129 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

kepalapening
post Aug 12 2012, 06:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 12 2012, 05:55 PM)
A question to the new Camry owners. Have you tested your cruise control? If so, how does it work in terms of setting, speeding up, slowing down, etc. Thanks.
Push the button to switch on, accelerate 2 the desired speed and set. Even at low speed.
Can slow down and speed up also using the lever.
To cancel just pull the lever or apply brake.
I dono about other cars, but, it's far better than the one installed in my ex-ria.
Ops I've done comparison with the old kia again.

K5WHITE
post Aug 12 2012, 07:43 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 12 2012, 06:50 PM)
Push the button to switch on, accelerate 2 the desired speed and set. Even at low speed.
I dono about other cars, but, it's far better than the one installed in my ex-ria.
No ill meaning, how's the old ria auto cruise settings?
IluvProton
post Aug 12 2012, 07:46 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 12 2012, 01:50 PM)
if let say you set cruise 100km/h when climb hill, will it be keep rev up till 100km/h?

jchong
post Aug 12 2012, 08:32 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 12 2012, 07:46 PM)
if let say you set cruise 100km/h when climb hill, will it be keep rev up till 100km/h?
Yup.
kepalapening
post Aug 12 2012, 08:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Aug 12 2012, 07:43 PM)
No ill meaning, how's the old ria auto cruise settings?
Need to reach 80km/h in order to use it.

Added on August 12, 2012, 8:51 pm
Accelerate when uphill and brake when downhill.

This post has been edited by kepalapening: Aug 12 2012, 08:51 PM
KLTEOH
post Aug 12 2012, 09:19 PM

QUOTE(IluvProton @ Aug 12 2012, 05:31 PM)
sorry, the keyless just example. Just I can't really tell why for a car more than 100k getting a plain plastic which might cost only 50 cents extra for better casing? Packing are 1 of the selling point. Right?

prius got HUD, auto sensor, Electrical handbrake, and so. cost 145k vs Altis 1.8G = 126k = 10k diff and you get a hybrid + alot new stuff. I cant say it was good, but for me to choose toyota again. only worth to buy was prius / C or hilux.

4 x 4 hilux = really I reccomended since I been using 2 generation hilux. the lastest I haven't got it. But if you compare other 4 x 4 = price wise very same, but durability compare previous ranger, navara, D-max, triton = It quite reliable. Navara lack of power when comes to hill climb, D-max got few times electronic failure. Triton is good but not as comfort / silence as hilux  smile.gif
i'm using triton since 2007. it is a good choice with no regret..hilux relly under power compared to the market, unless the 3.2cc. if u drive 2.5.cc. how u push . the car still dun listen to what u want.. before i buy triton.. go test drive hilux.. after jump in triton.. really feel different. in term of reliable.. triton n hilux both are reliable.. y pay more to get the under power and old tech...

This post has been edited by KLTEOH: Aug 12 2012, 09:21 PM
IluvProton
post Aug 12 2012, 10:03 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(KLTEOH @ Aug 12 2012, 04:19 PM)
i'm using triton since 2007. it is a good choice with no regret..hilux relly under power compared to the market, unless the 3.2cc. if u drive 2.5.cc. how u push . the car still dun listen to what u want.. before i buy triton.. go test drive hilux.. after jump in triton.. really feel different. in term of reliable.. triton n hilux both are reliable.. y pay more to get the under power and old tech...
sorry hijack camry thread. true the pickup if you middle hill. Triton perform better.

I only don't like the 1st version triton I test drove. In the middle stop traffic light, I heard the engine sound 'kede kede kede' compare with hilux blush.gif that why I said hilux offer better comfort. Now don't know cause haven't try late triton brows.gif

Added on August 12, 2012, 10:05 pm
QUOTE(jchong @ Aug 12 2012, 03:32 PM)
Yup.
QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 12 2012, 03:50 PM)
Need to reach 80km/h in order to use it.

