14,242 posts

try shake the camera see tongue.gif
aldosoesilo
post Jun 10 2011, 03:39 PM

I was like LOL :D
1,457 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jun 10 2011, 11:24 AM)
You sure the D3100 gives better quality of the D2X?  biggrin.gif Perhaps marginally as I've seen great photos from the D2X when you don't go over ISO 800.

If I was given between a D3100 and a D2X to choose, I would take the D2X pro body anytime. The handling ergonomics and the sure focusing AF system is enough to get you addicted to pro bodies. That's me lah.
The thing is people are still using DX bodies if they need reach. Period. That is why I still keep my D300.

Wildlife photographers in general usually use DX bodies like D300/D300s for reach and for more pixel density if they want to crop but for pros that have all the required glasses to give them the required reach, they will reach for their D3/D3s/D700 especially when low light performance is required.
At the end of the day, it depends on what the person wants. If you want lightweight, the D7000 is nice.

If I were to choose between a DX body like the D7000 or a FX body like a D700, I would take the D700 because of these 4 things in their particular order;

1. Better subject isolation on the D700
2. Better focusing system on the D700
3. Overall better shadow noise even at lower ISOs on the D700
4. Better handling and feel on the D700 in my hands (I don't mind the heavy weight)

The only considerations that *might* sway me away from the D700 to the D7000 are as follows;

1. Higher MP on the D7000
2. 1080p video on the D7000
3. Lighter on the D7000
If you're speaking purely from D70s to D3100, then your arguments are correct.
FX wide angles lenses are EXPENSIVE. It is far cheaper to use DX bodies with DX wide angles to get wide angles. But quality wise, it seems that only FX lenses are the way to go.
It was correct when the D3/D3s and D700 were launced. But after the D7000 came out, those advantages of the FX system were not so obvious anymore. Not saying that the D7000 is better but the gap between DX and FX is much closer with FX still having the edge.
Yes. I am totally agree with you bro. Therefore I said, FX is not always a solution and only solution for upgrade.
some people need DX some need FX. if one in need of reach and able to put aside subject isolation FX is not an option.
I am agree if money eventually brings value.
There is a reason why FX is more expensive than DX, in this case d700 is more expensive than d7000.

but again, one should justify where should their money go.
I believe it's not wise to upgrade to FX without considering those options.

Anyway I am a total noob, and I didn't own FX yet.
so I think it is better to return this question to one who has a lot of experience in photography. What do you think bro jchue73?

regarding D3100 vs D2X I can't say much.
I believe IQ wide D3100 wins but control wise D2X pawn D3100 any time. again I never play with D2X yet, so it might be my own opinion only.

-From here onwards are my personal opinions regarding camera. Please don't cucuk me unsure.gif
You know what.
Sometimes I felt that, camera will always be camera, what differentiate them are SLR/DSLR gives more control over compact camera or PnS.

when you are framing what matter most still the same, which is composition, perspective and control towards exposure. What differentiate pro and newbie are those three if I recall correctly.
Sometimes those who own PnS even tell more story in their composition and beats my sets hands down.

that makes me feel guilty by having expensive camera (even mine, might not be expensive for your guys PoV). blush.gif

This post has been edited by aldosoesilo: Jun 10 2011, 03:45 PM
celciuz
post Jun 10 2011, 03:46 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Jun 10 2011, 02:48 PM)
hey guyz.. recently i've replacing my d300s screen protector.. when i remove the old screen protector i saw there dust inside the LCD screen.. knn i thought it's weather sealed? how come dust can go in one? damn dulan..
70200 VR2 is weather sealed right? Mine had A LOT of dust inside before it went back to Nikon to repair due to faulty AF.

Agito666
post Jun 10 2011, 03:47 PM

11,861 posts

QUOTE(aldosoesilo @ Jun 10 2011, 03:39 PM)
Yes. I am totally agree with you bro. Therefore I said, FX is not always a solution and only solution for upgrade.
some people need DX some need FX. if one in need of reach and able to put aside subject isolation FX is not an option.
I am agree if money eventually brings value.
There is a reason why FX is more expensive than DX, in this case d700 is more expensive than d7000.

but again, one should justify where should their money go.
I believe it's not wise to upgrade to FX without considering those options.

so I think it is better to return this question to one who has a lot of experience in photography. What do you think bro jchue73?

regarding D3100 vs D2X I can't say much.
I believe IQ wide D3100 wins but control wise D2X pawn D3100 any time. again I never play with D2X yet, so it might be my own opinion only.
-From here onwards are my personal opinions regarding camera. Please don't cucuk me  unsure.gif
You know what.
Sometimes I felt that, camera will always be camera, what differentiate them are SLR/DSLR gives more control over compact camera or PnS.

when you are framing what matter most still the same, which is composition, perspective and control towards exposure. What differentiate pro and newbie are those three if I recall correctly.
Sometimes those who own PnS even tell more story in their composition and beats my sets hands down.

