Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

yhoong12
post May 7 2012, 10:40 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

I guess this question sound stupid as other might asked b4, i just want to know what is the pro and cons for to become a PR? I know somewhere in the thread got the answer, but is the thread just damn too long to look for, so hoping anyone can just answer my question, pro and cons in term of anything.

TQ very much notworthy.gif
SUSsylar111
post May 7 2012, 10:43 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 7 2012, 10:40 AM)

I guess this question sound stupid as other might asked b4, i just want to know what is the pro and cons for to become a PR? I know somewhere in the thread got the answer, but is the thread just damn too long to look for, so hoping anyone can just answer my question, pro and cons in term of anything.

TQ very much  notworthy.gif
Just make sure that when u become a PR make sure that ur sons does not become one otherwise will have to do NS.

Added on May 7, 2012, 10:43 amI am just curious. For Employment Pass. Do you think they will check your tax records in Malaysia?

This post has been edited by sylar111: May 7 2012, 10:43 AM
Mackiddo
post May 7 2012, 10:57 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ May 7 2012, 09:10 AM)
should join our company ...
we have openings for supply chain or order managerment
woodlands some more ...
young team too ...under 35years ..all ladies except for me ..
;P
still got vacancies ? tongue.gif

Added on May 7, 2012, 10:59 am
QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 7 2012, 10:40 AM)

PR got CPF contribution, some subsidy in medical and married PRs can buy HDB resale.

This post has been edited by Mackiddo: May 7 2012, 10:59 AM
megadisc
post May 7 2012, 11:16 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 7 2012, 11:40 AM)

PR - higher change of getting jobs but pay CPF which we will have no chance to get back brows.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 7 2012, 11:43 AM)
Just make sure that when u become a PR make sure that ur sons does not become one otherwise will have to do NS.

Added on May 7, 2012, 10:43 amI am just curious. For Employment Pass. Do you think they will check your tax records in Malaysia?
sons not PR is good
Singapore has no agreement with malaysia to declare our income tax
so we are safe for now...10q gahmen. notworthy.gif

QUOTE(Mackiddo @ May 7 2012, 11:57 AM)
still got vacancies ?  tongue.gif

Added on May 7, 2012, 10:59 am
PR got CPF contribution, some subsidy in medical and married PRs can buy HDB resale.
yeah still got wan lah ...my boss still interviewing candidates. notworthy.gif

jett991
post May 7 2012, 11:27 AM

25 posts

hey guys, i just give some opinions on working in SG...I am working in SG with an EP; just feel that SG is a place to work,solely for that,nothing is greater than our motherland(Malaysia);the bad is only our government,if our government is good, people-oriented,corruption-free,upholding the law of the country, emphasis on corporate government,i believe we all dun be so suffered to work at another country,right??

Added on May 7, 2012, 11:34 amI pray to God,hopefully I can gain sufficient experience,to be professionally qualified(hopefully it will be smooth in this 3-5years),go back to serve my country,our newly formed government! i encourage u guys to come back to serve the country,to let it continue to prosper; i believe that u guys dun wan to see our country always lags behind of other country,right?

This post has been edited by jett991: May 7 2012, 11:34 AM
mercury8400
post May 7 2012, 11:44 AM

2,703 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ May 7 2012, 11:27 AM)
hey guys, i just give some opinions on working in SG...I am working in SG with an EP; just feel that SG is a place to work,solely for that,nothing is greater than our motherland(Malaysia);the bad is only our government,if our government is good, people-oriented,corruption-free,upholding the law of the country, emphasis on corporate government,i believe we all dun be so suffered to work at another country,right??

Added on May 7, 2012, 11:34 amI pray to God,hopefully I can gain sufficient experience,to be professionally qualified(hopefully it will be smooth in this 3-5years),go back to serve my country,our newly formed government! i encourage u guys to come back to serve the country,to let it continue to prosper; i believe that u guys dun wan to see our country always lags behind of other country,right?
hahaha that was initially most people's plan including my own. Then things change when you start to have a SG GF and a close bunch of friends in SG...
megadisc
post May 7 2012, 11:48 AM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ May 7 2012, 12:27 PM)

lets see whether our gahmen head is lorry driver or not ?
pengsan
Mackiddo
post May 7 2012, 11:51 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ May 7 2012, 11:16 AM)
PR - higher change of getting jobs but pay CPF which we will have no chance to get back  brows.gif  brows.gif

but CPF is good, at least my HDB monthly repayment is lowered than a $ingle-room rental after CPF deduction. Also can use medisafe to help on some insurance premium.
yhoong12
post May 7 2012, 11:51 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ May 7 2012, 11:27 AM)

Haha, new government? Lets pray hard for it, if you see how BN is planning for winning the next election, then you know if the new government can be form onot.

Foreigner registered as eligible voters, malaysian who haven register as voter also automatic become voters.(Dunno where the vote will go if you din vote).

Mass Media cover the dirty work of Police and many more.

