do it in a more man way ---- 30 mins cardio 4 times a week
Progress Pics V4
Aug 4 2011, 05:57 AM
3,833 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Shah Alam |
healthier food usually dont taste better
do it in a more man way ---- 30 mins cardio 4 times a week |
Aug 4 2011, 06:04 AM
566 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: JB |
sorry hoxy.
dun mean to drag u into the subject. jus that thought u r a good example of strength building. no way i can do a 1 arm pull-up, respect u. strong |
Aug 4 2011, 08:19 AM
1,015 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: lol |
QUOTE(Mudkippz @ Aug 3 2011, 10:42 PM) nolah , 17 secs crazy la.i mean its damn hard for me to do real sloooow negatives for pull ups , with both hands..basically my body weight exercises need to improve lot la.dips , pull ups, chin ups and all. You will do it eventually, if you can do 1 rep, you can work on getting adding rep from time to time. I'll be extra worried if I can't do 1 rep, once secured 1 rep, increasing rep is just about maintaining the strength or improving it a little and obtaining more endurance, more reps will come the more you do an exercise. Keep having your goal on achieving bodyweight exercise goal. I still not able to do weighted chin up to match your kind of weight, same as a dip. Having a big body and conquering bodyweight exercise means a very strong guy. Keep on working on it, you'll get it. QUOTE(raynx @ Aug 3 2011, 11:33 PM) Hoxy, how tall are you? I am at the moment trying to compact myself even more. I am now 56.5kg. today managed to do lat pulldown 100lbs per side on the hammerstrength machine (the machine that u'd hv to load the weight plates manually) I'm 1.66m tall, weight always hover around 52~53kg before ramadhan. How about you? How tall are you? How light you want to be? my aim is to be like u! A lot more cutting to do :s Trying to be like me? I'm still a work on progress, but thanks anyway, glad to motivate others like you, same as you motivate me. Now I have to be extra worried even more... I need to workout twice as hard just to keep the gap intact, lol. QUOTE(theCrab @ Aug 4 2011, 12:10 AM) Hoxy 2 pull up? No worry, 3, 4, 5, and even more reps will be yours if you just continue to do pull up. Aiming for more reps is largely endurance, to gain endurance... you just need to keep repeating the same movement over and over.I am weight at 82 kg(carrying ltos of excess fat flabby) and still shooting up as i am bulking do you have any idea/advise to improve my pull ups number? the best i think i can do is 2 pull ups.. Or you can try convict conditioning method, if you are discipline enough (I'm not) to follow the steps from step 1, eventually you'll gain ability to do more reps. Or you can try to increase strength, so strong that with two hands, where you feel like it is almost like pulling a nothing on your way up. I used to try to increase my rep to no success. Once I'm on strength training doing weighted chin/pull up (1~3 rep only) for quite a while, then I tried normal unweighted version... it was too easy, too swift of a motion. I've read strength training only can bring you so far in terms of max rep you can finally do, maybe 15 reps? More than that, no matter how strong you improve further it never going to happen. You need to switch from strength training back to training for endurance, which is repeating the movement again and again. Train your grip. The more powerful your grip the better you can use the cheat way of pulling massive feat and greater achievement. Google up irradiation (it is by Pavel). Purposefully grip the bar so hard when you doing pull up. For pull up, put more pressure on your little finger, or the last two finger to engage the more powerful lats even more. Train your shoulder, having strong lats, strong arm, but weak intermediary muscle hold your progress. Recognize your strength and weakness, you are as strong as your weakest link. What else, believe it or not, strong midsection helps in bringing more strength and power to every of your lift. It amplifies your strength. Having max pressure in the midsection does this. Not the visible 6 abs you get by cardio and diet, but a truly strong midsection, oblique, transversus abdominis, lumbar erector http://www.t-nation.com/testosterone-magazine-627 Well, strength training is all about technique. You dont say to Usain bolt... you run fast because of good technique and discard his achievement. Yeah, one more thing. Exploit negative... it is a real cheat way to get real strong in a rush. I think that's it. Oh, 1 more thing, strength-bodyweight ratio. Increase strength. or decrease bodyweight. or do both. But since you want to bulk up, increase strength is your only option then... QUOTE(moe81 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:34 AM) Oh well i haven't posted shit in here for the longest time.. Works been riding up my ass. You look... scary. Nice body, keep it up.well, after um-teen months i did manage to get some progress pic. here they are. 82 kg with 12-13 % bodyfat i believe. maybe more. diet starting october. target weight is 85, hopefully. