A skinny ba$tard's log, Unilateral 5x5 to 5x10

TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 28 2008, 11:10 PM, updated 16y ago

2,425 posts

Brad Pitt in Snatch --- now that's a body to drool over! Lagi best if I can punch like his character. tongue.gif

New programme now. Too bored with the 5x5

Starting with W4SB by Joe Defranco. Maybe will move back to 5x5 again after a few months.
Rest time: 90s

Monday (repitition lifts):
- Dips 3x max rest 60s
- Skull crushers 3x10
- Pull ups 4x8
- DB shoulder press 3x10
- Hammer curl 3x10
- Ab circuit, no rest: inclined weighted sit up x10, abs wheelie x10, prone bridge 60s, wood chop x15, around the world x15, duck under bar at hip level x20.
- Rope skip 2 min

Wednesday (Max effort upper body):
- Bench press 5x to 3RM
- DB inclined bench press 3x10
- Pendlay row 3x5
- Single arm row 3x12
- Seated DB rear raise 3x10
- Hanging leg raise 3x12
- Around the world x15

Friday (Lower body):
- Squat 3x8 warm up only
- Deadlift 5x to 3RM
- Reverse Lunge 3x10
- Leg curl 3x10
- Jump squats 3x8, 40-50% of max squat
- Plate pinching 3x 1min

Crap talk in old post:

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 28 2010, 01:55 PM
yeeck
post Feb 29 2008, 04:06 PM

3,572 posts

Eat more meals instead of just eating bigger meals. I used to eat 2 whole eggs when I started at 55kg but somehow I think the eggyolks caused my tummy to appear much bigger....so limiting yolks to max of 1 per day only or just more eggwhites. But based on your pic, what the heck, eat away anyway....
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 14 2008, 05:05 AM

2,425 posts

Yum, I love egg yolks... especially the half boiled ones. It feels like chocolates that melt in your mouth.
I know that egg yolk is packed with minerals and vitamins. So no worries about cholesterol and fat considering that I'm working out.
- - - - -
Crap... I still don't have a proper workout programme yet. I should ask jswong about his dinosaur training.
- - - - -
Weight: 53.5 - 54.0 kg (13 March 08)
My grandma says I'm not that skinny now. X^D
ticke
post Apr 6 2008, 12:35 AM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

pop the eggs for breakfast does helps a bit...
Snecx
post Apr 6 2008, 03:27 AM

208 posts

Hey, nice goal there. Pretty similar to what I want to achieve by the end of my 6 months program (end September 27th). I started at 55kg, 178cm.

I wonder, what magazine competition you're participating in?
pizzaboy
post Apr 6 2008, 10:18 AM

9,495 posts

Food Comment.

Let's see.....
What are you doing wrong? Using a PT that tells you to train with machines for 10-15 reps for 3. That's very wrong.
Training

That's about what I can think of at the moment. For everything U can't understand, google. If you still can't understand, ask away.
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 8 2008, 05:29 AM

2,425 posts

Snecx...
I'm in Men's Health Refine & Define this year. I dearly hope I win... nice Oris watch. Other contestants are gaining muscle mass quick, and I'm still sort of stucked. blush.gif
I gotta go get a set of dumbbells at home to keep my workout intensity high.
. . . . . . . . . . . .

pizzaboy...
Thanks m8, for the info! I don't trust the PT's. They just don't look like bodybuilders themselves. I also suspect the in-house training by FF has some general workout programmes that the PT's prescribe the same workout to everyone.
I told Steven (chief-PT in leisure mall) my main goal is to build strenght. Muscle gain is secondary. He gave me 'the prescription'. Then I overheard other PT's guiding other members with the same formulae. I feel he simply layan me because my membership is sponsored as part of the contest terms. I've never really bothered with the machines after the first introduction session. I just go whack the free weights.

