8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

IluvProton
post Jun 9 2012, 12:15 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Jun 8 2012, 07:01 PM)
[attachmentid=2883235]

Finally, a 2.5V silver. Don't opt for the gps. Got RM100 petrol & touch 'n' go RM50.

Need to travel 500km tomorrow.
aiyo~ kesian..... 500km ... mmg kepalapening laugh.gif
IluvProton
post Jun 9 2012, 12:19 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Jun 8 2012, 07:17 PM)
Bought this car in klang valley. Tomorrow, heading back home.
how long u book ? just curious

I sit on the 2.0 version. feel bigger than previous version hmm.gif
IluvProton
post Jun 9 2012, 08:14 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Jun 9 2012, 01:25 PM)
Fuel consumption kl to perlis: ~RM60 (average 90-140 km/h) ron95 Petronas
rclxms.gif

nice. I heard SA said FC is lower compare 2.4 guess is true?
btw..... then 500km u need to go service again? laugh.gif

QUOTE(michspc @ Jun 9 2012, 02:00 PM)
anyone doing test drive already?
mi mi mi

m..... how i wanna to comment? same as previous camry.... dashboard big and high. coz i short ppl. kenot see half of the road.
interior more spacious than before. beside that all mostly same gadgets as before hmm.gif
IluvProton
post Jun 9 2012, 08:28 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 9 2012, 03:25 PM)
U never drove the previous Camry and neither do u know bout the 508 and Passat as well. Its clear enough. Only an ignorant person will say the new Camry is really good compared to the 508 and Passat. What car do u drive now anyway and do u know the meaning of value for money? Guess not eh.
my vote to vw passat for the overall. btw, I only drove proton. brows.gif
IluvProton
post Jun 9 2012, 08:54 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 9 2012, 03:48 PM)
Whats wrong in comparing the K5 to the Camry? Both are D segments and thus are apple to apple comparisons. Apple to orange is when ppl compare the Camry with a Forte. So the Camry can be compared to the K5 and its perfectly alright.
K5 for teh value
camry for teh reliable

both got pro and cons
IluvProton
post Jun 9 2012, 09:35 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Jun 9 2012, 04:08 PM)
According to the owner's manual page 309, I can only play dvd video when the engine is stopped and the parking brake applied. Dang.
hmm.gif
i think is a must for JPJ law.
IluvProton
post Jun 10 2012, 10:16 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(michspc @ Jun 10 2012, 02:32 AM)
anyone doing test drive already? how is the comments for the ride? quietness ? level of comfort ? ride and handling ? high speed floaty or stable ? lane change ? cornering ? braking ? acceleration since new 2.5 comes with ACIS system ?
i ride 2.0G and 2.5v

ride = will rate 8/10 ( if sudden got alot bump then the tyre will 'dong dong' louder)
handling abit less = rate 6/10 since this is d segment. the handling not as sharp as accord.
braking = not really try any sudden break. but can say like normal car breaking
acceleration = this they claim 2.5v faster than 2.4v but I think slower abit hmm.gif cant really tell also. can say very similar with previous spec

for sure again, its more spacious compare with previous camry. icon_idea.gif
bonnet look shorter but interior 100% longer. so back passanger got alot leg room drool.gif

IluvProton
post Jun 10 2012, 10:24 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 10 2012, 05:22 AM)
The new Camry has the same platform as the previous model if im not mistaken. Same wheelbase also.
no wonder laugh.gif

thanks for the info. the key of camry is better than previous laugh.gif

IluvProton
post Jun 10 2012, 01:26 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 10 2012, 07:25 AM)
it has this word Acoustic, does it mean using sound wave to control ? induction engine, very new thing to me. i understand force induction, which is turbo or supercharger. does this just simple means using another method to increase power and efficiency of fuel efficiency?

ok then, how about Dual VVti, isnt this already control the intake valve? you said not a new tech., who else do you know of has this as well?

very interesting old tech here.

oh just found out, tech from Lexus,

taken from lexus website
"Rather like an athlete, an engine performs better when it breathes more deeply. One way to increase the amount of air entering the engine is to optimise the length of the intake manifold. At a certain engine speed, the airflow through the intake manifold increases naturally as a result of physical forces at work in the induction process. The effect is a little like that of a supercharger. Normally, this extra rush of air happens at only one particular engine speed.

