any moving mechanical components, which distinguishes them from traditional magnetic disks such as hard disk drives (HDDs) or floppy disks, which are electromechanical devices containing spinning disks and movable read/write heads. Compared with electromechanical disks, SSDs are typically less susceptible to physical shock, are silent, and have lower access time and latency, but are, at 2011 market prices, more expensive per unit of storage. The prices have continued to decline in 2012.

SSDs share the I/O interface technology developed for hard disk drives, thus permitting simple replacement for most applications.
As of 2010, most SSDs use NAND-based flash memory, which retains data without power. For applications requiring fast access, but not necessarily data persistence after power loss, SSDs may be constructed from random-access memory (RAM). Such devices may employ separate power sources, such as batteries, to maintain data after power loss.

Hybrid drives combine the features of SSDs and HDDs in the same unit, containing a large hard disk drive and an SSD cache to improve performance of frequently accessed data. These devices may offer near-SSD performance for many applications.

The SSD Optimization Guide
http://thessdreview.com/ssd-guides/optimiz...zation-guide-2/

SSD related Tools and Ultilities
HDDTune ~ http://www.hdtune.com/download.html
AS SSD Benchmark ~ http://alex-is.de/PHP/fusion/downloads.php...4&download_id=9
ATTO Disk Brench ~ http://www.attotech.com/products/product.p...=Disk_Benchmark
CrystalDiskMark ~ http://crystalmark.info/software/CrystalDi...rk/index-e.html
Intel SSD toolbox ~ http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Des...Y&DwnldID=18455
SSDlife ~ http://ssd-life.com/eng/download-ssdlife.html

SSD Performance Chart
All SSD Charts 2012 [benchmarks] - http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/ssd-cha...hmarks,129.html
All SSD RAID 0 Charts 2011 [benchmarks] - http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/ssd-rai...hmarks,120.html
Best SSDs For The Money (Auto Update) - http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/ssd-re...hmark,3269.html
SSD Reviews - http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=150954

Source
http://www.anandtech.com/print/2829
http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?opti...d=444&Itemid=60
http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/storage/2...sd-controller/1
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solid-state_drive

SSD Controllers
Some Basic idea about SSD and SSD controller

SSD Firmware and Updates
OCZ - http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssd_tools/
Corsair - http://forum.corsair.com/v3/forumdisplay.php?f=206
Crucial - http://www.crucial.com/support/firmware.aspx
Intel - http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_Des...Y&DwnldID=18455
Kingston - http://www.kingston.com/en/support/technical/search
Plextor - http://www.goplextor.com/asia/index.php/download
Samsung - http://www.samsung.com/us/support/downloads

Previous Thread
The Solid State Storage Thread
The SSD Thread V2, Faster Better Greener Unbreakable!
The SSD Thread V3, The Speed You Need

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Aug 31 2013, 06:43 PM
TShmwgbworld
post Jul 5 2013, 10:34 PM

3,375 posts

Some Tutorials & FAQs about SSD (Solid State Drive)

Updated on 6 July 2013
Some correction on the answers provided from website

How to Install an SSD (Solid State Drive)

So what is it that makes an SSD so much faster than an HDD?

I have read that SSDs have very limited write cycles, and they don't last long. Is this true?

I have read that SSDs slow down after prolonged use. Is this true?

How does Internal Secure Erase work on an SSD?

Over-provisioning. What is it, and how does it work?

Why do smaller capacity SSDs tend to be slower than higher capacity drives?

What about services or programs in my operating system such as indexing, pre-fetching, write-caching, defrag etc?

What is TRIM?

What settings do I need to adjust in my system BIOS for optimal SSD performance?

Are SSDs compatible with SATA I & II ?

What is the difference between SLC and MLC flash memory chips?

If I'm using an older OS such as Vista or XP, will I still get the performance benefits of SSDs?

What is the life expectancy of my SSD?

How can I move my data onto my new SSD?

How long will my SSD last?

Does benchmarking my SSD decrease lifespan?

Will my SSD get hot?

Do I need to format my SSD? Why doesn't the drive appear in "My Computer" (Windows) or in "Finder" (Mac)?

How do I find out the firmware version on my SSD?

Reference Links
1. http://club.myce.com/f138/what-ssd-ssd-faq-297856/
2. http://ocz.com/consumer/ssd-guide/ssd-faqs

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Jul 7 2013, 08:12 AM
TShmwgbworld
post Jul 5 2013, 10:34 PM

3,375 posts

Updated on 6 July 2013

The FAQs continue on here with YouTube videos...
I do realize sometimes it is hard to understand by just read all of the sources through websites/articles. So some short videos are provided as below and hope that they can help to save you some time by just watching tongue.gif .

The Intel SSD Advantage

SSD vs Hard Drive Performance

Windows 7 install and SSD upgrade

How to properly configure the SSD as boot drive and HDD as storage drive

How to Transfer your Boot Drive to your New Intel SSD - Data Migration

What is TRIM and Why Does Your SSD Need It?