ATG squats, eh? Will do that. The problem with FF Leisure Mall is they don't have a squat rack. So I'll have to either lift the weight over my head (which I can't), or use the smith machine. I'm not so enthusiastic about using the smith machine though.
I'm also not sure if I'm doing the deadlift correctly. Some say don't bend the knees, some say bend until thigh is parallel to ground. Watching videos isn't the same as seeing a person doing it right and asking questions.

Oh, which shops are selling protein powders cheaper? I'd probably get the ON 100% Whey.
. . . . . . . . . . . .
BTW, anyone of you works out in Leisure Mall?
. . . . . . . . . . . .
New goal added --- a 6-pack-washboard-abs.
Due to the fact that I'm going to Phuket with my old-college mates in Aug, and they (they girls especially) laughed and sniggered about me getting fit and having a 6-pack. cry.gif
pizzaboy
post Apr 8 2008, 11:28 AM

9,495 posts

Can you go to another place with a squat rack? I know Menara Axis has it.

I say, bend your thighs, till it's either parallel or about 45 degrees against the ground. Some people cannot keep their back straight and tight if their knees are bent 45 degrees. So those have to keep their knees parallel to the ground.

However, if you're flexible, stable, strong enough to keep your back straight while having your knees 45 degrees, that's much better. It helps you handle more weight, as obviously....your legs are in a more advantageous position against the weights and can help enable you to lift more when bent 45 degrees.

Do you understand wat I'm saying? Use a drawing.

If you use a stretch, bounce reflex then you should be able to handle more weight. If you know how to use it.
Snecx
post Apr 8 2008, 01:47 PM

208 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 8 2008, 05:29 AM)
Snecx...
I'm in Men's Health Refine & Define this year. I dearly hope I win... nice Oris watch. Other contestants are gaining muscle mass quick, and I'm still sort of stucked. blush.gif 
I gotta go get a set of dumbbells at home to keep my workout intensity high.
. . . . . . . . . . . .

New goal added --- a 6-pack-washboard-abs.
Due to the fact that I'm going to Phuket with my old-college mates in Aug, and they (they girls especially) laughed and sniggered about me getting fit and having a 6-pack. cry.gif
I was visiting your blog and saw you were #4 on the list if I recall correctly. Good luck with the contest!

6 pack washboard abs is not too hard, 3 weeks into my workout program and I am already drooling at my own abs. It's more visible when you have little fat, but if you want to bulk up then 6 packs will be harder as you'll need another cutting-down phase to make it visible. An increase of body fat % would be inevitable during bulking up stage from what I've gathered.
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 9 2008, 03:50 PM

2,425 posts

Hey, thanks. I should go to Menara Axis. Not exactly near, but once a week should be OK.

You mean bend knees at 45deg means that the knee will be in front of the toes? Keep the knee parallel means the knees don't move forward, but the butts poke out from behind? I heard lots of people advice against bending the knee until it's in front of the toes.

BTW, I read from another thread that you do muay thai. Fulamak! And you go lawan your uncle's taichi.
pizzaboy
post Apr 10 2008, 02:13 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 9 2008, 03:50 PM)
Hey, thanks. I should go to Menara Axis. Not exactly near, but once a week should be OK.

You mean bend knees at 45deg means that the knee will be in front of the toes? Keep the knee parallel means the knees don't move forward, but the butts poke out from behind? I heard lots of people advice against bending the knee until it's in front of the toes.

BTW, I read from another thread that you do muay thai. Fulamak! And you go lawan your uncle's taichi.
How do I tell you this....i know that it's not advisable to go over the toes. However, if you read the research and try squatting ATG with your knees behind toes, see what happens. put a board, in front of your toes and squat atg. This makes sure your knees don't go in front your toes.

Now do you feel comfortable? Or do you feel like ur falling forward?

The trick is, to squat ATG with most of your weight on your heels, but if your knees do go in front your toes, then what the heck? It's just your body's biomechanical way of doing something. you're not, PUSHING your weight on the knees. You're resting your weight on the heels, but the toes going forward is just because your body's ....like that. It's natural.

