V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion, Home of Fuciphagus Domesticus

SUSRaymondetc
post Jan 17 2010, 07:08 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 16 2010, 06:48 PM)
I am always thinking of building a BH, design by me in an agriculture land with no worry that it would be demolished by the authorities but then, the price of agriculture land here is too high as my friend just bought one 2 acres of 80 years Leased Hold agriculture land about 10KM from town for Rm260K..... and I surely won't buy at this price. What do my friend thinking, is he so confident that he will get his return within a few years!!!!!

So, my own designed BH will have to wait until I get a cheaper land and not too far away from town where I can manage. New bizs, do BH only if you have free land available but not to buy expensive land that you may regret later when you fail to get enough EBN to pay Ah Long........as many told you that only 30% of the BHs are successful but we do have better results here.
Hi Uncle WW, good day to you. I am a newbie and am interested to do BH@agriland. Was wondering if you are willng to take up any deciple? notworthy.gif I would like to be under your mastership (pai sifu). Then we can try out your wonderful design of your BH@agriland.

Also, am willing to work under your guidanceship for a couple of months for just meals & shelter.

Thank you for reading my 1st posting. It took me about 2 months to read from V1 to V2.

Regards
Raymond
SUSRaymondetc
post Jan 18 2010, 08:31 AM

60 posts

Check this out, http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...127&sec=central Sound levels that astound. Guess we can request for a review on the 40db rclxms.gif
SUSRaymondetc
post Jan 18 2010, 05:37 PM

60 posts

Thank you Uncle WW, i shall surely meet up with you one fine day. Just to fill up everyone on my present position. Had read thru' V1 & V2, Make Millions From Swiftlet Farming, Definate Guide by Dr. Christopher Lim. Am scouting for a piece of Agriculture Land, doesn't matter where, smile.gif willing to travel.

Planning to get a piece of land approximately 3 Acres, built a BH, stay @ ground floor, do some farming at the excess land, rear some pets blush.gif

Was visiting some land, northern part of Selangor, was passing thru some land, new lime (tree/bushes) plantation, saw about 20~25 swiftlets sourcing for food (insects). I stopped by for about 30 mins, i saw 2 types of swiftlets, 1 type is the grass type, flat tail, the other is the AF (double tail, dark brown). I remember reading that AF birds do Not mixed with other birds, but do they mix wih their same types? The ratio was about 12 (grass) to 8 (AF). Maybe i should do a test call?

Looking into building a test call unit, DIY type. Shall visit Jalan Pasar tomorrow. i reside very close to Pasar road (less than 8 km). Any suggestion on the test call kit? I guess i can buy a high powered car audio player, maybe that shall support memory card, some wires/cables, 2 tweeters and fix up as a portable unit. Any suggestion?

Regards
Raymond

Added on January 18, 2010, 5:49 pmhere is a pic, but i dun think you can see the swiflets, even though they are very near, the fly very fast.

Added on January 18, 2010, 6:03 pm
QUOTE(West Wing @ Jan 18 2010, 01:54 PM)
Someone with formula on it may wish to answer this as this problem has been with us for a long time as long as we are using the Taiwanese humidifiers and the humidity must be high and temperature warm...excellent for fungus growing, too.

As for me, nowaday, I use a steel brush to clean the plank which is not the best way but I don't know of any perfect method of cleaning fungus off the planks.

By the way, I don't know if the spores are harmful or not but then, I must have inhaled alot by now and I am still OK and the recent Med C is still good. Better safe than regret later so best if someone has a solution for it.

Maybe, we have new inventors here wishing to do research into this as there are money to be made here but it must be safe for the swiftlet and that the swiftlets must love the anti fungus solution......otherwise, I rather leave it as it is and lots of nests activities. My personal  opinion on the matter.
A very wild idea, anybody tried this in a BH b4? i used a similar unit in my room tongue.gif
http://www.sharp.com.my/images/56590-1614-AIRPURIFIER.pdf

Raymond

This post has been edited by Raymondetc: Jan 18 2010, 06:03 PM
SUSRaymondetc
post Jan 30 2010, 06:08 PM

60 posts

Hi Sifus,
Had identified 2 pieces of land in Selangor. Would like to go and do a test all. Can kindly give me one or 2 test sounds that i can try with. Greatly appreciate. Thank you in advance.
Regards
Raymond
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 1 2010, 09:16 PM

60 posts

Hi Ahcard, welcome. I'm new myself. Glad to meet you. Nice to have more newbies.

