Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

r1v3r
post May 2 2012, 04:51 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 2 2012, 04:23 PM)
Wow, so if i apply for PR, then NS is a must ? ? 2 years izit? if yea then it is quite long, even malaysia only for 3 months.
Not just 2 years, you still have IPPT fitness test to pass and reservist obligation lasting up to age 40 for enlisted men and 50 for officers.

Looking at the bright side, you will keep yourself fit and healthy till 50.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Conscription_in_Singapore

deodorant
post May 2 2012, 04:58 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

efinancial careers just came up with a bonus report for 2012 that ... quite frankly ... didn't tell me anything of interest whatsoever hmm.gif

http://marketing.dice.com/pdf/BonusReport2012_vSG.pdf
SUSkockroach
post May 2 2012, 06:29 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 2 2012, 03:23 PM)
Wow, so if i apply for PR, then NS is a must ? ? 2 years izit? if yea then it is quite long, even malaysia only for 3 months.
Malaysia's is summer camp. Singapore's is battle ready. Malaysia one after the camp if go Bersih rally also I doubt they know how to handle themselves.
tailtwist
post May 2 2012, 06:31 PM

1,564 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 2 2012, 04:23 PM)
1st gen PR is not liable for NS....mind u...if your wife sponsor u to become a PR(dependant PR)...then you're considered as 2ND GEN which is then liable for NS
Mackiddo
post May 2 2012, 08:25 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ May 2 2012, 09:07 AM)
can I bring my bf?
sure can. Bank another $50 to my account. quick quick

Added on May 2, 2012, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(megadisc @ May 1 2012, 10:20 PM)
ooo...where are they going to bill us leh ???
i mean where is the toll..???
Toll is still at the same place

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 2 2012, 08:29 PM
SUSkockroach
post May 2 2012, 09:19 PM

Certified Noob
3,256 posts

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 2 2012, 07:25 PM)
sure can. Bank another $50 to my account. quick quick

Added on May 2, 2012, 8:29 pm
Toll is still at the same place
Just did, kindly check your account.
SUSalaskanbunny
post May 2 2012, 09:59 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ May 2 2012, 09:07 AM)
can I bring my bf?
shocking.gif
QUOTE(ivanswk @ May 2 2012, 01:03 PM)
when effecting ? i come back monday nite still freeeee...  thumbup.gif
when toll booth stand high high then it is erecting lor
QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 2 2012, 03:22 PM)
Ya. But I do not know the reason why my application was rejected in the first place.
some say they see face also.. is that true? did u paste a pretty pic?... tried appealing already?
QUOTE(extremepower @ May 2 2012, 04:18 PM)
Ns a  nuisance lah now days. The guys wasted 2 yrs of their life.
ns to protect the country lor... ppl dont value it until invading army rape their mother, wife and daughters
newaisa
post May 2 2012, 10:13 PM

202 posts

Hi guys,

I heard that if I want to take express coach in JB there is a bus station just around the JB checkpoint, meaning don't have to go all the way to Larkin.
But I don't seem to be able to find it tho, tried asking around the other day around the custom and everyone told me to go to Larkin.
If anyone knows, kindly let me know the exact place where I can get the bus ticket near custom. Thanks.
r1v3r
post May 2 2012, 10:58 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(newaisa @ May 2 2012, 10:13 PM)
Hi guys,

I heard that if I want to take express coach in JB there is a bus station just around the JB checkpoint, meaning don't have to go all the way to Larkin.
But I don't seem to be able to find it tho, tried asking around the other day around the custom and everyone told me to go to Larkin.
If anyone knows, kindly let me know the exact place where I can get the bus ticket near custom. Thanks.
Used to take bus from Merlin Tower (next to city square). There were a row of counters selling express bus ticket facing the main road and a few counter on the other side of level 1. Either you board the bus at the petrol station right next to it or they will send you to Larkin with van. Not so sure about their operation after the opening of CIQ.

SUSsylar111
post May 3 2012, 10:30 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ May 2 2012, 09:59 PM)
shocking.gif

when toll booth stand high high then it is erecting lor

some say they see face also.. is that true? did u paste a pretty pic?... tried appealing already?

ns to protect the country lor... ppl dont value it until invading army rape their mother, wife and daughters
Ya. I think I am quite handsome. Well, my company needs me a lot so they did appeal for me. But I am really confuse now. To be honest. MOM never told us the real reason as to why my EP is rejected. I am not sure to be honest. I have tried means to find out what is the real reason as to why I got rejected but I was not being told. I guess what I can do is perhaps persuade my job agency to ask them if previous PRs who renounce it because of national service would have it count against them when applying for EP. Another thing was that I worked here a very long time ago for 6 months. I do not know if that was counted against me.

ya. Let the citizen protect their own country then. I am not a citizen of Singapore. It was a big mistake that my father applied PR for me when he was working in Sg. If I knew of the consequences(Have to serve NS). I do not think my father would have applied PR for me at that time. There was in fact no benefits of me being a PR. I am able to enjoy most of the benefits due to the fact that my father was a PR. If there is a war, how would u know that I would continue to defend Singapore and not my own home country.
extremepower
post May 3 2012, 10:55 AM

545 posts

Now still got war meh? drool.gif

Now days they got nuke. Who dare to invade? vmad.gif

Also, have you seen 1 million bullet gun? You dare to invade? Balls also hilang. lol. wink.gif rclxub.gif

Also, If I am North Korean leader, I will dig up a tunnel in Seoul and blast it under ground. Manpower no problem to dig in NK. wink.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by extremepower: May 3 2012, 10:56 AM
seantang
post May 3 2012, 11:04 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ May 3 2012, 10:55 AM)
Now still got war meh? drool.gif
Against Singapore... it won't be a simple war. It will be a 'jihad' or for "maruah" or "kedaulatan" or "pasir (tanahair)" or some other ridiculous war-mongering notion like that etc.