What screws your knee, is when your fall forward and use your knee to get the weight up.

And yes I do martial arts, it's not that big a deal right? Nowdays, no time anymore la....studies and work.
yngwie
post Apr 11 2008, 11:43 AM

| Ðøñ'¯|¯ G|v€ Â ÐðmÑ!
3,092 posts

iamyuanwu, jia you rclxms.gif jia you rclxms.gif any latest pic? rclxms.gif

TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 12 2008, 02:37 AM

2,425 posts

pizzaboy...
Yeah man, the heck with it. Until today, I'm still don't know why they say knees behind the toes. I don't see how it can prevent injuring my knees. As long as I'm not injuring myself, i'm happy to do any exercise.

I'm just impressed that you do martial arts, being someone that practises none. I like martial arts, especially those with graceful movements like taichi. Muay thai's not too bad too!

yngwie...
Thanks m8!
I tak berani show my photos lah. Langsung tak ada improvements.
I'll post a photos once my 6-packs become more obvious!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Apr 21 2008, 03:28 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 21 2008, 03:29 PM

2,425 posts

I looking to buy whey protein to increase my muscle mass and strength.

Any recommendations from you guys? Where to buy them at reasonable prices?
TSiamyuanwu
post May 2 2008, 04:07 AM

2,425 posts

Current workout journal:
Alternate A-B-A-B-A-B

A) Chest & triceps
db bench press each arm - 35lbs x2x6, 30x3x6
inclined db bench press each arm - 40lbs x5x6
squats (wt per side) - 15kg x2x6
triceps extension using plates - 15kg x2x6
triceps cable pull down - 17.5kg x3x6
db front+side raise - 15lbs x3x6
chest machine - 40kg x2x7
db flies - 15lbs x5x6

B) Back & biceps
self supported single arm row - 40lbs x1x6, 35x1x6, 30x2x6
chin up machine - 25kg x3x6
hammer curl - 15lbs x5x6
db front+side raise - 15lbs x3x6
dealift (wt per side) - 15kg x1x5, 20x1x5
squats (wt per side) - 20kg x5x5
lower back machine - 30kg x2x6

Came down with a bad case of fever+perut masuk angin a few days back. I bet it's overtraining with my friend. 5 crazy hours in FF Leisure Mall including a BodyCombat class. rclxub.gif
Done with fever, perut still has got some angin.

I have no idea what I am doing with the above workout. sweat.gif I just know I combine compound and some isolation exercises. And I'm spending too much time in the gym - 1.1/2-2 hours. Need comment to help refine my workout. Stupid FF-LMall no squat racks
TSiamyuanwu
post May 7 2008, 06:12 PM

2,425 posts

Heck, fever again. Fever twice in 2 weeks. I suspect the GNC Mega Man multivitamin is the culprit - probably not drinking enough water after taking the tablets.
Body weight dropped 0.6-0.8kg. @#$%^&*!
---
Not 100% well, but back in the gym -- Men's Health employee was bugging me to go get my weight & body fat taken. Vinnie the PT was assigned to take my weight. So I chit-chat and asked him why no squat racks here in Leisure Mall.
The fella told me I can squat heavier using the smith machine <-- Stunned - 'zhar dou'. mad.gif bl00dy ciput, I know lah... but how about letting the body stabilise the weight for itself?
Then he asked me which part of my body sore/ache the most after squats. I said my thighs/quads and lower back a bit. He promptly said I'm doing it wrong -- It should be my glutes/butt that should feel the soreness, and my upper body should be upright and not leaning forward. rclxub.gif <-- I really don't know about the soreness thing. Somebody can explain?
---
yesterday was only normal rep with light weights just to get the body prepared for tomorrow's workout.