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i can take criticism. Since someone asked animal pack whey gold standard creatine beef amino super pump 5 meals a day insulin after workout something something QUOTE(ijnek @ Aug 4 2011, 06:04 AM) sorry hoxy. I havent yet able to do 1 arm chin/pull up too, it is just a negative portion. 1 arm negative is like 1 step away to having this skill. I need to be extra careful now that I'm in the mood to do the one arm negative again. My tricep (lateral) and the tendon at elbow area has halted my progress last time around. Thanks for the compliment. Dont downgrade yourself, of course you can do the 1 arm pull up, you just need to train for it and realize everyone can achieve it with patience and dedication.dun mean to drag u into the subject. jus that thought u r a good example of strength building. no way i can do a 1 arm pull-up, respect u. strong For now, I hope to join the one arm chin/pull up club, no matter how long it takes. |
Aug 4 2011, 08:30 AM
5,967 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Malaysia... Duh! |
QUOTE(moe81 @ Aug 4 2011, 01:34 AM) Oh well i haven't posted shit in here for the longest time.. Works been riding up my ass. Are you bulking bro? You're bigger, but you looked more defined last time I think.well, after um-teen months i did manage to get some progress pic. here they are. 82 kg with 12-13 % bodyfat i believe. maybe more. diet starting october. target weight is 85, hopefully. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i can take criticism. Since someone asked animal pack whey gold standard creatine beef amino super pump 5 meals a day insulin after workout something something |
Aug 4 2011, 08:52 AM
265 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
Of course i'm bulking.
Aug 4 2011, 09:45 AM
101 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(hoxy @ Aug 4 2011, 08:19 AM) I'm 1.66m tall, weight always hover around 52~53kg before ramadhan. How about you? How tall are you? How light you want to be? Ahhh!!! I am shorter, 1.6m and heavier! now i feel like 'si gemok'! LOLTrying to be like me? I'm still a work on progress, but thanks anyway, glad to motivate others like you, same as you motivate me. Now I have to be extra worried even more... I need to workout twice as hard just to keep the gap intact, lol. I have no idea how light i wanna be really. The initial idea is to be as compact as possible and when i saw your pics, i knew that's what i wanna achieve. Massive strength! Do you think it'll help by setting a weight target? |
Aug 4 2011, 09:49 AM
688 posts Joined: Jun 2011 |
QUOTE(hoxy @ Aug 3 2011, 07:00 PM) I know I'm small la.... haha, damn it. sorry if i offended anybody, the reason why i quote what Bob said is because of safety... u can lift heavy but within your limit, and i know, in bodybuilding one must surpass their limit in order to advance and grow... but train smart is always a better choice than train hard... it could be insignificant now but remember, 1 small error in your training and it might be your last... eventhough my stat are quite intimidating, but i lift a very light weight compare to you all here lifting... my bench only max at 220 pounds for 6-8 reps, t-bar or barbell rows only 190 pounds, squats 180-200 pounds, and military press (bar) 121 pounds... but i train with intensity (not sloppy) and the most importance things is to make 100% sure your mind are connected to your muscles all the time when training... without it you will just "zombie lifting"...Some people want to get big, some people not. I dont want to get big, my wife also dont want me to get big. Bodybuilding and strength training is a two different things. Somemore, I have a lot of fun conquering difficult bodyweight exercise. The feel of conquering own body is priceless. There is no way I'm going to tackle it with my current strength level with heavier weights (eg. 80kg, 90kg, 100kg going up), it never going to happen. Also, I can aim to be in the intermediate/advance level faster when I do weight lifting with my small size since the strength standard also is a