Photography The Official Nikon Discussion thread V10, The dark lord continues

david9
post Jun 9 2011, 12:36 AM

493 posts

Hi ,

Would like to ask whether it's safe to buy nikon mb-d11 for d7000 from this forumer , http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f...&t=1753640&st=0

Because there's looks alike third party battery grip everywhere and I would not want to be get con and prefers to stay in original .

p/s : if there is no choice , then I have to go to authorized nikon shop and pay extra money for it
david9
post Jun 9 2011, 01:09 AM

493 posts

QUOTE(Terbulance @ Jun 9 2011, 01:07 AM)
Ordered a MB-D80 from this seller. It's pre-order so it will be arriving around mid of June. Seems legit to me from the looks of the photo so I'm ok with it smile.gif
Yessss . At least u're in the same spot as I am . Thank you for brightening me
david9
post Jun 10 2011, 07:20 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(hihi @ Jun 9 2011, 09:47 AM)
You can read the feedback from his customer. Nobody said that it is original, but they said it is very close to original.
If it's true , then I rather go buy it from authorized nikon shop which costs RM500
The one that I was asking the battery grip from this person sells me for rm 330 for preorder ,http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=ST&f=225&t=1753640&st=0

Is there any option i could go for ? as long i'm not being con by anyone .

david9
post Jun 15 2011, 05:03 PM

493 posts

Has anyone use battery grip made from nikon china before ?

david9
post Jun 15 2011, 05:20 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jun 15 2011, 05:19 PM)
shld i go for 35mm or  50mm 1.8G?
Buy both
david9
post Jul 2 2011, 04:31 PM

493 posts

Hi ,

Any idea how to get rid of fingerprint on the lens ?

I try using the lenspen and it doesn't work .

I just need help . thanks
david9
post Jul 6 2011, 03:41 PM

493 posts

Hi ,

I have 1 choice to select since I'm on the budget

1) Sell my 50mm f1.8D go for 1.8G or 1.4G and Flash SB-600 or SB-700

or

2) sell my 18-105mm go for 18-200 VRII

or

3) go for sigma 85mm f1.4 EX DG HSM

I need comments and suggestion please . Thank you .
Portrait shooter here (:
david9
post Jul 6 2011, 05:35 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 6 2011, 04:27 PM)
I think it's either 1 or 3 if you're into portraiture. Getting the speedlight would depend if you're into available light photography (no flash) or not.

I would suggest you limit the focal length of your 18-105mm to 50mm (or 85mm) to discipline yourself to shoot at those focal lengths and see which is the one you're most comfortable with. Else, if you get the chance, try out those lenses at shops.
Bokeh liker here . Now I have 2 options to choose

1) 50mm f1.8G and sb 600 or sb 700

or

2) sigma 85mm f1.4

ELSE ,

go for 50mm f1.4G

hAHA

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 6 2011, 05:36 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 12:50 PM

493 posts

Is it really necessary to get a flash such as Nikon SB600 or getting a battery grip would be better or get another lens Tamron AF 17-50mm F2.8 XR Di II ?

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 8 2011, 12:51 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 02:09 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 8 2011, 01:52 PM)
What do you want to achieve? Shooting a wedding?
I have no idea tongue.gif

Yea , wedding , event , photoshoot portfolio for solo , traveling , food

Also , portrait shooter and bokeh lover here .

So far I ady owned 35f1.8 , 50f1.8 and 105 kit lens .

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 8 2011, 02:10 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 03:27 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jul 8 2011, 03:15 PM)
i) Flashgun - A great partner for lens with small aperture. It does help a lot in dim and low light area.
ii) Batter Grip - If you shoot portrait a lot or need a heavier body to balance up heavy lens, else not necessary.
iii) Tamron 17-50 - You already have 35 and 50 1.8 ! Unless you lazy to change lens laugh.gif
Tempting wei if only i can buy all three of it ! HAHA tongue.gif

Added on July 8, 2011, 3:28 pm
QUOTE(four_add @ Jul 8 2011, 03:19 PM)
if indoor potrait shooting like the pc fair then better get the flash..
you can already get bokehlicious pictures from your primes.

thats what I think, I also have simliar kit like you..  icon_rolleyes.gif
yea , still thinking sb600 or sb700

and I do not need a so canggih lens , as long its powerful to flash out if I choose to get a flash

REALLY ? awesome !

Added on July 8, 2011, 3:30 pm
QUOTE(jchue73 @ Jul 8 2011, 03:24 PM)
Wah... Everything also want?

There's no one lens that can excel at everything but the 17-55mm f/2.8 does fit the bill to cover most of what you want to do.

It does potrait ok plus sharp and fast focusing too but not at the bokeh that the 85mm f/1.4 can do.
Greedy ma . haha . Of course everything also want if only i have enough money .

seriously tamron 17-55 f2.8 is disturbing me alot to get it since i ady have 35 and 50 , i guess the number of it f2.8 looks superior

85mm f1.4G is my dream lens , all the way !!!

