126 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Bottom

Credit Card v11

ck3lam
post Sep 23 2010, 10:01 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(andytan18 @ Sep 22 2010, 01:47 PM)
if the government is going to limit only 2 cc per person, which 2 card will you hold?

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...87&sec=business
Ai...this is not good news for me.
OCBC Ti - 5% rebate on groceries, dining, petrol, bills (Best card so far)
AMEX Gold - 5x points on groceries, books, petrol (2nd best card so far)
EON GSC - Good for watching movies (no need to queue up most of the time)
SCB - Great promotions with guaranteed prize

Err...Ambank for this year only since the current 20% rebate promotion is very good.
Is the 2nd card that is hard to choose sad.gif

See what budget 2011 got to say...

Added on September 23, 2010, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 23 2010, 10:00 PM)
Please read this:

[attachmentid=1797021]
Internet transactions and auto debit are included in Cash Rebates Program.
However, payment through third party agent like PAYONLINE etc is excluded.
Yes, it is included in the cash rebate programme but 1% only which is why I say it's a tricky part. I have double confirmed with the customer service (called twice, different people, should be correct)

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Sep 23 2010, 10:04 PM
winner
post Sep 23 2010, 10:08 PM

2,221 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 23 2010, 09:37 PM)
I can't recall whether anyone mention it or not but do take note that the 5% rebate of utility/phone bills only applicable if you swipe the card at the merchant. Auto debit and online payment/transactions only entitled you for 1% rebate.

Looks like you have already done it. It only entitled you for 1% rebate. I have verified with the customer service. This is a tricky part.
I had consulted OCBC CS before I registered the card for autopay. I was informed that 5% cash back applies to utility and phone bill payment via autopay.
chemistry
post Sep 23 2010, 10:10 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 23 2010, 10:01 PM)
Ai...this is not good news for me.
OCBC Ti - 5% rebate on groceries, dining, petrol, bills (Best card so far)
AMEX Gold - 5x points on groceries, books, petrol (2nd best card so far)
EON GSC - Good for watching movies (no need to queue up most of the time)
SCB - Great promotions with guaranteed prize

Err...Ambank for this year only since the current 20% rebate promotion is very good.
Is the 2nd card that is hard to choose sad.gif

See what budget 2011 got to say...

Added on September 23, 2010, 10:04 pm
Yes, it is included in the cash rebate programme but 1% only which is why I say it's a tricky part. I have double confirmed with the customer service (called twice, different people, should be correct)
Oh they did tell u so?
I would ask the officer to make a black and white statement, then seek clarification from his superior. If he really gave false information, he's finished.
travelyew
post Sep 23 2010, 10:12 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 23 2010, 10:08 PM)
I had consulted OCBC CS before I registered the card for autopay. I was informed that 5% cash back applies to utility and phone bill payment via autopay.
Anybody can clarify it?? Or anybody tried?
Since both called the CS, but get different answer.......

ck3lam
post Sep 23 2010, 10:20 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 23 2010, 10:12 PM)
Mm....when I asked them these questions, they asked to hold the line, 2 minutes later he gave me the answer. I called again and the other CS also gimme the same answer. Don't tell me they change the terms and condition. or the CS are blur blur today?

Better call the CS again tomorrow. If they gave me a different answer, I'm gonna scold them. What a stupid bank!

Added on September 23, 2010, 10:24 pm
Maybe everyone can call the CS and see what the CS told you. I remembered last time I also consult the utilities autopay before card application, the CS told me 5% but today I called, gimme different answer.
Somemore if I made any transaction online (including bill payment), it is considered 1% rebate. What the....

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Sep 23 2010, 10:39 PM
chemistry
post Sep 23 2010, 10:31 PM

3,065 posts

Get a voice recorder software installed in your mobile, and have the CS make the statement once again. Save it as proof.
ck3lam
post Sep 23 2010, 10:32 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 23 2010, 10:10 PM)
Oh they did tell u so?
I would ask the officer to make a black and white statement, then seek clarification from his superior. If he really gave false information,  he's finished.
Calling CS how to get black and white? Record the conversation tongue.gif? Mm....maybe I email them and see.
Btw, I heard they are currently compiling a list of merchants for groceries and dining. Because dining area where it has other service may not be getting the 5% rebate (need to see your statement whether it is under the correct category), for example dining at ikea still unclear.

Added on September 23, 2010, 10:37 pm
QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 23 2010, 10:31 PM)
Get a voice recorder software installed in your mobile, and have the CS make the statement once again. Save it as proof.
But I'm using landline to call. That conversation took me 20 minutes. I don't wanna use the cash rebate that I get for calling them tongue.gif. I'll email them and see. Btw, have you called them and verified?