weightLifted-bodyWeight ratio kind of standard. People in bodybuilding will say to people in strength training... you are small. People in strength training will say to people in bodybuilding... your lift is not as heavy as it should be with your size. And then, there will be war and hate between those 2 camps. Urm, to sum it up... I'm on strength training, I want to get strong. I'll grow as I got stronger, if my weight remains as I get stronger... that is even better. And yeah, I think I dont get big because I dont watch my diet to get my calorie up. I have more money to buy more tools to get me stronger as oppose more food to get me bigger. So yeah... I have a different goal. Somemore, getting strong first then get bigger as it happens means that I'm not stressing my body (tendon, ligament, etc2) so much. Think of it as giving time to those precious little things to slowly adapt, and a way of somehow avoiding injury. Think of doing one arm negative with my current strength, with 2 version of me with heavier body weight and lower body weight. My muscle might able to avoid injury, but the tendon, ligament, how? I have far greater chances of getting injured even if I'm weighing 65kg as oppose to 52kg (25% increase of body weight). I just need to watch out not to overdo myself... then I will proceed to getting stronger, faster and safer. Different style of training, different result, different people different goals. All of us need to understand this circumstances. Since I'm on fasting due to Ramadhan I am relatively weaker by the end of the day. But due to my smaller size and probably lower calorie maintainence... I am still to perform a one arm negative chin up... with a new record in hand, with no sign of pain felt on my right side. Strength training and being small has its benefit, and it brings me great satisfaction choosing to be in these training method. This is today picture at around 6:55pm. A 17/18second one arm chin up negative, if I do that now when I'm 65kg, I dont know what will happen. To understand how hard that is, just go do two hand chin up... it is a real slow descend. Being small has it benefits. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Aug 4 2011, 09:54 AM
894 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
I wonder is there enough interest in H&F for a calisthenics thread?
People interested in push/pull ups, dips and etc etc bodyweight workouts can lepak and discuss further. |
Aug 4 2011, 10:02 AM
3,649 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Somewhere over the rainbow |
My ultimate goal would be to be able to do what Hoxy does BUT at 90kgs bodyweight!
Aug 4 2011, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(kurtkob78 @ Aug 3 2011, 06:59 PM) alpha, very impressive and you are natural bber thanks brah, but i was a skinny kid before i started bb, my weight last itme was only 59-64kg maintaining tat for several years.. 7 years ago i was around 68-72kg max.... but the last 3 years my weight really bump up to now 82-85kg... and i can assure you guys my meal are so "dirty" that u could get a heart attack if u take it more than 1 year... no doubt i gain alittle fat, but i compensate it back with training... following 1 gram per pounds of body weight? nope my max protein intake perday is around 150-60 gram... your body is a mistery only you know.. |
Aug 4 2011, 10:13 AM
894 posts Joined: Feb 2008 |
Aug 4 2011, 10:40 AM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Aug 4 2011, 09:49 AM) sorry if i offended anybody, the reason why i quote what Bob said is because of safety... u can lift heavy but within your limit, and i know, in bodybuilding one must surpass their limit in order to advance and grow... but train smart is always a better choice than train hard... it could be insignificant now but remember, 1 small error in your training and it might be your last... eventhough my stat are quite intimidating, but i lift a very light weight compare to you all here lifting... my bench only max at 220 pounds for 6-8 reps, t-bar or barbell rows only 190 pounds, squats 180-200 pounds, and military press (bar) 121 pounds... but i train with intensity (not sloppy) and the most importance things is to make 100% sure your mind are connected to your muscles all the time when training... without it you will just "zombie lifting"... I feel good. I've cut to 169lbs bodyweight and I'm benching 345lbs for 5 reps. =P And strength is still going up. Bodybuilders aren't weak, period, they just don't give too much of a damn about core strength. Lemme put it this way, I'm a narcissist. I love public attention most the time. Having people check out and admire my physique in public makes me feel good about myself because I know what I do in the gym pays off. This is my opinion, no point having so much strength for a guy yet there's nothing to show in the physical outlook. But then that's what "I" think. To each his own. Different individuals, different aims and goals. |
