Credit Card v11

chemistry
post Sep 24 2010, 09:44 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(HTann @ Sep 24 2010, 09:39 PM)
Can anyone tell me what is the different platinum master & visa?
What is the point if bank upgrade your gold to platinum remain same CL..hahaha! still consider wanna let them activate the cc or not?
It depends on the issuer bank.
For my case, the benefit of holding a Platinum card is free access to The Gardens' restroom sweat.gif
alexwsk
post Sep 24 2010, 09:50 PM

4,094 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Sep 24 2010, 09:11 PM)
At the shop that I redeemed the 2GB iPod shuffle, I saw the retail price of the old model was RM179.

On a different note, the last swipe of my SCB JustOne would exceed the maximum cash back. I eager to see whether I still can get more than RM600 this time around.
do update us once u've found out biggrin.gif
solarwing
post Sep 24 2010, 09:51 PM

aR u LoOkInG fOr mE ?""
1,202 posts

Just found Petronas CC in my banking acc, weird, the things is I applied for Amex but been given this CC, something wrong? or I still not qualified for the Amex card but been given this petronas CC? laugh.gif
chemistry
post Sep 24 2010, 09:59 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(solarwing @ Sep 24 2010, 09:51 PM)
Just found Petronas CC in my banking acc, weird, the things is I applied for Amex but been given this CC, something wrong? or I still not qualified for the Amex card but been given this petronas CC? laugh.gif
Check whether you have been charged RM50 GST.
samquah
post Sep 24 2010, 10:01 PM

603 posts

going thru ocbc websitebut only can see 0% balance transfer but no form or no way to apply

meaning how to apply the balance transfer after car approved?

other cars like PB got a form that can print out and fax for balance transfer
jack2
post Sep 24 2010, 10:03 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

It is the time for me to choose those cards that need to be canceled. Otherwise, I just keep them in the drawer...

Maintain
1. OCBC Titanium
2. SCB
3. AMEX charge card
4. Maybank Platinum
5. AmBank Platinum
6. Eon Master and Visa (Wanted to cancel but they waived me the GST)
7. RHB PlusOne >> good for seng heng electrical products

To be considered
1. Citibank Platinum (hasn't activated)
2. UOB Platinum (they waived me)

zenquix
post Sep 24 2010, 10:07 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

IIRC, although the card is not activated, you will still be charged GST...

Added on September 24, 2010, 10:08 pm
QUOTE(samquah @ Sep 24 2010, 10:01 PM)
going thru ocbc websitebut only can see 0% balance transfer but no form or no way to apply

meaning how to apply the balance transfer after car approved?

other cars like PB got a form that can print out and fax for balance transfer

Why don't you call them to clarify?

This post has been edited by zenquix: Sep 24 2010, 10:08 PM
lara_
post Sep 24 2010, 10:18 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 24 2010, 09:44 PM)
For my case, the benefit of holding a Platinum card is free access to The Gardens' restroom sweat.gif
Talking about Garden's Premium toilet. Can bring friend enter?
Paiseh, I saw it but I never go in. tongue.gif
MilesAndMore
post Sep 24 2010, 10:30 PM

9,301 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Sep 24 2010, 04:02 PM)
Actually, age is only a factor if you are below the legal age. For your case, its because of income/net worth. If you are say, a CEO of your own company or has substantial FDs with them, then guaranteed approved. Had a friend, already owning multiple plat cards even as a student as he has millions in FDs (that time, no WMC or VI)

And yes, agreed with you, the only thing hot about the Mall is in its name  rclxub.gif
But i was told that my age is the main reason why they asked for my income document. The minimum credit line can be given to the World MasterCard really is RM100k and since they do not know my exact financial status, they were having doubts granting me an unsecured credit card with such high credit line. I only have savings account at CIMB Bank. All my time deposits are at the non-GLC banks. Told them all my incomes are passive incomes from time deposits and ASB/ASW2020. They asked me if i have any FD with them but i said no. So they said the only way is to submit my income document because they have no access into other banks' system.

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 24 2010, 07:22 PM)
The point is you have no income.

I do have and it is all passive income tongue.gif And i am not comfortable showing my FD certificates to other banks.