Squats
40kg x4x8

Bench press
25kg x2x10
30kg x2x8

Bend over row
20kg (barbell=??kg) x4x10

Deadlift
40kg x2x6

Refined programme based on Stronglifts 5x5:
(A)
Squat 5x5 (+2.5kg)
DB Bench Press 5x5 (+2.5kg)
Barbell Row 5x5 / single arm row
Dips 3xF
triceps pull down or triceps extension
db flies
db front+side raise
leg curls

(B)
Squat 5x5 (+2.5kg)
Overhead press x5x (+2.5kg)
Dealift 3x5 (+5kg)
Pull up/chine up 3xF
hammer curl
straight hand pull down
standing db pull up
leg curls

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: May 7 2008, 06:35 PM
pizzaboy
post May 7 2008, 09:46 PM

9,495 posts

Maybe because he's dedicated to the smith machine that's why only his ass and stuff hurts.

Nah, the soreness isn't the pointer of what muscles are right and wrong to use. Your body'll use the most efficient path to performing something, and thus perhaps the quads was the most efficient muscle to use.

However, you might be executing the squat with bending your knee first N' not lowering your hips first. There is a difference, lower your hip first.
JIB-89
post May 7 2008, 10:22 PM

313 posts

ONS 100% WHEY protein 10 lbs can get at egonutritions for rm388, for me thats as much quality protein you can buy around that range. others over priced, egonutritions will be opening another branch at the curve soon so you're in luck

My previous gym had a smitch machine, no squat rack and i had to deal with that for 6 years. and get this i stagnated for 6 years... the smith machine doesnt help your squat, if anything its a waste of time in my opinion, the bar is only 5 kg if im not mistaken and the movement is unnatural, when you squat the bar it doesnt necessarily move in a linear movement 'cause you move your glutes first then the quads.. in those 6 years i was stuck at a 100kg squat and my quads get cram easily....now my current gym has a squat rack my squat went up to 160kg, big diference

The fitness first at the curve got squat rack what... its opposite the smith machine tongue.gif

This post has been edited by JIB-89: Jun 18 2008, 04:48 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post May 9 2008, 02:15 AM

2,425 posts

Went to the doctors. It's not fever, it is a flu. He said many people confuse flu (influenza) with common cold. I feel totally busted for days - as if I've turned into a feverish sotong. Don't think I'll be working out til next week. rclxub.gif
----
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 7 2008, 09:46 PM)
Maybe because he's dedicated to the smith machine that's why only his ass and stuff hurts.

Nah, the soreness isn't the pointer of what muscles are right and wrong to use. Your body'll use the most efficient path to performing something, and thus perhaps the quads was the most efficient muscle to use.

However, you might be executing the squat with bending your knee first N' not lowering your hips first. There is a difference, lower your hip first.
Got it. Thanks.
Not sure about his fetish for the smith machine brows.gif. But most FF trainers just looks lean -- not even close to muscular.

I don't really like trainers in FF lah. They prescribe similar routines for everyone - regardless of your goal. They don't go round to check if people are using the machines correctly, or doing the exercises in the right form. They are friendly alright, but they normally don't bother about you. I know california fitness trainers go round to make sure everyone is OK. I once got stapled in the bench. No trainers around to help me off. Nasib baik a nice chap came to my rescue.
I tried asking the chief trainer to teach me deadlift last time -- he took me to the lower back machine instead. I've never seen anyone does deadlift, bend over rows or squats(very seldom) in Leisure Mall. Lots of people doing bench press and isolation stuff though.

Oh, I overheard the trainers that you lean you shoulders on the bar when squatting on the smith machine, not under the bar.

Woah, FF the curve manyak jauh oh, +-20km. I'll use the smith machine in the mean time, then once a week, I'll drop by the public gym in bandar tun razak to do the real squats.

Eh JIB, maybe we can meet up after I'm done with my flu and workout together in Leisure Mall. Lets go pester FF leisure mall to get a proper squat rack. They have too many machine even in the free weights section.
----
pizzaboy
post May 9 2008, 10:37 AM

9,495 posts

Don't pray pray mannnnnn, those FF trainers in The Curve got Diploma and Degree in sports science brudder. Sadly, they sports science students don't really learn the benefits of the squat..

