Credit Card v11

lara_
post Sep 24 2010, 06:17 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(wshoh @ Sep 24 2010, 02:38 PM)
Looks like those of us (including me) who meet the eligibility criteria for OCBC Titanium MC but still fail in our application have to learn from travelyew - appeal by email to cap@ocbc.com and/or pledge FD? However, he did it before OCBC re-launched their Titanium MC. jack2 and Lara_, can share more? All the best chemistry and kons.
My application history for forumers' analysis:

1. 8 Sept 2010 - Application submitted by email to Lim Tiong Shing @ Johnson Lim <JohnsonLim@ocbc.com> of OCBC Credit Card Department, Unsecured Loans, Mobile: 012-3453683, Office: 03-27833072, Fax: 03-27111098. He telephoned me shortly after I indicated my interest by keying in my mobile at OCBC's website on 6.9.2010.

2. 9 Sept 2010 - Missed out EPF statement in previous day's email - duly forwarded to Johnson.

3. 13 Sept 2010 - Telephoned OCBC to make sure papers are in order. Customer Rep informed that my application is not yet in the system but they will check, she asked for their staff name and my personal details.

4. 18 Sept 2010 - OCBC Customer Rep telephoned to inform that account created - application however is pending recommendation? (not sure). She also added that according to their system, the deadline for OCBC to decide on my application is 24.9.2010.

5. 22 Sept 2010 - Telephoned OCBC to find out status. Still pending approval.

6. 23 Sept 2010 - OCBC Customer Rep telephoned in the evening that application declined by management - reason not known from system.  cry.gif  Also told that I should re-apply AFTER 6 months as otherwise automatically rejected by system.

7. 24 Sept 2010 - Appeal?
If I recall correctly, someone mentioned seeing OCBC booth at 1Utama on 18/19 Sept. Seems that there should be a booth at Fahrenheit 88 as there were many OCBC Titanium buntings (which mentioned free gift) although I could not locate it.
Before approved, my application also stuck in "pending recommendation" for 3 weeks. For my case, it was application form's billing address different from their system record. I suggest you to complain to CS and ask them to check with "CC Processor". They are the one did the damn job. vmad.gif
ck3lam
post Sep 24 2010, 06:20 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 23 2010, 11:19 PM)
Wait for ur response...
Finally, I have received email confirmation from the bank.
“5% rebate is applicable for Utility Bills regardless of how it is paid, whether through the counter, Call n Pay, Internet or Auto-Billings, so long that the correct Merchant Category Code is used (don’t worry, this is a standard requirement by MasterCard).”

Well, this sounds more sense to me. Looks like their CS needs to be improved a lot.

samquah
post Sep 24 2010, 06:26 PM

603 posts

but still can take balance transfer for 24 months wat
and like for pb, the upfront interest if bt for 24 month is only 5%. very much cheaper than taking personal loan@9.6% interest
winner
post Sep 24 2010, 06:44 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 24 2010, 04:52 PM)
for ocbc titanium, what is the cl like? can they match my citibank cl if i have rm30k?
I think OCBC will give you a lower CL.

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 24 2010, 06:20 PM)
“5% rebate is applicable for Utility Bills regardless of how it is paid, whether through the counter, Call n Pay, Internet or Auto-Billings, so long that the correct Merchant Category Code is used (don’t worry, this is a standard requirement by MasterCard).”

Well, this sounds more sense to me. Looks like their CS needs to be improved a lot.
As told by the CS to me, all bills done via autopay will earn 5% as long as they are recognised as utility and phone bills.
Gen-X
post Sep 24 2010, 07:22 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lj0000 @ Sep 24 2010, 01:09 PM)
i failed my ocbc titanium i think because i got too high credit limit on other cards. they would total up my credit limit from other bank and then compare the risk of me maxing out all the cards.

so.. moral of the story is.. high CL not necessary good esp if u have multiple card.
too high CL or outstanding amount yet to be settled? Go print your CCRIS report and see what's inside.

I was issued OCBC Titanium, and if combine all the CL of my cards, I would be in the same boat as you.

