V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

ahwee1987
post Mar 19 2010, 11:19 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 19 2010, 09:28 AM)
There must be very successful BH(s) around for that nos to be around.
To find the owners?
Various ways depending..you have to play detective a little
1)There shd be a sign board on site with info on developer, engineer, etc....you trace frm these info      ELSE
2)Get the rough location and a lot of your verbal description to a real estate agent and ask for a title search...charges varies RM50-RM150 depending on travelling cost. I think if u DIY u pay RM30 to the local land office, but how to get the LOT nos and so on? Real estate agents have stakes of plans to identify and narrow down the place.    ELSE
3)This is the fun way....
a)Get a GPS or the the ones that are packaged into yr hp also can
b)Mark the spot (waypoint in GPS speak) - required for step (d)
c)Start GoogleEarth,
d)Add Placemark
edit the lat and long with values frm step (b)
OK and close
see the placemark (a thumbtack) automaticaly go to the spot u made the waypoint
now eyeball the place on GoogleEarth and get a bearing of the place
Show to the real estate agent the location.

PS There is a way which I stumbled on accidentally in a certain govt department online where u can get to the lot nos.
I do not wish to disclose the way as I found out later its a source of info to a group of local enthusiast whose hobby is to locate all the surveyors markers in the country. I wouldnt wanna to be the cause of stoppage to their hobby if the govr dept closes that gap.
There markers are all over the place, mountain tops, in jungles, in towns, along roads, hiways, next to old buildings etc...a lot were laid down by the colonials. An interesting hobby for adventurous folks with a GPS. You get bragging rights with pics of the markers.
i tried to find the sign board..but cant look for it..if i cant walk further way inside..cause all is jungle already..the grass as tall like 3/4 of my height d..don dare...haha..i think i will try to use a gps to track it..
hackwire
post Mar 19 2010, 11:55 AM

4,256 posts

QUOTE(Cergau @ Mar 19 2010, 11:05 AM)
Pt 1)
Hypocrites..they are probably sharing out some of the confiscated items amongst themselves.
Only a token nos are required for court exhibits. Some of them will find their way to the market again.

Pt 2)
I do not recall electing any of them for them to impose their belief on me in one way or the other!!!
If my MP turned out to be a clown in Parliament I correct my mistake at the next GE.
I certainly did not elect these bunch of clowns. They are being paid off tax payers money.
May be when I got lot's of money I will take them to court exerting my constitutional right. (below) I wanna pay only the part that doesnt go to them.
Article number: 11
(2) No person shall be compelled to pay any tax the proceeds of which are specially allocated in
whole or in part for the purposes of a religion other than his own.

Hackwire,
Are you registered to vote?
If not go get yrself registered.
I have voted twice . first election, lost. second election, win.

but in the end, i personally think election is just one of the thing that will move the earth coordinates a little but the bulk of the problems rest in the surface of earth. Whether it's as primitive as in Dino world or as civilized we once had ... probably the time of Adam and Eve (civilisation) ..not the time where roman empire claim civilisation or current millineum civilisation, it needs another asteroid to strike the earth.

ChanK
post Mar 19 2010, 12:05 PM

451 posts

when it is our own personal opinions, then, we should keep it to ourselves.

If your own personal opinions does not affect u or ur group of farmer friends and thts why u dares to speak out but when u shares it here to all those officers and it seems to them that even farmers think that their stupid opinions is in fact right then u are making the situation worst.

And that no longer called Own personal Opinions, it is called `落井下石!

The situation now is every officer in every state n every town have their own OPINION on what is right n what is wrong in this industry.

Added on March 19, 2010, 12:12 pmthose that in seremban think that 40km from the airport should not have any farms. this is their opinion (whether their own opinions is right or wrong?).

and the opinion of one of the representative in selangor Ronnie liew that it does not cause any harm so the distance should be shorter (tht is his own opinion!, whether it is right or wrong).

want to hear my own opinion? but it will affect those in big towns, so, i keep it to myself instead of acting likes i am the expert in right or wrong!.

