The Star Front Page - existing card holders RM50 tax imposed on anniversary date of card. New card pay up front. Confirmed by Second Finanace Minister.
Credit Card v9, RM50 GST dilemma
Dec 21 2009, 08:09 AM
8,601 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
The Star Front Page - existing card holders RM50 tax imposed on anniversary date of card. New card pay up front. Confirmed by Second Finanace Minister.
Dec 21 2009, 07:55 PM
QUOTE(mrgekko81 @ Dec 21 2009, 12:28 PM) Regarding Item 7 International Transactions above, I have some inputs that i would like to share These are the "exchange rates" I that i had in Indonesia. All have been done on the same date and same place. Date of Transaction : 08-11-2009 Maybank Visa : 0.000365751 SCB Master : 0.000367261 Alliance Visa : 0.000373044 This actually negates the "Nil" Charges for Alliance bank. Does anybody else has similar findings? |
Dec 22 2009, 12:23 AM
QUOTE(mrgekko81 @ Dec 21 2009, 11:33 PM) Hi, based on the above posting dates and forex from http://www.oanda.com/currency/converter/The details are as follow Maybank Visa IDR : 660,176 MYR : 241.46 Posting Date : 12-11-2009 SCB Master IDR : 2,508,000 MYR : 921.09 Posting Date : Not specified posting or transaction date in statement. 08-11-2009 was listed Alliance Visa IDR : 306,130 MYR : 114.20 Posting Date : 11-11-2009 Exchange rate on 11-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003598 MBB rate 0.0003658 or 1.65% Exchange rate on 12-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003601 Alliance rate 0.000373 or 3.56% based on exchange rate on 11/11 and 12/11 SCB about 2% Yah Alliance rate damn high for your case. For me case where transactions was in USD months ago, MBB rate lower than Alliance but Alliance lower than DA. HSBC and UOB. Guess David83, if you reading this, better delete the Alliance - NIL as it is incorrect - my bad. |
Dec 22 2009, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(zenquix @ Dec 22 2009, 12:37 AM) yah lah, you right i swapped the posting , me blur lah it should read Exchange rate on 12-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003598 MBB rate 0.0003658 or 1.65% Exchange rate on 11-11-2009 1IDR = 0.0003601 Alliance rate 0.000373 or 3.56% |
Dec 23 2009, 10:43 PM
QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Dec 23 2009, 03:40 PM) hi all, i have a question abt credit card oustanding balance. well, go apply for CIMB or DA and get 0% BT for 6 months. The longer she waits the more interest she pays.my sister is having high debt ratio for her credit card and she got no other card to do balance transfer in order to save the high interest. QUOTE(hazairi @ Dec 23 2009, 08:38 PM) I've been using maybank visa for about 5/6 months already. Total interest paid was about rm25, and total i gain from treatpoints, the value was about rm70. Well if you paid full you would have been rewarded RM70 instead of RM45 That means i've profited rm70-rm25 = rm45 by using a credit card. If everyone are doing like me, surely the company bankrupt.. haha QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 23 2009, 09:46 PM) I called Citibank last week to cancel my card but they said the service fee will only be charged after the date on my card.. you sure boh? Its the law that you have to pay RM50 next year for each principal credit card.eg "Valid thru Aug 2008 to Aug 2011" That means they will only charge the service fee on Sept 2010.. QUOTE(winner @ Dec 23 2009, 10:12 PM) This hazairi reasoning and comments usually are mind bongling i.e like he said bank will go bankrupt; whereas in actual fact he's making money for the bank.This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 23 2009, 10:44 PM |
Dec 25 2009, 08:50 AM
CIMB/DA now gets you 10% discount at starbucks (till 31/12/10) and additional 10% rebate on Saturdays and Sundays (till March 2010).