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Sep 24 2010, 01:17 PM)
Need to qualify that ....   high CL should commensurate with your income/net worth  smile.gif

Been in the same spot but the difference was my Term Loan (to purchase a property) was denied and had to reduce the CL on one of my card to reduce my overall credit exposure  tongue.gif
Besides me giving the bank info during application for loan, can the bank check your networth or income from another source? If yes, how can I get a copy of it.

Looks like those of us (including me) who meet the eligibility criteria for OCBC Titanium MC but still fail in our application have to learn from travelyew - appeal by email to cap@ocbc.com and/or pledge FD?

If I recall correctly, someone mentioned seeing OCBC booth at 1Utama on 18/19 Sept. Seems that there should be a booth at Fahrenheit 88 as there were many OCBC Titanium buntings (which mentioned free gift) although I could not locate it.
If you got a strong case to appeal, no harm.

2 weekends ago OCBC was at 1U, last week I was there Citibank taken over the booth. This week no idea.

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Sep 24 2010, 03:43 PM)
I also used my HSBC credit card as reference. RM30k really is enough for HSBC credit card apparently. Anyway, they still asked for my income document. Age is the problem here. It will be a few more year before i reach my mid-20s. Told them i am just a student. Therefore, i won't be able to to give them my income document. They asked me if i have any FD with them but unfortunately i do not have any. So i asked them to cancel my application. Might try again when the opportunity comes next time  smile.gif
Age has nothing to do with owning a credit cards. I had my own personal credit cards and Amwx charged card even before the age of 21 in the USA. At age of 23, when I came back to Malaysia and started working applied for UOB Gold Visa and they gave it to me. If age was a problem, then you won't be holding a HSBC Plat right.

The point is you have no income.

MilesAndMore, maybe it is time to transfer some money into OCBC tongue.gif

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 24 2010, 04:50 PM)
They MUST accept if not why they partner with AMEX. Not making sense right? sweat.gif
Ya lah. Sime Darby Medical Centre do accept AMEX also.

QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 24 2010, 05:18 PM)
will the offer a good cl? or match the citibank cl i have??

what about cimb? can they give a good cl?

why i am asking? because i have a credit of almost 28K which i want to transfer to other cc and do installment plan instead of taking personal loan to pay up.
What, you have outstanding balance of RM28K and paying interest. Better go apply OCBC and CIMB fast fast instead of paying RM300+ interest.

QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 24 2010, 06:26 PM)
but still can take balance transfer for 24 months wat
and like for pb, the upfront interest if bt for 24 month is only 5%.  very much cheaper than taking personal loan@9.6% interest
so why have you not apply for PBB card? Anyway, don't put your hopes too high with PBB and OCBC giving you higher CL than your present card since you have outstanding debt.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Sep 24 2010, 07:23 PM
Eng_Tat
post Sep 24 2010, 07:31 PM

2,215 posts

guys i just print my ccris, under one my cc, hw come under approval date is different from my original real date real date is 09/07 but in ccris is 10/09. but the cc was approved 2007. i know it increase the cc limit on 2009 if not mistaken. kinda confused.
alexwsk
post Sep 24 2010, 07:48 PM

4,094 posts

just received my ipod shuttle from SCB thru courier

@winner, the one you redeemed yourself is
1) user posted image

or
2) user posted image
travelyew
post Sep 24 2010, 07:54 PM

241 posts

Sound like very good.
Will try to register for auto pay....
chemistry
post Sep 24 2010, 08:02 PM

3,065 posts

Yeah, the CS needs to be re-trained. shakehead.gif
jack2
post Sep 24 2010, 08:03 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Looks like those of us (including me) who meet the eligibility criteria for OCBC Titanium MC but still fail in our application have to learn from travelyew - appeal by email to cap@ocbc.com and/or pledge FD? However, he did it before OCBC re-launched their Titanium MC. jack2 and Lara_, can share more? All the best chemistry and kons.
My application history for forumers' analysis:

1. 8 Sept 2010 - Application submitted by email to Lim Tiong Shing @ Johnson Lim <JohnsonLim@ocbc.com> of OCBC Credit Card Department, Unsecured Loans, Mobile: 012-3453683, Office: 03-27833072, Fax: 03-27111098. He telephoned me shortly after I indicated my interest by keying in my mobile at OCBC's website on 6.9.2010.

2. 9 Sept 2010 - Missed out EPF statement in previous day's email - duly forwarded to Johnson.

