Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

keelim
post Feb 20 2012, 02:05 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 20 2012, 01:43 PM)
Wow, I gonna butthurt liao.

I just get to know my friend's friend at the SG Airshow 2012 over the last weekend working as a first officer pilot in SIA and draws him a salary of $26,000 per month and guess what, he is only 28 this year.  rclxub.gif

Fulalmak, high income, great salary, high social status profession, a job that command great respects and attention especially from all the stewardress, travel around the world, staying in 5 stars hotel when abroad, which jobs other than pilot can have these sort of treatment and attributes??

And my friend told me he just bought a condo in SG and also paying installment for RM3 million bungalow in KL.

Back to ground now whereby most of us is only earning $7K to $8K a month. Sad....

Regretted I din took-up piloting but when into accountancy instead.
One of my colleague is ex-VP of SIA (yes VP!). I used to chat with him on the required flying hours/aircraft to correspond to the ranks and salary structure. The numbers you've put up given his age seems to be Linsane.

It's either your friend gave you false info, or my colleague was pulling my leg.

This post has been edited by keelim: Feb 20 2012, 02:05 PM
keelim
post Feb 20 2012, 04:32 PM

941 posts

1.How would Sg salary payslip/notice of tax assessment be assessed by the banks in Malaysia for property?

2.To what extend does the currency exposure taken into account for leveraging purposes?

3.Any additional collateral required for the loan or does the purchase has to be confined to specific towns (i.e. JB)?

4. In the event one has purchased a property (commercial/residential) in Msia (with or without the name signed on the dotted lines), how does this 'existing' property affects future purchases of Sg. public housing?

5. Under specific clauses, is HDB authorized to expropriate the public housing if found statutory declaration was intentionally/unitentionally misrepresented by the owner?

Anyone has specific experience to share?
keelim
post Mar 15 2012, 03:19 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(Aloong @ Feb 21 2012, 02:08 PM)
The above is my opinion to ur question. I guess u shd buy a HDB first then buy a property in Msia the next 5 years. or temporary transfer ur property to other family members.

Added on February 21, 2012, 2:17 pm

i think alaskan issue is whether 'WP' can hold directorship in SG, in addition to employment. and whether there any issue with MOM.
Banks declaration are only concern with MAS's concern on conflict of interest, not MOM.

Logically, there's a lot of foreign directors here, but dun think they are "WP", maybe EP.

Btw do they hold EP or something else?

Wat if they get director fee instead of director salary? are they employee, can get EP?
In Sg, transferring property 'HDB' has to be at the market price - assessed by a valuer/bank. Hence, the process will entail capital gain tax in a typical boom market. I think Msia has the same clause as well. Transferring the property to your siblings is actually quite "costly" and not advisable from a tax point of view. It's better to play by the rules set by HDB. Compliance is better than evasion.

Added on March 15, 2012, 3:27 pm
QUOTE(deadpool77 @ Mar 15 2012, 01:44 PM)
my basic in kl is RM4800.
anyway i think ill take up the offer. will sign the letter and fax to them. most important now is for me to be near my fiance. maybe once i'm there i can think about better opportunity. since it took me 2 years to get this, who knows how much longer i have to wait if i pass this up. maybe it'll be better once i'm there.

thanks guys for the help and advice. see u all there soon  smile.gif
In the scheme of things, you and your fiance should have a sustainable long-term plan. Rationale, realistic and executable considering the time horizon you intend to pursue those plans. Frankly, I will not make the transition if I dont intend to start a family in Sg (given your circumstances).

This post has been edited by keelim: Mar 15 2012, 03:27 PM
keelim
post Mar 16 2012, 05:23 PM

941 posts

[quote=ahzhi,Mar 16 2012, 04:54 PM]
further study for ACCA? ==

Added on March 16, 2012, 4:57 pm
No offense, but nothing from your post suggests that you have what it takes to even enter an IB, much less survive in it. And you want to join audit firm because you're interested in the share market? Cannot understand.

[/quote]

sry,i should ask directly.im fresh graduate frm adv.diploma in accouting. should i enter investment bank or audit firm?

[/quote]

I am toggling between PowerPoint and excel and accidentally "slip" into this window and saw your direct question.

It sounded like you are holding the firms "balls" at the mercy of your majesty and occasionally gripping them so tight as a sign of authority. From there, you're demanding them to spit all the reasons for your majesty to justify their filthy qualifications they have to employ the only person second to Einstein on earth and still breathing.

While I am humble enough to pledge my ignorance to your almighty direct question, I promise to fulfill my duty as a servant of you majesty in the form of extravagance. Let me know your palace and I will personally send 3 freshly cook crab dishes to your doorstep. Chilli crab from long beach, salted egg from sig ma, and black pepper from jurong.

Added on March 16, 2012, 5:27 pmYour majesty, to complete this once in a life time opportunity to bow upon you, forgive me but I dare say the investment banks and audit firms are too wretched for you to join. Thou are in the league of gods...

