Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma
MilesAndMore
Dec 27 2009, 05:15 PM
QUOTE(winner @ Dec 27 2009, 10:39 AM) In the end, it's your gf or the hot chick behind you show you funny faces instead.  My girlfriend won't. Because she got more weird cards than i have. As for the hot chick(s) behind, that is because they are naive and ignorant
mustang
Dec 27 2009, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 27 2009, 08:25 AM) Am I being offered a DA Platinum Mastercard? I saw an entry called "Graduate Mastercard Platinum" in my CIMBClicks? They are having the same CL?
SUSDavid83
Dec 27 2009, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(mustang @ Dec 27 2009, 07:47 PM) They are having the same CL? Yeap. I believe it's the combined limit of the previous increased CL as done in last month.
winner
Dec 27 2009, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 27 2009, 07:48 PM) Yeap. I believe it's the combined limit of the previous increased CL as done in last month. It is the same scenario like you get a promotion from your company but you don't any salary increment.  However, if you intend to resign then it is not a big deal. Just kidding.
kei18kun
Dec 27 2009, 09:18 PM
my latest experience is from a call from Hong Leong Bank which give 10000 points on the spot to offset the RM50, but i still decline bcos i have few other cards which i need to keep
winner
Dec 27 2009, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(kei18kun @ Dec 27 2009, 09:18 PM) my latest experience is from a call from Hong Leong Bank which give 10000 points on the spot to offset the RM50, but i still decline bcos i have few other cards which i need to keep I don't actually get what you meant. HLB would compensate you with 10,000 points if you were to pay the RM50 service tax, or HLB would deduct 10,000 points from you for the payment of the RM50 service tax? This post has been edited by winner: Dec 27 2009, 09:28 PM
deeplyheartbroken
Dec 27 2009, 09:41 PM
CIMB already offer me a platinum long ago. However PBB is very cocky not to upgrade my current gold to platinum, even after request & platinum card user proof. Just sent an email to complaint kau kau. Any advice guys?
hye
Dec 27 2009, 09:57 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Dec 27 2009, 09:41 PM) CIMB already offer me a platinum long ago. However PBB is very cocky not to upgrade my current gold to platinum, even after request & platinum card user proof. Just sent an email to complaint kau kau. Any advice guys? If they don't want to upgrade you then just cancel the card ... simple. No need to raise your blood pressure. These days it is very easy to get Platinum thus just by virtue of having one doesn't mean anything. An anology about this ... a gold card with classic card level CL .... e.g. a gold card with RM3.5K limit. Or a Platinum with a RM5K limit (Myself is an example). May I know why is it so important to hold a Platinum card ? This post has been edited by hye: Dec 27 2009, 10:23 PM
Reventon
Dec 27 2009, 10:24 PM
No harms getting a platinum card if you are first time owning a platinum. Only thing is the actual exclusiveness of Platinum is not there anymore. By the way seems CIMB , SCB and few others bank is giving away platinum card massively as people are letting go their cards. Good time to get yours today I thought the lowest limit for platinum card is capped at 15k ?
vampbreak
Dec 27 2009, 10:34 PM

Hello all. Oh, I just come back here to find out whether this RM50GST is true, but it seems everybody discuss this already. I received an email from my sister regarding this (today!) and I guess I am the last person to know about this GST. Hee!
Gen-X
Dec 27 2009, 10:46 PM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(Reventon @ Dec 27 2009, 10:24 PM) No harms getting a platinum card if you are first time owning a platinum. Only thing is the actual exclusiveness of Platinum is not there anymore. By the way seems CIMB , SCB and few others bank is giving away platinum card massively as people are letting go their cards. Good time to get yours today I thought the lowest limit for platinum card is capped at 15k ? You are right, getting a platinum card from certain banks do have better service (i.e. Platinum line Tol Free and faster response - not applicable to CIMB and DA, haha) and higher travel insurance and some offer PA overseas, complimentary green fees if you play golf and purchase protection (where you purchase an item and the item damaged or stolen). QUOTE(vampbreak @ Dec 27 2009, 10:34 PM) Hello all. Oh, I just come back here to find out whether this RM50GST is true, but it seems everybody discuss this already. I received an email from my sister regarding this (today!) and I guess I am the last person to know about this GST. Hee!  Welcome back Bro (member of the most exclusive charged card in the world). Aiyah, you should like me run in your new sport car engine before your left
vampbreak
Dec 27 2009, 10:55 PM

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Dec 27 2009, 10:46 PM) Welcome back Bro (member of the most exclusive charged card in the world). Aiyah, you should like me run in your new sport car engine before your left  Hello Gen-X, wah wah, long time not joining you guys. Company transfer me here and there. Sometimes I like a ball. Hardly to have time to sit down in front of computer or the sports car By the way, anyone mind telling me when the effective date of this GST? Early or end of next year? When is the best time to cancel it? 30-Dec-09? or 30-Dec-10?
hye
Dec 27 2009, 11:02 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Dec 27 2009, 10:55 PM) By the way, anyone mind telling me when the effective date of this GST? Early or end of next year? When is the best time to cancel it? 30-Dec-09? or 30-Dec-10? It's not called GST lah bro. More like plain old "Service Tax". You need to cancel your card before the anniversary of your cc to avoid the tax.
vampbreak
Dec 27 2009, 11:08 PM

Thanks! Another question (on behalf of my sister), She bought a laptop last 2 month using easy payment (x12 month) with her miaubank cc. If she cancel the cc, will the bank ask her to settle the full amount ? She only have 1 card.
kenetix
Dec 27 2009, 11:09 PM

High possibility. Either way she will have to settle the full amount eventually, either via installment or by full cash payment.
ellimist
Dec 27 2009, 11:25 PM
QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Dec 27 2009, 09:41 PM) CIMB already offer me a platinum long ago. However PBB is very cocky not to upgrade my current gold to platinum, even after request & platinum card user proof. Just sent an email to complaint kau kau. Any advice guys? Well, it is up to their discretion, they don't have to offer you one just because another bank has offered you one. And as others have said, you can show you're dissatisfaction by terminating your banking relationship with them
de.crystal
Dec 27 2009, 11:44 PM
Got my platinum card at last. Yes, it is not as prestige now adays. However, it is def better than holding a gold card. I am now aiming for the "world platinum" or whatever it is called, which is by invitation only.
vampbreak
Dec 27 2009, 11:52 PM

I want SCB Titanium Just One. Why cannot get? Whhyyyyy? Anybody have a confirmation on easy payment scheme? Do we have to settle the full amount before cancel te card?
hye
Dec 27 2009, 11:58 PM
White Tiger
QUOTE(vampbreak @ Dec 27 2009, 11:52 PM) Anybody have a confirmation on easy payment scheme? Do we have to settle the full amount before cancel te card?  Yes ... you need to do full settlement.
vampbreak
Dec 27 2009, 11:59 PM

@de.crystal
I thought we all here are thinking of canceling the card meh, not applying.
This post has been edited by vampbreak: Dec 28 2009, 12:12 AM