129 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Bottom

New Toyota Camry 2012, is Really coming now!

kepalapening
post Aug 11 2012, 11:04 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 11 2012, 10:43 PM)
If you feel the car is not in the usual running condition, send to service center and let the mechanic have a look.
If your car is still under warranty, inspection should be free.

Added on August 11, 2012, 10:49 pm
sigh.... buses also not very safe, so many accidents involving buses... those bus companies also don't care about rakyat Malaysia punya
life.... how can?

Guess we should boycott bus companies too?

By the way, oh dear, those buses running on our highway got VSC, EBD, traction control, airbag or not???

Sorry, just a joke..... don't bash me......
rclxm9.gif not even seat belts.

Added on August 11, 2012, 11:05 pm
QUOTE(sl65amg @ Aug 11 2012, 06:23 PM)
my friend's 2011 camry has the knocking engine noise.is it normal n because of the ron 95 fuel?if so,why only japanese cars has that noise?my 01 odyysey and 06 city also has that noise.
I use ron95 petronas. No such problems for my 2 ex-vios, camry and even latio.

This post has been edited by kepalapening: Aug 11 2012, 11:05 PM
landlily98
post Aug 11 2012, 11:23 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(kepalapening @ Aug 11 2012, 11:04 PM)
rclxm9.gif  not even seat belts.

Added on August 11, 2012, 11:05 pm
really? not even seat belts?????? are you kidding me? shocking.gif

Then why are we still let these buses running around? We should not let these buses companies bully Malaysia rakyat anymore, let us all stand up and do some justice for the people!!!!!! Why no F&F forumer bash these irresponsible, errant bus companies???

For those who continues to bash Camry for no VSC or uncle design, kindly spare some time to bash those bus companies also can or not? At least you also get some pride when less rakyat Malaysia loss their lifes when using buses thumbup.gif

As a responsible rakyat who wish to change Malaysia car market and promote safety, we shall/should not have tunnel vision, only focusing on single Jap car companies, extend your scope for wider coverage, then it will may you look more noble and holly!

Thank you.... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

p/s: My apology, out of topic sikit, got to promote some road safety, in conjunction with our F&F Camry thread motto, "Safety is utmost important"!
masz94
post Aug 12 2012, 12:56 AM

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 11 2012, 03:39 PM)
Modern car engines are now geared towards fuel efficiency rather than performance. So really aside from car features, NA engine from brand A is unlikely to differ too much from brand B or brand C. Whatever difference is going to lie in the way difference manufacturers tune their engines and their cars.

Those days of a high revving VTEC engine in a non performance based saloon? Long gone~~~
Yeah some what quite sad....

sad.gif
zweimmk
post Aug 12 2012, 09:04 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Aug 11 2012, 04:19 PM)
change of direction to what a company shud do best, make money ?? appease the common crowd rather that niche market
The results are for you to see actually

Europeans - smaller engines with turbochargers
Japanese - hybrid and electric engines
Americans - hybrid and electric engines
Koreans - Mix but no clear direction

Petrol prices will only continue to increase in the years to come, so it's just a matter of time before the fuel subsidy here is completely removed. Once that happens, I'm fairly certain we'll see a boom in hybrid sales. We're moving towards the day where petrol version will move down the rung in mainstream cars alongside with hybrid versions. They will also find life in high performance spec vehicles as well.

Current gen Camry have all the best features fitted into the hybrid versions whereas the non hybrid versions are actually more stripped down in comparison. It's a sign of things to come.
SKYjack
post Aug 12 2012, 09:27 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(K5WHITE @ Aug 11 2012, 12:26 PM)
those that made bad comments abt new camry, abt their low specs and old tech, has nothing to profit from drop of sales(maybe get some pride  tongue.gif ).

but i think, by means of internet, unbound knowledge, we as consumers shud know more abt our products, whats happening ard the globe, are we being short-handed locally, in spirit of consumerism.

if we simply accept watever those bully sell to us, then they will continue to take advantage. In this very thread, camry is the example. Yes, it is realiable, yes, previous models has better RV than others, yes, parts are easily found, yes, nvh is good. But izzit really worth the price? Are they charging higher for bigger profit margin?

take for example, cbu lancer 2.0gt at 125k, and civic 2.0s with 60% local parts 127k. Suzuki kizashi cbu and camry umw, and many more. Is it a sitting duck easy prey hunting ground for these big bullies? Whereas the others are offering perks and specs to attract us? Are we simply killing ourselves by ignoring and become slaves?

just my 2c
Well done bro. This is a good approach to let consumers know,not to become victims to those greedy giants.

