Hope the working environment there is as good as where I am currently at.
Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
Nov 21 2008, 03:23 PM
260 posts Joined: Feb 2007 From: Kuantan-Penang-Singapore |
Moving to Singapore in January.
Hope the working environment there is as good as where I am currently at. |
Nov 22 2008, 03:30 AM
QUOTE(jasperng @ Nov 22 2008, 01:01 AM) hey , .. im wondering what are available electronic or electrical companies in sg ? ... im referring to those which are well-known. well i only know there is national semicon. .. There are Japanese MNCs hiring Electrical Engineers (e.g: Panasonic, NEC, etc.)hows the demand of e n e engineer in sg anyway ? .. planning to find job in sg mid of next year. US MNCs (Motorola, HP, Spansion, etc.) European MNCs (Siemens, Continental, etc.) You really need to search for yourself on the Job portals. |
Dec 24 2008, 05:46 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 24 2008, 04:14 PM) tolls? traffic jams? Oh wait.... Personally, I know I am going to miss the hawker stalls up north. Down south (Johor onwards), the hawker food taste bland. Having said that, going to miss driving too. A bit hard to get used to walking and waiting for bus/MRT. But I guess it's an improvement to waiting for the jam to clear. This post has been edited by precursor80: Dec 24 2008, 05:53 PM |
Dec 24 2008, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 24 2008, 05:56 PM) Food & overall human behaviour. singaporean kiasi and kiasuness really pissed me off (my singaporean friend admit the kiasi and kiasuness within most singaporean). And i really doubt the food stall's cooking skills, bloody sucks. but if u talk about hotel food and varieties, singapore win. Kiasi and kiasu I can still tolerate. After all it's human nature except Singaporeans bring that to the extreme.What I really hate about Singaporeans (I am generalizing/stereotyping here so dun start shooting me if your fren is not like that) is their elitist attitude. They tend to think they are above Malaysians. |
Dec 28 2008, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 26 2008, 12:05 AM) ppl always say singaporean kiasi & kiasu, but Malaysians not better off i think. I still think singaporeans are more considerate and better-mannered. I'm malaysian btw. but singapore's hawker food.. aih.. very sad. I have to disagree about the considerate and better-mannered part. Have you seen how Singaporeans act once they cross the causeway/2nd link? They are only "considerate and well mannered" inside their own country. Guess they need to release tension/stress as well. |
Dec 29 2008, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 28 2008, 10:35 PM) Yea true. But thats only driving, you cant judge them solely on driving ethics. Usually they speed since their counrty got no place can drive fast. Me i become slowpoke drive at around 90-100km on highway since i only waste fuel trying to go fast. Plus i can relax and hear diana krall at lower speeds much better since doesnt have intrusive sound you get when you speed. Well. I wasn't just talking about driving. I mean general behaviour.Did you notice that Singaporeans start littering once they are in Bolehland? They don't do it in kiasi/kiasuland coz of the enforcement. Granted, they could be PRs (i.e: Malaysians) but all of them can't be PRs. Added on December 29, 2008, 10:17 am QUOTE(yagmai @ Dec 29 2008, 01:58 AM) I read from news that Malaysia has not been hit by the economic crisis. Is this true? Let me see, you get the news about Malaysia from a certain economy degree holder that happens to be a minister, right? In Singapore, the job advertisements on the newspapers are getting thinner. If anything, the recovery rate of Malaysia will be slower than Singapore. This post has been edited by precursor80: Dec 29 2008, 10:19 AM |
Dec 29 2008, 05:19 PM
QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 29 2008, 01:14 PM) anyone can tell me how much would a room with preferred attached-toilet cost in tiong bahru area or nearby surrounding area (bukit merah, queenstown, etc.)? I just rented a common room around tiong bahru for 700.anyone here staying around tiong bahru that has room vacancy or want to share out a whole unit?? From my surveys, common room for bukit merah/queenstown/tiong bahru area are about the same and range from 500-1000. Master room a bit more expensive but I have seen some going for 650. Added on December 29, 2008, 5:29 pm QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 29 2008, 11:23 AM) nope, it is NOT only driving. i lived in JB for 6+ years and their behaviour in JB (especially driving and shopping) is annoying. even within their country, i'll say they sux so bad too. lets talk about house rental policy, a lot of house owner limit water and air con usage but still charge u a lot ($100 for air con alone). then talk about work policy, customer pay u money then u diam diam and do the ass. singapore practice customer = god, worker = dog more than