Quite sad really.
yeeck
post May 9 2008, 10:53 AM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ May 9 2008, 02:15 AM)
Went to the doctors. It's not fever, it is a flu. He said many people confuse flu (influenza) with common cold. I feel totally busted for days - as if I've turned into a feverish sotong. Don't think I'll be working out til next week. rclxub.gif
----

Got it. Thanks.
Not sure about his fetish for the smith machine brows.gif. But most FF trainers just looks lean -- not even close to muscular.

I don't really like trainers in FF lah. They prescribe similar routines for everyone - regardless of your goal. They don't go round to check if people are using the machines correctly, or doing the exercises in the right form. They are friendly alright, but they normally don't bother about you. I know california fitness trainers go round to make sure everyone is OK. I once got stapled in the bench. No trainers around to help me off. Nasib baik a nice chap came to my rescue.
I tried asking the chief trainer to teach me deadlift last time -- he took me to the lower back machine instead. I've never seen anyone does deadlift, bend over rows or squats(very seldom) in Leisure Mall. Lots of people doing bench press and isolation stuff though.

Oh, I overheard the trainers that you lean you shoulders on the bar when squatting on the smith machine, not under the bar.

Woah, FF the curve manyak jauh oh, +-20km. I'll use the smith machine in the mean time, then once a week, I'll drop by the public gym in bandar tun razak to do the real squats.

Eh JIB, maybe we can meet up after I'm done with my flu and workout together in Leisure Mall. Lets go pester FF leisure mall to get a proper squat rack. They have too many machine even in the free weights section.
----
The bar in front of you when squatting is called a front squat, get it?

The FF trainers do come around to check and point out if your form is wrong, once in a while lah...I do get annoyed if they disturb me too often tongue.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post May 9 2008, 11:33 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 9 2008, 10:37 AM)
Don't pray pray mannnnnn, those FF trainers in The Curve got Diploma and Degree in sports science brudder. Sadly, they sports science students don't really learn the benefits of the squat..

Quite sad really.
And a whole list of other certifications too!
I wonder... are they aware of the various workout programmes out there for different goals? Some people just want to increases fitness level, some to loss weight, some to increase strength, some to bodybuilding...
Or is it that FF has an in-house policy that does not allow them to prescribe other programmes like 5x5 or Max OT?

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 9 2008, 10:53 AM)
The bar in front of you when squatting is called a front squat, get it?

The FF trainers do come around to check and point out if your form is wrong, once in a while lah...I do get annoyed if they disturb me too often tongue.gif
Oh... that's the front squat.
What I meant was the FF trainers coaches others to lean the back of the shoulders towards the bar on the smith machine -- the feet is about 10-20cm in front of the bar.
yeeck
post May 9 2008, 11:59 AM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ May 9 2008, 11:33 AM)
And a whole list of other certifications too!
I wonder... are they aware of the various workout programmes out there for different goals? Some people just want to increases fitness level, some to loss weight, some to increase strength, some to bodybuilding...
Or is it that FF has an in-house policy that does not allow them to prescribe other programmes like 5x5 or Max OT?
Oh... that's the front squat.
What I meant was the FF trainers coaches others to lean the back of the shoulders towards the bar on the smith machine -- the feet is about 10-20cm in front of the bar.
Prolly they are keeping to the "knee behind toes" rule.
pizzaboy
post May 9 2008, 03:09 PM

9,495 posts

I've seen some guys squat beautifully down there, "REALLY"

They literally DROP to the back and have a "spotter" CATCH them as they "ascend" (fall) downwards. Hello! There's no imaginary chair behind your arse moron. Then they have their "spotter" support them as they go up. The guy suddenly turns to become a bloody smith machine.

Hell their knees are definitely behind their toes. But their back's turned inside and they don't hvae a single idea of what they're doing obviously.