Added on August 12, 2012, 9:36 am
QUOTE(lcy851031 @ Aug 11 2012, 02:32 PM)
As long as the market perception doesn't change, this kind of car manufacturer will continue take our malaysia consumer for a ride, unless the change of market perception force them to think over their sale practices.
This is the basic problem in Bolehland. Most buy cars based on what uncle/aunty/friends say!

This post has been edited by SKYjack: Aug 12 2012, 09:36 AM
IluvProton
post Aug 12 2012, 09:44 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(zweimmk @ Aug 12 2012, 04:04 AM)
The results are for you to see actually

Europeans - smaller engines with turbochargers
Japanese - hybrid and electric engines
Americans - hybrid and electric engines
Koreans - Mix but no clear direction

Petrol prices will only continue to increase in the years to come, so it's just a matter of time before the fuel subsidy here is completely removed. Once that happens, I'm fairly certain we'll see a boom in hybrid sales. We're moving towards the day where petrol version will move down the rung in mainstream cars alongside with hybrid versions. They will also find life in high performance spec vehicles as well.

Current gen Camry have all the best features fitted into the hybrid versions whereas the non hybrid versions are actually more stripped down in comparison. It's a sign of things to come.
yes, true

hybrid is current market trend due to most of the driver concern about fuel and eco friendly car.

BMW now buying toyota hybrid tech and 2015 will try to come out with 2.0d + hybrid. in prototype now, should able to see on sept concept car for 2013. BMW targeted eco about 3l per 100km drool.gif

Got power if you fully use 2.0d engine, eco auto on regular / eco mode. Soundly no drawnback theory.
kepalapening
post Aug 12 2012, 11:39 AM

62 posts

Robotic Audi

TamaUser
post Aug 12 2012, 12:05 PM

130 posts

My friend's Camry 2.5 dead on road just now, only 800++ km. laugh.gif Checked everything, nothing spoil. Push button won't start, even pre-ignition won't work. Called someone to tow away, such embarrassment. I guess every passer-by were laughing or what.
kukulong10
post Aug 12 2012, 12:37 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:33 AM)
Remember this post Kukulong? I wonder why Vey99 said this.  hmm.gif

Added on August 11, 2012, 11:35 am

No thats your interpretation of it. All discussions here should be fact based if not it will end up like your previous statements which u embarassed yourself talking about safety when u were not sure of the facts. U remember how even those neutral users also slammed you for talking crap? if u have forgotten, please read up.
So if u wan facts..prove me how well ur k5 resale value will be..for Camry is already there and already well proven in the market
kadajawi
post Aug 12 2012, 01:01 PM

544 posts

QUOTE(e36.hartge @ Aug 10 2012, 06:14 PM)
oh no,see?what ever excuse u trying to play here?why in other thing u want to compare,but when about car price,there was exemption?
to own vios there,even had to pay COE SGD90k alone,no inlcuded the car's price itself
Singapore got no space la... if everyone were to drive a car there the whole country would stop, and they have to extend the island just to have place to store all the cars. COE is depending on how many people actually want to buy a car... there are just a certain amount of licenses, so people have to bid on them.

Malaysia (except for KL) can take more cars.

If your car doesn't have enough power... PUSH HARDER. Just touch the pedal... that helps. Why do you need big CC engines when I can easily be faster than you because I kick down? I'd say any D segment car has enough power, it's just the driver who won't use it.