This post has been edited by ck3lam: Sep 23 2010, 10:37 PM
chemistry
post Sep 23 2010, 10:45 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 23 2010, 10:32 PM)
But I'm using landline to call. That conversation took me 20 minutes. I don't wanna use the cash rebate that I get for calling them tongue.gif. I'll email them and see. Btw, have you called them and verified?
Two weeks ago I've already called and inquired about the rebate. It was the same as stated in T&C.
ck3lam
post Sep 23 2010, 11:06 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 23 2010, 10:45 PM)
Two weeks ago I've already called and inquired about the rebate. It was the same as stated in T&C.
Maybe whoever get the first statement has the best confirmation. CS also blur blur one.
I'll write to them to get black and white.
travelyew
post Sep 23 2010, 11:08 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 23 2010, 10:45 PM)
4. As the assignment of merchant category codes is under the Card Acquirer’s responsibility (party responsible in signing up the merchant and assigning the correct merchant category codes), OCBC Bank will not be responsible for any wrong assignment of merchant category codes that leads to the OCBC Titanium Cardmember not getting 5% Cash rebate from any eligible merchants.

6. The OCBC Titanium Cash Rebate Programme involves rebates being awarded to OCBC Titanium Cardmembers for spending through the following: all local and overseas new retail purchases, e-commerce/internet transactions, recurring/auto debit transactions, Installment Payment Plan (IPP) transactions and Mail Order/Telephone Order transactions.

Read the clause 4, hard to make sure the auto-debit system is under which merchant code.
chemistry
post Sep 23 2010, 11:18 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(travelyew @ Sep 23 2010, 11:08 PM)
4. As the assignment of merchant category codes is under the Card Acquirer’s responsibility (party responsible in signing up the merchant and assigning the correct merchant category codes), OCBC Bank will not be responsible for any wrong assignment of merchant category codes that leads to the OCBC Titanium Cardmember not getting 5% Cash rebate from any eligible merchants.

6. The OCBC Titanium Cash Rebate Programme involves rebates being awarded to OCBC Titanium Cardmembers for spending through the following: all local and overseas new retail purchases, e-commerce/internet transactions, recurring/auto debit transactions, Installment Payment Plan (IPP) transactions and Mail Order/Telephone Order transactions.
Read the clause 4, hard to make sure the auto-debit system is under which merchant code.
Even so, barring unforeseen errors/mistakes by the merchant/Mastercard/Visa, the CS should not say auto debit of utility only earns 1%.
travelyew
post Sep 23 2010, 11:19 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(ck3lam @ Sep 23 2010, 11:06 PM)
Maybe whoever get the first statement has the best confirmation. CS also blur blur one.
I'll write to them to get black and white.
Wait for ur response...

lara_
post Sep 23 2010, 11:56 PM

139 posts

Just check with OCBC hotline. My Titanium card is finally approved. Need to wait another 2 weeks for the card snail to me.
Gen-X
post Sep 24 2010, 12:21 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Sep 23 2010, 11:56 PM)
Just check with OCBC hotline. My Titanium card is finally approved. Need to wait another 2 weeks for the card snail to me.
Finally after a long wait. I think you should get the card in about a week time as postmen all back to work and volume should be back to normal by now.
owenwong84
post Sep 24 2010, 02:24 AM

Zin zin
1,041 posts

U all so lucky got good agent.
Twice already i deal with ocbc agent. 1 third party interrupt another never on the handphone.

What are the 2nd best credit card hah?
winner
post Sep 24 2010, 03:33 AM

2,221 posts

I shall wait for the next month's statement and know the answer exactly.
tgeoklin
post Sep 24 2010, 07:44 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 23 2010, 08:34 PM)
I have none of the above  cry.gif Those cards are indeed exclusive.

I would say the really exclusive card is AMEX Centurion, got equivalent USD1million FD with a bank also cannot qualify for it. CIMB Enrich WMC is also exclusive as it is by invitation only.

As for SCB VI, HSBC Premier and UOB Midas, anybody can qualify if he/she got cash to deposit with the banks.
CIMB strategy is indeed good (giving WMC/VI to HSBC and Citibank card holders with CL less than RM50K) if the government really does limit people from having cards from 2 banks only.
Perhaps Gen-X (who made a very useful table, see: My Credit Cards, MilesAndMore or winner sifus can tackle this question?

Just to elaboarate a little, actually, all cards are available, if you are loaded enough. My point actual was to emphasise the differences between selected cards and those of the mass market in general. After all, having the same name eg WMC or VI in itself is not the same. Its akin to getting a C class versus an S class, despite both being mercs tongue.gif

And as so many seniors had pointed out, CL is not an end unto itself, which is why cards like HSBC Premier only starts off wth RM30K CL. And if one fine day when your card is stolen, what good will a RM100K CL do you? Further, doubt if the cashiers or even your friends know how much is your CL, unless your are advertising it prominently whistling.gif

I can't help but be reminded about the days of the UOB "ONE" Platinum ... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by tgeoklin: Sep 24 2010, 08:17 AM
bingozero
post Sep 24 2010, 11:09 AM

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
4,522 posts

New credit card came from American Express
Pantai American Express® Credit Card
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
SUSDavid83
post Sep 24 2010, 12:56 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(bingozero @ Sep 24 2010, 11:09 AM)
New credit card came from American Express
Pantai American Express® Credit Card
http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p...sonal/CRD-Cards
We have started to discuss this card yesterday. laugh.gif
lj0000
post Sep 24 2010, 01:09 PM

2,200 posts

i failed my ocbc titanium i think because i got too high credit limit on other cards. they would total up my credit limit from other bank and then compare the risk of me maxing out all the cards.

so.. moral of the story is.. high CL not necessary good esp if u have multiple card.

126 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:51 AM