9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

nicvoo
post Aug 17 2008, 08:07 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(saintcute @ Aug 17 2008, 01:48 PM)
hi,

for those working in spore...wanna catch a drink or sth today or next weekend? Can list down your nick/name and working/staying location?
It will be great to have hangouts or networking of similar origination...hehe
i'll start ts can put it in the 1st post

1.nick - work jurong/bt merah (till end of august) bugis/lavender (beginning sept) - stay tampines
nicvoo
post Aug 17 2008, 09:15 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

sg no where muchto go boring place other then the luiz nuthign else to do haha
anyway planing to rent car to drive aroud in sg end of the month
nicvoo
post Aug 17 2008, 11:18 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(louismhc @ Aug 17 2008, 09:26 PM)
@nicvoo
U PR ar?
nope
nicvoo
post Aug 17 2008, 11:56 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 17 2008, 11:32 PM)
I heard that this month end Expo will be having a PC fair. Can anyone confirm this?
its at suntec comex iirc gonna sign up for new starhub bb
nicvoo
post Aug 18 2008, 12:52 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(WyjSwmW @ Aug 18 2008, 09:14 AM)
Yalor, why suddenly so many Malaysians came to SG? Brunei oso hav the same exchange rate as SG but not many Malaysians going there given the cost of living there is very low. Rent one room cost only RM200 per mth after conversion.

I wonder if the exchange rate is like 10 yrs ago of RM1.70 to $1.00, will there still be any Malaysians coming here to cari makan…??? hmm.gif
brunei?
how many mnc r there in brunei?
how many mega projects r there in brunei?
how well developed is brunei?
is brunei a financial center?

how many bars n pubs u hav in brunei?

other then o&g brunei has nuthing much plus its an islamic country bar pub gambling r all forbidden

unlike sg even wifout o&g they r one of the major financial centers and not to mention the world's busiest port
nicvoo
post Aug 20 2008, 04:30 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

http://www.comexshow.com.sg/

as the Singaporeans say HOOT!!~! ah

but no bullet so no need hoot ahaha
nicvoo
post Aug 21 2008, 11:37 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(mONSTers @ Aug 21 2008, 11:18 PM)
Dun go for the M1 mobile broadband. It's slower than 56K dialup, at least for me.
agree wif u m1 mobile n bb totally suxxxx...failure

@weirdguy

u can connect using 1 lappy then share the conenction via wireless but it'll b slow 2nd way is to conenct wif 1 lappy share the connection via switch n lan cables

nicvoo
post Aug 25 2008, 10:54 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 24 2008, 12:55 PM)
Is Singtel and Starhub mobile broadband still having promotion? I cant seems to find any mobile broadband promotion on their websites.
waiting for this weekend's comex for the madness

QUOTE(shanelai @ Aug 24 2008, 02:06 PM)
Anyone recommend the cheapest flight company from kl to singapore other than airasia
JAL is nice booked about 1 month b4 went back last weekend jus came back last nite sgd137

QUOTE(cktwai @ Aug 24 2008, 08:59 PM)
cheapest are usually Air Asia and JapanAirLines-JAL.

Air Asia ranges from SGD120-280. usually if u book 3 weeks in advance during normal period will be about SGD 180. JAL is usually about SGD 217. Bad thing about JAL is you need 3 days advance booking. Good thing is it lands at KLIA.

I felt jetstar is a rip off. Unless you travel without checkin luggage you should take JetStar. If not forget about it.
curreently all budget airlines r charging for check in baggage so all same la
nicvoo
post Aug 27 2008, 10:48 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 26 2008, 08:16 PM)
thanks for the advise,
looks like the decision is still up to me..
what makes me think of moving there straight is because if there's interviews, then its more convenient if i'm there..
n one more thing, i believe that hiring companies will select to call candidates who's got sg address/contact..
yeah its more convenient for u to go for interviews n higher possiblility u'll get a call. however, it all boils down to the interview. I've a fren staying wif her sis half year only found a job. 1st he's a fresh grad 2ndly his england is a bit rusty.

QUOTE(saintcute @ Aug 26 2008, 11:01 PM)
hi guys,

who is into gathering for coffee this friday after work? Location will be decided

Come!

1. saintcute
hmm.... i'll be reporting myself to suntec for comex haha how about next week?

