Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

washabushi
post Dec 24 2008, 04:24 PM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

got pro n cons la...
if lets say u think not worth it then dont come...
easy...
i believe many malaysian out there wanted the exchange 2.4
precursor80
post Dec 24 2008, 05:46 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 24 2008, 04:14 PM)
Whats there at kl which is better then singapore?

mamak and CC?
tolls? traffic jams? Oh wait.... tongue.gif
Personally, I know I am going to miss the hawker stalls up north. Down south (Johor onwards), the hawker food taste bland.

Having said that, going to miss driving too. A bit hard to get used to walking and waiting for bus/MRT. But I guess it's an improvement to waiting for the jam to clear. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by precursor80: Dec 24 2008, 05:53 PM
hazairi
post Dec 24 2008, 05:51 PM

2,694 posts

If given the chance, i would love to work in Singapore..
The environment is very clean and healthy!
B-Mecha
post Dec 24 2008, 05:56 PM

Mecha collector & Multimedia Designer
1,080 posts

QUOTE(crapp0 @ Dec 24 2008, 04:14 PM)
Whats there at kl which is better then singapore?

mamak and CC?
Food & overall human behaviour. singaporean kiasi and kiasuness really pissed me off (my singaporean friend admit the kiasi and kiasuness within most singaporean). And i really doubt the food stall's cooking skills, bloody sucks. but if u talk about hotel food and varieties, singapore win.
precursor80
post Dec 24 2008, 10:11 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ Dec 24 2008, 05:56 PM)
Food & overall human behaviour. singaporean kiasi and kiasuness really pissed me off (my singaporean friend admit the kiasi and kiasuness within most singaporean). And i really doubt the food stall's cooking skills, bloody sucks. but if u talk about hotel food and varieties, singapore win.
Kiasi and kiasu I can still tolerate. After all it's human nature except Singaporeans bring that to the extreme.
What I really hate about Singaporeans (I am generalizing/stereotyping here so dun start shooting me if your fren is not like that) is their elitist attitude. They tend to think they are above Malaysians.
siren
post Dec 24 2008, 10:50 PM

395 posts

Agree that Singapore is a damn boring place...
Everyday MRT MRT MRT... not like KL can drive pretty gals around with ur car.
even most shopping complexes started to close shop as early as 9.15pm

This post has been edited by siren: Dec 24 2008, 10:50 PM
wu ming
post Dec 25 2008, 02:43 PM

1,143 posts

And i really doubt the food stall's cooking skills, bloody sucks. but if u talk about hotel food and varieties, singapore win.
I fully agree with you Full stop. You are my hero. rclxm9.gif

BiBima
post Dec 25 2008, 04:21 PM

96 posts

Hi guys, I am new here.

Just wanna ask u guys opinion here. I was offered a position as an Accountant for $4,000 + $200 for allowances with 2.5 yrs exp, should I accept the job offer? What is your best advice? I need to revert to them next Tuesday.

SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 25 2008, 05:50 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(siren @ Dec 24 2008, 10:50 PM)
Agree that Singapore is a damn boring place...
Everyday MRT MRT MRT... not like KL can drive pretty gals around with ur car.
even most shopping complexes started to close shop as early as 9.15pm
is it? a lot of things to do ler.. why cant u have cars in sg?

u shop at fairprice NTUC ar? ... go orchard n shop... now midnight sales

QUOTE(BiBima @ Dec 25 2008, 04:21 PM)
Hi guys, I am new here.

Just wanna ask u guys opinion here. I was offered a position as an Accountant for $4,000 + $200 for allowances with 2.5 yrs exp, should I accept the job offer? What is your best advice? I need to revert to them next Tuesday.

if u have a family then no... if u r single then yes
otisdog
post Dec 25 2008, 07:05 PM

375 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 25 2008, 05:50 PM)
is it? a lot of things to do ler.. why cant u have cars in sg?

u shop at fairprice NTUC ar? ... go orchard n shop... now midnight sales
if u have a family then no... if u r single then yes
Just outta curiosity, I noticed that cars are kinda cheap.Honda Stream only selling for SGD70K.
Assuming a person were to buy a Honda Stream, how much is the COE?

A 7-series is only selling for SGD250K in Singapore notworthy.gif
J(o)y
post Dec 25 2008, 09:12 PM

250 posts

QUOTE(otisdog @ Dec 25 2008, 07:05 PM)
Just outta curiosity, I noticed that cars are kinda cheap.Honda Stream only selling for SGD70K.
Assuming a person were to  buy a Honda Stream, how much is the COE?