Btw. I think I mentioned that the DSG felt like it was always engaged, even when standing on the brakes? Not true, when you press the brakes hard enough. You can see it in the current fuel consumption.

How can the engine be the most important thing? There is so much more to a car than the engine. A good gearbox can turn a mediocre engine into a good one, and a bad one ruin the best engine in the world. A 4 speed will only be sufficient if you have a gigantic engine. Something like the Viper. Something that can smoke most other cars when you start in 2nd. If you have so much torque at any RPM, then fine. Otherwise a 6-8 speed is advisable. Then there is the ride, steering, brakes, safety, ...

Not seeing so many 2012 Camryies around JB. I do notice quite a few contis though, mostly Pug and VW, and also quite a few Koreans (mostly Kia).

Please read about Toyota's "Camry" for the European market. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Avensi...80.93present.29

They have everything to make a car that is competitive to the Contis. They just have to be forced to do so. Sell the Avensis, not the Camry. Or at least don't sell a downgraded Camry. Compared to our Camry it comes with smaller, more modern engines. It has more modern gearboxes (CVT). It comes with VSC+ and 7 airbags as a standard, other options are an adaptive front-lighting system, adaptive cruise control (so it will adjust the speed for you, very nice in traffic jams, just follows the car ahead, not sure if the Toyota system will also use the brakes), lane departure warning, lane keeping assist (car steers itself).

@K5WHITE: I always buckle up, also in the rear. If I'm the driver I will also force everyone to do so, failure to comply will mean I will stop the car until he does, or he will have to walk. I don't have any tolerance. The person in the rear will murder the one in front in the case of an accident. And that may happen to be me. I don't like murderers, not even potential ones. I would also never buy a car without a 3 point seatbelt in the center.

The Mazda CX5 engine seems to do very well at saving fuel though, despite being a big cc NA one, compared to the FI ones from VW. Maybe it is better than what Toyota etc. have to offer?

Those who talk bad about the Camry do get something out of it. The fewer people buy the Camry, the more likely Toyota is to bring to us either a properly speced Camry or the Avensis. Which would be a viable alternative to the Contis. It would also make other manufacturers compete harder, giving us better cars for less. What's not to like about that? Fully boycott Toyota's non hybrid offerings, and 2 years later we will have good cars from them.

@landlily: How much do I pay for taking the bus? Few RM. How much I pay for Camry? If Toyota sells the Camry for 20k I won't complain about lack of VSC, seatbelts, whatever.

Btw. I am so very glad to not have bought any car that an uncle/aunty suggested.

@kukulong: Resale value can always change. One year it is good, next year no more. When people realize how bad value the Camry is, when they see that there are now a reasonable amount of SC for Contis and Koreans and servicing and repairing isn't that expensive, when they realize how much they get when they go for a non-Camry, do you think the resale value of the Camry will still be good? In Europe it took a single crash test to fully eradicate the sales of a Rover. No one wanted that car anymore.
kukulong10
post Aug 12 2012, 01:13 PM

308 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 12 2012, 01:01 PM)
Singapore got no space la... if everyone were to drive a car there the whole country would stop, and they have to extend the island just to have place to store all the cars. COE is depending on how many people actually want to buy a car... there are just a certain amount of licenses, so people have to bid on them.

Malaysia (except for KL) can take more cars.

If your car doesn't have enough power... PUSH HARDER. Just touch the pedal... that helps. Why do you need big CC engines when I can easily be faster than you because I kick down? I'd say any D segment car has enough power, it's just the driver who won't use it.

Btw. I think I mentioned that the DSG felt like it was always engaged, even when standing on the brakes? Not true, when you press the brakes hard enough. You can see it in the current fuel consumption.

How can the engine be the most important thing? There is so much more to a car than the engine. A good gearbox can turn a mediocre engine into a good one, and a bad one ruin the best engine in the world. A 4 speed will only be sufficient if you have a gigantic engine. Something like the Viper. Something that can smoke most other cars when you start in 2nd. If you have so much torque at any RPM, then fine. Otherwise a 6-8 speed is advisable. Then there is the ride, steering, brakes, safety, ...