Like you say, who want to become Foreign talent if can success in own country.
jett991
post May 7 2012, 11:52 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(mercury8400 @ May 7 2012, 11:44 AM)
hahaha that was initially most people's plan including my own. Then things change when you start to have a SG GF and a close bunch of friends in SG...
so do u mean that after u have SG GF,everything has been changed already??haha
but apparently i can see on my own, a lot of singaporeans, whenever there is a holiday or weekend, they will certainly get out of that limited land space...personally,i do feel that living in SG is quite stressful! cry.gif
SUSsylar111
post May 7 2012, 11:57 AM

2,547 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ May 7 2012, 11:16 AM)
PR - higher change of getting jobs but pay CPF which we will have no chance to get back  brows.gif  brows.gif
sons not PR is good
Singapore has no agreement with malaysia to declare our income tax
so we are safe for now...10q gahmen.  notworthy.gif
yeah still got wan lah ...my boss still interviewing candidates.  notworthy.gif
Who says u have no chance of getting your PR back?
My father was a PR there and he now has the choice to get back his CPF. Just that he is keeping it there as CPF gives high interest to his deposits. Dun forget, your company pays an extra 12 percent for you. So you get an extra 12 percent in income. Unless you can find an investment that can supplement this 12 percent with your 10 percent income. It's a good deal.
jett991
post May 7 2012, 11:58 AM

25 posts

QUOTE(yhoong12 @ May 7 2012, 11:51 AM)
Haha, new government? Lets pray hard for it, if you see how BN is planning for winning the next election, then you know if the new government can be form onot.

Foreigner registered as eligible voters, malaysian who haven register as voter also automatic become voters.(Dunno where the vote will go if you din vote).

Mass Media cover the dirty work of Police and many more.

Like you say, who want to become Foreign talent if can success in own country.
trust in ur motherland is the key! u look at the past election held at other countries, eg: Myammar, French, Thailand and so on, their political landscape has been changed! do u believe that their election is completely free and fair??towards clean and fair poll, there is a process need to be going thru...
so i believe the change is coming round of corner since malaysia is blessed with rich natural resources and God protection.
kjoez
post May 7 2012, 12:15 PM

hey...I malaysian fresh graduate. looking for engineering jobs in sg. any vacancy recommend?
cless^alvein
post May 7 2012, 02:05 PM

79 posts

Wanna ask, is it legal to download stuffs (eg. movies) using premium account (depositfiles, uploaded etc.) at Singapore?
r1v3r
post May 7 2012, 02:19 PM

1,305 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 7 2012, 10:43 AM)

Not all people think like you.

Some military training for young man is good and I believe in fairness. If 2nd Gen PR want to continue their stay/work in SG, they should contribute by performing his duty else he can go other country.

Some family also believe in "live together as one". When something bad happen in MY, the worst things is your son will not join the rest of the family in SG because he chicken out his NS.

Added on May 7, 2012, 2:28 pm
QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 7 2012, 11:57 AM)
Who says u have no chance of getting your PR (CPF?) back?
My father was a PR there and he now has the choice to get back his CPF. Just that he is keeping it there as CPF gives high interest to his deposits. Dun forget, your company pays an extra 12 percent for you. So you get an extra 12 percent in income. Unless you can find an investment that can supplement this 12 percent with your 10 percent income. It's a good deal.
added: You can get your CPF back after some time but not your PR.

This post has been edited by r1v3r: May 7 2012, 02:28 PM
deodorant
post May 7 2012, 02:47 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 7 2012, 11:57 AM)
My father was a PR there and he now has the choice to get back his CPF.

You're not getting his point. Assuming you don't give up your PR, you can't happily withdraw everything from CPF at 55th birthday. I dunno the details but you can only withdraw some ridiculously small sum, then the rest government will only give you back by monthly payment over next 20 years or something like that.

If you give up your PR, and if you are West Malaysian, you still can't (immediately) get your CPF back, still have to wait til 50-55: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm

seantang
post May 7 2012, 05:50 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ May 7 2012, 02:47 PM)
If you give up your PR, and if you are West Malaysian, you still can't (immediately) get your CPF back, still have to wait til 50-55: http://mycpf.cpf.gov.sg/CPF/my-cpf/Overseas/LivO9.htm
Same as EPF.

So just think of CPF as your EPF. Why must one insist on withdrawing CPF (which is well managed) but have no qualms about keeping money in EPF (which has no assets left and is basically running on simple cashflow ie. as long contributions > withdrawals, nobody is the wiser).

Mackiddo
post May 8 2012, 03:22 AM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

QUOTE(cless^alvein @ May 7 2012, 02:05 PM)
Wanna ask, is it legal to download stuffs (eg. movies) using premium account (depositfiles, uploaded etc.) at Singapore?
is it even legal else where?
yhoong12
post May 8 2012, 09:44 AM

Balls Addicted~~
846 posts

Haha, Last time i saw the news stating that more than half of the citizens download,but just dunno if they will enforce the law against illegal download.

Until now did anyone caught and fined by government due to download?

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...036-331831.html
ivanswk
post May 8 2012, 10:51 AM

+J
2,110 posts

Finance and accounting jobs employment outlook in Asia

124 Pages « < 103 104 105 106 107 > » Top

0.0344sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:40 PM