Added on August 12, 2012, 8:51 pm

so Camry now using electronic control cruising liao drool.gif unlike year 2004 model.
auto cruise using the fuel sensor type not the speed sensor.

good good

This post has been edited by IluvProton: Aug 12 2012, 10:05 PM
zweimmk
post Aug 12 2012, 10:14 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(kukulong10 @ Aug 12 2012, 01:13 PM)
Well said..your word seems to convinced me more den some one else that biase only toword some certain car..I do agree that this Camry is lack of safety feature but other den that I don see any wrong with this car but there is still lots of ppl make so much complaint about it..no cars is perfect..but some of them said that this car is totally imperfect at all..

Nothing personal here
No it boils down to what you are after.

The Camry does 2 things very well:

1. A very comfortable drive
2. Spacious interior

For a lot of people, this really is good enough for them. It's hard to pinpoint why but prior to becoming a family man, safety was never really my no.1 concern. As long as the car got 2 airbags, got ebd, bsc, DVD, tc, TRC etc then it's good enough already, the idea was even if crash, if meant to die then sure die. But the car must have good resale value and easy to service or else got so many features also no use. That used to be my train of thought towards buying a car, I believe lots of people share the same view as well.

But these days, I wish my car is packed with as much safety features as possible. I look at how some idiots drive their [insert car] and I'm really scared they will at some point either lose control or never pay attention and knock into me.

It's fine if they want to rush to an early grave but please don't drag me or my family along. In this sense, the lack of safety features in the Camry and its obscene asking price is totally unacceptable. The lack of VSC is not so big deal to me as compared to the lack of airbags. After all, I can still more or less drive slower to compensate towards the lack of VSC but I can't compensate against an airbag not deploying or not enough airbags to protect me and my family, and right now, I'm extremely concerned how Toyota isn't addressing these 2 issues here with more urgency

So yes, there's no perfect car, but I would ideally want a car with as little things to complain about or worry about as possible.
landlily98
post Aug 12 2012, 10:55 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 12 2012, 05:51 PM)
Yes im willing to. Tell me how. Are the owners of these bus companies on LYN? If so i would gladly bash them the same way i comment on various cars here. I dont quite know of any other way but i would be happy to look into any logical suggestions u might have.
Great, at least I know someone does care. Perhaps in future if any bus accident happen, we shall post the news and photos here, to remind rakyat Malaysia how unsafe it can be when naik bus?

If you want to save fuel, tekan brake or pull the lever to cancell the autocruise before uphill, otherwise u will see the engine rev to 3-4000 rpm just to keep up with the auto cruise preset speed.
cybermaster98
post Aug 12 2012, 11:46 PM

4,440 posts

Thanks for that. Kinda the same with the K5 then.

I noticed that once you set the speed say at 120kmph then you accelerate to 140kmph and lift off the pedal, the speed drops again to 120kmph and holds. Another thing i noticed is if u press the brake and then hit the RES lever, the car speeds up again to the previous speed setting and holds.

Is it the same with the Camry too?

Added on August 12, 2012, 11:48 pm
QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 12 2012, 08:50 PM)
Brake when downhill? Are u sure the car brakes automatically? I thought it uses the engine throttle and transmission to slow down? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 12 2012, 11:50 PM
kadajawi
post Aug 13 2012, 01:51 AM

544 posts

VW Touran you press a button, then you can press up or down until you have reached the desired speed. In 1 km/h increments. Not sure if there is a way to take the current speed. Great to make minor adjustments, but if you want to speed up from 50 to 100... enjoy clicking.

If it is really a very comfortable ride that you are after, there is no way you can get past the Citroen C5 and C6. Unless you are going for Rolls Royce or Maybach, or maybe Audi A8 and Mercedes S class (only with the optional and pricey air suspension).
kepalapening
post Aug 13 2012, 06:47 AM

62 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 12 2012, 11:46 PM)

I noticed that once you set the speed say at 120kmph then you accelerate to 140kmph and lift off the pedal, the speed drops again to 120kmph and holds. Another thing i noticed is if u press the brake and then hit the RES lever, the car speeds up again to the previous speed setting and holds.