A 7-series is only selling for SGD250K in Singapore  notworthy.gif
I beliv the car cost itself is not expensive. it's just the regular payment as well as the payment to the government that makes car not so affordable. Actually it's the same as in M'sia. Car px is cheap, if excluding those taxes.
crapp0
post Dec 25 2008, 10:26 PM

4,414 posts

Its standard lar. My hometown the good not so good so a diff venue is better then the same old crap. One thing they dont have which is nice is nasi lemak and bak kut teh but its ok for me, dont know if you guys need to have it thought.

I know ppl who can survive with a family on half of 4k. It wouldnt be much of a problem, it all depends on a persons budget, if that fella like to spend, then of course 4k not enough.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 25 2008, 10:39 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(otisdog @ Dec 25 2008, 07:05 PM)
Assuming a person were to  buy a Honda Stream, how much is the COE?

A 7-series is only selling for SGD250K in Singapore  notworthy.gif
yea... it is cheap even with the COE... COE for december for those above 1600cc is around... 8k sg i think.... last month was 2 sgd... lol.. what a joke

i nearly paid downpayment for a mazda 6 36k + coe + next year tax until my mum ask me 2 return 2 msia.. mayb next year i will get lucky again

neway... do u guys realise how many msian pretty girls working as prostitutes in sg? i met this girl while i was going spa massage... 21 years old with developed body, asking me whether i want extra service.. in geylang also a lot of msians... i wonder how they get their working visa
Supreme Allied Commander
post Dec 25 2008, 11:49 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 25 2008, 11:39 PM)
yea... it is cheap even with the COE... COE for december for those above 1600cc is around... 8k sg i think.... last month was 2 sgd... lol.. what a joke

i nearly paid downpayment for a mazda 6 36k + coe + next year tax until my mum ask me 2 return 2 msia.. mayb next year i will get lucky again

neway... do u guys realise how many msian pretty girls working as prostitutes in sg? i met this girl while i was going spa massage... 21 years old with developed body, asking me whether i want extra service.. in geylang also a lot of msians... i wonder how they get their working visa
which shop u go to ?
wlcling
post Dec 26 2008, 12:05 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

ppl always say singaporean kiasi & kiasu, but Malaysians not better off i think. I still think singaporeans are more considerate and better-mannered. I'm malaysian btw. but singapore's hawker food.. aih.. very sad.
otisdog
post Dec 26 2008, 01:33 AM

375 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 25 2008, 10:39 PM)

Wow! COE only 8K? That's really cheap, even after adding that to the price of the car.
Basically the COE price flactuates? Any idea whats the maximum it will go up to?

washabushi
post Dec 26 2008, 09:31 AM

pandu cepat mati selamat
1,678 posts

generally early of the year is more exp for coe
http://tralvex.com/pub/cars/coe.htm
hkhk
post Dec 28 2008, 12:48 PM

*&^%$#@!
834 posts

HI anyone with Sg driving license? what about your Malaysia Driving license after conversion? Anybody make both side alive? Do i need to do so?
Thanks..
Chrisky
post Dec 28 2008, 02:16 PM

Romanista
4,567 posts

QUOTE(hkhk @ Dec 28 2008, 12:48 PM)
HI anyone with Sg driving license? what about your Malaysia Driving license after conversion? Anybody make both side alive? Do i need to do so?
Thanks..
i heard that after u convert it into the SG license, ur MY 1 cannot be renewed after it expired.
SUSSeLrAhC
post Dec 28 2008, 03:21 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Dec 25 2008, 11:49 PM)
which shop u go to ?
errr... i can't remember which spa... my cousin brought me there.. 30 sg dollar for facilities, 60 sg for facilities & massage, extra 50 for BJ n extra 100 for ....

QUOTE(wlcling @ Dec 26 2008, 12:05 AM)
ppl always say singaporean kiasi & kiasu, but Malaysians not better off i think. I still think singaporeans are more considerate and better-mannered. I'm malaysian btw. but singapore's hawker food.. aih.. very sad.
ermm... not exactly... in general msians are still better, but it is getting worse, singaporeans are all the while like that

QUOTE(otisdog @ Dec 26 2008, 01:33 AM)
Wow! COE only 8K? That's really cheap, even after adding that to the price of the car.
Basically the COE price flactuates? Any idea whats the maximum it will go up to?
COE depends on bidding, so if no1 bids it will be 0... max was more than 10k.. the COE is a bit kuku because below 1600cc COE is more exp than >1600cc... that's why u see a lot of mitsu lancer there, they buy the cheapest 2litre car, to get cheaper COE.

130 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:35 AM