However, ACIS varies the length of the intake manifold in three stages, so you gain this natural, deep-breathing performance advantage across a broad range of engine revs."

looks like a simple system to force more air into the chamber.

maybe it has no maintenance required. and cheaply manufactured and better for toyota image. No maintenance car.
seem japanese road car not really into turbo/supercharger yet. instead using simple method or hybrid for fuel efficiency hmm.gif

it seem for BMW / VW engine very good in turbocharge hmm.gif

thus is a challenge with turbo and N/A engine. Personally I would like small cc engine with turbocharge. less roadtax tongue.gif
yes, I'm typically chinaman
IluvProton
post Jun 11 2012, 06:34 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 11 2012, 01:24 PM)
Many of those who opt for the Camry probably wont even bother to test other cars. How many of them will actually test drive the Optima, VW Passat or the Peugeot 508 before considering the Camry? They wont cuz in their minds Toyota is the best and most value for money. Yes they might have better after sales service than other brands but when u look at the car itself its a real fluke. Old platform, crappy design, old gearbox, old engine, poor interior finish and limited specs. Imagine having only a 4 speed auto on a flagship 2.0 high spec 2012 model!

Only the 2.5V has the new tech and better specs but i wont pay RM181K for such an old fashioned car with only 4 airbags and no stability control. For that price i would rather put in 60K more and get the new Audi 1.8 Turbo TFSI with 170HP, 320Nm torque, 8 speed multitronic auto, better specs & design.

Even the 2.0L Optima K5 is much more value for money compared to the 2.0G Camry. Yes it may not get as good resale value compared to the Camry in 7 yrs time but what's there to complain when ure getting a much better looking car (inside and outside), equal internal legroom, top class specs, more powerful engine, new auto transmission, better ride handling, higher safety standards, 5 years unlimited mileage manufacturers warranty and a price tag thats cheaper by RM 15K.
for 2.5v i prefer passat cool2.gif
brows.gif

but still camry is a reliable car if you dont mind the gadget and etc

IluvProton
post Jun 11 2012, 07:08 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 11 2012, 01:54 PM)
Reliability is only 1 factor to be considered. With the high prices if cars in Malaysia, value for money is equally if not more important. Its pointless buying an expensive car if ure not getting what u deserve from it. The Camry is not just a point to point car. Its the flagship car of Toyota and its buyers have certain specific requirements the same as other D segment car buyers. Reliability, class, design, comfort, interior space, safety, specs are all important factors for buyers in this segment. Many of those who opt for D segment cars are in the middle to upper management professional bracket earning 5 figure salaries and have good investments elsewhere. They dont just want a point to point car. Resale value is often not a concern as it is with B and C segment cars.
that why I said cause its reliability and the brand also since price factor for user are not a factor.

Camry always target customer was 'unker' type. in other words 'simple to use and reliable'

do agree not much improvement compare previous model. at least interior design.

the WOW factor been eliminated. previous camry always caught my wow.

now just a reliable and comfort car. that it nothing more or less.

BTW, camry no resell value since is a D segment car this I agree with you.
IluvProton
post Jun 11 2012, 10:16 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Jun 11 2012, 03:42 PM)
Camry does have good resale value compared to other D segment cars. But u cant compare with B or C segment cars. Most ppl make the mistake of assuming Camry resale value is as good as Vios or Altis but its far from that.

But nobody knows what will happen in 5 years time. I dont expect the current Camry to enjoy the kind of resale value the older model enjoyed especially with all the competition around it. Its already quite common to see cars with 6 speed auto now with more safety features. In 5 years time, when ppl start selling the current Camry's, who would actually want to get a 4 speed gb with a 15 yr old engine and 2 airbags and a old design? Thats when i expect the resale value to take a big hit. The 2.5V wont have good resale value simply because of limited demand for high capacity engines. The trend now is going turbo with higher powered lower capacity engines. In 5 yrs time, maybe even the 2.0L normal petrol engines may not be in demand.
believe me, altis not good in resell value. I own 1 before.

in term be resell value only vios / honda city. else all just normal you lose about 50% value when you sell it above 5 years. Don't let those SA fool you like I did.