Yes.
jchong
post Aug 13 2012, 07:42 AM

5,989 posts

In your example, when u speed to 140 the system considers that as temporary (e.g. overtaking) so when u lift off the pedal it will go back to the last set speed.

When u press the brake the cruise becomes off. To get back the previously set speed you have to press resume.

This logic is quite common for cruise control.
jchong
post Aug 13 2012, 07:44 AM

5,989 posts

Brake when downhill? Are u sure the car brakes automatically? I thought it uses the engine throttle and transmission to slow down?  hmm.gif

Yeah it uses the engine throttle and transmission to slow down. It doesn't apply the brake.
jchong
post Aug 13 2012, 07:58 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 13 2012, 01:51 AM)
VW Touran you press a button, then you can press up or down until you have reached the desired speed. In 1 km/h increments. Not sure if there is a way to take the current speed. Great to make minor adjustments, but if you want to speed up from 50 to 100... enjoy clicking.

Hopefully there is a way to take the current speed, otherwise clicking so many times will be annoying.

In some cars I know there is a 2nd button you can click to increase cruise by 10 km/h.
cybermaster98
post Aug 13 2012, 03:55 PM

4,440 posts

well i guess we'll all be using the cruise control more often once the AES system is operational.
masz94
post Aug 13 2012, 06:38 PM

This is one of the reason why in Europe, VSC is a must.... Don't neglect ur safety.... Imagine the severity if the road is wet.....

Split-second decision.... VSC do help save ur life.... Those Euro NCAP test seems harmless... check this out...

This is without VSC....

This post has been edited by masz94: Aug 13 2012, 06:39 PM
lcy851031
post Aug 13 2012, 09:17 PM

741 posts

QUOTE(masz94 @ Aug 13 2012, 07:38 PM)
This is one of the reason why in Europe, VSC is a must.... Don't neglect ur safety.... Imagine the severity if the road is wet.....

Split-second decision.... VSC do help save ur life.... Those Euro NCAP test seems harmless... check this out...

This is without VSC....

Malaysia got rainy season, the road will get wet most of the time. I guess VSC is really necesary in Malaysia. sweat.gif

EURO NCAP list VSC is one of the main criteria on the safety rating, so is quite important feature.

Speaking of the wet road, i had twice going through a pool of water on the road unprepared, pressing brake when reached and the car lose control, skid to the side of the road (one time nearly swerve and bang the car on my side), luckily after going through the water, i manage to regain control of the car (i had to turn the steering on different direction very fast). So to me, VSC must installed to the car to increase the driver & passenger safety on the road. icon_rolleyes.gif
cherroy
post Aug 13 2012, 09:54 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 13 2012, 03:55 PM)
well i guess we'll all be using the cruise control more often once the AES system is operational.
Personally, I don't like cruise control, unless it is a total blank/no traffic highway.
Otherwise, in an uneven road, water, holes etc.
the car may try to accelerate to the pre-set speed if hitting those obstacle, quite dangerous for my liking.
masz94
post Aug 14 2012, 06:12 AM

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 13 2012, 01:51 AM)

If it is really a very comfortable ride that you are after, there is no way you can get past the Citroen C5 and C6. Unless you are going for Rolls Royce or Maybach, or maybe Audi A8 and Mercedes S class (only with the optional and pricey air suspension).
Yup, quite useful.... Kia Sorento got this.... Just flick the knob and the speed will increase a bit...
If u want say move from 100 km/h to 140 km/h, just hold it and it will accelerate until u release the knob (till u reach ur desired speed, u stop)....

About Citroen, gotta agree.... Form the reviews, yeah it's suspension is hard to beat...
Heck Citroen's is famous for it's suspension...

Hopefully Naza can revive Citroen..... laugh.gif

129 Pages « < 97 98 99 100 101 > » Top

0.0323sec    0.26    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:10 PM