This post has been edited by ChanK: Mar 19 2010, 12:12 PM
Cergau
post Mar 19 2010, 12:38 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 19 2010, 11:55 AM)
I have voted twice . first election, lost. second election, win.

but in the end, i personally think election is just one of the thing that will move the earth coordinates a little but  the bulk of the problems rest in the surface of earth. Whether it's as primitive as in Dino world or as civilized we once had ... probably the time of Adam and Eve (civilisation) ..not the time where roman empire claim civilisation or current millineum civilisation, it needs another asteroid to strike the earth.
Good for you.
Agreed.
As for our beloved Malaysia, it's like the case of the rotting fish.
It rots from the head first.
Fix the heads and the rest of the body will follow suit.
I have confidence in our civil service that it can be turned around.
It only takes the heads to walk the talk and the rest will slowly regain their faith in the system and start to regain pride in their jobs.
And waiting for an asteroid strike is not realistic, and taking no action is not an option too.

"The only thing needed for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing"

So we do what we can at every opportunity.
Just like the EBN biz, a lot has to do with public perception.
Until the advent of the internet, we have had 50 years of propaganda garbage fed to us.
It;s only over the last few years folks get to read alternative news.
Do you think that all these alternative news and writeups came from paid sources?
A lot are from volunteers who do at their own time for the love of the country.
These are the real patriots ...only OKU (otak only) think sticking a flag up during Merdeka day are patriots.
Some cant decide if they are being nationalistic or patriotic.
It's like religion, it's in your chest/heart.

Share alternative info, dispel myths, then slowly a more balanced truth will prevail.
Let readers make up their own minds.
These are the things we can do apart from voting.

My apologies, I am out of topic.

hackwire
post Mar 19 2010, 04:20 PM

4,256 posts

Just for your info, not all company selling sex products were shut down. Got to talk to one of the shopkeeper today that they were prohibited to sell certain items like dildos or vibrators better known as rabbits to women in need. So condom ,lube, toys, lingeries were not consider as haram.
Cergau
post Mar 19 2010, 04:59 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Mar 19 2010, 04:20 PM)
Just for your info, not all company selling sex products were shut down. Got to talk to one of the shopkeeper today that they were prohibited to sell certain items like dildos or vibrators better known as rabbits to women in need. So condom ,lube, toys, lingeries were not consider as haram.
This is exactly what I meant (pt2 ) in my earlier posting , since when did I elect a person who earns his salary frm my tax to tell me what I can or cannot buy based on nothing but his values. I do not care two hoots where he thinks he got his right from. There is no such specific law. Imposing their values on someone else in guise of enforcement? If it was my shop, I would have demanded that they write it down in their charge that my merchandise is haram. Their laws are meant for their kind, since when can they impose their beliefs on me in whatever form? Maybe the dildos need to be made by a Muslim? Camel turd.!!!! I do not know why they are doing things like this that do nothing but divide us? maybe after all the corrupted policticians are got rid off, they want to start us on a religious war. Camel 2xturds.
Dildos are a much better prevention for abandoned babies. Bigots!!!

This post has been edited by Cergau: Mar 19 2010, 05:19 PM
ChanK
post Mar 19 2010, 08:11 PM

451 posts

Reading news about arowana breeding in Bukit Merah,

the problem with many farmers are now converting their padi field into arowana farming are getting out of hand. Complain received from the surrounding padi farmers and after the present MB checked the status and discussion with both arowana farmers n padi farmers. The MB decided that the govt will only allowed 450 acres of padi land to be converted to arowana farms. All existing arowana farms in bukit merah will maintained and been directed to convert their agriculture lands into Tanah pertanian industri.

The MB had stated that this is not to affect the existing arowana farmers as it is a new industry and helped the govt to generate more foreign income.

Most of the arowana farmers are indebted to the MB and will remember what he did to them and will support him on the next election!.

It takes him 3 months to settle the problem.

So, how about this industry?

SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 20 2010, 09:36 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 19 2010, 09:11 PM)
All existing arowana farms in bukit merah will maintained and been directed to convert their agriculture lands into Tanah pertanian industri.