Not seeing so many 2012 Camryies around JB. I do notice quite a few contis though, mostly Pug and VW, and also quite a few Koreans (mostly Kia).

Please read about Toyota's "Camry" for the European market. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Avensi...80.93present.29

They have everything to make a car that is competitive to the Contis. They just have to be forced to do so. Sell the Avensis, not the Camry. Or at least don't sell a downgraded Camry. Compared to our Camry it comes with smaller, more modern engines. It has more modern gearboxes (CVT). It comes with VSC+ and 7 airbags as a standard, other options are an adaptive front-lighting system, adaptive cruise control (so it will adjust the speed for you, very nice in traffic jams, just follows the car ahead, not sure if the Toyota system will also use the brakes), lane departure warning, lane keeping assist (car steers itself).

@K5WHITE: I always buckle up, also in the rear. If I'm the driver I will also force everyone to do so, failure to comply will mean I will stop the car until he does, or he will have to walk. I don't have any tolerance. The person in the rear will murder the one in front in the case of an accident. And that may happen to be me. I don't like murderers, not even potential ones. I would also never buy a car without a 3 point seatbelt in the center.

The Mazda CX5 engine seems to do very well at saving fuel though, despite being a big cc NA one, compared to the FI ones from VW. Maybe it is better than what Toyota etc. have to offer?

Those who talk bad about the Camry do get something out of it. The fewer people buy the Camry, the more likely Toyota is to bring to us either a properly speced Camry or the Avensis. Which would be a viable alternative to the Contis. It would also make other manufacturers compete harder, giving us better cars for less. What's not to like about that? Fully boycott Toyota's non hybrid offerings, and 2 years later we will have good cars from them.

@landlily: How much do I pay for taking the bus? Few RM. How much I pay for Camry? If Toyota sells the Camry for 20k I won't complain about lack of VSC, seatbelts, whatever.

Btw. I am so very glad to not have bought any car that an uncle/aunty suggested.

@kukulong: Resale value can always change. One year it is good, next year no more. When people realize how bad value the Camry is, when they see that there are now a reasonable amount of SC for Contis and Koreans and servicing and repairing isn't that expensive, when they realize how much they get when they go for a non-Camry, do you think the resale value of the Camry will still be good? In Europe it took a single crash test to fully eradicate the sales of a Rover. No one wanted that car anymore.
Well said..your word seems to convinced me more den some one else that biase only toword some certain car..I do agree that this Camry is lack of safety feature but other den that I don see any wrong with this car but there is still lots of ppl make so much complaint about it..no cars is perfect..but some of them said that this car is totally imperfect at all..

Nothing personal here

kadajawi
post Aug 12 2012, 01:56 PM

544 posts

Thanks. I think the big problem is that the D segment Camry is compared to other D segment cars in Malaysia, and compared to those it does feel a bit lacking. What makes it worse is that we know that Toyota has all the tech, but simply doesn't offer it, or even removes it from previous generations. If (when) Toyota fixes that it'll be a decent car again, but until then I can't recommend it, and I hope people just stop buying it, and tell the SA why.

In other countries the Camry/Avensis can be sold at a competitive enough price, with all the same specs the competitors have. In Malaysia the price is the same, but all the specs are missing, especially the ones that are important, and that are, IMHO, to be expected in the D segment. If I pay this much I want safety. I want to be protected as good as possible, I don't want to be on the same level as a Myvi. Think that is a reasonable thing to expect.
KLTEOH
post Aug 12 2012, 03:27 PM

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 12 2012, 01:56 PM)
Thanks. I think the big problem is that the D segment Camry is compared to other D segment cars in Malaysia, and compared to those it does feel a bit lacking. What makes it worse is that we know that Toyota has all the tech, but simply doesn't offer it, or even removes it from previous generations. If (when) Toyota fixes that it'll be a decent car again, but until then I can't recommend it, and I hope people just stop buying it, and tell the SA why.