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 8 2011, 03:30 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 03:41 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jul 8 2011, 03:34 PM)
I got all the 3 similar stuff you had mentioned but I don't own the primes which you have. Initially planning to get 50mm f/1.8G. Now, not so necessarily already unless I focus into taking portraiture tongue.gif
sadly , the 1.8G is made from china sad.gif
1.4 G is the ULTIMATE

Still , 1.8G is better than my old 1.8 , i heard autofocus is faster than 1.4G , hopefully i didnt see wrong from article or from youtube .

I have the same thought like you . Planning to get 50mm f1.8G too .
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 03:51 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Jul 8 2011, 03:44 PM)
50mm f/1.4G is ultimate? ._. as a 50mm f/1.4... it is just so so la...
because I've been checking out some forums and threads comparing between sigma 50mm f1.4 and nikkor 50mm f1.4G , then reading comments and this and that . My conclusion is 50mm f1.4G wins (: . sharing opinion here
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 04:01 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jul 8 2011, 03:53 PM)
Do you, by any chance, specifically, sensitively... really... I mean REALLY ??? can feel any different if the lens made from China or Japan other than the words made? biggrin.gif

Chill chill... just joking since it's Friday and massive jam coming into the weekend.

1.4 is great, but not that easy to shoot. Last time I used Nikkor 50mm f/1.4, I only comfortable shooting from f/1.8 and above. f/1.4 kinda soft sad.gif

We do have the same thought, but in totally different situation. I have no prime and only kit, but you have both the 35 and 50 f/1.8 prime biggrin.gif
Even my iphone is made from China , kenko PRO1D lens filter made from Japan , D7000 made from Thailand . NO , there are all the same biggrin.gif

Glad I'm staying in my hometown here ( seremban )

Totally massive to the MAX !

Maybe you should start invest more money to lens . Plan a list to get ur future lens rclxm9.gif I'm sure every photographer have a wish list to get AWESOME lens
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 04:47 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Jul 8 2011, 04:14 PM)
Kenko is a well-known filter manufacturer? I always have a bad thought that their filter is cheap quality stuff. Am sorry for that sweat.gif

I only invest the lens that I need blush.gif. I may get 85mm f/1.4G but ended up less utilized? biggrin.gif
Ohh please . Once u have 85mm f1.4 , u will be dreaming like a king wears a crown . Less utilize ? Nah rolleyes.gif i dun think so .

it is better to know which one is fake and real kenko before u buy . Then there's ori and ap lens as well . Horrible doh.gif
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 04:55 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 8 2011, 04:36 PM)
The Tamron 17-50 f/2.8 is good for it's price; Get the non-VC at around RM1250 (official warranty by Tamron Malaysia - 2 Years). Just make sure you test it thoroughly for back-focus or front-focus.
Forget about the VC which need additional > RM500, unless you think you absolutely must have it.
Another alternative is Sigma 18-50 f/2.8 MACRO or Sigma 17-50f/2.8 with OS; both these are more expensive than Tamron.

It's good because you get wide angle for group shot, useful for events. If you're using the 35mm, you will have problem shooting groups (especially big group) and or tight space.

Add a flash, it'll be good to go; That's why you need to consider is it really you need to spend the extra for the VC/VR/OS.
Ultimate? The price is more than double f/1.8 counterpart. For budget/hobbyist who don't earn a lot, that's crucial. For loaded people, or people earning money from photography, then it's different story.

The 50mm f/1.8 is very sharp at f/1.8, plus the price for it, it's amazing deal. Check PhotoMalaysia thread for many poisonous sample.
You've been warned....
I just found this thread http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=99673
He did tested non vc and vc taking an object . Well ???

speaking of flash , is sb700 really give value to me ? cuz i just need a powerful flash to take photo , was thinking sb600 is fine for me blink.gif

Hoho , guess i'm on the right field , f1.8 FTW !

Added on July 8, 2011, 4:58 pm
QUOTE(freddy manson @ Jul 8 2011, 04:53 PM)
i have 50mm f1.4 and its underutilised..
sold it few days back..

its a matter of using vs buying~  icon_rolleyes.gif
"biar menang membeli, menang memakai"
ohmy.gif Such a good lens and u sell it away .

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 8 2011, 04:58 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 07:21 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 8 2011, 05:54 PM)
That's why I said, whether you really need it; If you know the rules of Shutter Speed, then you should understand how to reduce/avoid shake. With VC, the good thing is you can go below the Shutter Speed up to 4 stops. This is advantage for still subject in lowlight, you can use slow shutter speed handheld.