malaysia. Heh. I lived in JB for 6+ years as well and the things that bother me there are the crime rate and singaporeans. u see the MRT, when train arrive everyone go block the entrence, inside ppl have to push here push there to come out. ok la, this also happen in malaysia. but there are few time, i saw a father pushing his 3 or 4 years old kid into a LRT that full of ppl, without letting anyone inside to come out. i see the little girl so kesian kena squeeze n squeeze by the ppl coming otu and the father keep pushing and pushing. i also saw mother with baby pram (got baby inside) having her own good time "filling" and give us the "i got baby here okay, u SHOULD give me way" kind of look at the middle gap that suppose to let ppl come out since everyone is doing their best trying to squeeze into the train. i see all these thing i really get pissed of the parents, i would say they are A class educated ppl with failed mentality. Perhaps the younger singaporeans are ok but most of them that I have meet are all high and mighty like they are a class above "lowly" malaysians. Also, they tend to break all sorts of laws in Malaysia (queue cutting, etc.). Granted, Malaysians also break those same laws but I don't agree that they are well behaved. I don't think they are any better than us. US and Canadians on the other hand are what I call considerate and well behaved people. There's one time when I was in a canadian car and we went to work early. He parked very far from the entrance when there's still a lot of empty parking near the entrance. When I asked him why, he answered that those coming in late needs the parking near to the entrance more than we do. Now, that's what I call considerate. Singaporeans and Malaysians on the other hand are just plain selfish which is human nature. I have also gone to see one room for rent a week ago. And the land lady is already renting a 10x10 common room to 6 person. The room I am looking at also have 6 beds in it so my guess is that she's renting it as a dorm until the previous tenants leave.... This post has been edited by precursor80: Dec 29 2008, 05:29 PM |
Jan 21 2009, 03:47 PM
Jan 21 2009, 05:52 PM
To those that are unaware, KTM now stops at Danga City Mall (formerly known as Best World) for SGD3 or RM3 one way depending on the direction.
More info below. Unfortunately no advance booking and limited trips. http://www.limsimi.com/tag/ktm/ This post has been edited by precursor80: Jan 21 2009, 05:54 PM |
Jan 22 2009, 02:45 PM
Express buses should be using second link right?
So hopefully the jam more bearable than the causeway. |
Feb 3 2009, 02:01 PM
That's new to me. Applying for PR for fashion n being in the "in" club.
Feb 10 2009, 05:05 PM
Feb 23 2009, 11:41 AM
Folks. Be extra vigilant.
I just got my bag stolen last Thursday with my Passport + EP at Bugis Village. Now, have to go thru the hassle of getting a new passport n EP. Speaking of which. Do anyone knows process for getting a new passport and whether it will take a long time? I have reported to Malaysia High Commissioner and get a temporary passport issued but will need to go back Malaysia to apply for Int Passport. Am scared it's will take very long... I still need to work after all. |
Feb 23 2009, 12:51 PM
QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Feb 23 2009, 12:15 PM) last time i forgot to remove the passport from my pants and end up tears by the washing machine. it took me 1 month for the new passport after the interview session with the immgration officer. the new passport cost me the same but it only valid for 1 year! Are you stuck in Malaysia while waiting for the new passport to be issued?That's what worrying me the most right now. |
Feb 23 2009, 04:55 PM
Emergency certificate:
http://www.imi.gov.my/eng/perkhidmatan/im_SijilPerakuan.asp Right now, I am issued with this with it marked as "Valid for multiple journeys" but also at the same time it states document must be surrendered to immigration at place of arrival... As of now, I am going to have to assume worse case the immigration is going to take it back once I go back Malaysia. So, in the event I go back to Malaysia to apply for a replacement passport and it's going to take a while, does anyone know if I can apply for this emergency certificate once again to travel back n fro Singapore-Malaysia? |
Mar 12 2009, 11:28 AM
Mar 13 2009, 08:51 PM