Hi all Sifu, icon_question.gif

Test Call, what is a successful test call? What is a good time to do a test call? I do not have access to the highest point (no road access), is it ok to do a test at mid height of the land? The land slope down (slight) from a hill. Shall try to get some pics.

The said land is on a small hill (hill top facing west), rectangular, slopping down towards East, ending with a pond and a small stream (end of the land running North to South). Land is planted with young rubber tress (maybe 1~2 yrs). Wondering when the tress grow tall, will it affect the BH?

Managed to download some test call sound, edited it to 20 mins, converted it to audio format and burnned onto a cd, @ $1.30 (spoiled 1, so = $2.60). Bought 2 tweeters @ $6.00 each, 5M cable @ $2.50 couple of crocodile clips $2.00. 2 capacitor @ $0.40. Did some soldering.
Total cost $29.90

Wish me luck
Cheers
Raymond

SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 2 2010, 11:54 PM

60 posts

doh.gif No luck. Less than 10 birds. Have to start looking for another land.
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 3 2010, 04:29 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(ahchard @ Feb 3 2010, 11:30 AM)
Raymondetc: 10 birds? how long were you there doing the testing?

In my opinion, a birdcall test that gets hundreds of birds is only possible in an area where there are already a lot of birdhouses... if you were testing in agricultural land where there were no BH's nearby I doubt you will get few hundred birds coming when you do the birdcall. I recently tested a birdcall at a piece of land which was in the flight path and also had paddy field and oil palm plantation so it was also their feeding ground... there would be small groups of birds flying past every few minutes. I did the birdcall but the birds would not all hover around above in the sky... they might circle a few times then fly off, then another few come and circle then fly off... so at any one time there were no more than 10 birds... but in the 1 hr period I was there it would have been about 50 to 100 birds flying past. I am not sure if I was playing duress or external sound as I got it from my friend... I also noticed that even without playing the sound the birds still flew past the land...
It was done in an agriculture land. Guess there isn't any BH around. Tested for about 30mins. Yes those birds came & go, twice, but each time only about 10 birds. Also not much activities around.....well , no luck this time (1st bird test call). No worries, this shall not keep me away or discourage me.

Cheers
Raymond

SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 3 2010, 08:01 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(1M'sia @ Feb 3 2010, 07:33 PM)
Test call should be done at different time of a day and over a few days if you want.  I came across testing with no birds but on the next day it was close to a hundred birds.  My view is that if you carry out at a hot noon time and there are birds around then the place should be all right to build a BH.  Even better if you test with pulling sound (not SOS) and the birds come.

If you want to check the distress sound you play, go to an area with lot of BHs and play and you will know the answer.

Just my half cent.
Hi 1Malaysia, so what are the "different times" that we should be testing? Also does the weather Hot/Cloudy/ immediately after rain affects the out come? How many times should we test the same land before we can 'write-off' as 'No-Bird'? On agriland, can we take 50 birds (per time) as a yard stick?

Thank you in advance.
Cheers
Raymond
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 8 2010, 10:29 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(hackwire @ Feb 7 2010, 08:36 PM)
yeah, been looking for the right seminar to go to. Saw the GEM website and the information is very scattered and not much information provided except for their title.
Hey we can go together and get a bulk/group discount. I'm planning to go for one too. We can also meet up during the seminar/course.

In the mean time, Happy Chinese New Year. May all of us live in peaceful harmony, be healthy & wealthy. Happy Chinese New Year.

SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 9 2010, 12:18 AM

60 posts

Hi Cergau,
just for discussing on the design of your BH,
i guess you can have some saving in construction cost if
1) reduce the ceiling height to say 12ft of 10ft?
2) run your staircase through the LAL hole, this shall save you one wall per floor (short side)
3) do away with the small observation room/lounge at the top floor
4) use corrugated zince roof (rather than concrete slap), but some shall say security issue, but since it's a stand alone, it's quite difficult to climb up to the roof. As a thief, i'll most probably enter by breaking the door, or asking the owner to open up(with force of course) tongue.gif
5) do a 2 storey rather than a 3 storey
6) do a double/tripper tier nesting plank (apartment style)
7) do a Dog Kennel entrance, most probably since it's in an agriculture land, double that as a roving area, this shall free up the "open roof" area so you can put up more nesting plan?

The above is just my personal opinion just for discussion as a newbie, who has never own a BH yet (hopefuly soon). Care to comment?
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 10 2010, 11:56 AM

60 posts

I also have a BH design very similar to yours.
My floor to floor will be 3.5 meter only.
The size is 6 meter by 20 meter,will be built on a shallow pond.
Hopefully can start by next month.

[/quote]
Hi Tweeter, your BH is very close to what i had in mind, except was thinking maybe 2 storey and Dog Kennel style (extended upward from the roving area, hence i 'save' back the roving area fr nesting). How mcuh did it cost you on the building? and equipment? Trying to work out my budget.

Say Tweeter, got opening ceremony/Kenduri or not? Invite us la...
SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 17 2010, 11:03 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(dunsuntutmybuntut @ Feb 17 2010, 05:34 PM)
Funny, mines a standalone on Agriland, but still kena jugak. What to do?

Guys, in V1 someone posted the GP022/Draf GP, but i found it different from the Draf Garispanduan Perusahaan Sarang Burung Layang-Layang (18pgs, supposedly from DVS) that i got. Now confused, which one is the real draft (will try to confirm on Saturday). The JKT (KPKT) guideline ada la (2005).

I'm getting very-very bad vibes about the 1GP... kalau ada sesiapa yang ada salinan of the real draft... please inform(to compare). I tamau post link unless it's the right draft... for discussion.

Bro WW, the government as you said, never listens... even though they hear us. I plan to make as much noise as i can.

Nesting cycle is near. All the best!
Hi Dusun, sorry to hear about the problem with BH@AgriLand@N9. Let us know if there is anything we can help. Am wondering if I'll have the same problem with BH@AgriLand@Sel ? As i've shortlisted a land for BH@AgriLand@Sel. Now i'll have to rethink my plan.

SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 20 2010, 08:37 PM

60 posts

Just on the distance clauses:
6.2 Jarak Bangunan
i. Mempunyai jarak 150m daripada mana-mana bangunan kediaman berdekatan
ii. Hendaklah tidak kurang dari 0.5km daripada kawasan perumahan dan bangunan komersial

To create a buffer zone of 150m, you'll need a land of no smaller than 6 acres.
6 acre = 24 281.138 534 square meter, assuming the land is square (which is almost impossible) = 155.824 X 155.824 m Still have not taken consideration on the BH dimension.

To have a buffer of 500m, you'll need a 23 acres land! If i remember correctly, under our land & mine code, certain industry/useage has higher priority. I'm sure Swiftlet farming is not on the top few priority. Don't be surprised that the BH is the one that is evicted when there is a conflict arised. in order to protect your investment, then you'll need to build a BH on Agriland bigger than 25 acres.

With the CF thing and some many licence involved, so many departments, the cost of doing business is just too high, more than i can afford sad.gif
Am holding my plan until the Guide line is done, then re-evalute. Maybe i was not meant to do Swiftlet Farming.

SUSRaymondetc
post Feb 24 2010, 02:08 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 24 2010, 02:24 PM)
As Chank posted was right cos if each of those owners and friends each contribute Rm50 to the fund, we shall have millions of ringgit to champion our rights and dreams.

I can be the first one to pay up but then where are the transparency and who shall be place incharge of the fund and to lead the crusade. So  many questions to discuss and solve.....................oh again, my personal opinion only,
Say, was thinking maybe we can start a Swiftlet Santuary Provider association @ V2. Collect some donation and mount a swiflet campain.?
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 7 2010, 02:00 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 6 2010, 10:46 PM)
How come 12' x 12' ? Accordding to your building width  it should be 12' x 22' right ? If I were u, I'll make it 15'x22'. Rule # 1, let the birds feels at home.

