Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

precursor80
post Dec 29 2008, 05:19 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 29 2008, 01:14 PM)
anyone can tell me how much would a room with preferred attached-toilet cost in tiong bahru area or nearby surrounding area (bukit merah, queenstown, etc.)?

anyone here staying around tiong bahru that has room vacancy or want to share out a whole unit??
I just rented a common room around tiong bahru for 700.
From my surveys, common room for bukit merah/queenstown/tiong bahru area are about the same and range from 500-1000.
Master room a bit more expensive but I have seen some going for 650.

Added on December 29, 2008, 5:29 pm
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 29 2008, 11:23 AM)
nope, it is NOT only driving. i lived in JB for 6+ years and their behaviour in JB (especially driving and shopping) is annoying. even within their country, i'll say they sux so bad too. lets talk about house rental policy, a lot of house owner limit water and air con usage but still charge u a lot ($100 for air con alone). then talk about work policy, customer pay u money then u diam diam and do the ass. singapore practice customer = god, worker = dog more than malaysia.

u see the MRT, when train arrive everyone go block the entrence, inside ppl have to push here push there to come out. ok la, this also happen in malaysia. but there are few time, i saw a father pushing his 3 or 4 years old kid into a LRT that full of ppl, without letting anyone inside to come out. i see the little girl so kesian kena squeeze n squeeze by the ppl coming otu and the father keep pushing and pushing. i also saw mother with baby pram (got baby inside) having her own good time "filling" and give us the "i got baby here okay, u SHOULD give me way" kind of look at the middle gap that suppose to let ppl come out since everyone is doing their best trying to squeeze into the train. i see all these thing i really get pissed of the parents, i would say they are A class educated ppl with failed mentality.
Heh. I lived in JB for 6+ years as well and the things that bother me there are the crime rate and singaporeans. tongue.gif
Perhaps the younger singaporeans are ok but most of them that I have meet are all high and mighty like they are a class above "lowly" malaysians. Also, they tend to break all sorts of laws in Malaysia (queue cutting, etc.).
Granted, Malaysians also break those same laws but I don't agree that they are well behaved. I don't think they are any better than us.

US and Canadians on the other hand are what I call considerate and well behaved people. There's one time when I was in a canadian car and we went to work early.
He parked very far from the entrance when there's still a lot of empty parking near the entrance.
When I asked him why, he answered that those coming in late needs the parking near to the entrance more than we do.
Now, that's what I call considerate. Singaporeans and Malaysians on the other hand are just plain selfish which is human nature.

I have also gone to see one room for rent a week ago. And the land lady is already renting a 10x10 common room to 6 person. The room I am looking at also have 6 beds in it so my guess is that she's renting it as a dorm until the previous tenants leave....

This post has been edited by precursor80: Dec 29 2008, 05:29 PM
siaolang
post Dec 29 2008, 06:18 PM

130 posts

Anybody here can enlighten me about the job market for actuarial science graduate in Singapore?

I'm a recent graduate in act sci and have been working in KL for a couple of months. Don't feel like staying in KL for long and I'm interested in looking for a job in Singapore.

But it seems that insurance company in Singapore don't post openings in jobsearch website such as jobstreet.com or jobsdb.com for actuarial-related job. (esp entry level job)

Anyone knows about this particular industry and can share some information with me?

Thank you.
yagmai
post Dec 29 2008, 08:59 PM

57 posts

QUOTE(siaolang @ Dec 29 2008, 06:18 PM)
Anybody here can enlighten me about the job market for actuarial science graduate in Singapore?

I'm a recent graduate in act sci and have been working in KL for a couple of months.  Don't feel like staying in KL for long and I'm interested in looking for a job in Singapore. 

But it seems that insurance company in Singapore don't post openings in jobsearch website such as jobstreet.com or jobsdb.com for actuarial-related job.  (esp entry level job) 

Anyone knows about this particular industry and can share some information with me?

Thank you.
the coy in sg will normally absorb grad from NUS/NTU through campus recruitment because those specialising in act sci are actually top grad in their cohort.
Given economic downturn, I believe the job opening for act sci will be lower
khaishin
post Dec 29 2008, 09:26 PM

happyQ
613 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 29 2008, 11:23 AM)
nope, it is NOT only driving. i lived in JB for 6+ years and their behaviour in JB (especially driving and shopping) is annoying. even within their country, i'll say they sux so bad too. lets talk about house rental policy, a lot of house owner limit water and air con usage but still charge u a lot ($100 for air con alone). then talk about work policy, customer pay u money then u diam diam and do the ass. singapore practice customer = god, worker = dog more than malaysia.

