Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

hkhk
post Dec 28 2008, 05:58 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Dec 28 2008, 02:16 PM)
i heard that after u convert it into the SG license, ur MY 1 cannot be renewed after it expired.
Ya.. It's stated on the extract application form. There is some agen at the JPJ saying that they can make both SG & MY license alive. They say once converted, if we accident in MY with SG license, the insurances won cover. But I think they are just bluffing.

ku_maria
post Dec 28 2008, 08:39 PM

56 posts

Good info here. Might move to Singapore next year and this thread really helpful. icon_rolleyes.gif
yehlai
post Dec 28 2008, 08:40 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

any who working in Singapore get retrenched?
precursor80
post Dec 28 2008, 09:51 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 26 2008, 12:05 AM)
ppl always say singaporean kiasi & kiasu, but Malaysians not better off i think. I still think singaporeans are more considerate and better-mannered. I'm malaysian btw. but singapore's hawker food.. aih.. very sad.
I have to disagree about the considerate and better-mannered part. Have you seen how Singaporeans act once they cross the causeway/2nd link? tongue.gif
They are only "considerate and well mannered" inside their own country. Guess they need to release tension/stress as well. biggrin.gif
otisdog
post Dec 28 2008, 10:33 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ Dec 28 2008, 02:16 PM)
i heard that after u convert it into the SG license, ur MY 1 cannot be renewed after it expired.
Can buy and drive in MAlaysia or not? Any limitations?
crapp0
post Dec 28 2008, 10:35 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Dec 28 2008, 09:51 PM)
I have to disagree about the considerate and better-mannered part. Have you seen how Singaporeans act once they cross the causeway/2nd link? tongue.gif
They are only "considerate and well mannered" inside their own country. Guess they need to release tension/stress as well. biggrin.gif
Yea true. But thats only driving, you cant judge them solely on driving ethics. Usually they speed since their counrty got no place can drive fast. Me i become slowpoke drive at around 90-100km on highway since i only waste fuel trying to go fast. Plus i can relax and hear diana krall at lower speeds much better since doesnt have intrusive sound you get when you speed.
yagmai
post Dec 29 2008, 01:58 AM

57 posts

I read from news that Malaysia has not been hit by the economic crisis. Is this true?

In Singapore, the job advertisements on the newspapers are getting thinner.
crapp0
post Dec 29 2008, 08:50 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(yagmai @ Dec 29 2008, 01:58 AM)
I read from news that Malaysia has not been hit by the economic crisis. Is this true?

The 2nd part is true. Singapore saturday newspaper usually very thick with job advertisement but now shrunk to about 1/4 its original size. Bad times ahead for singapore.

Malaysia is actually in a worse position since its political problem is taking priority over economic problem. BN more interested in retaining their power rather then thinking of ways to improve competitiveness.

Let me guess, you heard the news about malaysia economy not hit by crisis from a malaysian minister right? They always tell lies to mask bad stuff. Just check this thread penang kena alot of job loss, sarawak also kena. Soon you will kena as well.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 29 2008, 09:50 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

malaysia is worse, in singapore at least if they lose jobs, they will let go of foreigners first and the locals will take over. in msia there's no buffer. the retail sector is singapore is doing very well, because gov is giving the people $$$ from their reserves.

Chrisky
post Dec 29 2008, 09:51 AM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Dec 28 2008, 05:58 PM)
Ya.. It's stated on the extract application form. There is some agen at the JPJ saying that they can make both SG & MY license alive. They say once converted, if we accident in MY with SG license, the insurances won cover. But I think they are just bluffing.
lol ok, myab they not bluffing, i guess thats what my fren told me, u can chia them drink kopi to do so. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(otisdog @ Dec 28 2008, 10:33 PM)
Can buy and drive in MAlaysia or not? Any limitations?
u mean the SG license ? as far as i know, SG license can drive MY cars, but i dont know abt buying.

MY license, on the other hands, cant drive SG cars. doh.gif
precursor80
post Dec 29 2008, 10:14 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 28 2008, 10:35 PM)
Yea true. But thats only driving, you cant judge them solely on driving ethics. Usually they speed since their counrty got no place can drive fast. Me i become slowpoke drive at around 90-100km on highway since i only waste fuel trying to go fast. Plus i can relax and hear diana krall at lower speeds much better since doesnt have intrusive sound you get when you speed.
Well. I wasn't just talking about driving. I mean general behaviour.
Did you notice that Singaporeans start littering once they are in Bolehland? They don't do it in kiasi/kiasuland coz of the enforcement.
Granted, they could be PRs (i.e: Malaysians) but all of them can't be PRs.