With prime lens, like 35mm, 50mm, 85mm, there's NO VC/VR/OS; Old lens have no VC/VR/OS, yet people take amazing pictures. It's all about knowing how to utilize your equipment and not too rely on technology.
Technology advancement is to "HELP" provideĀ  or "improve" on something, not to be abuse by relying on it. Technology helps to improve lifestyle, reduce our workload, makes it easier to do things. As with VC/VR/OS, it's give the advantage for people to use it when they want/need it, but it's not a "must". It's should become something that is a "must" until cannot live without it. It's something that is "nice" to have.

So, there's no wrong or right; If you feel it will help you, and you feel it's worth spending the extra RM500++ for the VC, then by all means go ahead; I have nothing against VC or non-VC, it depends on individual preference. Those prefer VC have his/her own reasoning to get it, and he/she feels worth it; For those that think he/she doesn't need it, and/or feel not worth the price, will disagree to get it; It'll never ending debate because it really depends on how one person feel, think and value things, there's no wrong or right here.

If you research on it, you may find comments/reviews that the non-VC is slightly sharper than the VC; then again, it depends how important is the "difference" to you and if you pixel peep. To some, the sharpness difference can mean a lot, some may say "ok (with the) lah". Again, individual preference. As for problems, there's also complains that the VC has more issues, but then, I'm not really sure.
True true enough . I think I should go try the VC and the non VC . Then I shall decide which want is fine to me . Thanks for sharing . I'm pleased brows.gif

Btw , whats ur suggestion to get or not to get 17-50 tamron ? or go for flash and battery grip ?

Added on July 8, 2011, 7:23 pm
QUOTE(four_add @ Jul 8 2011, 06:56 PM)
sb700 is kinda like upgrade version of sb600.. I recommend get tht instead.
some more info about sb700 here http://flashraw.com/review-nikon-sb-700-speedlight/
You have just rotten my mind down . My aim now goes to SB-700 , it is such a waste if go for sb600 and the price differences sb600and sb700 are RM300 . SB700 looks BIG and sexy tho drool.gif

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 8 2011, 07:27 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 07:35 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(four_add @ Jul 8 2011, 07:32 PM)
^ good for you bro.. Im targetting for that one too.. after receiving my July paycheck tho.. laugh.gif
and that is why NIKON RULEZ notworthy.gif
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 10:06 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 8 2011, 09:27 PM)
If you don't have any wide angle lens, and you're on budget, tamron is a good choice for its price, providing f/2.8 from 17-50mm range; useful for events.
For events shooting, usually we try not to use too slow shutter (shooting people, etc), so VC may not be useful plus you need to wait for the VC to kick in first. But shooting still subject (e.g. wedding rings, objects), and in low light and no flash, the VC can come in handy for you to use slower shutter speed handheld.

If you feel worth to pay the extra, RM500++ to for the VC, then go ahead;
There's always 2 side of the coins:
1. Didn't get the VC, later regret when you feel you need it, should've paid the extra money and get the VC.
2. Got the VC, later feel you don't really utilize it (plus you need to wait for the VC to kick in), you regret for spending the extra money, you could've invest on something else (e.g. Flash).
Well, it depends on your budget, if you're low budget (don't earn a lot of money) and this is a hobby, the amount difference is a lot; But for those who can afford, they would probably just get the VC version.

So, no worries, test it out and decide yourself, most important if you are satisfied with it.
Btw, there're Tamron lens that made in China and those that made in Japan; look out for it. Get official set (with 2 years warranty from Futuromic) for less hassle and better support.
I think tamron 17-55 should ease to solve my confusion although i haven't test it out both vc and non vc yet .
Let's just say even tamron17-55vc does help to take better photo result like wedding rings , I'm sure the non vc does it as well , as long my hands are not the shaky type like an old man can't even hold a spoon properly

VC - take still picture
non VC - take moving object

tough choice tho unsure.gif

This post has been edited by david9: Jul 8 2011, 10:22 PM
david9
post Jul 8 2011, 10:59 PM

493 posts

QUOTE(Andy214 @ Jul 8 2011, 10:46 PM)
There're wedding photogs using the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8; In the end, when you look at the picture, most (if not all) people can't tell it's taken with which lens anyway. More importantly, is the skill, technique, creativity, etc.

Anyway, non VC still can take still subject, you just need to understand the shutter speed rule.
Just in case you're not sure:
If you zoom to 50mm, the actual focal length for crop sensor is 1.5X, so 50mm X 1.5 = 75mm; Thus your minimum recommended shutter speed must not be slower than 1/80. Try shoot at faster shutter speed. If you use slower shutter speed, you need to hold the camera very steadily.
NOTE: It doesn't mean you can shake the camera la, just that holding it properly, the recommended shutter speed should eliminate the shake problem.

See your budget, the test out those lens within your budget.
I guess if go for non vc , just need to understand how much shutter speed need to adjust at the same time the distance range focus .
Thinking twice of it , if go for vc , wouldn't the object focused in the photo looks clearer and crisper ?

0.0550sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:26 AM