The benefits of using a SSD

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Jul 9 2013, 07:58 PM
TShmwgbworld
post Jul 5 2013, 10:35 PM

3,375 posts

Latest News & Reviews!!

Year 2014
Mar 18 Micron/Crucial M550 SSD Review
Feb 2 Intel SSD 730 Review

Year 2013
Dec 29 Samsung 840 EVO 1TB mSATA SSD Review
Dec 19 Crucial M500 mSATA – High Capacity and Power Loss Data Protection
Nov 19 Intel SSD 530 (240GB) Review
Oct 8 Toshiba HG5D Series SATA M.2 SSD Review
Sep 22 Samsung XP941 M.2 PCIe-New Ultra Standard
Sep 13 Samsung’s V-NAND
Sep 6 Plextor unveils M6 2.5" SSDs and M.2 PCI-Express SSDs
Sep 5 SanDisk A110 PCIe SSD
Aug 14 Mushkin to Showcase Scorpion Deluxe SSD
Aug 6 SSD Deathmatch: Crucial's M500 Vs. Samsung's 840 EVO
July 26 ASUS ROG Launches RAIDR Express PCI Express-based SSD
July 25 Samsung SSD 840 EVO Review [All]
July 25 Intel SSD 530 Series High Performance Client SSDs Launched
July 17 Samsung SSD 840 EVO
Jul 10 Adding RAM Prolong the SSD Lifespan
July 8 BIWIN Announced Half-length H6201 Embedded SSD
July 3 Report: Intel SSD 530 Series SSDs Launching Next Week
June 24 Toshiba Launches New 7mm Hybrid Drive Series
June 18 Samsung Starts Production of PCIe SSDs for Ultrabooks
June 17 Toshiba THNSNH 256 GB SSD
June 15 ADATA Unveils the SX2000 1600 GB Solid State Drive
June 14 Intel Releases Data Center S3500 SSDs
June 12 Mushkin Packs Four SandForce Controllers into a PCIe SSD
June 4 SanDisk Intros Extreme II SSD for Gamers, OEM Solutions
May 26 Innodisk Releases World First 1.5 gram SATA µSSDs
May 7 Seagate steps strongly into the solid-state market with four new SSDs
Apr 10 Crucial Rolls Out New M500 Series SSDs
Mar 13 Plextor Reveals Its TLC-based SSD
Mar 8 Seagate Unveils Its Third Generation SSHDs
Feb 7 OCZ Offering Free Copies of Far Cry 3 to Vector SSD Owners

Year 2012 - Deleted to reserve space, but still can refer back from previous SSD Thread.

Owner List

I'm not the original owner for ssd discussion thread, but on behalf try to help to make the thread goes on  smile.gif .
Anyone who has reliable sources, information or news to share please kindly pm me to update it here as I'm still new learner to SSD and sometimes may busy to miss out some useful info to share  notworthy.gif .
Lets helps to keep this topic move on together  notworthy.gif

The Speed of Lightning That You Need  cool2.gif .
Regards, hmwgbworld.

This post has been edited by hmwgbworld: Mar 22 2014, 04:43 PM
milky
post Jul 5 2013, 10:40 PM

- King -
4,743 posts

just copying from v3

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 5 2013, 07:40 PM)
dude m5pro extreme is overated..

for me its either u go for 
1.Corsair force GS - high read and write - Sandforce
2.Corsair Neutron GTX/Sandisk Extreme II/Seagate 600 Pro - I/O consistency on enterprise grade level - LAMD
3.Samsung 840 pro - Awesome in everyway imaginable - Samsung own in house everything their own.
4.OCZ Vector - Highest Read Performance on 4k - Indilinx
5.Crucial M500 - Good performance go GB value .. day to day. - Marvell.
6.Samsung 840 - TLC - Overall good day to day performance - Samsung ( leader in tlc atm)

i really dont see where the m5pro extreme fits. seriously. and i am against it solely cause it looks like crap and even the box looks like crap.
i tot plextor m5pro was good enof?
actually.. now which one is the best ard 128gb below ssd?
now using 120gb 520series intel
CyntrixTech
post Jul 5 2013, 11:29 PM

Distributor
2,583 posts

You have one of the BEST SSD in the market. For major and crucial products, stick to Intel for safest bet. Only problem is...no stock :facepalm:...there's major global shortage.
Cizuka97
post Jul 6 2013, 06:33 AM

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 5 2013, 07:40 PM)
dude m5pro extreme is overated..

for me its either u go for 
1.Corsair force GS - high read and write - Sandforce
2.Corsair Neutron GTX/Sandisk Extreme II/Seagate 600 Pro - I/O consistency on enterprise grade level - LAMD
3.Samsung 840 pro - Awesome in everyway imaginable - Samsung own in house everything their own.
4.OCZ Vector - Highest Read Performance on 4k - Indilinx
5.Crucial M500 - Good performance go GB value .. day to day. - Marvell.
6.Samsung 840 - TLC - Overall good day to day performance - Samsung ( leader in tlc atm)

i really dont see where the m5pro extreme fits. seriously. and i am against it solely cause it looks like crap and even the box looks like crap.
How come your number one recommendation is using Sandforce?