MilesAndMore, maybe it is time to transfer some money into OCBC  tongue.gif 
No. You misunderstood. It wasn't OCBC that requested for my income document. It was CIMB Bank. I tried to apply for their World MasterCard. Apparently two other people here managed to apply for the card using their HSBC Premier MasterCard and they did not have to submit their income documents at all. They both got the card in just one hour rclxms.gif

Anyway, i initially was told that all they need is my existing credit card. They asked me how much is the credit line of my credit card and later found out that mine is eligible thumbup.gif They didn't even ask me if i was earning RM200,000/pa. They did however ask where do i work but i told them i am not working at the moment. I asked them if it is okay if i give them my dad's company as the place i am working in and they told me that would be fine too and that's it. They did't even ask for the company's telephone numbers. I was told to come back an hour later but when i did, i was told that their credit card centre request for my income document. I told them that is not possible as all my incomes are passive income and i am not comfortable showing them my bank statement from another bank. So i just told them to cancel it.

This post has been edited by MilesAndMore: Sep 24 2010, 11:56 PM
chemistry
post Sep 24 2010, 10:36 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Sep 24 2010, 10:18 PM)
Talking about Garden's Premium toilet. Can bring friend enter?
Paiseh, I saw it but I never go in. tongue.gif
I'm afraid you cannot do so. Every entrant must have eligible pass, be it Isetan's RM100 receipt, Isetan member card , Platinum cc etc...
Moolah
post Sep 24 2010, 10:38 PM

18 posts

I'm the latest member of the Club of the Rejected -just found out my application for OCBC's Titanium card has failed doh.gif

As some forumers have mentioned, no reason was given as the credit evaluation method is "secret".

I'm quite shocked as I am lowly geared and my home loan payment record is spotless.

The reasons could be:
- I currently don't have a credit card (some banks might consider this a danger sign)
- the amount of $ in the bank statement I faxed to OCBC is quite minimum (as most of it is in FD)
- my salary is not too impressive

I wonder if OCBC will reconsider if I show them my other bank statements containing substantial sums of $. Forumers, what do you think? Like I mentioned previously, I am inexperienced when it comes to credit cards.
MilesAndMore
post Sep 24 2010, 10:44 PM

9,301 posts

MilesAndMore, maybe it is time to transfer some money into OCBC  tongue.gif 
By the way, i have not heard from OCBC yet. The status is still under processing doh.gif
lara_
post Sep 24 2010, 10:57 PM

139 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Sep 24 2010, 12:21 AM)
Finally after a long wait. I think you should get the card in about a week time as postmen all back to work and volume should be back to normal by now.
I prefer not to take the risk. I ask them to send to Bukit Damansara branch instead. rclxms.gif
jack2
post Sep 24 2010, 11:10 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(lara_ @ Sep 24 2010, 10:57 PM)
I prefer not to take the risk. I ask them to send to Bukit Damansara branch instead.  rclxms.gif
I got mine within 2 days from approval date.
ronnie
post Sep 24 2010, 11:12 PM

Not enough stars
21,308 posts

QUOTE(chemistry @ Sep 24 2010, 09:44 PM)
Do you mean the RM5 toilet at The Gardens ?
Which Platinum card ?
wongpeter
post Sep 24 2010, 11:13 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(HTann @ Sep 24 2010, 09:39 PM)
Can anyone tell me what is the different platinum master & visa?
What is the point if bank upgrade your gold to platinum remain same CL..hahaha! still consider wanna let them activate the cc or not?
The point is that the bank can make more money by charging you a higher annual fee for the platinum card. hahaha
chemistry
post Sep 24 2010, 11:17 PM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 24 2010, 11:12 PM)
Do you mean the RM5 toilet at The Gardens ?
Which Platinum card ?
Yes, the premium restroom.
They accept all kinds of Plat cards.
andytan18
post Sep 24 2010, 11:18 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 24 2010, 11:13 PM)
The point is that the bank can make more money by charging you a higher annual fee for the platinum card. hahaha
Nope... CIMB WMC and VI both free for life.. rclxms.gif (is there any small print of minimal swipe or usage??)
zenquix
post Sep 24 2010, 11:20 PM

Life is short!
2,552 posts

QUOTE(wongpeter @ Sep 24 2010, 11:13 PM)
these days most banks can't collect on annual fees anyway
wongpeter
post Sep 24 2010, 11:40 PM

973 posts

QUOTE(zenquix @ Sep 24 2010, 11:20 PM)
these days most banks can't collect on annual fees anyway
oic, and I was beginning to wonder why anyone would want to apply for 5, 6 or more credit cards! Say someones salary is 12k/mth and he is already getting 30k CL on his cc whats the point of getting another 5 cc's with about the same CL? No way in hell he is going to spend 6cc's X 30k = 180k in a month when his salary is just 12k/mth! I really don't see the rationale behind having 6-7 cc's! Anyone care to explain the benefits of owning a ton of plastic?

126 Pages « < 78 79 80 81 82 > » Top

0.0298sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 03:38 AM