Dec 25 2009, 09:30 PM
QUOTE(zergg @ Dec 25 2009, 05:53 PM) guys, sorry if this is merely a repetition that i totally miss It is not a good move to charge RM6,399 and only pay RM500 a month as you be imposed high interest charges of not less than (depending on your tier) 13.5% (PA) or 1.125% a month on the outstanding balance. i intended to buy a macbook pro using my cimb credit card.say the price is RM 6,399.00, and i pay for atleast 400-500 permonth, how much would be the interest? sorry ya, im very very new with this thing.maybe i should read something for newbies as a starter Example of interest charges First Month (RM6,399 - RM500) x 1.125% = RM66.36 Second Month (RM6,399 -RM1000 + RM66.36) x 1.125% = RM61.49 Third Month (RM6,399 - RM1,500 + RM61.49) x 1.125% = RM55.81 Fourth Month (RM6399 - RM2000 + RM55.81) x 1.1.25% = RM50.12 you go do the rest, I lazy........ interest will continue until you clear all outstanding amount (including new transactions). It is not a wise move to buy your computer and having interest charges. Better move is to charge the RM6399 and then convert it to Flexi Payment with i-Plan, click link below: http://www.cimbbank.com.my/index.php?ch=43...k&tpt=cimb_bank If you opt for the 10 months plan, you will be charged an interest of 3% for the first month only and subsequently no more assumming you pay the amount due in full. Eg, RM6399/10 months = RM639.90 per month for 10 months. Interest 3% = RM191.97 First month you need to pay RM639.90 + RM191.97 = RM830.97 and subsequent months (2nd-10th month) fixed at RM639.90 per month Having said the above, I strongly advise you to reconsider getting a cheaper computer and not get the Mac you want as you can only afford RM400 a month. QUOTE(patricktoh @ Dec 25 2009, 06:18 PM) I've rejected countless pre-approved upgrade to Citi-Gold. Till today I still carry the Citi-Classic that applied 12 years ago. Recently they revised my credit limit to RM30k. me too got preapproved Citi Gold couple times but I stuck with my Clear Card and credit limit like yours.QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 25 2009, 06:30 PM) Citi Plat cards do have better benefits but as far as Status is concerned... is more like syiok sendiri lah. Anyway good luck in getting your Plat. |
Dec 27 2009, 10:46 PM
QUOTE(Reventon @ Dec 27 2009, 10:24 PM) No harms getting a platinum card if you are first time owning a platinum. Only thing is the actual exclusiveness of Platinum is not there anymore. By the way seems CIMB , SCB and few others bank is giving away platinum card massively as people are letting go their cards. Good time to get yours today You are right, getting a platinum card from certain banks do have better service (i.e. Platinum line Tol Free and faster response - not applicable to CIMB and DA, haha) and higher travel insurance and some offer PA overseas, complimentary green fees if you play golf and purchase protection (where you purchase an item and the item damaged or stolen).I thought the lowest limit for platinum card is capped at 15k ? QUOTE(vampbreak @ Dec 27 2009, 10:34 PM) Hello all. Welcome back Bro (member of the most exclusive charged card in the world). Aiyah, you should like me run in your new sport car engine before your left Oh, I just come back here to find out whether this RM50GST is true, but it seems everybody discuss this already. I received an email from my sister regarding this (today!) and I guess I am the last person to know about this GST. Hee! |
Dec 28 2009, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(kei18kun @ Dec 28 2009, 06:48 AM) hlb ask me to take back their card and they will give 10000 points to offset the RM50 gov tax Bro, need more details on above,very good ah 1) Did you write in or email them or return the card to the branch to have your card cancelled? 2) How long after you cancel the card did HLB contact you and made you the offer? 3) When will they credit the 10,000 points? 4) Name of the person who called you and do you have his/her contact No. QUOTE(hye @ Dec 28 2009, 07:28 PM) Would late payment be stated in the CCRIS report? IF yes that is bad as the report will state late payment and no mentioned if you pay in full or not.This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 28 2009, 07:49 PM |
Dec 29 2009, 08:39 PM