QUOTE(Annie @ Aug 27 2008, 09:53 AM)
ok..sounds easy.
but, in order to buy a HDB, you have to be a couple that registered (married) officially.
Then....you have to have at least SGD50k cash on hand to pay the downpayment, COV and transaction fee. (SGD40k will be a bit tough now)
So, if you intend to work here 3 years, maybe you just save enough to pay the downpayment, unless your salary is like SGD7k above.
thats for new hdb which u also hav to include the ablloting process which will favour sg more then prs. anyway if u got the $$ for the downpayment get 2nd hand ones which u dont need to go tru all the mentioned processes however its more exp
nicvoo
post Aug 28 2008, 11:28 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 28 2008, 07:25 PM)
sorry, forgot to mention.. i'm a fresh grad in finance and marketing double major..
thats not funny.. if u dont want to help u could be discreet and stay quiet..
i didn't mention about looking for a job doesn't mean i've not started to look for a job yet..
i'm just posting here to have another source of getting what i want..
i dont think she was being funny u were the one who started it wifout tellin ppl wat kind of job u r looking for u jus ask ppl to post watever job is available. n that was a simple joke u cant even take it, how r u gonna survive?

anyway this thread is to share exp n life in sg not a job market for hunting jobs. u wan sauce the 1st page ts already pasted all the available sauces
nicvoo
post Aug 30 2008, 11:59 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 29 2008, 09:09 PM)
The COMEX PC fair seems pretty... sucks.

I want to buy computer parts and assemble to a brand new PC, but the store there mostly are selling laptop, accessories, LCD, speaker and stuff. Very few stores are selling computer hardware, or do I missed them?  unsure.gif

Singtel mobile broadband 50% promotion is still available, but Starhub mobile broadband promotion seems not available anymore... Can anyone confirm this?

BTW check out Samsung chicks... awesome  drool.gif
i went there 2day count 3-4 stalls selling complete pc stuff. anyway comex not the place to hunt for those stuff. wats worth hunting r hdds lcds rams thumb drive digicams memory oh yeah girls tongue.gif

anyway audio technica's booths damn chun the wooden headphoens S$799 make my hands itchy dy haiz..

best to shop at sls however pls do research 1st b4 buyin sls known to catch waterfish

QUOTE(Uchiha Itachi @ Aug 29 2008, 11:28 PM)
^ I planned to register Singtel mobile broadband 1MB, with 50% promotion its $11.21 per month, 12 month contract. I am looking for a similiar package from Starhub but it seems to me that its not available anymore...

Fixed broadband is not a problem even if you moving house I think... you only have to inform the internet service provider your new address. I am not sure though, you better ask their staff to confirm  wink.gif
starhub got a package quite nice $30++ permonth cable tv 3 packages + 2mb bb

BTW john lil n timberland havin sale at expo can take a look john lil can buy clothes office attire quite reasonable prices, timberland shoes $79 any model very good bargain however sum sizes dun hav

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Aug 31 2008, 12:01 AM
nicvoo
post Aug 31 2008, 11:27 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(peng123 @ Aug 31 2008, 05:06 PM)
i'm in malaysia now.
planning if i got an interview, just go singapore. now staying at malaysia.  cry.gif

Added on August 31, 2008, 5:08 pm

i'm looking the jobs thru internet (jobstreet,pps, jobdb........) . How ? How ?
any advise ?
thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(JuNz-V @ Aug 31 2008, 08:33 PM)
i'm in the same situation u're in..
good luck to u n me  sad.gif
u guys better get a copy of sat's paper n go job hunting. 1 of the good way to apply for a job is not tru the site if u can get the email of the comp directly email them will be better then going by job street.

if u guys wan the sat paper can get from me

if u guys r intersted in the construction industry buildingcareers.sg

QUOTE(bbmars @ Aug 31 2008, 11:13 PM)
No,  2 at Suntec, 2 at Expo. usually time is always near to school holiday (Mar, late May or early Jun, Sept & late Nov or early dec).  Just that the Sept one has shifted, for F1 night race I think? not sure true or not.  the travel fair during this period was also affected.  The tourism fair was held last last month too.  all these should have been together for years but now all changes. 

Not all the 4 fairs has thing sto buy, they serve different purpose I think.  I don't know the differrence, but I never attended all of them.  One of them, mainly on Camera (main hall).
i went all 4 all +- same sum fair emphasize on lcd tvs dvd players etc sum not really tat much suntec ones sure sony n starhub booth at lower floor tis time diff a bit singtel n samsung also outside

nicvoo
post Sep 1 2008, 08:48 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

get a fixed one better jus to warn u m1 mobile bb is terrible i dont know bout other carriers
nicvoo
post Sep 2 2008, 10:39 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(shanelai @ Sep 1 2008, 09:39 PM)
u also found that m1 broadband got problem ah?? BCoz i borrowed my housemate m1 usb stick. The connection really got problem but im not sure whether the fixed bb also same case...
i was using their mobile bb terrible also canceled it instantly after the contract expired (which was 6 months) regretted signing for their phone line also can terrible alot of places no line damn stupid arse service.

canceling it immediately when the contract expires next may

QUOTE(bbmars @ Sep 1 2008, 11:39 PM)
Depending on which one you go, usually on the last day, clearance sales.... but I can't say all the time, went afew of tem, that's what they usually do.  If you can find things that are available in Sim Lim too, chances are they are much cheaper than SL.  That's why I go there shop when near to Fair period.