What means leader in tlc atm?

If I dun wait for Intel 530 and 535, what's your recommendation to use a main drive?
cstkl1
post Jul 6 2013, 08:48 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(Cizuka97 @ Jul 6 2013, 06:33 AM)
How come your number one recommendation is using Sandforce?

What means leader in tlc atm?

If I dun wait for Intel 530 and 535, what's your recommendation to use a main drive?
wasnt a ranking. just stating either of those.
Cizuka97
post Jul 6 2013, 08:50 AM

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jul 6 2013, 08:48 AM)
wasnt a ranking. just stating either of those.
thanks.
So what is tlc?
storm88
post Jul 6 2013, 09:13 AM

~UncleSam Ready to Rolls~
5,595 posts

QUOTE(Cizuka97 @ Jul 6 2013, 09:50 AM)
thanks.
So what is tlc?
Triple layer cell

One of the 3 mjor type ssd nand type in the industry
storm88
post Jul 6 2013, 09:16 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(milky @ Jul 5 2013, 11:40 PM)
just copying from v3
i tot plextor m5pro was good enof?
actually.. now which one is the best ard 128gb below ssd?
now using 120gb 520series intel
For me there is no BEST ssd. Just buy one which fits your need and budget.
For me the top SSD in da market is
Samsung 840 Pro
Ocz Vector
Plextor M5Pro
Corsair Neutron GT
wassap
post Jul 6 2013, 07:55 PM

my preciousss~~
1,117 posts

<wassap> | <Intel 520> | <240gb>
huzzLEE_82
post Jul 7 2013, 12:38 AM

MHaF
1,301 posts

hi all..i'm using Asrock Z77E itx mobo...
underside got 1 msata slot which is running 3gb/s
is there a major throttle down in speed if i put in a 6gb/s msata SSD?
tq in advance
-kytz-
post Jul 7 2013, 12:43 AM

12,509 posts

Thank you so much for the revamped and informative new SSD thread hmwgbworld smile.gif
TShmwgbworld
post Jul 7 2013, 08:47 AM

3,375 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Jul 7 2013, 12:38 AM)
tq in advance
There will be little throttle down in speed. mSata will only be good option to consider for a rig when your casing can't mount a ssd inside anymore.

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jul 7 2013, 12:43 AM)
Thank you so much for the revamped and informative new SSD thread hmwgbworld smile.gif
You are welcome thumbup.gif .
wkkm007
post Jul 7 2013, 01:04 PM

3,116 posts

this thread cool.
Innodisk Releases World First 1.5 gram SATA µSSDs
http://www.tomshardware.com/news/Innodisk-...uSSD,22718.html

1.5 gram SATA µSSDs will replace current eMMC solution in smartphone/tablet rclxms.gif
vinctham91
post Jul 8 2013, 08:43 AM

61 posts

I just bought a new Plextor M5S 128GB SSD. I removed the old SATA hard drive from my laptop and plugged in the new SSD. I turned on my laptop with a Windows 7 installation disk inserted, booted from the Windows disk, and got the screen where it asks which drive to install Windows onto. It said there were no drives detected.

Then I restarted the computer and went into the BIOS and tried to do a "Hard drive diagnostic test" and it said "Hard drive not exist." The SSD also does not show up in the list of bootable devices.

Next, I put my old hard drive back into my laptop and put the SSD in a USB SATA hard drive enclosure. I plugged the enclosure into a USB port and loaded the BIOS again. I looked at the list of bootable devices and the SSD was listed. Then I loaded Windows. Windows did detect the SSD in the Disk Manager and from there I formatted the SSD. Now I am able to see the SSD listed in My Computer as drive "I".

I tried replacing the hard drive with the SSD again and the BIOS still will not detect it. It only detects it when it is plugged in through the USB enclosure. What do I need to do to get it to detect the SSD normally (plugged into the SATA cable inside the laptop)?
k3et
post Jul 8 2013, 09:39 AM

192 posts

Just installed Plextor M5S 128GB on my Rampage 3 Formula X58 MB.

Intel Sata 2 - Read 280mb Write 200MB
Marvel Sata 3 - Read 400mb Write 200MB

I would like to know is there anyway that I can increase my read speed to 520mb as per advertise?

storm88
post Jul 8 2013, 10:26 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(k3et @ Jul 8 2013, 10:39 AM)
Just installed Plextor M5S 128GB on my Rampage 3 Formula X58 MB.

Intel Sata 2 - Read 280mb Write 200MB
Marvel Sata 3 - Read 400mb Write 200MB

I would like to know is there anyway that I can increase my read speed to 520mb as per advertise?
board native limitation. You need to connect it to marvell sata 3 port, and also remember to enable AHCI
storm88
post Jul 8 2013, 10:29 AM

5,595 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Jul 7 2013, 01:38 AM)
tq in advance
the speed will be capped at 300mhz max transfer speed.
but worry not la, your daily use doesn't goes as that high, and you still can enjoy the superb speed of ssd

128 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 09:12 PM