Jul 10 2011, 12:56 PM
1,015 posts Joined: Dec 2010 From: lol |
Maybe you using cheap (and nearly broken) analog weighing machine? Those thing is not accurate one... or maybe you comparing results on different machine. Best is to measure by digital and with same machine everytime...
Jul 10 2011, 02:58 PM
My time fooling around with my workout picture
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « I'm interested trying out forward bending deadlift. Hope if we can discuss on this. I've read that deadlifting with straight back... well, strong during straight only, like a stick, when forward bend, broken. Need to be like a steel, cannot be easily broken when bend. Anyone doing this? Zercher deadlift, odd object deadlift (water filled swissball, sandbag)... for starters, are we suppose to maintain normal lumbar curve during this movement, and allow lordosis and thoracic to bend? Of course, I'm not interested on matching my 1RM in normal deadlift. Aiming 50% of 1RM is OK enough? Need to be strong in back bend, straight and forward bend couple with strong abs (full contact twist, standing ab-wheel, and dragon flag)... [attachmentid=2322363] This post has been edited by hoxy: Jul 10 2011, 03:27 PM |
Jul 12 2011, 07:29 AM
Thanks guys!
Samsk, are you referring to towel pull up? To be honest, you should try both because both has it place in workout. Both have progression... Towel assisted one arm chin/pull up. You can count how many fist you make on the towel. You'll start from 1 fist, and move your fist futher down until your current level. I can make a 10 fist. You can also put a weight once you have conquer >=10fist progression. I personally have never done this, I will try it later on. This exercise is good because you doing your pulling mostly with the upper hand. You can compare your left/right hand performance and easily can target the weaker hand to match the stronger hand. And if you aiming for one arm chin/pull up later thus exercise is a must because it teach you about how to balance and coordinate urself. Towel chin/pull up. You can put weight on once you can do towel pull up. This is actually a test of grip. You can increase the difficulty by pulling on a thicker towel. My main goal will forever be a one arm chin up. I'll need grip, unbelievable strength-to-bodyweight ratio, and strong joint/tendon in order to accomplish this, so above 2 should help me a lot. Last time I tried, I can do one arm negative chinup for 10 second. Stilll progressing... |
Jul 18 2011, 12:46 PM
Cmon guys, sure you all have tricep too. I'm not into bodybuilding, but I will join to share my tiny hand and nearly non-visible tricep. Dont get shy now~ share!
[attachmentid=2336380] [attachmentid=2336381] I noticed that there is an opportunity to do "human flag" exercise on my power rack. I always cant practice this as to non-existing suitable place candidate to do this. So I tried it just now... [attachmentid=2336378] [attachmentid=2336379] Note: I am still new to this workout, have tried it month before with no success. Today, I tried again and I barely pause on the pose (it is a snapshot from a movie). Will work on this more after this. This post has been edited by hoxy: Jul 18 2011, 01:18 PM |
Jul 22 2011, 08:03 PM
QUOTE(jackwylde @ Jul 20 2011, 01:00 AM) hye sifus! Looks like the weight is nowhere your true 1RM. Good job anyway. In term of breathing, I do it differently from you. I hold my breath from start to finish. after my usual sets of 70-80-90kgs deadlift, i used straps starting from 80kg because my grip gave out on me. i tried to deadlift 100kgs. managed to get 3 reps i know this is light weight to most of you somehow i feel my form is not that good when i`m going heavy. so here is the video. my friend didn't hear me when i said to record from the side so, if u guys could spot my mistakes in this video, please correct me alright. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « p/s sorry for my lil bit of grunting. I really am tired after 4 sets of my usual weight. A jump of 20kg by virtue of lifting with strap (possibly even more!). Be careful of progressing too fast in short period of time. Lift heavy, lift safe! Good job! |
Jul 22 2011, 09:43 PM
I have the same problem too. Hip going up too fast during the initial phase... sigh~
Jul 24 2011, 12:15 PM
Goal: To be functionally strong, so strong you dont want to mess with me (even though you are so much larger than me)
Anyway, here me again demonstrating how tough a bodyweight exercise can be. Neck bridge (not for the weak heart)! [attachmentid=2347270] Achieved! Now this is how we exercise our neck muscle, proper! |
Jul 24 2011, 06:09 PM
Thanks guys! Bodyweight exercise can look real cool, I'm hoping to conquer more advance move in the future. I am very happy to be very involve in both bodyweight and weight lifting way of exercising... glad to be on both fence of method in order to get strong.
