Working in Singapore V10, Serious Talk only. no chatting

deodorant
post Feb 3 2012, 03:44 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Feb 3 2012, 03:29 PM)
my friend left sg for good, got RM8k/month. In sg, he is P1 qualified with S$8k/month. He said 8k in sg is nothing, room rent already 2.5k, 2k for others. left 3.5k but cannot live like a KING.

And rm8k a month can live like a KING?
deodorant
post Feb 3 2012, 06:22 PM

5,691 posts

@Aloong > That sort of detailed discussion probably belongs in Finance/Biz/Investment House section not really in J&C
deodorant
post Feb 4 2012, 09:22 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Feb 3 2012, 09:26 PM)
Hi, quick question i'm dropping in here on my gfs behalf. She's working right now in HR in KL getting around RM2.4k/month as a HR exec for around 1.5 years. Recently she went for an interview with a company in SG for a similar position & they are offering SG$1.9k salary. Is this the average range of salary for her position in SG? Would you guys think its a worthwhile move for her?

Based on UBS' Prices & Earnings report, on average, you get paid 1.978 times more in Singapore than in Malaysia, so factoring in FX rates, anything above a 0.82 sgd : 1.00 myr ratio is considered "above average."
deodorant
post Feb 4 2012, 03:04 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Materazzi @ Feb 4 2012, 02:55 PM)
haha..maid no need to eat la..she will come at 8 then go home at 11..also can drive children to school with bicycle.

sometimes i'm not sure if you're constantly trolling us or if you're just plain <insert word here>.
deodorant
post Feb 5 2012, 11:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 5 2012, 10:50 PM)
Today SG radio news said causeway toll will increase by 5 times

Because of EDL? Most brilliant crony songlap-ism ever. Build a billion ringgit highway so that KL people going to Singapore can skip JB town ... but charge the toll at the Causeway so that even people who don't use the new highway need to pay for it.

Random Marina Bay shot. Was in a rush, didn't have time to set up properly sad.gif

Marina Bay 2012 by shuigao25, on Flickr
deodorant
post Feb 5 2012, 11:58 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 5 2012, 02:56 PM)
now we just need to know which company and avoid it.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif

Nola, just need to avoid the finance section smile.gif

QUOTE(reign226 @ Feb 5 2012, 11:50 PM)
Same deodorant at Clubsnap pentax section?

Nah, I don't go to clubsnap sad.gif
deodorant
post Feb 6 2012, 09:36 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(icycokes @ Feb 6 2012, 09:33 PM)
It will definitely reduce congestion within JB Town... at the expense of causeway travellers. The whole thing of asking causeway users to bear the costs just doesn't make sense.

It makes perfect sense to the people profiting off of this new bridge!

Malaysia boleh.

Also, happy chap goh mei everyone biggrin.gif Taken just now one.

Chap Goh Mei Moon by shuigao25, on Flickr
deodorant
post Feb 8 2012, 09:40 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(Jurlique @ Feb 7 2012, 08:51 PM)
Can anyone tell me why 7 out of 10 ppl in Singapore are using iPhone?

Well, one reason is that corporate plans for iPhone are crazy cheap.

My company's iPhone4S plan is $38 a month for 500mins 500sms 12gb data, and the phone (16gb version) comes free. Contract 2 years = $38 x 24 = $912 total payment which is even less than the $948 you pay if you buy retail phone only.

Android phones don't have anywhere near that kind of subsidy.
deodorant
post Feb 9 2012, 07:46 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 9 2012, 12:58 AM)
ask u to help me sign up also dont want  doh.gif  my cousin also dont wanna help me, say that i am cheap and very mah fan for him  sweat.gif

i already applied my full quota of 3 phones leh.

QUOTE(sylar111 @ Feb 9 2012, 04:11 PM)
Are you sure? I have a few friends working in IBM. They are around 35 years in age doing support and they are getting SGD4500. They are also singaporeans. Are you sure that the market in Sg can pay SGD 6600?

I think support typically pays on the lower end of the spectrum (for IT) compared to development guys, no? All I can say is that I know people in the IT line who are significantly younger than 35 and earning significantly higher than 4.5k.

QUOTE(crazy25kid @ Feb 9 2012, 04:21 PM)
i think someone mentioned maximum to go down is 0.8 before.

UBS prices vs earnings report, Singapore salary compared to Malaysia salary is on average about 0.8sgd to 1.0myr ... so theoretically if you came over and got offered 0.8sgd it could be considered "earning the same amount."
deodorant
post Feb 9 2012, 10:28 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(r1v3r @ Feb 9 2012, 08:39 PM)
Can provide the link on how you get the 0.8 figure?