Hmmmh, do you think this Tanah pertanian industri is applicable / good / bad for the Swiflet Santuary Provider?
What does it mean 'Tanah pertanian industri ' is this a new 'term' ?

Of course the other topic is more intresting 'Sex Shop', hahaha. We (me & my wife :-) ) always make it a point to visit sex shop / meuseum when we go overseas, especialy in Europe. We are even bringing my son and his GF. You'll be 'surprise' how much fun & laugther it'll bring you as a family outing (not that we are the kinky type, hahaha). Also you'll be sock with ' wah, like that also can ahhh' drool.gif brows.gif hmm.gif yawn.gif
Sorry, out of topic, my enthusims overcame me rclxm9.gif

Going off next week for a break....
aeiou228
post Mar 20 2010, 03:22 PM

5,867 posts

yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif
West Wing
post Mar 20 2010, 08:59 PM

1,397 posts

My English must be poor for when I mean "Personal Opinion" is refer to what I believe and I maybe wrong. To speak out and said that you represent all, you are just kidding yourself cos' we are all grown up and do have our own belief and opinion and all matter and that's why 3 Chinese men sitting together always quarrel but 10 Koreans can have one mind. They are born to follow and we Chinese are born to be independent..

One proverb sound something like this, put a chinese in dessert, he will live and put a chinese in the sea, the shark will be eaten. That's the goodness in us and it's also a bad side of it as we can never come to a unanimous consensus in all we do. Just look at MCA now and any other Chinese based Association............unless, we put a gun on his head.

Again, my opinion to share.......no offence. Sorry.........as this is not any thing concerning swiftlets. Price of EBN is very high cos even corner can get you Rm4K.
ChanK
post Mar 21 2010, 12:04 AM

451 posts

I guess sometimes those online should really go out n look at the world a bit.

don't act liked a katak in a well.

over 30% farms in town do convert their grd floor into farms as most of them are situated in small towns and they mainly consists of 2 storey shops.

Most of them converted into farms after the grd floor been idle n rotten for many years.

not liked those shops in BIG TOWN where most of them are 3 storey to 6 storey, so, they can TALK COCK that small town owners should not convert their grd floor into farms. ( my Personal Opinion loh!).

Some of them even are Single storey shops and THEY ONLY HAVE ONE FLOOR TO CONVERT AND THEY ARE HARVESTING 2KG A MONTH.

well...getting bored. actually. peace.

This post has been edited by ChanK: Mar 21 2010, 12:06 AM
chiongguo
post Mar 21 2010, 09:47 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 18 2010, 03:31 PM)
in my area, there is this one pork noodle shop, average they sold about 1000 bowls a day.

so, telling them that u should convert it into a farm they will bring out their pork chopper to chase u out of their shop.

1000 x 5 = RM5k a day, 150K a month.
Expenses, cost & labour

then there is this one shop that sell pork noodle, i always go there n eat, then one day it just closed shop. i asked the owner why u want to closed it? got ppls eating what!.

He told me, i average one day can only sell 20 bowls, for Rm3.5 a bowl.

20 x 3.5 = RM70 a day, RM2.1k a month.

and this income support my family and my adult son who also have a family depends on it. so tell me, how to survive?
no one knows better than the owners themselves. THey know what they are earning.
If they can survive make a living by doing biz in their shop, they will do
Expenses, cost & labour !!

This is really tall tale ;-)

He should have tried other means to attract customer.

(BY THE WAY, WHO THE F U ARE TO TELL THEM WHAT THEY NEED TO DO!).
Living in a community requires basic respect for the well-being of others. Because there are those
who behave like bull in a mamakstore & leaving behind less than fragrant droppings all over the place, rules and regulations are required. At least some sanity can be preserved.

Some rules are commonsensical and it doesn't need anyone to tell us. Others are more debatable.