3. 13 Sept 2010 - Telephoned OCBC to make sure papers are in order. Customer Rep informed that my application is not yet in the system but they will check, she asked for their staff name and my personal details.

4. 18 Sept 2010 - OCBC Customer Rep telephoned to inform that account created - application however is pending recommendation? (not sure). She also added that according to their system, the deadline for OCBC to decide on my application is 24.9.2010.

5. 22 Sept 2010 - Telephoned OCBC to find out status. Still pending approval.

6. 23 Sept 2010 - OCBC Customer Rep telephoned in the evening that application declined by management - reason not known from system.  cry.gif  Also told that I should re-apply AFTER 6 months as otherwise automatically rejected by system.

7. 24 Sept 2010 - Appeal?
The case that I had is, my current employer data is different from the previous that registered with central bank few years ago.

They made it pending for approval as they can't verify my employer. I complained through OCBC website that I am qualified than enough and the reason I applied this car is for "Earn your MAX RM50 cap".

The next day the officer called me about the reason for pending and I submitted my employer letter on Monday for their review.

The approved it it either on Tuesday or Wednesday and I got my card today (just 2 days)
winner
post Sep 24 2010, 08:38 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 24 2010, 07:48 PM)
@winner, the one you redeemed yourself is
1) user posted image

or
2) user posted image
The former. I chose a green type.
alexwsk
post Sep 24 2010, 08:41 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 24 2010, 08:38 PM)
The former. I chose a green type.
@winner
ic, thx for the fast reply. I received the former as well, silver color

anyone here managed to redeem number (2)? that shud be the latest generation

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Sep 24 2010, 08:41 PM
winner
post Sep 24 2010, 08:46 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 24 2010, 08:41 PM)
anyone here managed to redeem number (2)? that shud be the latest generation
They try to clear the old stock. I don't think they give away the new model.
samquah
post Sep 24 2010, 08:57 PM

603 posts

ok now lets say i apply for a few cc now.
then i see which one can approve and give me the highest rate CL

can i then reject the ones with lower CL?
will i still kena the govn tax?

alexwsk
post Sep 24 2010, 08:59 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 24 2010, 08:46 PM)
They try to clear the old stock. I don't think they give away the new model.
most likely so biggrin.gif
the new gen just released early sept

Added on September 24, 2010, 9:00 pm
ok now lets say i apply for a few cc now.
then i see which one can approve and give me the highest rate CL

can i then reject the ones with lower CL?
will i still kena the govn tax?

yes, each card approved will be taxed

This post has been edited by alexwsk: Sep 24 2010, 09:00 PM
winner
post Sep 24 2010, 09:11 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(alexwsk @ Sep 24 2010, 08:59 PM)
most likely so biggrin.gif
the new gen just released early sept
At the shop that I redeemed the 2GB iPod shuffle, I saw the retail price of the old model was RM179.

On a different note, the last swipe of my SCB JustOne would exceed the maximum cash back. I eager to see whether I still can get more than RM600 this time around.
samquah
post Sep 24 2010, 09:31 PM

603 posts

yes, each card approved will be taxed

but if i never accept the card?

chemistry
post Sep 24 2010, 09:37 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 24 2010, 09:31 PM)
but if i never accept the card?
Non receipt of card is a separate issue. It is most probably a delivery mistake.
When a cc application is approved, GST tax is imposed immediately.

I noticed quite a few ppl are still applying multiple cards at one time without knowing that GST is imposed upon approval but not acceptance by applicant.

This post has been edited by chemistry: Sep 24 2010, 09:39 PM
tzeling
post Sep 24 2010, 09:38 PM

76 posts

I have applied for OCBC Titanum end of last month but my application got rejected. I discretely found out that the reason of my application of being rejected is because fall under score card. I do meet their minimum annual income requirement. It's my first CC app and I have no idea why my application is unsuccessful. I don't own any credit cards and I didn't take any loan. Is it bcoz first credit card is hard to apply?
HTann
post Sep 24 2010, 09:39 PM

Can anyone tell me what is the different platinum master & visa?
What is the point if bank upgrade your gold to platinum remain same CL..hahaha! still consider wanna let them activate the cc or not?

126 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 07:43 AM