u see the MRT, when train arrive everyone go block the entrence, inside ppl have to push here push there to come out. ok la, this also happen in malaysia. but there are few time, i saw a father pushing his 3 or 4 years old kid into a LRT that full of ppl, without letting anyone inside to come out. i see the little girl so kesian kena squeeze n squeeze by the ppl coming otu and the father keep pushing and pushing. i also saw mother with baby pram (got baby inside) having her own good time "filling" and give us the "i got baby here okay, u SHOULD give me way" kind of look at the middle gap that suppose to let ppl come out since everyone is doing their best trying to squeeze into the train. i see all these thing i really get pissed of the parents, i would say they are A class educated ppl with failed mentality.
I do not meet above scenario but I found that none of them will smile to you.
It is a different scenario in Malaysia.
People in LRT would smile to you and you will certainly smile to them.
But in Singapore, there is no one would smile to you.
If there is a people smile to you, I could say, he/she must be a foreigner(due to my personal experience)
If you smile to others in MRT, i think they cant react as they won't smile to strangers.
Prefer Malaysian in this case .
Malaysian are more cordial . biggrin.gif
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 29 2008, 09:38 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

well, each country have its pros n cons... even in western countries they are friendly.. but if u r really in deep shit they wont help u..

i still find sg is still better... but among all the countries i have been... alaska is the best.. they say if u enter walmart n some1 ask u whether u need help and the person doesnt work for walmart, then u r in alaska

in sg not too bad, especially those old aunties that work as cashier.. young ones are also not too bad. i guess most snoobish ppl u see there are actually msians, because they think they are now in singapore and wanna act big.
wingmee
post Dec 30 2008, 02:51 AM

22 posts

hi all,

i m moving to singapore next month, 2 questions need help:

1) do we need to pay headhunter if we get a job through them? if yes, how many percent?

2) do we need to pay commision to house agent if we rent a room or a house through them? if yes, hw much? in malaysia usually oni house owners pay commision right? but seems like this doesn't apply in sg....

Added on December 30, 2008, 2:55 am3) i m going to taxed at 15% flat rate even my salary is oni 2200sgd?

This post has been edited by wingmee: Dec 30 2008, 02:55 AM
otisdog
post Dec 30 2008, 03:56 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(wingmee @ Dec 30 2008, 02:51 AM)
hi all,

1) do we need to pay headhunter if we get a job through them? if yes, how many percent?

2) do we need to pay commision to house agent if we rent a room or a house through them? if yes, hw much? in malaysia usually oni house owners pay commision right? but seems like this doesn't apply in sg....

Added on December 30, 2008, 2:55 am3) i m going to taxed at 15% flat rate even my salary is oni 2200sgd?
I thought only the CPF is 15%?
crapp0
post Dec 30 2008, 08:13 AM

4,414 posts

hi all,

If i not mistaken, if you salary is more then 22000 a year then you get taxed. So those who earn more then 1800 a month gets taxed.

Head hunter fee is based on head hunter. Dont think there is a median percentage.

Of course you gotta pay house agent fee if u go through house agent. Better if you could go direct to house owner but that takes time and effort. Or you can bum with a fren.

Pay commission to house owner? Isnt the rental agreement payment enough?
Chrisky
post Dec 30 2008, 10:09 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

most of the job agency i encounter here doesn't charge any fee, but they need u to sign some agreement that say u cant quit the job for a certain period like 3 months if they found 1 for u n u accept it. if u break that agreement u gonna pay an amount of penalty to them.

also heard b4 that got some headhunters will take ur 1st month salary (in FULL !), not too sure true or not though.

kreyleaf
post Dec 30 2008, 10:19 AM

88 posts

wa wa wa..jus found this thread...
i m also working in singapore at harbour front!! laugh.gif
but i m not staying in sg...i m staying in gelang patah..
everyday go to work by bus via 2nd link..~
630 am everyday..~wake up at 530am...huwaaa!! rclxub.gif
topmankl
post Dec 30 2008, 10:37 AM

31 posts

Hi all,

Is the IT industry in Singapore hit hard by the current crisis? What are the chances of getting a programmer job for a TARC degree holder, 1 yr experience with average skill set in .NET?

How many here in IT got their job by travelling down to SG for interview, instead of staying in SG and search for job?
unrealweapon
post Dec 30 2008, 10:49 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(topmankl @ Dec 30 2008, 10:37 AM)
Hi all,

Is the IT industry in Singapore hit hard by the current crisis? What are the chances of getting a programmer job for a TARC degree holder, 1 yr experience with average skill set in .NET?