QUOTE(seantang @ Mar 12 2009, 09:52 PM) The GBP has depreciated against most other currencies. Like the AUD and NZD, everyone including the MYR is stronger against them. And the mini-budget actually encourage people to be in debt.... What's up with that!!! Getting RM5k discount on Proton but then get yourself in RM50k debt on an depreciating asset....So it's not a case of the MYR being strong, but rather the GBP is weak. QUOTE(shakes86) well i think is a favourable thing if ur in msia if u wanted to exchange RM to Sg if ur da other way round mayb not so lor. That statement doesn't make any sense. You can't have it good one way, and not good the other way. Otherwise, there are arbitrage opportunities.The MYR-SGD exchange rate has been around 2.35-2.45 for the last 6 months, indicating that the Singapore and Malaysian economies are moving in tandem vs the other countries, represented by their currencies eg. USD, GBP, Euro, JPY which have been fluctuating strongly due to their status as major currencies. In terms of dependence on international trade (% GDP in exports), Singapore is 2nd, Malaysia is 3rd in Asia. In terms of dependence on foreign investment, Singapore and Malaysia are very similar ie. extreme dependence. In terms of local demand and the size of the domestic economy, both Singapore and Malaysia are equally hopeless. What's the difference though is that Singapore is positioning itself to face a -10% GDP contraction in 2009, but Malaysia is still deluding itself with -1% (only a couple of weeks ago, still +3.5%) and Najib is still saying that the RM60B mini budget will prevent Malaysia from going into recession. Prevent??! Malaysia is already in a deep recession. Besides RM60B is less than a quarter of sales of one Fortune 50 MNC. Is that enough to 'prevent' a global export-led recession from affecting Malaysia? All this wayang kulit makes Malaysia very vulnerable to a sudden contraction or being caught off guard by larger than expected recessionary pressures. That's because our expectations are still very unrealistic. It'll be like waking up from sleep and realising that your bed is on fire. The amount of job losses in Penang is worrying as well. Lots of people I know affected either thru pay cut, shut down or VSS.... And the mini-budget doesn't even attempt to attract more FDI unlike the steps Singapore government is taking to encourage FDI in view of the recession. And don't get me started on what I really feel about the mini-budget defended so ferociously by the PM in waiting. |
Mar 25 2009, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(chess_gal @ Mar 25 2009, 11:46 AM) does it really matters? cause i just applied mine last week. It's not just a tenant, landlord thing. And it's not confined to Singapore.I am all in for a gathering! preferably a makan session so that if i cant talk, i can still eat Added on March 25, 2009, 11:57 am You r now a tenant, wait until you become a landlord then you will understand. Plus, dun you get annoyed if another housemate of urs keep using the washing machine everyday? I definately will, plus the drying area is so small for a HDB flat and you just have to be more reasonable with your usage so others can also utilise the washing machine & drying area. As long as you're living with people who are not your family or friends, be considerate coz they are not as forgiving/understanding to your "habits". Heck, even family and friends cannot accept certain things. This is actually the first time my rental includes PUB not to mention first time living with landlord... Back in Malaysia, it's always shared between tenants for me. But in general, the landlords here tend to be more calculative than landlords in Malaysia from my experience. |
Mar 27 2009, 01:15 PM
QUOTE(Txi @ Mar 27 2009, 06:24 AM) if you want cheap short term accom , try some of the boarding schools off term time. Please. No more trolling.Not a crime for tenants to rip out fittings and lights ? what BS , or shall I say diarrhea. NO tenant has any right to take fittings etc unless you specifically allow him . The state of the place / and deposit is irrelevant in the 1st instance . You can INSIST to make the report if you really want . @ seantong - where do you work ? cause you sure don't sound like a lawyer. If you have some beef with seantang or want to make personal attacks, go challenge him to a duel or something in another thread (though my guess is no one will be entertaining you). This thread is about working life in SG and for people to find information on life in SG. If you want to complain about SG gov, bolehland, be my guest but create a new thread. It's sick when every time there's an update, I see the same person on a rant about why someone should do this do that. If I want to listen to rants, I know where to go, thank you very much. Now go away unless you have helpful information. (Yes, I know I am feeding the troll but consider this a final warning before I resort to reporting) This post has been edited by precursor80: Mar 27 2009, 01:18 PM |
Apr 9 2009, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Apr 8 2009, 08:20 PM) I frankly speaking can feel it is really PHYSICAL and MENTAL torture. I once came back from Penang and reach JB kastam at around 5:30AM, oh my gosh, it is jam like crazy. I pity those people. Somemore stress when they are waiting for the bus but fail to arrive yet. Yes. I was shocked too when I saw the kastam packed so early.Students, workers, etc. Tough life waking up so early n travel only to repeat it the next day.... |
| Change to: | 0.0517sec
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 01:58 PM |