don't expect any D segment car can sell more than 100k after 5years. it might cost only 50% only. doesnt matter japanese / korean / euro cars. Its like what customer do if they can afford 100k+ car. go buy 2nd car? laugh.gif

good look + reliable + good resell value = the is a fairy tales and doesn't happen much in real life. you can only choose 2 out of 3 option. icon_idea.gif

IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 08:19 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(sct @ Jun 12 2012, 10:36 AM)
The camry went through many hand or very bad cond ? people asking 57k wor
mudah camry
Oso if really tip-top cond, i m sure a lot of friend/relatives queing up to buy at 30k. rclxms.gif

Lucky ur in law din buy Sonata then...
OMG  blink.gif
lucky my old iswara 96 buy at 7k now still worth 5k icon_idea.gif

3 years owning + repair 2k max = 1 year i rugi 1.4k brows.gif

IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 08:26 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Jun 12 2012, 03:22 PM)
Why I choose Camry in the first place:
1. I can't afford to buy a conti.
2. I can't afford conti maintenance costs.
3. At my place there are only Toyota and Nissan (and national cars) service center exists.
4. I did test drive Teana, and I felt that Camry is better.
true,
as i mention earlier Reliability is key selling point for most toyota. Nvr drive nissan / honda.

but if my experience with toyota. yeah, not high tech stuff yet not that stylish for my opinion

but my altis after 4 years + 3 years for my Salesman = still running. just regular maintainence.

380k km laugh.gif brows.gif

Nissan got the issue of parts expensive. this is the turndown but still a very good car
IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 09:25 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 12 2012, 04:22 PM)
Which brand new D segment car cost 110? to 140k in Malaysia?
hmm.gif

kete cap beijing?

KIA also about 144k
IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 09:35 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(Optiplex330 @ Jun 12 2012, 04:29 PM)
2 liters KIA K5 is only RM7000 cheaper than Camry. Where got cheap?
broucher with me nao.

143,888.00 OTR

icon_idea.gif

IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 09:44 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(pds_disi @ Jun 12 2012, 04:38 PM)
t-badge value higher than malaysians life

at least umw thought so
ratio of perodua is the highest car owner

perodua = anak angkat umw = toyota sappork.

me no bash. i also toyota owner tongue.gif

hmm.gif

Apparently, VW now coming down and whip camry front and back. up and down

then KIA / Hyundai also coming up.

Suprising this what I call War of Triangle (Korean, Japanese, European)

therefore,

Question: what will happen to this camry fate?

klik for teh drillz

IluvProton
post Jun 12 2012, 11:08 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jun 12 2012, 05:50 PM)
So are u a racer in a race track or a normal dude who drive normal roads and care about road safety?

Do you know that some country u can only disable all the safety only when u r in a race track. Even on normal roads, these safety cant be 100% off also!

If u r noob about cars, is there a thing call google?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electronic_stability_control

The IIHS study concluded that ESC reduces the likelihood of all fatal crashes by 43%, fatal single-vehicle crashes by 56%, and fatal single-vehicle rollovers by 77–80%.

Just imagine if all the road going cars have this safety feature, how many accident can be avoided...

Compare to new camry, totally none (Even K5 2.0 also have!) LOL!  rclxm9.gif
hmm.gif

interesting fact.

Must find a car with VSC / ESC then
IluvProton
post Jun 13 2012, 06:06 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Jun 13 2012, 07:08 AM)
The rightmost meter shows the fuel consumption.

[attachmentid=2891013]

not to bash. design korean might be up to date since they use Audi head designer.

but engine technology still need alot catch up with japanese car.

Try see korean Top Gear kia/Merc/Lexus/Accord/Camry drag race. - performance

handling - no need say more.

previous model Camry 2.4v fuel wise still about 20cent/km

PS: toyota always lower their engine performance for engine reliability. for those don't know toyota marketing.

IluvProton
post Jun 14 2012, 01:51 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(stix @ Jun 14 2012, 07:28 AM)
don't think that exists in a camry though.
yes, camry not performance wise car.

if you want those performance and handling within budget 150-180k = should get VW GTI version laugh.gif

perhaps Honda CRZ also will do with lowest FC drool.gif yet just 115k

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:53 PM