How many here in IT got their job by travelling down to SG for interview, instead of staying in SG and search for job?
i am on the same boat as you, from the same colleage and i want to know the answer too!!.. however i am nearly 2 years in programming field in Malaysia
kreyleaf
post Dec 30 2008, 11:21 AM

88 posts

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Dec 30 2008, 10:49 AM)
i am on the same boat as you, from the same colleage and i want to know the answer too!!.. however i am nearly 2 years in programming field in Malaysia
no..dun come here for work...u ll contribute to another traffic jammed in the morning...stay in malaysia..better~
unrealweapon
post Dec 30 2008, 11:42 AM

it's painful.
865 posts

QUOTE(kreyleaf @ Dec 30 2008, 11:21 AM)
no..dun come here for work...u ll contribute to another traffic jammed in the morning...stay in malaysia..better~
by taking MRT will coz traffic jam? Kewl biggrin.gif
jason991
post Dec 30 2008, 11:47 AM

is all about the money, money, money
1,189 posts

er...is it easy to find job(sell computer stuff or clothe) at sg?
u know economic crisis...if yes i also wanna go ther work...^^
got relative stay there....
Guai Guai Zai
post Dec 30 2008, 12:33 PM

623 posts

hi all,

I wrote a simple tax calculator to calculate singapore tax, free to use it http://tax.chenhow.net/
rayray
post Dec 30 2008, 01:31 PM

949 posts

Im going to be a fresh grad and plan to go singapore work. is it hard to find job?whats the pay for a first class business student with some sales experience?
ztliew
post Dec 30 2008, 02:46 PM

QUOTE(yagmai @ Dec 29 2008, 03:36 PM)
Do u know any Malaysian who is Sg PR and had already served sg NS?
Can they renounce Sg PR and apply job in sg using work permit?
Hmm...can i know the logic behind this qn?

If already served SG NS for 2~3 yrs and got the PR, why the need to go through the trouble to renounce PR and apply job via work permit instead.... sweat.gif

Unless you are trying to avoid contributing CPF which is a short term gain but a long term loss in my view tongue.gif
bbmars
post Dec 30 2008, 03:13 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 29 2008, 09:38 PM)
well, each country have its pros n cons... even in western countries they are friendly.. but if u r really in deep shit they wont help u..

i still find sg is still better... but among all the countries i have been... alaska is the best.. they say if u enter walmart n some1 ask u whether u need help and the person doesnt work for walmart, then u r in alaska

in sg not too bad, especially those old aunties that work as cashier.. young ones are also not too bad. i guess most snoobish ppl u see there are actually msians, because they think they are now in singapore and wanna act big.
Agreed, as singaporeans, there are all sorts of people here. You may think they are singaporeans, but some are actually not. My personal experience, apart from such experience with locals, foriegners too contributed to such incidents. Not sure who you met, but I can tell the different when they act especially among the indians. Local and foriegn indians behave differently. Experience this too while studying in UK. so went I came back, kind of realise this too happening in SG. I can say this, but I think SG Gov is also not focusing on some of the problems of these foriegners. just an example, allowing cyclists on pathment... .whatever advertisement and awareness they talk about, but fail to realise that many of these cyclists are actually chinese nationals who hack about whatever rules.. most are not aware, jsut go about their way.

So not surprising, you find such behaviour in the MRT. Not surprising, it was reported too, many appeared to be not interested as most would simply mind their own business, but given circumstances, they will react. Maybe, you have not met some who will grin back at you when you smile at them? Why I say so? beause I am one such person and will also reciprocate, be it foriegners or locals.

Perhaps, I too face the similiar thing here whenver I am in KL on LRT, no one seems interested to smile back at me, rather give me a strange look (just this Dec on LRT to BB area), much worse, all stared at me when saw me with my trolley bag and no one moved inside the train, everyone crowd around the door. To make matter worse, the seats are actually located directly in front to the door way, how you expect people to move in when someone else stand right in front? Experience this 3x, only people that spoke to me were 3 Australians and 2 britishs, 3 otheres asked around for information, but ended up talking to me. At last, found out that 2 from HK and the leader of them, a Singaporean.

Does it bother me? I don't think so, its the way of life there, and we see what its like, you expect things to change overnight? no way... SG is still not there yet, although there are many champaige trying to make a more gracious scoiety and things are changing, but there are always such people around no matter what, same UK, same in SG. recently experience, a cyclist riding past me just threw out whatever in his mouth without looking, amost hit me.... how disgusting, mind you, an uncle did this.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Dec 30 2008, 03:32 PM
nicvoo
post Dec 30 2008, 05:51 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

the younger generation r ok, but still there r those lala kid even grown man swtich thier hp on n blast music no matter wat indian chinese malay then they start singing walau this is all bcos of tat dumb tv show wat primary/secondary school super star so everyone think they r singers
its damn irritating dumb buggers should b pushed off the train

older generation ppl sum r damn aggresive if u read the new paper a few days ago there was this old guy who refuse to place his stuff on the floor for another senior citizen to sit even scolded the bus driver back

i personally saw an old guy at woodlands trying to cut bus queue n the guy didnt let him u know wat the old bugger say to the guy "hei b* i'm old already u should let old ppl through dont block here block there" in hokkien walau unbelieveable

130 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:47 AM