Both entrance holes are very BIG !!

If nearby BHs all using DK then follow them lor... but open roof is definitely license compliance in the future.
Hi Aeiou, "nesting room opening" hieght of the openning from floor, any prefference? Or should i rephrase, how high should the nesting room openning from the floor?. Do you think this affect the ease of bird entry?
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 8 2010, 10:15 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 8 2010, 01:31 AM)
LOL  do u seriously think he is going to have 3 entrance holes permanently ? I' sure he is smart enough to seal off the less frequently used one.
I think what aeiou is suggesting is that open 3 holes 1st, this is due to the 'wet work', construction of the bird house (rather than to hack off latter). Maybe by pointing a cctv, we can guage which is the fouvarite hole, seal off the 2 less used holes. Also i think we can devise an "adjustable hole" that can reduce in size (adjustable), once we find the optimum size, we can do it with bricks.

"I would count the distance of the opening from the ceiling rather than from the floor because BHs don't have standard height for instant Cergau's BH is 15' high. I would take 40cm from the nesting room ceiling to the top edge of the hole as a idea distance."

Yes, i guess taking from ceiling shall be more appropriate. Thanks Aeiou, these valueble knowledge shall go into my knowledge bank.

Due to the long hot spell lately, any ingeniouse ways to keep the BH cool?? I think this time it reach record HIGH, and most of the BH did not took this HIGH into consideration when building? Kindly comment. Thanks
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 8 2010, 06:57 PM

60 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Mar 8 2010, 05:50 PM)
Just found out that someone did patent methods of swifltets farming and maybe, someone may just patent BH designs and method and then all of us may need to pay for right to use the patents...mmmm

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/7661391.html
Seriously, can 'the Method" be patented? I know, a "Product" can be patented. If the method can be patented, then Chicken, Kambing, Kerbau & etc also need to pay royalty?

I'll quickly check if "prostituition (method)" had been patented, if not, i'll quickly apply for it. I'll be RICH, hahahah. All active V2. Swiftlet Keeping Discussion exempted from paying me royalty. Hahaha
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 16 2010, 10:04 AM

60 posts

Hey Guys, don't need to fred, even Kindergardens has new GP (after the hammering incident = SICK!). Need to employ Security Guards for Kindergardens (STAR).
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 20 2010, 09:36 AM

60 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Mar 19 2010, 09:11 PM)
All existing arowana farms in bukit merah will maintained and been directed to convert their agriculture lands into Tanah pertanian industri.

Hmmmh, do you think this Tanah pertanian industri is applicable / good / bad for the Swiflet Santuary Provider?
What does it mean 'Tanah pertanian industri ' is this a new 'term' ?

Of course the other topic is more intresting 'Sex Shop', hahaha. We (me & my wife :-) ) always make it a point to visit sex shop / meuseum when we go overseas, especialy in Europe. We are even bringing my son and his GF. You'll be 'surprise' how much fun & laugther it'll bring you as a family outing (not that we are the kinky type, hahaha). Also you'll be sock with ' wah, like that also can ahhh' drool.gif brows.gif hmm.gif yawn.gif
Sorry, out of topic, my enthusims overcame me rclxm9.gif

Going off next week for a break....
SUSRaymondetc
post Mar 21 2010, 08:56 PM

60 posts

Hi Guys, was watching Astro yesterday, a food gormet programe by this Guy Choy Lan, with 2 pretty lass ao course ( i think it's his trademark). He touch on EBN (Hong Kong). It seems that EBN, processed retailing for 28+K HKD per kattie while according to him the best, which is from Southern Vietnam goes for 70+K HKD per kattie. It was mention about the build, size, purity and most important the smell. (Vietnam = no fishy smell)

Was supprise about the wide disparity! If this is true, the Vietnam should be a very good spot. Any expert on processed EBN would like to comment?

0.0746sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:00 PM