In other countries the Camry/Avensis can be sold at a competitive enough price, with all the same specs the competitors have. In Malaysia the price is the same, but all the specs are missing, especially the ones that are important, and that are, IMHO, to be expected in the D segment. If I pay this much I want safety. I want to be protected as good as possible, I don't want to be on the same level as a Myvi. Think that is a reasonable thing to expect.
u voice out most ppl want to say.. rclxms.gif . thx

This post has been edited by KLTEOH: Aug 12 2012, 03:28 PM
IluvProton
post Aug 12 2012, 03:43 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 12 2012, 08:56 AM)

Toyota Car offer most tech was Prius / Prius C in malaysia. Thats what I been said it earlier. As I said, T is still a good car but it didn't match my needs. I need more than reliable and comfort ride.
Other car manufacturer now following trend like cool gadget and tech. No to mention Luxury car.
You can see Camry Keyless remote...... all plastic, Even korean car keyless better looking.

Check with Nissan Almera, They even got auto pop up bonnet and door auto open. Although I don't like roundish design

Checking with car news, jap car now more into electrical cars instead of petrol engine. Guess that might be the answer.
Last month in Japan top 4 best selling car were also hybrid. Honda now even plant to built their hyrid in malaysia.

Problem: they less focus on petrol car?
good: hybrid car might be cheap in parts and more efficiency smile.gif

kadajawi
post Aug 12 2012, 05:19 PM

544 posts

Yeah, Prius and Prius C are perfectly fine, and if I'd be in the market for a B segment car I'd probably be picking between Fiesta sedan and Prius C.

To be honest I'd rather have a car without keyless go, for safety reasons (a technically skilled car thief with an accomplice could probably easily steal the car while you are sitting in a restaurant). Some gadgets are unnecessary... what's wrong with inserting a key?

I'm more interested in safety gadgets. Auto braking, lane assist, auto steering, auto parking, ... that's nice.

A hybrid means the petrol/diesel powertrain is still important. However they have a different approach to improve FC (bigger engines rather than smaller ones). As Mazda has shown that approach can make sense too... we'll see which one is better. The Ford 1.0 3 cylinder seems to be a very interesting approach too, as it was designed as a massively turbocharged engine from the get go, unlike most other downsized engines.
Anyway somehow I think the turbocharged conti engines are more suited for hybrids, since they are (can be) optimized for a smaller RPM range, especially at low RPM, which would be ideal for generators. Thus the electric motor moves the thing, powered by the batteries, and when the batteries are empty the engine generates electricity to charge the batteries and power the electro motors. Because of this it doesn't matter if the engine is undriveable due to how it delivers power.
IluvProton
post Aug 12 2012, 05:31 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 12 2012, 12:19 PM)
Yeah, Prius and Prius C are perfectly fine, and if I'd be in the market for a B segment car I'd probably be picking between Fiesta sedan and Prius C.

To be honest I'd rather have a car without keyless go, for safety reasons (a technically skilled car thief with an accomplice could probably easily steal the car while you are sitting in a restaurant). Some gadgets are unnecessary... what's wrong with inserting a key?

I'm more interested in safety gadgets. Auto braking, lane assist, auto steering, auto parking, ... that's nice.

A hybrid means the petrol/diesel powertrain is still important. However they have a different approach to improve FC (bigger engines rather than smaller ones). As Mazda has shown that approach can make sense too... we'll see which one is better. The Ford 1.0 3 cylinder seems to be a very interesting approach too, as it was designed as a massively turbocharged engine from the get go, unlike most other downsized engines.
Anyway somehow I think the turbocharged conti engines are more suited for hybrids, since they are (can be) optimized for a smaller RPM range, especially at low RPM, which would be ideal for generators. Thus the electric motor moves the thing, powered by the batteries, and when the batteries are empty the engine generates electricity to charge the batteries and power the electro motors. Because of this it doesn't matter if the engine is undriveable due to how it delivers power.
sorry, the keyless just example. Just I can't really tell why for a car more than 100k getting a plain plastic which might cost only 50 cents extra for better casing? Packing are 1 of the selling point. Right?

prius got HUD, auto sensor, Electrical handbrake, and so. cost 145k vs Altis 1.8G = 126k = 10k diff and you get a hybrid + alot new stuff. I cant say it was good, but for me to choose toyota again. only worth to buy was prius / C or hilux.