As for annoying farms,

I myself hated many mamak stalls around my shop as they are bloody dirty and clogged most of the drains in the area. They also breed rats as they dump all the rubbish n leftover everywhere. The motor shop behind too is annoying as they keep checking the motorbike by pressing the old pedal so hard that ur ear will numb for few minutes after that. The retail shops nearby also annoying as they blast their musics from 10am till 10pm to attract customers to come...indian songs, malay songs and chinese songs.

but then again i thought well....at least they stop all the nuisance after 8pm...and i can get a good peaceful night. they are just trying to make a living just liked me. so, peace.
Certain sound can make you go crazy and I mean it in more ways than one. Swiftlet sound is in the high frequency region. There was a study on newsreader/anchor women and their tonal quality. They found that women with high frequency sound annoyed all the listeners.

Music being played out are pleasing and not annoying.

Btw. when was it that motorbike had "old pedal"(oil pedal ?)

But you are right though ; pollution of any kind should be minimised to have an impact on the environment. Would you not agree that swiftlet industry do have an impact on the environment and has to be mitigated ? I had argued once that the standard for this industry should be no different from other industry with polluting discharges.

If the players in the industry wanted to fight it should be to fight for a fair deal and not one that only benefit the industry at the expense of others. Some commonsensical consideration would help foster more goodwill. Keep pulling out your d*** and threatening to fight with blood and sweat only helped to fossilise the position of those in authority.

There seem to be a lot of noise in here but in truth it is just a tiny beep in the whole scheme of things.

ChanK, put your d*** back where it belonged. You don't have to continually fcuk the world to get some attention ;-) .

benchai
post Mar 21 2010, 10:00 AM

167 posts

Sad to note that my 8 months old BH was broken into yesterday by what I think are professional thieves who came in on the blind side of the CCTV to advoid detection. They pick all the 3 china made locks and the heavy duty security door were undamaged. Then they cut the China made stainless steel internal security door and cut out the locks. Unfotunatelly my alarm was not armed due to recent bush fire that shot circuit the system. (Now I feel lucky)

They managed to steal 50 odd nests leaving dead baby birds and eggs on the floor. I feel honoured by these professional thieves who target a 8 months old BH . The sight of birds every evening must be mouth watering. (Mine TOOO !)

I was an invited guest at the seminer orginised by SWIFIN in KK and has been invited to be an adviser to SWIFIN.

Harry Kok (Ahmat Ismial).was the main speaker. He spoke at great lenght that to be broken into by thieves is a blessing in disguise as the populations explosions that follows will increase the nest count by 100s percents. (How lucky am I)

He anylised the the dead babies and broken eggs will emites the natural aromas of a caves. Harry further eloberate that force harvesting once or twice a year should be practise to build your birds populations. If you sayang the eggs maybe make yourself a big omelette . Maybe sell the babies and eggs for trans location as practice in Indonisia and make a few more Ringgit.(Good Idea ?)

Harry also advise that if any participents feels that this practice is unetical then they should stop eating pock,chicken and beef. (He got a point here ) He advise that you should not let the authorities know about this practice.

He further add that the smell of rotting babies and broken eggs will increase the nests and imagine that you end up with 100 more nests and value at RM1000.00 per nest. The Value of your BH is increase by RM100,000.00 Wah !! This is eye opening to me as I BUILD AND SELL (BH)

I have learn a valuable Trick. Thank You and may God bless you Pak Sifu Harry.

I am now proud and happy that thieves have broken into my BH at least I am not guilty of killing the helpless babies Swiftlets ( A life is a life regardless even if they are worms)that we love so much.
Cergau
post Mar 21 2010, 11:10 AM

416 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 21 2010, 12:04 AM)
.................edited
over 30% farms in town do convert their grd floor into farms as most of them are situated in small towns and they mainly consists of 2 storey shops.
Most of them converted into farms after the grd floor been idle n rotten for many years.
not liked those shops in BIG TOWN where most of them are 3 storey to 6 storey, so, they can TALK COCK that small town owners should not convert their grd floor into farms. ( my Personal Opinion loh!).
Some of them even are Single storey shops and THEY ONLY HAVE ONE FLOOR TO CONVERT AND THEY ARE HARVESTING 2KG A MONTH.
well...getting bored. actually. peace.
Reading WW and your comments on the same pt.
They are related to the following in the DRAFT 1GP (which WW stated was oredy or existing requirement)

6.11 (ii) Bangunan tingkat bawah dimestikan menjalankan perniagaan, manakala tingkat atas dibenarkan untuk dijadikan bangunan
industri burung supaya kawasan pekan tidak sunyi, muram dan, terpinggir.

