Credit Card Thread V4, Plastic Money @ World Access

tishaban
post Sep 15 2008, 03:35 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Norns @ Sep 15 2008, 02:30 PM)
I checked Amex web, and found some card they did mention "Card" and "Platinum Credit Card". So i guess the "Card" refer to charge card right ?
I still quite blur what is Charge and Clear Card ?
Is it similar with Credit Card ? afaik, Credit Card allow you to swip first with certain limit, and we pay next month ...

too bad i never pay any income tax yet lol sweat.gif my salary is about 30k per annum but still does not charge for income tax. So i guess my approval rate will be low sad.gif
Google lah friend, the info is also available online inculding reviews of the Amex charge card and whether or not it's worth it.

Charge card = there is no hutang from month to month. If you spend $20k this month you have to pay in full the whole month. There is no preset credit limit.

Credit card = there is a preset credit limit, you can use up to the credit limit and either pay all or pay some amount at the end of each month.

The income tax part is cute, if you're paying RM21k or more for income tax then your annual income is er... I dunno, RM90k and above? I can't remember the income tax brackets without looking at the table. biggrin.gif

simplesmile
post Sep 15 2008, 08:14 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(shauyan @ Sep 11 2008, 04:44 PM)
wah!!! getting another 2 cards again to swipe 6times per card per yr?
Mmmh... I have enough cards alredi.

I alreadi have a CIMB master free for life. Want to get a Visa from other bank which free for life too.
Let's say I have a TMnet Streamyx bill RM66
Can I login to my internet account and pay 5 times RM10, and 1 time RM16. Will this meet the minimum 6 transactions a year?
tachlio
post Sep 15 2008, 09:36 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 15 2008, 08:14 PM)
Can I login to my internet account and pay 5 times RM10, and 1 time RM16. Will this meet the minimum 6 transactions a year?
how about buy petrol rm1 per translation ~ if use car u had 50~60 time sweat.gif
soitsuagain
post Sep 15 2008, 10:19 PM

Let's do it together!
3,809 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Sep 15 2008, 02:08 PM)
Guys, i need to clear some doubts...

Some sales person will ask us to photocopy for credit card front n back to give them rather then our financial documents to get their CC rite?

How we can trust them that they won't use the 3 numbers at the bck of our card to scam? I'm not sure how this thing works since we can trust anyone who we don't know personally.
If you don't feel comfortable, don't let them do it. Just do the photocopy yourself, cross out your IC and the ccv and submit it to any CC agent by going to any Carrefour branch. You will find them laugh.gif

Better go to an agent and let them 'wan sek' than go to branch. icon_rolleyes.gif
ruztynail
post Sep 15 2008, 10:20 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

i got this "credit card shield plus" frm citibank issued by ING... if i hv an outstanding balance of rm100.. i am charged 65 sens.. in the case of death and etc.. it will be waived... i dont think i signed up on this.. can i cancel this service? or does it come along wit it?
IMAX
post Sep 15 2008, 10:54 PM

445 posts

they will mail the pin number and the card separately right?
need to activate 1st then only will receive the pin?
ruztynail
post Sep 15 2008, 11:07 PM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

i took my card frm the bank.. so not sure.. u obviously would get the card.. thn only pin... thn u can apply for online pin as well

IMAX
post Sep 15 2008, 11:35 PM

445 posts

they mailed me the card one month ago,.. and till now i still havent received my pin,... and of coz,.. my card not yet activated...
hye
post Sep 15 2008, 11:38 PM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Sep 15 2008, 08:14 PM)
The simple answer is YES if you could split the payment up. This will qualify as 6 minimum transactions per year.

Added on September 15, 2008, 11:41 pm
QUOTE(tachlio @ Sep 15 2008, 09:36 PM)
how about buy petrol rm1 per translation ~ if use car u had 50~60 time  sweat.gif
Well ... in theory you can do that but do remember everytime you use your cc at the pumps, you are being "charged" RM200 which will then be normalised to the actual amount once the merchant reconcile the actual amount with the bank. (Forgive me if i get the terminology wrong but I hope everyone gets the idea)

Added on September 15, 2008, 11:43 pm
QUOTE(ruztynail @ Sep 15 2008, 10:20 PM)
i got this "credit card shield plus" frm citibank issued by ING... if i hv an outstanding balance of rm100.. i am charged 65 sens.. in the case of death and etc.. it will be waived... i dont think i signed up on this.. can i cancel this service? or does it come along wit it?
Aha icon_idea.gif Another case of agent "ticking the additional boxes" which you did not apply for. You can lodge a report if you want to if you feel victimised. This service is not automatic nor it is mandatory, you can cancel it. (I kena a similar problem myself except that the agent applied an "additional" card without my consent. All these add-ins adds up to their commission I think)

Call the Citibank CS and ask to cancel this service. Most likely they will ask you to write in.

Added on September 15, 2008, 11:47 pm
QUOTE(IMAX @ Sep 15 2008, 10:54 PM)
they will mail the pin number and the card separately right?
PIN number and card will be mailed seperately. Not necessarily you need to wait for the card to be activated before receiving the pin. This scenario varies from bank-to-bank though. Some bank you need to receive the card first before you can get your PIN.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 15 2008, 11:47 PM
IMAX
post Sep 16 2008, 01:10 AM

445 posts

i received my card on 1st August but till now still havent received my pin sad.gif
need to wait tat long?
Putraskyline
post Sep 16 2008, 01:30 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

Just got my free for life card 3 days ago.

My question about 20 days interest free since I'm a new cardholder.