As for 13 month thing, SG Gov is trying to get companies to go onto variable component in their pay package.  All Gov sectors are doing it.  Besides the 13 month, if SG economy do well, Gov give out extra bonus on top of 13 month.  Part of the extra comes from these variable component.  in case of recession, Gov wil lcut the variable component, keeping the fixed salary alone. bonus of course, don't have, but 13 month is fixed.
only gov comp hav tat extra income right
private comps dun hav at all. 13month depend on comp if u guys wanna get 13 month try those mnc comp most of them ha i repeat most not all. china man comp can forget bout it
nicvoo
post Sep 4 2008, 09:57 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(xyngfei @ Sep 4 2008, 04:32 PM)
Any places can introduction for me to take the dinner buffet?
budget for each person around < SGD 25
marina sq yuki yaki 25 something forgot exactly how much

QUOTE(louismhc @ Sep 4 2008, 07:23 PM)
Jurong east japanese buffet nod.gif
If you willing to pay for those price my suggestion go to Boon Lay that shopping mall (Lower groud floor) u have more choice, coz last weekend i when there and their sashimi is very nice!!
Planning to go there again this weekend tongue.gif
lol tat place dun cost 25 only right hahaha 30++ almost 40

the mall called jurong point at boonlay mrt

can try suntec sizzeller or sakae sushi (only selected outlets) both also 35++ below 30

nicvoo
post Sep 5 2008, 11:46 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(louismhc @ Sep 4 2008, 10:53 PM)
sakae sushi is not fresh enough le......jurong point that shop is damn nice.
I forget the name is on lower ground, right hand side first shop.
haha but it sumtimes fun jus to stuff yourself silly wig sushi at an affordable price

the place is call kuishin bo suntec 3rd floor also hav 1

QUOTE(nameless @ Sep 5 2008, 03:12 PM)
is Hooters really serve by hot girls in their website images?  drool.gif  drool.gif
mostly ermm filipinos local ones u cant really find

QUOTE(louismhc @ Sep 5 2008, 07:30 PM)
Hooters singapore sucks le....US one more fun and cun sial. Hooters singapore all pinoy and MILF....zzzzzzzz
well tats wat happens when u outsource too much hehehe
nicvoo
post Sep 7 2008, 11:16 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Sep 7 2008, 06:28 PM)

I Found Difficulty To Buy A Bus Ticket (KL-SG)

Any Advice?

Which Bus To Recommend?
try going to golden mile to get ur ticket

QUOTE(MPIK @ Sep 7 2008, 09:42 PM)
All buses are OK... but don't ever buy Aeroline, it's freaking expensive and u pay $20 more for the lousy meal box..
not really its the fastest it doesnt stop at yong peng n it stops at sunway,pj,1u more convinient for some ppl

QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Sep 7 2008, 10:07 PM)
Ok i heard from a fren that u can actually buy bus tickets from JB at the  checkpoint. I think what he meant was those shops just after u cross  the malaysian immigration. U might want to check that out.
yeah can try there about rm35 took once b4 but u'll have to damn free to do that geting across the chk point is a torture
nicvoo
post Sep 8 2008, 08:30 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(teckhooi @ Sep 8 2008, 07:24 PM)
No No.

I Want To Buy Bus Ticket.

From KL To SG.

Kinda Troublesome To Get.
kl sg
office for aeroline is at sunway pyramis near j co donuts facing sunway lagoon entracne
office for grassland is oposite times sq near the 7-11
others better then pudu go the old pasar rakyat

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Sep 8 2008, 08:31 PM
nicvoo
post Sep 8 2008, 11:30 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

erm..y dun u try uncle google?
nicvoo
post Sep 9 2008, 11:21 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(siaukia @ Sep 9 2008, 10:52 PM)
mati liao, suddenly need to move out, have deadline until mid next month. Anyone over look on some rent deals nearby town 1 recently? Have to start go hunting already. damn it.
tough luck didnt u sign a contract?
anyway b prepared to bleed near town area wont b cheap

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:49 PM