122 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Bottom

V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

benchai
post Mar 21 2010, 11:28 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Mar 21 2010, 08:44 PM)
Today is the saddest day in my life and it si not because we have different opinions on matter concerning 1GP cos what I believe is only if we don't compromised, we will never have a GP that satisfied everyone but I am sad by the remarks made by Ben on the matter concerning of dead chicks and broken eggs are good for the increment of birds.

1. HK is a Muslim but for all Buddhist, I know that if we allow the thief to kill the chicks and destroyed the eggs, we are no better than the thief himself. HK  speak the truth cos by killing the chicks and destroying the eggs, it may increase the birds in the BH temporary but it may shorten our life or are we destine to go to hell............by Buddha teaching if I am correct but I am not a expert in Buddha's teaching or Buddhism.

2. By not killing any chicks or eggs destroyed, I too, have huge increment  of nests........ If the thieve come every 2 months, you will or you think that you are smarter and remove all nests in 45 days and leaving nothing for the thieves. How clever you are or you think that you are; in a few years time, you will slowly notice growth of your BH is not as efficient as your neighbor who harvest 3 times a year.
3. This is proven fact as my neighbor's removed all nests due to constant harassment by the thieves and now his 5th. years BH is about 1 K nests and my 3rd. years BH has over 2K nests. F**K so called HK if he think that he know all about swiftlets preservation and management.
4. We all know that by playing distress sound of chicks will bring in alot of curious swiftlets and so will that of rats. By virtual of of that, dying chicks and smell of broken eggs will also bring in swiftlets as in some animals. That's why many of what we get from swiftlets perfume are derived from it.
5. That's what I can offer for the time being as I believe many in the trade are now for the money only and care nothing for the swiftlets and if by killing a swiftlet will bring them cash, many here will.

HK! please remember that swiftlets are also birds of Allah and unlike goats and chicken, they are not for meant for dinner table and even goats, you must recite the verses.......

With that, I beg you all farewell and may all my wrongs be forgiven.
Thank you WW for your concern and condam such practice as preach by HK. On any religious ground alond will not allowed any of us to carry out such evil act.

KLYPM and friends were also at the seminar he is just as shock as anyone else.

This is the true colour of the selfstyled Pak sifu and make him sound like a learned and wise man. May he sleep soundly at night and may God bless him.
sosos
post Mar 22 2010, 09:34 AM

81 posts

Today is the saddest day in my life and it si not because we have different opinions on matter concerning 1GP cos what I believe is only if we don't compromised, we will never have a GP that satisfied everyone but I am sad by the remarks made by Ben on the matter concerning of dead chicks and broken eggs are good for the increment of birds.

1. HK is a Muslim but for all Buddhist, I know that if we allow the thief to kill the chicks and destroyed the eggs, we are no better than the thief himself. HK  speak the truth cos by killing the chicks and destroying the eggs, it may increase the birds in the BH temporary but it may shorten our life or are we destine to go to hell............by Buddha teaching if I am correct but I am not a expert in Buddha's teaching or Buddhism.

2. By not killing any chicks or eggs destroyed, I too, have huge increment  of nests........ If the thieve come every 2 months, you will or you think that you are smarter and remove all nests in 45 days and leaving nothing for the thieves. How clever you are or you think that you are; in a few years time, you will slowly notice growth of your BH is not as efficient as your neighbor who harvest 3 times a year.
3. This is proven fact as my neighbor's removed all nests due to constant harassment by the thieves and now his 5th. years BH is about 1 K nests and my 3rd. years BH has over 2K nests. F**K so called HK if he think that he know all about swiftlets preservation and management.
4. We all know that by playing distress sound of chicks will bring in alot of curious swiftlets and so will that of rats. By virtual of of that, dying chicks and smell of broken eggs will also bring in swiftlets as in some animals. That's why many of what we get from swiftlets perfume are derived from it.
5. That's what I can offer for the time being as I believe many in the trade are now for the money only and care nothing for the swiftlets and if by killing a swiftlet will bring them cash, many here will.

HK! please remember that swiftlets are also birds of Allah and unlike goats and chicken, they are not for meant for dinner table and even goats, you must recite the verses.......

west wing ,i support you...

(ong)嘛(ma)呢(ni)叭(bei)咪(mi)吽(hong)

作人也得作得有点像人。。

This post has been edited by sosos: Mar 22 2010, 09:44 AM
arong
post Mar 22 2010, 10:00 AM

30 posts

I 100% agree with Chank. If we belive that bird can live peacefull with human in town, we have to 100% belive that bird will not great any nature problem to human unless human own greated misstake like other biz in town.