1. 13 Sept : Fill petrol = Rm180
2. 14 sept : grocery = Rm200

When Oct statement come, do they charge me financial charge?Or my statement would be Rm380 fix?
hye
post Sep 16 2008, 01:43 AM

White Tiger
3,395 posts

QUOTE(IMAX @ Sep 16 2008, 01:10 AM)
i received my card on 1st August but till now still havent received my pin sad.gif
need to wait tat long?
Which bank is your cc from?

Added on September 16, 2008, 1:53 am
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Sep 16 2008, 01:30 AM)
Just got my free for life card 3 days ago.

My question about 20 days interest free since I'm a new cardholder.

1. 13 Sept : Fill petrol = Rm180
2. 14 sept : grocery = Rm200

When Oct statement come, do they charge me financial charge?Or my statement would be Rm380 fix?
You will be charged RM 380. Don't worry about the finance charges unless you start to pay minimum and not pay in full every month.

This post has been edited by hye: Sep 16 2008, 01:53 AM
Animeinter
post Sep 16 2008, 01:59 AM

QUOTE(chartermember @ Sep 7 2008, 11:17 AM)
I beg to differ, just to set things straight, have anyone of you heard of ''joint and several liability'' whenever you sign up for a card? Theres no such thing as supp has got nothing to do with basic, and vice-versa, try running away with the card your mom or dad supp to you and see
This does not apply to personal credit cards. Please get your facts straight.

Added on September 16, 2008, 2:10 amThis is, to me, the worse credit card companies:

1: UOB, the worse customer service. (cancelled)

2: RHB, slowest customer service, which does not get the job done. (applied for a supp 2 months ago. Asked me for supp's I/C 5 times which i gave)

3: Citibank, uses your database for advertising their nonsence. (was about to cancel caused they sms'ed me at 3am on some advert)

4: Amex platinum Normal and CC, well.. its managed by maybank now, need i say more? (might cancel but paid 2k+ for their service fee)

Only two credit cards I have no complaints. HSBC and Standard Chartered.

And yes they are all platinums so makes no difference in customer service here.

This post has been edited by Animeinter: Sep 16 2008, 02:13 AM
Bakmoi
post Sep 16 2008, 02:22 AM

64 posts

Anyone got any idea on what's the minimum requirements to apply for a CC ??

Thank a lot.
Putraskyline
post Sep 16 2008, 03:49 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(hye @ Sep 16 2008, 01:43 AM)
Which bank is your cc from?

Added on September 16, 2008, 1:53 am

You will be charged RM 380. Don't worry about the finance charges unless you start to pay minimum and not pay in full every month.
Thanks Bro.

Added on September 16, 2008, 3:51 am
QUOTE(Bakmoi @ Sep 16 2008, 02:22 AM)
Anyone got any idea on what's the minimum requirements to apply for a CC ??

Thank a lot.
Its 21yo and minimum income of 18k/annum

This post has been edited by Putraskyline: Sep 16 2008, 03:51 AM
tgeoklin
post Sep 16 2008, 07:58 AM

1,230 posts

QUOTE(Animeinter @ Sep 16 2008, 01:59 AM)
This does not apply to personal credit cards. Please get your facts straight.

Added on September 16, 2008, 2:10 amThis is, to me, the worse credit card companies:

1: UOB, the worse customer service. (cancelled)

2: RHB, slowest customer service, which does not get the job done. (applied for a supp 2 months ago. Asked me for supp's I/C 5 times which i gave)

3: Citibank, uses your database for advertising their nonsence. (was about to cancel caused they sms'ed me at 3am on some advert)

4: Amex platinum Normal and CC, well.. its managed by maybank now, need i say more? (might cancel but paid 2k+ for their service fee)

Only two credit cards I have no complaints. HSBC and Standard Chartered.

And yes they are all platinums so makes no difference in customer service here.
I beg to top it all brows.gif

Tried to cancel my MBB card, guess what? After 2 weeks still not done, so called them up. They say will check and get back to me. 3 hours later they called back and say cannot cancel. I ask, why? They say because I am supp card. shakehead.gif

So I asked, who is my principle, they say, myself also blink.gif ...... then why cannot since I am principle, they say, erh .... principle card a/c already closed rclxub.gif

So now how? They say need to investigate ........ hmm.gif
bee993
post Sep 16 2008, 08:11 AM

1,178 posts

QUOTE(roy_zu @ Sep 15 2008, 02:08 PM)
Guys, i need to clear some doubts...

Some sales person will ask us to photocopy for credit card front n back to give them rather then our financial documents to get their CC rite?

How we can trust them that they won't use the 3 numbers at the bck of our card to scam? I'm not sure how this thing works since we can trust anyone who we don't know personally.
i dun think need back as well...last time i apply eon using my mbb...

the eon staff ask me blackend the 3 digit.n advise me not to show it
he-sham
post Sep 16 2008, 09:56 AM

1-2-3-4
1,248 posts

so many issues la... lets talk anything else la....

how about ramadhan buffet privilege & current shopping privilege promotions ??

which cc offer the best deal ??

from what i read DA/CIMB card get 20% discount for ramadhan buffet at KL Convention Centre (normal price rm85++ per pax)...

This post has been edited by he-sham: Sep 16 2008, 09:57 AM
ruztynail
post Sep 16 2008, 10:17 AM

Acrimonious Young Man
1,886 posts

citi jus release their sept promotion pamphlet also. u can go check it out on their site.
Syd G
post Sep 16 2008, 10:29 AM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Maybank processing dept is so far the slowest one that I've encountered. Haihh.. any other card with free for life annual fee and good balance transfer program? Am eyeing DA but arsenal havent reply my question on the balance transfer rate

125 Pages « < 71 72 73 74 75 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:17 AM