QUOTE(extremepower)
Now days they got nuke. Who dare to invade?  vmad.gif
Singapore got nuke?

And by the way, if you nuke your next door neighbour, you nuke yourself with the fallout. That's why Nth Korea's missiles are not pointed at Seoul, but rather Tokyo.

This post has been edited by seantang: May 3 2012, 11:05 AM
keelim
post May 3 2012, 11:06 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 3 2012, 10:30 AM)
Ya. I think I am quite handsome. Well, my company needs me a lot so they did appeal for me. But I am really confuse now. To be honest. MOM never told us the real reason as to why my EP is rejected. I am not sure to be honest. I have tried means to find out what is the real reason as to why I got rejected but I was not being told. I guess what I can do is perhaps persuade my job agency to ask them if previous PRs who renounce it because of national service would have it count against them when applying for EP. Another thing was that I worked here a very long time ago for 6 months. I do not know if that was counted against me.
ya. Let the citizen protect their own country then. I am not a citizen of Singapore. It was a big mistake that my father applied PR for me when he was working in Sg. If I knew of the consequences(Have to serve NS). I do not think my father would have applied PR for me at that time. There was in fact no benefits of me being a PR. I am able to enjoy most of the benefits due to the fact that my father was a PR. If there is a war, how would u know that I would continue to defend Singapore and not my own home country.
Sylar,

Sorry to add salt to injury, but you should give up trying. It was indeed your parents’ unintentional mistake. There are some cases where NS defaulters were granted EP but extremely few. Considering you’re replying in this forum I presume you are not part of the ultra elitist (the likes of Hassan Merican, the Lim’s, or the Bo’s family). Defaulting NS is an offence of the highest order going by the locals’ perception. You may still appeal for clemency from the President for drug trafficking but not NS. If you defaulted in the correct manner, you are still welcome to SG as a tourist; otherwise it’s a jail sentence.

From the looks of it, it’s a futile battle for you.

This post has been edited by keelim: May 3 2012, 11:13 AM
yhoong12
post May 3 2012, 11:21 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Wow, if EP application been rejected once, should we ask the HR to apply other pass, would it increase the chances of successful application or should ask HR to keep trying?

deodorant
post May 3 2012, 11:23 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 3 2012, 10:30 AM)
I guess what I can do is perhaps persuade my job agency to ask them if previous PRs who renounce it because of national service would have it count against them when applying for EP.

I posted a couple links earlier, but you can also go ahead and google, there is a lot of anecdotal evidence that people who "renounce PR to skip NS" are almost-blacklisted by the government. Sucks that you're paying the price for a decision your dad made, but ... what's done is done, take your skills to some other country lor.
extremepower
post May 3 2012, 02:21 PM

545 posts

Sg no need nuke. with the f16, f18 or f20 spraying the bombs, it can easily level up the whole of johor bahru. lol wink.gif

For North korea, Even tho its pointing to tokyo, but mistakes do happen tho. lol. It's like... 'oops, I said lunch... not launch.' Remember? lol. wink.gif
crazy25kid
post May 3 2012, 02:26 PM

Jack of all trades, master of none...in short, a NUB !!
1,424 posts

Actually, why do you all blame the parents for applying PR for the kid?
We do not know their reason.
They may or may not know that their sons will have to serve NS.
They may have applied PR for their son cause at the moment, the parents might have thought of enrolling the kids to schools in Sg.
They may have applied PR for their kids so that they can be together instead of taking the risk of applying a dependant pass (yearly?) with a chance of getting rejected.
hokin
post May 3 2012, 02:27 PM

245 posts

I am one of those that travel to KL almost weekly during the weekends. I normally return by taking Nice Executive Coach around midnight on Sunday arriving around 5.30 in Singapore, stopping at Mackenzie Road (near Little India MRT). From there I take the first 980 bus which takes me directly back to Sembawang where I stay and work. However in June, Nice Coach is shifting to The Plaza on Beach Road, which is much further down and there is no direct bus.

Does anyone here knows which bus companies that use the Causeway and stops somewhere around Marsiling or Woodlands, from there its only a short distance to Sembawang. From my search online, Konsortium have a midnight bus that uses the Causeway. Has anyone used this before and where does the bus stop after immigration in Singapore?

Thanking all in advance.
SUSsylar111
post May 3 2012, 02:31 PM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ May 3 2012, 02:26 PM)
We do not know their reason.
They may have applied PR for their son cause at the moment, the parents might have thought of enrolling the kids to schools in Sg.
They may have applied PR for their kids so that they can be together instead of taking the risk of applying a dependant pass (yearly?) with a chance of getting rejected.
It's not my parent's fault.

Of course they do not know. If they knew they would not have applied in the first place.

I do not need a PR to study in Singapore rite?

My father was based in Malaysia not in Singapore.

It was hindside that my dad applied PR for me. If he knew about this NS thingy he would not have applied NS for me. My brother was not a PR while he was schooling and took up PR only after he finished uni.
deodorant
post May 3 2012, 03:35 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ May 3 2012, 02:26 PM)

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 3 2012, 02:31 PM)
It's not my parent's fault.
Of course they do not know. If they knew they would not have applied in the first place.

I beg to differ - I have absolutely no intention of "talking bad" about your parents, but they obviously did not find out enough about the whole "apply PR for kids" process before doing so. If not their fault then whose fault? ICA fault because they never tell your parents about this when they were applying? hmm.gif

124 Pages « < 101 102 103 104 105 > » Top

0.0275sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 04:58 AM