More and more personal opinion sure will close down all the town BH one day.

regard.
tuckfook
post Mar 22 2010, 01:35 PM

360 posts

When one person makes suggestions or posts ideas that a certain action will increase their harvest, MANY PEOPLE WILL, regardless of religion, belief, ethics etc. be tempted to try it out! Be reminded that many read this forum but do not post.

I am sure by now, many people are contemplating this repulsive action.

Anonymous forumers are here to gain knowledge on how to start or improve their involvement in the EBN industry.

Most animals have a natural instinct to preserve and propogate their species. Under breeding stress, as when they have their nests removed, chicks killed(naturally or otherwise) or eggs stolen or infertile, the instinct will be to build or reproduce as quickly as possible. This may also bring upon the earlier sexual maturity of otherwise immature young. So in effect there may be a sudden increase in nests.

Remove nests too often in a BH and the birds may also conclude that this place is not good to live in !

This increase in nests may not be because of the increase of population in the BH. In fact the contrary may be the case when baby birds are left crying before dying. The message is clear from the crying that this place is dangerous! Switch off your sound and you'll see how loud these birds are.

A natural balance of smell from bird droppings, naturally dead birds, broken eggs etc. makes the house seem natural to newcomers but increase the ammonia, Hydrogen sulphide and methane in the BH and it becomes dangerous and unbearable to the residents. This is especially so with low ceilings in houses when compared to caves.

The killing of nestlings and the destruction of eggs is absolutely unnecessary and in fact may be detrimental in the long run for you BH.

tan2020
post Mar 22 2010, 05:05 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Mar 22 2010, 01:35 PM)
When one person makes suggestions or posts ideas that a certain action will increase their harvest, MANY PEOPLE WILL, regardless of religion, belief, ethics etc. be tempted to try it out! Be reminded that many read this forum but do not post.

I am sure by now, many people are contemplating this repulsive action.

Anonymous forumers are here to gain knowledge on how to start or improve their involvement in the EBN industry.

Most animals have a natural instinct to preserve and propogate their species. Under breeding stress, as when they have their nests removed, chicks killed(naturally or otherwise) or eggs stolen or infertile, the instinct will be to build or reproduce as quickly as possible. This may also bring upon the earlier sexual maturity of otherwise immature young. So in effect there may be a sudden increase in nests.

Remove nests too often in a BH and the birds may also conclude that this place is not good to live in !

This increase in nests may not be because of the increase of population in the BH. In fact the contrary may be the case when baby birds are left crying before dying. The message is clear from the crying that this place is dangerous! Switch off your sound and you'll see how loud these birds are.

A natural balance of smell from bird droppings, naturally dead birds, broken eggs etc. makes the house seem natural to newcomers but increase the ammonia, Hydrogen sulphide and methane in the BH and it becomes dangerous and unbearable to the residents.  This is especially so with low ceilings in houses when compared to caves.

The killing of nestlings and the destruction of eggs is absolutely unnecessary and in fact may be detrimental in the long run for you BH.
Good explanation, tuckfook. rclxms.gif Why kill the golden "birds" ?? doh.gif
Cergau
post Mar 22 2010, 06:06 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Mar 22 2010, 01:35 PM)

In Addition
If this practice is adopted by even a small minority and subsequently 'discovered' by animal rights group, there will be hell to pay.
Just wait till these NGOs lobby their govts to apply trade pressure on EBN from Malaysia.
(and frm another earlier posting..it was reported on HK TV that Vietnamese EBN is superior and thus commands the same in price.
no one in the international market will miss M'sian EBN if banned or restricted)
Remember the local animal rights group are just as vocal!!!
All they need to show in their campaign to ostracise us are
1)curry coated deep fried baby swiftlets (ala Mamak) and the 'preparation' complete with helpless, flapping, screaming fledgings!!
2)giant swiftlet egg omelettes followed by aerial shots of free flying swiftlets. (to show what the world has lost cos' we kill their young and unborn).
....and we do not even have a shadow of a finger on the impending 1GP.!!
htc
post Mar 22 2010, 07:55 PM

110 posts

visited me BH yesterday and saw 2 dead birds. one in the pool another below the nest. sigh......

no fault of mine!
Cergau
post Mar 22 2010, 08:19 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(htc @ Mar 22 2010, 07:55 PM)
visited me BH yesterday and saw 2 dead birds. one in the pool another below the nest. sigh......

no fault of mine!
Probably husband and wife......after hearing what was advocated in KK. biggrin.gif
benchai
post Mar 22 2010, 08:44 PM

167 posts

I think Pak sifu Harry should do the right thing , withdraw and apologies for his comment on force harvesting killing baby swiftlets and throwing eggs on the wall or make omelet all for short term gain.