Aug 4 2011, 10:59 AM
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 4 2011, 10:40 AM) I feel good. I've cut to 169lbs bodyweight and I'm benching 345lbs for 5 reps. =P And strength is still going up. Bodybuilders aren't weak, period, they just don't give too much of a damn about core strength. actually, i have the same mindset as Hoxy before i learn more about bodybuilding, i was training core, 1 arm pulls up, 1 tumb push up (yes i can do 1 tumb push up but with both hand la), 1 arm push up, and etc... maybe by learning how your body react, respone, and absorb, you're actually prepare your body for higher and more advance training in the future. Im not saying is the correct way but hey, it works for me... btw, i love the attention of ppl starring at my arms too... 18.5 inch (relax and not exercise pumped) for my height (5' 7") do really motivate me to lift more... but i have seen ppl at gym can curl 50-60kg but only 16 inch when pumped really loled me alot... Lemme put it this way, I'm a narcissist. I love public attention most the time. Having people check out and admire my physique in public makes me feel good about myself because I know what I do in the gym pays off. This is my opinion, no point having so much strength for a guy yet there's nothing to show in the physical outlook. But then that's what "I" think. To each his own. Different individuals, different aims and goals. |
Aug 4 2011, 10:59 AM
566 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: JB |
i know i will enjoy lookin at dark's body and admire his determination n hard work in the gym
determination n hard work |
Aug 4 2011, 11:03 AM
5,967 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Malaysia... Duh! |
Aug 4 2011, 11:11 AM
265 posts Joined: Apr 2009 |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 4 2011, 10:40 AM) I feel good. I've cut to 169lbs bodyweight and I'm benching 345lbs for 5 reps. =P And strength is still going up. Bodybuilders aren't weak, period, they just don't give too much of a damn about core strength. Strongly second that!!!Lemme put it this way, I'm a narcissist. I love public attention most the time. Having people check out and admire my physique in public makes me feel good about myself because I know what I do in the gym pays off. This is my opinion, no point having so much strength for a guy yet there's nothing to show in the physical outlook. But then that's what "I" think. To each his own. Different individuals, different aims and goals. |
Aug 4 2011, 11:34 AM
11:35 am .....lunch time!!! see u guese later...
Aug 4 2011, 11:39 AM
957 posts Joined: Jun 2010 |
dark, since u shred off so much of fat... is ur abs visible ? just curious...
Aug 4 2011, 12:01 PM
9,006 posts Joined: Oct 2005 From: PJ |
QUOTE(MelForC3 @ Aug 4 2011, 11:39 AM) 4 and a half. I figure I need 6 more weeks. I'm doing this very very slow.Added on August 4, 2011, 12:07 pmAlphaproject, not bad but your bodyfat is quite high. I bet if you cut, and even if you lose size in your arms in the process, with a small waist and defined lines you'll look a lot bigger and more impressive. Bodybuilding is about illusion no? =) Added on August 4, 2011, 12:09 pmLol ijnek no homo? Actually Pedro sees me almost every few days for Shisha. He's been seeing the progress of my cutting. This post has been edited by darklight79: Aug 4 2011, 12:09 PM |
Aug 4 2011, 12:10 PM
101 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(darklight79 @ Aug 4 2011, 10:40 AM) I feel good. I've cut to 169lbs bodyweight and I'm benching 345lbs for 5 reps. =P And strength is still going up. Bodybuilders aren't weak, period, they just don't give too much of a damn about core strength. Yes, you've shrunk A LOT since the first time I saw you and u seemed leaner day by day! amazing~* Lemme put it this way, I'm a narcissist. I love public attention most the time. Having people check out and admire my physique in public makes me feel good about myself because I know what I do in the gym pays off. This is my opinion, no point having so much strength for a guy yet there's nothing to show in the physical outlook. But then that's what "I" think. To each his own. Different individuals, different aims and goals. |
| Change to: | 0.0251sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:59 AM |