Added on December 29, 2008, 10:17 am

Let me see, you get the news about Malaysia from a certain economy degree holder that happens to be a minister, right? tongue.gif
If anything, the recovery rate of Malaysia will be slower than Singapore.

This post has been edited by precursor80: Dec 29 2008, 10:19 AM
crapp0
post Dec 29 2008, 10:49 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(precursor80 @ Dec 29 2008, 10:14 AM)
Well. I wasn't just talking about driving. I mean general behaviour.
Did you notice that Singaporeans start littering once they are in Bolehland? They don't do it in kiasi/kiasuland coz of the enforcement.
Granted, they could be PRs (i.e: Malaysians) but all of them can't be PRs.

Added on December 29, 2008, 10:17 am

Let me see, you get the news about Malaysia from a certain economy degree holder that happens to be a minister, right? tongue.gif
If anything, the recovery rate of Malaysia will be slower than Singapore.
General behavior they still better then some met rempit. Give me a singaporean any day over a mat rempit. Usually they will speed here but other then that i still see they try not to litter.

Last time my dad used to host moutain bike expedition and quite a few singaporeans came over and they didnt litter while biking in the woods.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 29 2008, 10:59 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

agree... in general they are still more well behave.. the only ppl i see that cause trouble are immigrants that litters and also those that mod cars driving like maniac.
B-Mecha
post Dec 29 2008, 11:23 AM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 28 2008, 10:35 PM)
nope, it is NOT only driving. i lived in JB for 6+ years and their behaviour in JB (especially driving and shopping) is annoying. even within their country, i'll say they sux so bad too. lets talk about house rental policy, a lot of house owner limit water and air con usage but still charge u a lot ($100 for air con alone). then talk about work policy, customer pay u money then u diam diam and do the ass. singapore practice customer = god, worker = dog more than malaysia.

u see the MRT, when train arrive everyone go block the entrence, inside ppl have to push here push there to come out. ok la, this also happen in malaysia. but there are few time, i saw a father pushing his 3 or 4 years old kid into a LRT that full of ppl, without letting anyone inside to come out. i see the little girl so kesian kena squeeze n squeeze by the ppl coming otu and the father keep pushing and pushing. i also saw mother with baby pram (got baby inside) having her own good time "filling" and give us the "i got baby here okay, u SHOULD give me way" kind of look at the middle gap that suppose to let ppl come out since everyone is doing their best trying to squeeze into the train. i see all these thing i really get pissed of the parents, i would say they are A class educated ppl with failed mentality.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 29 2008, 11:47 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

dont say in msia lar.. they could b msians driving sg cars. customer always god mar =.="

yea.. must agree on that part... mrt a bit suey... too many ppl..
JuNz-V
post Dec 29 2008, 01:14 PM

Talk to the Stars!!
2,085 posts

anyone can tell me how much would a room with preferred attached-toilet cost in tiong bahru area or nearby surrounding area (bukit merah, queenstown, etc.)?

anyone here staying around tiong bahru that has room vacancy or want to share out a whole unit??

This post has been edited by JuNz-V: Dec 29 2008, 01:21 PM
crapp0
post Dec 29 2008, 01:28 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 29 2008, 01:14 PM)
anyone can tell me how much would a room with preferred attached-toilet cost in tiong bahru area or nearby surrounding area (bukit merah, queenstown, etc.)?

anyone here staying around tiong bahru that has room vacancy or want to share out a whole unit??
Ohh Tiong Bahru too far for me. I looking for a new place, hopefully near bishan around coming February or March.
nicvoo
post Dec 29 2008, 01:29 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

room wif attached toilet = master bedroom
already cost about 600-800
tiong bharu summore which is near the city popular area or Highly accessable area can go town near near can go jurong near near also (by car of coz but mrt also can la)
so it wont b cheap 1k also possible to hit since its in a popluar area n u wana room wif toilet summore
B-Mecha
post Dec 29 2008, 02:35 PM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Dec 29 2008, 01:14 PM)

1k or above. if cheaper than 1k... u better check the conditions / other tenant / discuss the policy first before sign anything / give the deposit. one kind advise, do not give any money before signing the contract and if you go through agent, make sure ur agent is alert with the deal just in case something wrong happen in between the process.
yagmai
post Dec 29 2008, 02:36 PM

57 posts

Do u know any Malaysian who is Sg PR and had already served sg NS?
Can they renounce Sg PR and apply job in sg using work permit?

130 Pages « < 55 56 57 58 59 > » Top

0.0278sec    1.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:05 AM