I always appreciate the complements, it really meant a lot. To be honest, you all can do it also. Lets keep working out, and enjoy the journey along the way~ |
Jul 27 2011, 07:04 PM
Picture with clothes also OK what... you can take at least back picture. I'm particularly interested to know how a 80kg deadlift girl will possibly looks like... hmmm~
Jul 30 2011, 05:29 PM
Looks intimidating! Nice arm than some of the guys into bodybuilding over here... lol
raynx, what is your goal in working out? Bodybuilding or strength training? |
Jul 30 2011, 05:39 PM
Yeah... nicer than me too... and I dont have a problem with that too.
Jul 30 2011, 07:06 PM
Hehe -Dan, everyone knows everyone need to start from somewhere, everyone is a noob/beginner at some point. Even my arm are relatively smaller than raynx... overtime of course even I will have a bigger arm naturally (than now) as my strength increase, no doubt. What raynx has achieved surely should be admired... for those who are not there yet, we need some reality check that anything is possible. No need to get discourage or angry, just make it as a motivation.
-Dan, your arm is already big and nearly bigger than my thigh already! Damn it! hehe no la... good job bro~ keep doing what you are doing... you are doing just fine. |
Jul 30 2011, 08:55 PM
You got me there, damn it. But honestly, she looks good. The reason I am asking for picture before is because... I'm wondering whether I should ask my wife to lift weight together with me, I have a good starter home gym set... I think I like what I see in raynx... except I rather dont want my wife arm bigger than me, that will be weird!
Sots press 42.5kg [attachmentid=2359362] [attachmentid=2359364] |
Jul 30 2011, 09:16 PM
I'm 28 already... I wish I am young like -Dan when I started this... imagine the possibility -Dan/Kaffatsum have and all the time they have.... damn it... I'm getting old.
Jul 31 2011, 08:38 PM
raynx thanks... I will take the long view in working out
Guys/girl, Ramadhan starts tomorrow... I will see how things go with working out on Ramadhan (at night of course). I wish all the muslim selamat berpuasa~! » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by hoxy: Jul 31 2011, 09:21 PM |
Aug 1 2011, 06:31 PM
~VBS, thanks for the compliments and the good advice, you are right, I will strive to outdo my weaker self, else I will be in a wrong state of mind every time I see young guns posting here. Weird exercises huh... I guess I like to do different things to challenge myself. I hope I can consistently find out new exercise in the future and share it once I nailed it.
Advice on muscle up... you can refer to below video. I get mine by following the advice from the clip also... I would say the most important thing in muscle up is the fine point of technique, not so much on raw strength, you can be very strong and pulling weighted chin/pull up all day long, if you dont have the technique and explosive, it never going to happen. Start to pull at an angle, very strongly, very explosive... and be prepared to have a sore or injured elbow. The only body parts that very hard to train which is the area at the elbow joint, this area get hits with nearly all your bodyweight as you transition from pull up to a dip position, imagine a muscle that dont get real direct hit and suddenly loaded with bodyweight and momentum force, it means a real way to really get into pain and get injured. I was at pain for 2 weeks. To reduce the chances of getting injured, I suspect doing side lever with sledgehammer (or alike) would help. ~Bata, you doing ab wheel also? Haha... I know standing ab wheel is a real b!tch to master... take your time and enjoy the pain! The gap between kneeling and standing is so so so huge, I used to thought it is impossible also. I think doing bridges help my progression. After all, the only main difference between kneeling and standing is the very sharp loading/pain at the back due to the extending of the lower back. I think me doing bridge and backbend helps, doing full contact twist/landmine might or might not help, aside from that, I dont see any other different things helping me on progressing to standing version. I also use swiss ball to modify leverage, I got picture on several page before this page if you wish to refer on the setup... » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « ~ijnek... the power of consistent persuasion. haha~ This post has been edited by hoxy: Aug 1 2011, 08:16 PM |
Aug 2 2011, 07:41 AM
QUOTE(raynx @ Aug 1 2011, 10:52 PM) Since we're talking about chin ups, check out the bartendaz. Quite famous in the US. I vow one day to be able to it. For now I am happy with 10 normal chin up reps ~raynx, I thought I'm the only person working to match their skill and achievement one by one. Glad to know you interested in doing what they are doing also. Bodyweight exercise especially on the bar... fun and challenging. I own a power rack and mostly I used my power rack for the chin up bar instead. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oe7faw6JgJw&sns=em They've got plenty more vids on YouTube. Just search for 'bartendaz' I wish we have all below setting at one place outdorr, do let me know if you all know where to find these setup at one place. a) Horizontal stair. The main pillar, is usually thick, like from my previous picture, it train the grip. b) Dip bar. Doing dip, and planche. c) Vertical open ended bar. Can use for stepping for one leg squat and also for handstand. d) Vertical stair. Clearly with human flag in mind. e) Multiple chin up bar. Multiple height. f) Some long chair with handle at one one end. Chair can be multiple angle. Suitable for dragon flag. Some of the skill I noticed they are doing: 1) Muscle up, 2) Strict muscle up, 3) Close grip muscle up, 4) Slow muscle up, 5) Mixed grip muscle up, 6) Change hand muscle up, 7) Planche, 8) Human flag, 9) Side to side pull up, 10) Around the world pull up, 11) Letter pull up, 12) One arm pull up, 13) Weighted pull up, 14) Muscle up + planche on horizontal bar, 15) Good 'ol Dip, 16) Back lever on dip (horizontal plane, and vertical plane) and horizontal bar, 17) Front lever on dip (horizontal plane, and vertical plane)and horizontal bar, 18) Plyometric push up. 3 clap... insane. 19) One arm push up Most of the time I dont have a name for what they are doing, but I do refer to all different bar master pages in youtube from time to time to see what else I can try to tackle next. The thing is... the are not only strong, they are super strong, inhuman. They are also very explosive. Have a grip that is seriously insanely strong. Imagine doing human flag on a vertical bar and also front/back lever on a vertical bar also... To understand this, perhaps a vertical deadlift is in order. Super strong core and midsection to keep them rigid, strict and static during movement or a hold. And the most important unseen things people dont understand... strong tendon, wrist, elbow and shoulder. Please do add on the exercise list above if I missed any. |
Aug 3 2011, 07:00 PM
QUOTE(mrPOTATO @ Aug 3 2011, 01:49 PM) QUOTE(Alphaproject @ Aug 3 2011, 03:25 PM) simple, big dosen't equal to strong and vice versa... As Bob (Cicherillo) says, "it's not how much you lift, its how much you look like you can lift" QUOTE(Vbs @ Aug 3 2011, 03:38 PM) Because their programs are not hypertrophy-specific. They will eventually get huge, but it takes a longer time than bodybuilders. QUOTE(raynx @ Aug 3 2011, 04:31 PM) QUOTE(ijnek @ Aug 3 2011, 05:05 PM) body building and strength building are different... I know I'm small la.... haha, damn it.i think hoxy is a good example of strength building Some people want to get big, some people not. I dont want to get big, my wife also dont want me to get big. Bodybuilding and strength training is a two different things. Somemore, I have a lot of fun conquering difficult bodyweight exercise. The feel of conquering own body is priceless. There is no way I'm going to tackle it with my current strength level with heavier weights (eg. 80kg, 90kg, 100kg going up), it never going to happen. Also, I can aim to be in the intermediate/advance level faster when I do weight lifting with my small size since the strength standard also is a weightLifted-bodyWeight ratio kind of standard. People in bodybuilding will say to people in strength training... you are small. People in strength training will say to people in bodybuilding... your lift is not as heavy as it should be with your size. And then, there will be war and hate between those 2 camps. Urm, to sum it up... I'm on strength training, I want to get strong. I'll grow as I got stronger, if my weight remains as I get stronger... that is even better. And yeah, I think I dont get big because I dont watch my diet to get my calorie up. I have more money to buy more tools to get me stronger as oppose more food to get me bigger. So yeah... I have a different goal. Somemore, getting strong first then get bigger as it happens means that I'm not stressing my body (tendon, ligament, etc2) so much. Think of it as giving time to those precious little things to slowly adapt, and a way of somehow avoiding injury. Think of doing one arm negative with my current strength, with 2 version of me with heavier body weight and lower body weight. My muscle might able to avoid injury, but the tendon, ligament, how? I have far greater chances of getting injured even if I'm weighing 65kg as oppose to 52kg (25% increase of body weight). I just need to watch out not to overdo myself... then I will proceed to getting stronger, faster and safer. Different style of training, different result, different people different goals. All of us need to understand this circumstances. Since I'm on fasting due to Ramadhan I am relatively weaker by the end of the day. But due to my smaller size and probably lower calorie maintainence... I am still to perform a one arm negative chin up... with a new record in hand, with no sign of pain felt on my right side. Strength training and being small has its benefit, and it brings me great satisfaction choosing to be in these training method. This is today picture at around 6:55pm. A 17/18second one arm chin up negative, if I do that now when I'm 65kg, I dont know what will happen. To understand how hard that is, just go do two hand chin up... it is a real slow descend. Being small has it benefits. » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by hoxy: Aug 3 2011, 07:02 PM |
Aug 3 2011, 08:53 PM
You are doing it full 17sec? You are a 100kg big man, of course it is hard even if it is two hand. That is a cool feat also. Imagine your strength with a 50kg body weight (mine is 52kg) and you will be showing picture like mine also. Strength-BodyWeight ratio rule.
Thanks for the acknowledgment, I take it as a fuel to move forward. To have the strength of a bigger man in a smaller body... that is a nice goal. Nothing is wrong with that. This post has been edited by hoxy: Aug 3 2011, 09:23 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0398sec
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 07:32 AM |