This post has been edited by keelim: Mar 16 2012, 05:30 PM
keelim
post Mar 18 2012, 03:19 PM

941 posts

I just bought a return ticket to Ipoh for next year CNY. It cost Rm1,033. Price is flat for the whole week. The result of monopolized routes.

We have competition commission to look after AA and Mas share-swap deal. I thought this is one blatant justification.
keelim
post Mar 18 2012, 10:58 PM

941 posts

QUOTE(hokin @ Mar 18 2012, 10:23 PM)
Did you try Fireflyz? Or they no longer fly the Sg-Ipoh route?
That's Firefly, a fully-owned subsidiary of MAS.

Added on March 18, 2012, 11:02 pm
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 18 2012, 10:37 PM)
So early buy also so expensive? My this year CNY also around there, SG - KL and then Penang - KL - SG via AA was about sgd400, but I bought very last minute ...
That's the irony.

1) They dont seem to operate a budget airline business model:- Inducing consumer spending via early birds price structure.
2) Route monopoly. This leads to (1).

Only in Asia where consumer rights are suppressed considerably. If this were to happen in Australia, they can prepare to answer to the competition commission.

This post has been edited by keelim: Mar 18 2012, 11:02 PM
keelim
post Mar 19 2012, 10:16 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 19 2012, 09:50 AM)
If it was me who kena bang, I wonder if my insurance would pay out. I only got 'accident' insurance which pays a measly $3k if my death was not "accidental."
"The victim is Mr Chandra Mogan, who is a Malaysian."
I actually did a risk assessment for myself. As a salaried employee, 3 events would bankrupt me:-
i) Gamble
ii) Medical (family and myself)
iii) Siblings/Parents debt

The solution to the 1st is pretty straightforward. For medical, I insured my family and myself with Prudential. I remember paying a premium of S$180/month.

The 3rd item is unlikely to happen but is more of a generalization from the countless observation. It aint a perfect world anyway.
keelim
post Mar 31 2012, 11:04 PM

941 posts

I thought AA had abolished the counter check-in tax The only benefit of web check-in that I can think of is you can drop your bags straight away at the airport.
keelim
post Apr 17 2012, 06:21 PM

941 posts

I was involved in an infrastructure project where the lead EPC appointed Surbana as a sub-contractor. But it was not Surbana Singapore though. I think Surbana Singapore has significant dealings with URA and HDB.
keelim
post Apr 24 2012, 09:36 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(extremepower @ Apr 23 2012, 08:11 PM)
ok. good. who else want to join badminton group.

RIM susah lah. My friend is the big distributor of RIM in KL. RIM will suffer from their lousy business model. wink.gif
For every apple product sold in the market, 0.0045 job is cut. So if you see 223 apple products, someone just lost his job. Ok. Forget about the ratio. Apple success comes at the expense of many job losses. While many are glorifying how tremendous their stock growth has been, they fail to see the correlation of unemployment with the price. It’s a sad story.

This post has been edited by keelim: Apr 24 2012, 09:36 AM
keelim
post Apr 24 2012, 01:07 PM

941 posts

It's the lag effect in job opportunities against population growth. While is good that capitalism catalyze technology advancement and allow labour skills to move up the value chain... It fails to tackle the lag effect. I worried for people in the tech industry that is not part of apple and Samsung product value chain.... Like Nokia
keelim
post May 3 2012, 11:06 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(sylar111 @ May 3 2012, 10:30 AM)
Ya. I think I am quite handsome. Well, my company needs me a lot so they did appeal for me. But I am really confuse now. To be honest. MOM never told us the real reason as to why my EP is rejected. I am not sure to be honest. I have tried means to find out what is the real reason as to why I got rejected but I was not being told. I guess what I can do is perhaps persuade my job agency to ask them if previous PRs who renounce it because of national service would have it count against them when applying for EP. Another thing was that I worked here a very long time ago for 6 months. I do not know if that was counted against me.
ya. Let the citizen protect their own country then. I am not a citizen of Singapore. It was a big mistake that my father applied PR for me when he was working in Sg. If I knew of the consequences(Have to serve NS). I do not think my father would have applied PR for me at that time. There was in fact no benefits of me being a PR. I am able to enjoy most of the benefits due to the fact that my father was a PR. If there is a war, how would u know that I would continue to defend Singapore and not my own home country.
Sylar,

Sorry to add salt to injury, but you should give up trying. It was indeed your parents’ unintentional mistake. There are some cases where NS defaulters were granted EP but extremely few. Considering you’re replying in this forum I presume you are not part of the ultra elitist (the likes of Hassan Merican, the Lim’s, or the Bo’s family). Defaulting NS is an offence of the highest order going by the locals’ perception. You may still appeal for clemency from the President for drug trafficking but not NS. If you defaulted in the correct manner, you are still welcome to SG as a tourist; otherwise it’s a jail sentence.

From the looks of it, it’s a futile battle for you.

This post has been edited by keelim: May 3 2012, 11:13 AM

0.0465sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:46 AM