that makes me feel guilty by having expensive camera (even mine, might not be expensive for your guys PoV). blush.gif
+1.... XD

after c2age i feel my shots all under and not nice than other's , their seems expo nicely...well i havent check what model is that.
lighter
post Jun 10 2011, 03:59 PM

Recommended Seller
2,478 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 10 2011, 03:46 PM)
70200 VR2 is weather sealed right? Mine had A LOT of dust inside before it went back to Nikon to repair due to faulty AF.
do you know the rough price to service 17-55? my zoom ring seems not smooth.. thought of service ask them add some grease..
masachi
post Jun 10 2011, 04:00 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(Frida8 @ Jun 3 2011, 05:25 PM)
woooo, how nice, longing for this lens smile.gif)
now is comparing price like nikkon official site, ebay, t dimension..
I am comparing the prices too, the price difference is quite big among those shops
cool2.gif
hypermount
post Jun 10 2011, 05:03 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Quick questions guys...will my old Nikon F65 lenses fit on new Nikon DLSRs? From what I read if got AF still can AF...if like that I'll stick to Nikon liao...thinking about D7000.
jchue73
post Jun 10 2011, 05:11 PM

2,496 posts

Errr, what do I think? unsure.gif

If you do lots of low light shooting and appreciate subject isolations, the FX is the body to get. Saying that dos not mean with DX you get nothing. With DX, you can still do low light and portraiture with the correct lenses and it's cheaper too. The newer DX bodies somehow brings the gap to FX closer.

Don't be pressured or forced into thinking that owning a DSLR, you must take good pics. Money is yours and if you enjoy using a DSLR taking ordinary pics, so be it. You can ask opinions and weigh on it yourself what you need and don't need. At the end of the day, the money is yours and I feel that the main important thing is that you enjoy and get satisfaction from your hobby. Don't let other people decide how you should enjoy your hobby.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jun 10 2011, 03:46 PM)
I think one needs to differentiate between weather sealed and water proof. In the industry I work with, you have what you call IP (ingress protection) rating for equipment enclosures. Have a look here;

http://www.aquatext.com/tables/ip_ratings.htm

So while the camera / lens can be rated to resist water droplets, dust can still enter.

QUOTE(hypermount @ Jun 10 2011, 05:03 PM)
Quick questions guys...will my old Nikon F65 lenses fit on new Nikon DLSRs? From what I read if got AF still can AF...if like that I'll stick to Nikon liao...thinking about D7000.
It's good to find out what old lenses you still have...

For a good knowledge on what works and what does not, have a look at the link below;

http://www.nikonians.org/nikon/slr-lens.html
celciuz
post Jun 10 2011, 06:02 PM

14,037 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jun 10 2011, 05:11 PM)
Errr, what do I think?  unsure.gif

If you do lots of low light shooting and appreciate subject isolations, the FX is the body to get. Saying that dos not mean with DX you get nothing. With DX, you can still do low light and portraiture with the correct lenses and it's cheaper too. The newer DX bodies somehow brings the gap to FX closer. 
Don't be pressured or forced into thinking that owning a DSLR, you must take good pics. Money is yours and if you enjoy using a DSLR taking ordinary pics, so be it. You can ask opinions and weigh on it yourself what you need and don't need. At the end of the day, the money is yours and I feel that the main important thing is that you enjoy and get satisfaction from your hobby. Don't let other people decide how you should enjoy your hobby.
I think one needs to differentiate between weather sealed and water proof. In the industry I work with, you have what you call IP (ingress protection) rating for equipment enclosures. Have a look here;

http://www.aquatext.com/tables/ip_ratings.htm

So while the camera / lens can be rated to resist water droplets, dust can still enter.
It's good to find out what old lenses you still have...

For a good knowledge on what works and what does not, have a look at the link below;

http://www.nikonians.org/nikon/slr-lens.html
AFAIK, the 70200 weather seal includes dust.

http://www.dpreview.com/news/0907/0907300370mm200mm.asp

I need to find for the official link when I'm back home... still in office sad.gif
david9
post Jun 10 2011, 07:20 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(hihi @ Jun 9 2011, 09:47 AM)
You can read the feedback from his customer. Nobody said that it is original, but they said it is very close to original.
If it's true , then I rather go buy it from authorized nikon shop which costs RM500
The one that I was asking the battery grip from this person sells me for rm 330 for preorder ,http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=225&t=1753640&st=0

Is there any option i could go for ? as long i'm not being con by anyone .

vincent09
post Jun 10 2011, 07:34 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

QUOTE(lighter @ Jun 10 2011, 02:48 PM)
hey guyz.. recently i've replacing my d300s screen protector.. when i remove the old screen protector i saw there dust inside the LCD screen.. knn i thought it's weather sealed? how come dust can go in one? damn dulan..
QUOTE(lighter @ Jun 10 2011, 03:17 PM)
okok will try on that..  cry.gif

actually the dust not obvious la.. just curious why weather sealed still can go in..
Same problem as my D7000 which 1 week ago..... I ask for fix and they also charge for it around rm150 ~rm200 because they need open the camera and nothing to do with the warranty .....
Just leave it there until the time you want clean your viewfinder, then just ask them do together with it tongue.gif Because they already open your camera on that time.
ButanicaBanzai
post Jun 10 2011, 08:29 PM