I like to hear opinion from Terok Harry’s good friend and close allied .Terok always appear religious and quoting Buddha and so on and the truth will prevail???? Can you see the truth NOW!!! Open your eyes.

I have received many calls of dismay and utter disgust on such evil practice especially from our KPW group and through our closed blog. No person with any common decency and morality will dare to speak about such act and worse of all in a seminar with paying newbie.

Bobby C
post Mar 23 2010, 09:45 AM

663 posts

We just witnessed a small spark started from a seminar in KK.

Just hope whoever playing with fire is smart enough to extinguish it before too late.

The weather has been pretty bad lately, probably due to global warming combine with El Nino effect. Soon, when wild fire spread, it will be merciless and consume the whole industry.

Swiftlets only have one enemy ie human.

Are we, swiflet enthusiasts trying to make more enemies or starting a war with the Neither-Go-Or-stay?

Sigh ... give up with the many 'sifus'.

This post has been edited by Bobby C: Mar 23 2010, 09:54 AM
htc
post Mar 23 2010, 03:21 PM

110 posts

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by htc: Mar 24 2010, 08:19 AM
tuckfook
post Mar 23 2010, 09:35 PM

360 posts

Everything mentioned in this forum is exposed to everyone including those supporting the blog below. This can and will be used against swiftlet farmers. Act smartly, or you'll be digging your own grave.

QUOTE(htc @ Mar 23 2010, 03:21 PM)
hackwire
post Mar 24 2010, 10:41 AM

4,256 posts

http://noswiftlethousesingeorgetown.blogspot.com/

I read the blog above and it is indeed a anti swiftlet farm in the Penang Townhouse.

the propaganda made by the writer is to instill fear in the public who lacks the knowledge in this industry. I guess this blog writer doesnt care about the macro economic aspect of the livinghood of others. Many investors had been able to support their children education and also pour out to charity due to the farming of bird house.

when i read how negatives and fact twisting about swiftlet shit and how contageous of bird flu disease , i wonder where he got his information from ? WHO?

This guy will probably be shoot on the head in Mainland China if he don't know what he is talking about.

and the writer intention to group all swiftlet farmers in a rotten apple basket is a crime to me. he should also give pro active and proper solutions to the public of how the good one manage. In fact, there are more good farmers now as compare to last time i believe.

Added on March 24, 2010, 10:49 amby the way, the blogger has no identity and afraid to come out publicly. only gives a wild email address name.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 24 2010, 10:49 AM
tuckfook
post Mar 24 2010, 01:44 PM

360 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 24 2010, 10:41 AM)
http://noswiftlethousesingeorgetown.blogspot.com/

I read the blog above and  it is indeed a anti swiftlet farm in the Penang Townhouse.

the propaganda made by the writer is to instill fear in the public who lacks the knowledge in this industry. I guess this blog writer doesnt care about the macro economic aspect of the livinghood of others. Many investors had been able to support their children education and also pour out to charity due to the farming of bird house.

when i read how negatives and fact twisting about swiftlet shit and how contageous of bird flu disease , i wonder where he got his information from ? WHO?

This guy will probably be shoot on the head in Mainland China if he don't know what he is talking about.

and the writer intention to group all swiftlet farmers in a rotten apple basket is a crime to me. he should also give pro active and proper solutions to the public of how the good one manage. In fact, there are more good farmers now as compare to last time i believe.

Added on March 24, 2010, 10:49 amby the way, the blogger has no identity and afraid to come out publicly. only gives a wild email address name.
There are always 2 sides to a coin.

All human residents have their respective rights so we should respect theirs too. Remember, swiftlet farmers are a minority !

As for diseases, even though H1N1 has not been found in A. Fuciphagus, it does not conclusively prove that there will not be an incident are that there has never been an incident gone undetected. The fact that these birds are not living in or around pools of water as in ducks, geese etc. from known research, lessens the chances of them transmitting H1N1

Note that none of the swiftlet farmers/associations have been constructive in finding a solution that will be acceptable to everyone.

Heritage once lost cannot be recovered. Heritage Architecture destroyed can never be restored and that loss will be a loss to mankind forever.

Given the way some swiftlet farmers have acted in the past, would anyone dare openly criticise swiftlet farmers without fear of painful repercussions ?

hackwire
post Mar 24 2010, 02:28 PM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(tuckfook @ Mar 24 2010, 01:44 PM)
There are always 2 sides to a coin.

All human residents have their respective rights so we should respect theirs too. Remember, swiftlet farmers are a minority !