QUOTE(sco @ Dec 29 2009, 08:48 AM) I don't think so. Hong Leong increase my CL from RM28k to RM30K yesterday. My spending pattern is less than RM500 monthly. Perhaps repayment behaviour. Many banks increasing CL of their cardholders. So far UOB, Citibank and HLB have increased my credit limit this month. Anyway, in your letter stating increase in CL for your HLB, did the same said letter mentioned that if you are the first to swipe RM15K you win a Rolex watch and first 50 cardmembers to swipe RM2,000 get 20,000 points? |
Dec 29 2009, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 29 2009, 10:04 PM) It is a good scheme, however, i think for my Citibank Plat, if police report is made, everything should be covered. you sure boh? go back to V8 and do a search, Citibank may make you responsible for these charges.QUOTE(wirelessdude @ Dec 29 2009, 10:48 PM) What I'm confused about is doesn't BNM fix our liability at RM250 for fraud? If that's the case, then why would anyone want to buy this insurance? yes you are right in a way where for fraud cases your liability is up to RM250 but BN does nothing, in V8, it was mentioned that person went to court and the judge fixed the liabilty at RM250.Both if you should go to V8 and read more on this. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Dec 29 2009, 11:13 PM |
Dec 30 2009, 11:44 PM
QUOTE(winner @ Dec 30 2009, 07:50 AM) Today's Chinese newspaper Sin Chew reported that for HLB cardholders who possess their cards before 2008,you need 7,000 points only to waive the RM50 service tax. On the contrary, those having their cards after 2008 would require 12,000 points for the trade-off. thanks for info, must check with HLB on the 7000 pointsQUOTE(sco @ Dec 30 2009, 10:03 AM) Yes, why? I am not excited to these types of gimmicks. Definitely I won't be swiping RM15,000 just to get a CHANCE to win the watch. I guess I won't be the first 50 to qualify as the "contest" starts at 12.01 am on 1 Jan 2010. By that time, how many New Year celebrators have already swiped their cards at the pubs etc (hmmmm..... are they classify as retailers?)! Thanks for the reply.Reason I asked is because when I called them to clarify if the winner is based on time the card is swipe or based on posting date, the CS rep told me based on posting date and the contest is for qualified customer only. Since it is based on transaction date guess I won't charge the card and on 12.01am as posting date can be up to 2 days later. QUOTE(epalbee3 @ Dec 30 2009, 11:40 PM) haha, now you can own 2 plat cards. |
Jan 9 2010, 11:21 PM
QUOTE(andrekua @ Jan 9 2010, 08:22 PM) I got RM100 for my Plat and for gold is RM50 only. Not bad... literally paying my service tax for two years. how about annual fees for next 2 years?Added on January 9, 2010, 11:40 pm QUOTE(joylay83 @ Jan 9 2010, 01:06 AM) Hi.. i currently hold MBB visa and ames.. the 2 'supposed to be free' but now RM50 yearly fee. can some1 provide a comparison MBB vs CIMB(DA) vs SCB? Boy, did you read the first page?I will assume you have AMEX Gold CC. I don't have SCB so can't comment but do check if their annual fees are waivable. Benefit of Amex Gold CC: 1. 5X reward points for petrol, MPH & Borders and groceries or 2.5% cash back (if redeem 200 MR = RM1). However can't use at Petronas. 2. 2X reward points for other transactions. This itself give you unlimited 1% cash back if you convert points to cash. 3. Tol Free CS line 4. Membership reward points no expiry. Benefit of CIMB/DA Mastercard (forget about Visa) for now. Go to their website as hye mentioned lah. 1. 2% cash back at ALL petrol stations. 2. 0% Interest for Education, Hospital and Insurance Transactions. 3. 0% Balance Transfer for 6 months vs. MBB/AMEX 3 months 4. Saturdays and Sundays cash rebate at KFC, Isetan, Bonia, Guardian and Cold Storage. 5. Can use at places where AMEX not acceptable 6. If you have their World Mastercard, free coffee at DOME Cons of CIMB/DA 1. No TOL free line for CS, so you pay for the calls and usually DA got to wait longer. 2. Redeem voucher got to pay for courier charges. 3. Reward points have expiry date. I am going to cancel my MBB Petronas Plat soon since I have Mesra Card and DA have extended the 2% rebate for Petrol. This post has been edited by Gen-X: Jan 9 2010, 11:40 PM |
Jan 13 2010, 11:48 PM
Last week I called HLB CS and told them I want to cancel my HLB Plat MC. Actually, over the years, I have been happy with HLB Customer Service and my CL is 6 figures but due to lack of promotion and cash rebate offers, I have not been using my HLB card for months.