8.1 (i) Bangunan yang digunakan bagi maksud perusahaan sarang burung layang - layang ini hendaklah ditempatkan secara
berasingan dan tidak dijadikan sebahagiannya sebagai tempat kediaman I tempat memproses makanan atau penstoran makanan

As for 6.11 ...the stated reasons are merely speculative and too general. 1 size fit all kind of prescription.
8.1...similarly prescriptive (and I presume) frm a public and health perspective.

We have read from both of you examples of the 2 extremes.
1)Abandoned shoplots rescued from being dilapidated further by setting up BHs and
2)Roaring food biz on the grnd flr of a shoplot BH.

IMHO 6.11 is already partially achieved by setting BHs in these 'dumps'.
As for the aesthetics...sprucing up the ground floor maybe with a dark tinted glass/office frontage will suffice.
We can always oblige by turning up vol of the chirps if that's what they want ie if too 'sunyi'. biggrin.gif

As for 8.1 ....IMHO let market forces rule.
The authorities shd not be prescribing to potential entrepreneurs.
Let the customers exercise their freedom of choice.
If they have no problem eating at such places, well and good.
Otherwise, no one is compelling them to eat where they do not wish to.
What business is it for the public to complain that a certain food business is under a BH?
They still have the choice of not patronising the joint! If there are enuff of them and the food biz owner thinks it fit, then....move to where yr customers want you to be.
Let market forces decide.

The only difficulty is when a neighbouring shoplot feels disadvantaged by the presence of your BH next door.
His property is now less desirable and possibly potential clients restricted by the some of the 1GP conditions.
I sense this is the point that gave rise to 6.11 (ii)

IMHO not talking about these small details doesnt make the problem go away.
We may be setting up these BH owners for disappointment and panic when the full force of the 1GP is implemented.
It may be more constructive if arguments are presented with possible solutions.
That may help to gather more opinions for a counter solution to the 1GP guidelines.

The ugly truth is we can't save ALL the shoplot BHs if there was no way they can fully comply.
(some may argue 1GP is not all abt shoplots, but I beg to differ as they are the most at risk of non compliance
and I'll add most of the conditions are scripted for shoplots)

Are we going to leave them be? We can at least try with some counter solutions to the authorities!
May I humbly request that we present arguments on the forum and leave out personal statements?
Attack the arguments by all means but leave out the personal stuff.
Being polite folks... alot of us may wish to remain silent on the side if the arguments get too personal.

Educating these BHs operators now may be more beneficial then keeping quiet and go on denial.
I sense that the impending 1GP implementation is not reaching the grassroots.
I hope I am wrong, and these shoplot operators are all huddling in their assoc debating the likely impact and counter solutions.
(Oh yeah I can hear arguments...debate what!!! there is no 1GP to debate!!! Does anyone here think that the draft we have sighted will differ very much from what will go for implementation?)

We get to read both CK and WW's sharing but by inference both have no difficulties complying.
We have yet to read at least 1 BH operator who may have difficulty complying.
Maybe a non issue after all!

Cheers

Added on March 21, 2010, 11:23 am
QUOTE(benchai @ Mar 21 2010, 10:00 AM)

Uncle Ben,
I am eagerly awaiting what other sifus may have to say abt this practice.
Definitely controversial...nice topic.

This post has been edited by Cergau: Mar 21 2010, 11:23 AM
htc
post Mar 21 2010, 11:45 AM

110 posts

Anyone attending the International Birds Nest Expo 2010 in Guangzhou, CN held early September?

Tempting to visit (not as exhibitor) but to see plus learn from Indonesia/ Thai partners.

Ben, sorry to hear of the misfortune. keep up the great spirit!
ChanK
post Mar 21 2010, 12:23 PM

451 posts

Lastly,

Long Life Sanctuary Limited!. ( damn...my english so damn poor that it takes me so long to understand it is ONly mean For ` LIMITED' lah! ). period. peace.

hope the remaining discussions is not heading this way..... Good luck.