Wage levels (Singapore) = 41.7% of New York
Wage levels (KL) = 21.0% of New York

Therefore on average, ratio of SG salary to KL salary on average is 1.98 : 1.00;
i.e if you had RM 10,000 in KL, and you moved to SG and got RM19,800 (SGD 8,215), you would be earning exactly the same in terms of comparison to the average wage levels in each city. So ... SGD0.8 : MYR 1.0 lor.

Obviously this calculation is hardly comprehensive, can at best be used as just a rough guideline.
deodorant
post Feb 10 2012, 09:50 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 10 2012, 08:48 AM)
Anyone seen the KFC incident in Malaysia?
What a damn racist act by that bunch of pariah.

My personal view is that it takes two to tango. Restaurant workers don't assault their staff for no reason. Note that I am not justifying the assault - the workers should definitely have had more self control - I'm just saying that the "victim" is hardly as innocent as he's trying to portray himself.
deodorant
post Feb 12 2012, 12:56 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(ky118 @ Feb 10 2012, 03:43 PM)
What is the best way to transfer $$$ (above RM10k) from MY to SG?
Anyone tried maybank2u.com and is the exchange rate good?

other people in this tered have earlier suggested raffles money changer but i never try before so no personal comment. i know seantang uses m2u transfer a lot so you can probably PM him to ask about rates & charges.
deodorant
post Feb 14 2012, 01:35 AM

5,691 posts

@ntick what on earth does ezlink card have to do with prepaid/postpaid cards? hmm.gif

For me i bought a starhub green prepaid to use for the 1st month in SG before applying for a singtel postpaid iPhone contract. Do note that unlike in Malaysia, SG prepaid cannot keep number when moving to postpaid, you have to get a new number.
deodorant
post Feb 14 2012, 02:57 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(XinLing @ Feb 14 2012, 01:45 PM)
Hi all, I have a few questions to ask regarding working in singapore. I'm a S Pass holder, working in Mediacorp, staying in hougang.

Happy Valentine's Day! wub.gif

If you're interested, the Singapore thread where we talk about more nonsense stuff is in serious kopitiam: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2220419

Then the gathering thread is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1889740

Then we got a FaceBook page, that one is our JBKing daikor Lester handle one, PM him to add you to the FB group: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Msg&CODE=04&MID=94648
deodorant
post Feb 14 2012, 11:47 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 14 2012, 03:41 PM)
I wonder why there are no such great offers in Malaysia?
Even if the phone comes with a plan, the phone will only be subsidized 20%-30%.

Strength of the currency. Malaysia telco subsidize rm500 = 20-30% of the handset cost. Singapore telco subsidize sgd500 = 50% of the handset cost.
deodorant
post Feb 14 2012, 11:49 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(jett991 @ Feb 14 2012, 05:16 PM)
I am from Johor..and the distance between SG and my hometown not really far.it takes about 1 and half hour to SG...sadly,I dun even receive even 1 interviewing call for the time being....

supply and demand. if there is huge supply for local singaporean fresh grads for your field, why would any company go through all the trouble to even call you for an interview (unless it wants to hire you cheaper than locals)?
deodorant
post Feb 15 2012, 03:48 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 15 2012, 02:17 PM)
I mean all are equal in SG regardless of race, age, gender, religion, nationality etc.

The department I work in is 15% Singaporean + Malaysian, and 85% foreigners from a particular country. Just sayin' smile.gif
deodorant
post Feb 19 2012, 12:19 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(sapapa @ Feb 18 2012, 07:31 PM)
I went to GIRO few days ago and talked to the officers there. They said that I am not liable to any tax, they could not help me with this. They said that this is between you and your company.

GIRO? hmm.gif ... you sure you put the correct acronym here?
deodorant
post Feb 20 2012, 02:36 PM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Feb 20 2012, 01:43 PM)
I just get to know my friend's friend at the SG Airshow 2012 over the last weekend working as a first officer pilot in SIA and draws him a salary of $26,000 per month and guess what, he is only 28 this year.  rclxub.gif

One of these people is bullsh*tting you lah. 26k per month, even 747-400 and A380 Captains don't earn that kind of money unless you factor in allowances. Sos: I have a good friend who just joined SIA (started flying school at 30 years old, lulz).
deodorant
post Feb 21 2012, 09:42 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Feb 21 2012, 08:00 AM)
neway... can work pass holders hold directorship outside of employment in sg? any hr staffs here?

should be ok. my friend holds sleeping directorship in his family business for uh ... tax purposes (lol). when he started work in a bank in SG, they were OK with it as long as he signed some declaration forms & his manager & compliance approved. EP process not affected.

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0213sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:43 AM