Today got a call from their Card Cancellation Department representative and I must say I am very happy once again with HLB CS. The representative offered to credit to my account 20,000 reward points. Now since I have been holding the card prior to 2008, I only need 7000 reward points to offset for the RM50 tax; therefore, HLB is giving me extra reward points of 13,000! After I happily accepted the offer, the representative then called me again and informed me that HLB will automatically for the next three years waive my annual fees! Save me the hassle to call them for the next three years Having said the above, I have no reason to use HLB card as there aren't discount for HLB card at most places I do patronise As for UOB, last month I accepted their offer to swipe 3xRM100 within 14 days to get Smart$ points but it was not reflected in my statement this month, so called CS and was told it would only be credited during my anniversary month. tinkerbel: where have you been hibernating last few weeks? Good you are back. |
Jan 14 2010, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 13 2010, 11:54 PM) house shopping for yet another property *oopS* hope you don't have to reduce your CL to RM1K like tgeoklin when you applying loan for next property I also have no incentive to stop my CCs for now because most of my CCs were issued in the Q3 so I figured I'll just stick with it till then Yah, the RM50tax at anniversary date give us sometime to consider... also give banks to reconsider how to keep card holders by giving them a carrot (like HLB Card in my case) as many are still cancelling their cards. |
Jan 14 2010, 06:54 PM
QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 14 2010, 06:03 PM) helo all, yah, redeem it now as you still have a month.i plan to cancel my citibank CC... and my anniversary date is on Feb. want to ask, how long the points redemption will take? now is already 14 Jan. Do ur thinks i got enough time to redeem point n cancel the card? |
Jan 14 2010, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Jan 14 2010, 07:03 PM) The fastest way to utilise the points are: treat all of us at Coffee Bean and use the points as instant redemption I agree |
Jan 20 2010, 08:15 AM
QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Jan 19 2010, 07:43 PM) That is because the credit card tax will only be charged the following month. For example, if your credit card anniversary is in 01/13, the credit card tax is chargeable in February every year. For HLB case above holds. Got my statement for this month with annual fees but no mention of RM50 tax. Called CS and was told my annual fees in process of being waived and RM50 tax not shown in system yet. Good news is bonus points of 20,000 for keeping the card is shown in system |
Jan 22 2010, 11:41 PM
QUOTE(michael_liew @ Jan 22 2010, 06:45 PM) hey guys well, if you could elaborate more on where you spend your money then we can maybe give you some suggestions.i jus applied for the HSBC classic card but then i try to find it in their webpage what benefits & priviledges i can get such as % off from dining n shopping bt cnat seem 2 find any i gave them my payslip epf statemnet n ic already they came to my office collect n say within 2 weeks can get already jus want to ask .... is hsbc gud enuf? or...? as i plan to have 1 visa and another master please do giv me some opinion as to whether i chosed the right choice in hsbc and please recommed another card for me your help would b v much apreciated thanks a lot ^^ Anyway, when considering for your next card, do look into free annual fees for life since you'll be paying RM50 tax yearly for every credit card you have. |
Jan 23 2010, 05:27 PM
QUOTE(SeanChang @ Jan 23 2010, 02:45 PM) Classic - Up to RM1000 well,Alliance do state that Plat got 24 hours but it is bullshit, the representative can't help you much when calling them late in the night.Gold - Up to RM3000 Platinum - Up to RM5000 http://www.alliancebank.com.my/ccard_cashback.html for Plat, cs is 24 hours QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Jan 23 2010, 04:19 PM) Well MBB Petronas only give you 5X Treat Points at Petronas whereas MBB Ikhwan Amex Plat gives you 5X Treat Points at ALL petrol station and 2X for other transactions. If you are a non-muslim, Ikhwan cards can't do transactions that are against Shariah principles e.g. cannot use the card when go clubbing or go to non-halal restaurants. |
| Change to: | 0.0250sec
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:54 AM |