As for diseases, even though H1N1 has not been found in A. Fuciphagus, it does not conclusively prove that there will not be an incident are that there has never been an incident gone undetected.  The fact that these birds are not living in or around pools of water as in ducks, geese etc. from known research,  lessens the chances of them transmitting H1N1

Note that none of the swiftlet farmers/associations have been constructive in finding a solution that will be acceptable to everyone.

Heritage once lost cannot be recovered. Heritage Architecture destroyed can never be restored and that loss will be a loss to mankind forever.

Given the way some swiftlet farmers have acted in the past, would anyone dare openly criticise swiftlet farmers without fear of painful repercussions ?
again the writer is based on his personal opinion and although precaution is better than cure but these days even any animals in the farm whether it's in the most stringent or best protocols implemented may be bound to any diseases. and the carrier of H1N1 is human and we should be more afraid of the carrier than birds.

the blog writer than should be instead looking at the beauty of birds flocking into the heritage building and shoot a nice photo to UNESCO about how nature and heritage building blends in.

Indeed Colonial buidings are nice but only a few penangite really appreciate the heritage. majority does not bother as its expensive to reconstruct. Even the NGO is running out of fund and begging for more money to save the heritage buildind. Some of the buildings already gone and change into Food Court because NGO did not get lots of fund from the public. the mechanism is slow... now dont worry about the swiftlet, the writter must have a lot of thing in his mind map.

Who knows, swiftlet business will help the NGO to save more heritage building since each house saved will cost more than a million. Think about it.

This post has been edited by hackwire: Mar 24 2010, 02:31 PM
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 27 2010, 09:34 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 24 2010, 03:28 PM)
again the writer is based on his personal opinion and although precaution is better than cure but these days even any animals in the farm whether it's in the most stringent or best protocols implemented may be bound to any diseases. and the carrier of H1N1 is human and we should be more afraid of the carrier than birds.

the blog writer than should be instead looking at the beauty of birds flocking into the heritage building and shoot a nice photo to UNESCO about how nature and heritage building blends in.

Indeed Colonial buidings are nice but only a few penangite really appreciate the heritage. majority does not bother as its expensive to reconstruct. Even the NGO is running out of fund and begging for more money to save the heritage buildind. Some of the  buildings already gone and change into Food Court because NGO did not get lots of fund from the public. the mechanism is slow... now dont worry about the swiftlet, the writter must have a lot of thing in his mind map.

Who knows, swiftlet business will help the NGO to save more heritage building since each house saved will cost more than a million. Think about it.
Hi Guy, me still enjoying my vacation in Thailand. Just dropping by to see any new news thumbup.gif
Maybe we can leave some comment on the anti-swiftlet blog and steer the blogger to the 'correct' path. 'pro' or 'anti', to me information given MUST be correct. Either back up with studies of data or thru' person experiences.

Cheers
Have a relaxing day......
coolandy
post Mar 27 2010, 09:43 AM

314 posts

My friend's BH has been broken into more than 5 times in 8 years. Each time, the BH suffered heavy losses and the growth rate decreased.

I did asked him specifically if after each break, the nests increased a lot or not because I was also told by some people that theft IS good for BH.

mIssfROGY
post Mar 27 2010, 01:28 PM

2,155 posts

Hi All,

Whats the average construction price for a 20*70 sft single/double storey BH?
Do you guys think i can get everything (building+equipments) at around 70k - 100k? Land not included. Me scouting around for BH constructions quotes so wana know the prices be4 jumping to any conclusions.Thanks!
benchai
post Mar 27 2010, 09:27 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(coolandy @ Mar 27 2010, 09:43 AM)
My friend's BH has been broken into more than 5 times in 8 years. Each time, the BH suffered heavy losses and the growth rate decreased.

I did asked him specifically if after each break, the nests increased a lot or not because I was also told by some people that theft IS good for BH.
Ask Pak Harry Kok who said in KK recently that to be broken in (BH) is a blessing in disguise and also recommended to force harvest once a year . The dead babies and eggs thrown on the wall produce good aroma.

I beg all not to practise such cruel and dissectible act. It is against any religious belief and morality. I am sure it is also an offence under the wildlife act of Sabah And Sarawak.

Harry further advised not to let the authorities know if you practice force harvesting killing chicks. Can you trust this type of selfstyle Sifu ??? Pui !! x 2
coolandy
post Mar 28 2010, 06:18 AM

314 posts

Forced harvesting is not only cruel but has also reduced the population of the birds in the caves.

I am strongly against forced harvesting.

122 Pages « < 105 106 107 108 109 > » Top

0.0334sec    0.59    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 01:46 PM