4 x 4 hilux = really I reccomended since I been using 2 generation hilux. the lastest I haven't got it. But if you compare other 4 x 4 = price wise very same, but durability compare previous ranger, navara, D-max, triton = It quite reliable. Navara lack of power when comes to hill climb, D-max got few times electronic failure. Triton is good but not as comfort / silence as hilux smile.gif
cybermaster98
post Aug 12 2012, 05:39 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(kukulong10 @ Aug 12 2012, 01:13 PM)
Well said..your word seems to convinced me more den some one else that biase only toword some certain car..I do agree that this Camry is lack of safety feature but other den that I don see any wrong with this car but there is still lots of ppl make so much complaint about it..no cars is perfect..but some of them said that this car is totally imperfect at all..

Nothing personal here
Do u know whats the meaning of bias? In layman's terms it refers to ppl who still claim something to be negative despite it being positive. IN the case of the Camry, we acknowledge its good points (good resale value, good after sales service) but we are also aware of its negatives (specs, safety, design, value for money).

Yes design is crap too but then again everybody has different taste. Read all posts carefully before commenting.

Added on August 12, 2012, 5:44 pm
QUOTE(kukulong10 @ Aug 12 2012, 12:37 PM)
So if u wan facts..prove me how well ur k5 resale value will be..for Camry is already there and already well proven in the market
Do u even read your questions before u type it out ah? It really baffles me how anybody could even ask such questions. Even the CEO of Kia wont be able to tell you how would the resale value be in the future. Im really shocked at your questions. Really shows a serious lack of comprehension and maybe even intelligence.

Just for your info, i dont know how much the K5's resale value is gonna be in say 5 years time and the same goes for the new Camry as well (unless ure God of course). But im quite sure, the K5 will not get good resale value on par with the Japs yet. Resale values are demand driven in case u didnt know.

This post has been edited by cybermaster98: Aug 12 2012, 05:48 PM
K5WHITE
post Aug 12 2012, 05:51 PM

92 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Aug 12 2012, 05:39 PM)
We are all saying the same thing. The only complaint we have against the Camry is the lack of safety and other specs for the price they are charging. Yes design is crap too but then again everybody has different taste. Read all posts carefully before commenting.
I tot so. When I tried, telling how we are being bullied, being asked to take bus instead.

I think the explanation on how rear seat belt can save life is comprehensive . But, my argument was, isn't already like cold story? Forgotten? When it all started, everyone hoohah, but later, no one remembers.

These company are gambling on the future. These conti with turbo n jap with hybrid. Korean are latecomers, they don't dictate the game. Just eating slices. We on the other hand , just want the most out of it.

No one here say Korean da best , no one said Korean got good RV, no one here said global camry is bad, just local camry is short handing us.

This post has been edited by K5WHITE: Aug 12 2012, 05:52 PM
cybermaster98
post Aug 12 2012, 05:51 PM

4,440 posts

QUOTE(landlily98 @ Aug 11 2012, 11:23 PM)

For those who continues to bash Camry for no VSC or uncle design, kindly spare some time to bash those bus companies also can or not? At least you also get some pride when less rakyat Malaysia loss their lifes when using buses  thumbup.gif
Yes im willing to. Tell me how. Are the owners of these bus companies on LYN? If so i would gladly bash them the same way i comment on various cars here. I dont quite know of any other way but i would be happy to look into any logical suggestions u might have.
cybermaster98
post Aug 12 2012, 05:55 PM

4,440 posts

A question to the new Camry owners. Have you tested your cruise control? If so, how does it work in terms of setting, speeding up, slowing down, etc. Thanks.

129 Pages « < 96 97 98 99 100 > » Top

0.0453sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:13 AM