This post has been edited by ChanK: Mar 21 2010, 12:24 PM
benchai
post Mar 21 2010, 02:41 PM

167 posts

QUOTE(htc @ Mar 21 2010, 11:45 AM)
Anyone attending the International Birds Nest Expo 2010 in  Guangzhou, CN held early September?

Tempting to visit (not as exhibitor) but to see plus learn from Indonesia/ Thai partners.

Ben, sorry to hear of the misfortune. keep up the great spirit!
Why not form a group and go together and share our dreams and inspiration. Best thing have FUN. I will definatelly form a group from Sarawak and Sabah.

Please give us more infor and work on this.
padcosb
post Mar 21 2010, 03:36 PM

QUOTE(benchai @ Mar 21 2010, 02:41 PM)
Why not form a group and go together and share our dreams and inspiration. Best thing have FUN. I will definatelly form a group from Sarawak and Sabah.

Please give us more infor and work on this.
This is my first post here at this excellent forum. Thank you all for all the valid information that is posted here. I have learnt a lot from reading all the posts here but the more that I read makes me realise that the more I need to learn. Keep up the good work.

The 1st International Birds Nest Expo website is now live and all the up to date information can be viewed here 1st International Birds Nest Expo http://www.swallow-asia.com/home/. Richard Lim, the organiser, is a business colleague of mine and I expect to be attending the Expo and presenting at the Investors Seminars. I look forward to meeting up with our Malaysian and Sarawakian visitors there in September.
West Wing
post Mar 21 2010, 08:44 PM

1,397 posts

Today is the saddest day in my life and it si not because we have different opinions on matter concerning 1GP cos what I believe is only if we don't compromised, we will never have a GP that satisfied everyone but I am sad by the remarks made by Ben on the matter concerning of dead chicks and broken eggs are good for the increment of birds.

1. HK is a Muslim but for all Buddhist, I know that if we allow the thief to kill the chicks and destroyed the eggs, we are no better than the thief himself. HK speak the truth cos by killing the chicks and destroying the eggs, it may increase the birds in the BH temporary but it may shorten our life or are we destine to go to hell............by Buddha teaching if I am correct but I am not a expert in Buddha's teaching or Buddhism.

2. By not killing any chicks or eggs destroyed, I too, have huge increment of nests........ If the thieve come every 2 months, you will or you think that you are smarter and remove all nests in 45 days and leaving nothing for the thieves. How clever you are or you think that you are; in a few years time, you will slowly notice growth of your BH is not as efficient as your neighbor who harvest 3 times a year.
3. This is proven fact as my neighbor's removed all nests due to constant harassment by the thieves and now his 5th. years BH is about 1 K nests and my 3rd. years BH has over 2K nests. F**K so called HK if he think that he know all about swiftlets preservation and management.
4. We all know that by playing distress sound of chicks will bring in alot of curious swiftlets and so will that of rats. By virtual of of that, dying chicks and smell of broken eggs will also bring in swiftlets as in some animals. That's why many of what we get from swiftlets perfume are derived from it.
5. That's what I can offer for the time being as I believe many in the trade are now for the money only and care nothing for the swiftlets and if by killing a swiftlet will bring them cash, many here will.

HK! please remember that swiftlets are also birds of Allah and unlike goats and chicken, they are not for meant for dinner table and even goats, you must recite the verses.......

With that, I beg you all farewell and may all my wrongs be forgiven.
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 21 2010, 08:56 PM

60 posts

Hi Guys, was watching Astro yesterday, a food gormet programe by this Guy Choy Lan, with 2 pretty lass ao course ( i think it's his trademark). He touch on EBN (Hong Kong). It seems that EBN, processed retailing for 28+K HKD per kattie while according to him the best, which is from Southern Vietnam goes for 70+K HKD per kattie. It was mention about the build, size, purity and most important the smell. (Vietnam = no fishy smell)

Was supprise about the wide disparity! If this is true, the Vietnam should be a very good spot. Any expert on processed EBN would like to comment?

122 Pages « < 104 105 106 107 108 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.48    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 08:39 AM