134 posts

D5k user with kitty lens reporting in smile.gif

Today encountered one damn funny situation.
1 guy was camwhoring with his GF with a dslr. After finish taking pictures he took out the lens and tried to take pictures without it. He went on to rant 'why I buy this lousy camera' in public.
I was sitting behind him and I almost LMAO'ed till I fell off the chair.
Edited for easier understanding. Very simple already icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by ButanicaBanzai: Jun 10 2011, 09:25 PM
post Jun 10 2011, 08:45 PM

EimiFukada
14,242 posts

LOL what is he talking about i also duno laugh.gif
noobie1
post Jun 10 2011, 09:13 PM

2,538 posts

QUOTE(ButanicaBanzai @ Jun 10 2011, 08:29 PM)

1 guy was camwhoring with his GF with a dslr. After finish taking pictures he took out the lens and tried to take pictures without it. He went on to rant 'why I buy this lousy camera' in public.
try to balance ur horizon, and the tree leaf top there quite annoying..
call him giv me that lousy camera..lol
ButanicaBanzai
post Jun 10 2011, 09:26 PM

134 posts

Cropped and editted in the post above biggrin.gif
Too bad no CPL filter... The sky was very blue too but there's too much light since that time is afternoon sad.gif

This post has been edited by ButanicaBanzai: Jun 10 2011, 09:28 PM
hidden830726
post Jun 10 2011, 10:13 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

So 50mm 1.8g is RM690? anyshop at timesquare, lowyat, sungai wang selling that?

Added on June 10, 2011, 10:17 pm
QUOTE(ButanicaBanzai @ Jun 10 2011, 08:29 PM)

GF u mean Girlfriend right? not Lumix GF?

how to take picture with DSLR without lens?

This post has been edited by hidden830726: Jun 10 2011, 10:20 PM
Redcross
post Jun 10 2011, 10:21 PM

1,680 posts

Tom Clancy, looking forward to the New Ghost Recon Future Soldier game that was shown in the recent E3 2011

hidden830726
post Jun 10 2011, 10:25 PM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

QUOTE(Redcross @ Jun 10 2011, 10:21 PM)
Tom Clancy, looking forward to the New Ghost Recon Future Soldier game that was shown in the recent E3 2011

wah, is that your book rack? So neat and tidy.
ButanicaBanzai
post Jun 10 2011, 10:34 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jun 10 2011, 10:13 PM)

Added on June 10, 2011, 10:17 pm

GF u mean Girlfriend right? not Lumix GF?

how to take picture with DSLR without lens?
Thats why I nearly LMAO

Nice books your got there Redcross brows.gif
vearn27
post Jun 10 2011, 11:12 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jun 10 2011, 02:01 PM)
No sure, for portraits I prefer longer focal length, the effect, subject isolation, perspective, etc is just much better. But the price and the performance is really tempting; Anyway, it can wait, haha  tongue.gif

I have not use a DFD before so I can't share my experience, but I've seen the user guide/manual online, I think it explains pretty well; Basically it's suppose to diffuse the light; Actual result, I think you need to test it out yourself.
For the DFD pro, the new version the reflector can be replace/change right? It's velcro type, so you can DIY a bigger reflector  thumbup.gif

By the way, forgot to ask you, how's the Wedding Reception shoot? Did it go well? Is the ceiling high or low?
How about the walk-ins? Did they turn down the lights and how was the spot light. How did you "manage" this situation?
Which lens were you using?
I wanted to ask you this for a very long time but always missed that out, which model of DSLR you're using at the moment? biggrin.gif

50mm on DX will be 75mm equivalent. I still find it very tight, maybe have not get used with the portrait zoom length. It sometime make me wonder how far the photog stands when shooting use 85mm on FX laugh.gif. But nevertheless for portrait shooting, the isolation will be great at the zoom length smile.gif

Good experience. It's my 2nd wedding shooting and this time wedding reception is at hotel instead of house. Tight area and need to somehow "guide" the people to play therefore can create opening for photo shooting. The ceiling wasn't high but I'm having difficulty in adjusting the amount of flash to bounce from the DFD especially when shot in portrait mode. I still don't know how to mess with the flash direction in vertical mode sweat.gif

Night time, I'm having problem lighting up the background of the ballroom from my shot. I had shared earlier in the thread and some pointed that I should lower my SS, pump up my ISO and open up the aperture to shoot. Taking the advise and will try it tomorrow smile.gif (church wedding + dinner)

Any tips and guide for church wedding shooting? biggrin.gif

QUOTE(hidden830726 @ Jun 10 2011, 10:13 PM)
Someone just checked J-One at Amcorp Mall and it's selling at RM680 smile.gif

126 Pages « < 49 50 51 52 53 > » Top

0.0313sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 07:57 PM