There's one guy down there at FF Curve, I think he's doing crossfit training. He does a lot of RDL and heaven knows what. But the last time I checked, Crossfit is about compound movements. Fellow does a lot of pullovers for Crossfit aye....funny fellow. And 1/4 lunges. Cripes...

HELP ME! And no PT's com,plain. I squat, all stare. Ballz...

Added on May 9, 2008, 3:10 pmI should So stop b****ing bout PT's. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: May 9 2008, 03:10 PM
JIB-89
post May 9 2008, 06:35 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ May 9 2008, 02:15 AM)
----
im there monday,wednesday,friday, sunday maybe depends on situation,PM me when you're going , unfortunately i dont think i can train with you, the routine i am doing is not suited for your goals tongue.gif however i'll help where i can biggrin.gif double your vitamins and rest up (btw if you're looking to get lean try posting your diet here, can get lots of help from peeps here ... i think your flu might be the result of your diet.. carb cycling maybe), cant let others overtake you! REPRESENT LYN! haha if you win dont forget to mention about the H&F section Good luck!

TSiamyuanwu
post May 9 2008, 08:51 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(JIB-89 @ May 9 2008, 06:35 PM)
im there monday,wednesday,friday, sunday maybe depends on situation,PM me when you're going , unfortunately i dont think i can train with you, the routine i am doing is not suited for your goals tongue.gif however i'll help where i can  biggrin.gif  double your vitamins and rest up (btw if you're looking to get lean try posting your diet here, can get lots of help from peeps here ... i think your flu might be the result of your diet.. carb cycling maybe), cant let others overtake you! REPRESENT LYN! haha if you win dont forget to mention about the H&F section Good luck!
No problem. We can just meet up and get on with each others routine. Oh, and pester them to get a squat rack.

For the flu, it came back full revenge after the short stint in the gym on Tuesday. It really is no fun when you're down with flu -- and this is just a normal flu. I've never felt so sick before. Imagine kena bird flu or spanish flu (killed at least 20 million people in 1918).

My diet is a mess. I just eat whatever my dad cooks. Darklight is going to come screaming at me about diet timing and all that. sweat.gif
Nah, I don't do carb cycling (I don't even know what it is until I googled it)
-----
Cooking class tomorrow in Nikko Hotel (part of the contest modules). I'm gonna pwn those guys!
-----
Pizzaboy is anti crappy-PT! Bwahahahah~!
I'm going to show Vinnie my routine and see what he says. I don't know a lot lah, but enough to tell if he's bullshitting me. whistling.gif
Snecx
post May 11 2008, 02:01 AM

208 posts

I saw you in the first aid class (via the magazine of course). biggrin.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post May 11 2008, 05:33 AM

2,425 posts

I just realised today... I'm the scrawniest dude amongst all the contestants! Crap!
Most of those guys can hide a chicken in their biceps.

$%^&*^%$#@ the flu! Can't wait to get well and start training.
-----
Made a salad, a casserole dish and steamed chicken in today's R&D module in Nikko Hotel!
Everything is prepared. All we had to do is just mix and fire up the pots. You'd have to be darn stupiak if the food taste bad.

The black eyed peas+kidney beans+green,red pepper+cabbage+vinegar+thyme salad was very nice.

The casserole is the best. The chicken sausage is a special order sausage for Nikko Hotel. And the sauce is superb! Vegetable stock+diced eggplant+diced tomatoes+thyme+chopped garlic & onions. Yummy. Too bad I couldn't eat much today.

The steamed chicken filet in honey-mustard-yoghurt-sauce taste too bland for my Malaysian tongue. And mustard+yogurt?!
pizzaboy
post May 11 2008, 10:23 AM

9,495 posts

mustard (thumbs up)
yoghurt (HEAVEN!)

I lyke. biggrin.gif

Go go start training with JIB, get him to squat you till you shiver.
TSiamyuanwu
post May 15 2008, 06:39 PM

2,425 posts

I love yogurt too, but I think we overkilled with the mustard. Shouldn't have put the whole thing in. Bah, the chicken just wasn't that nice. I want flavours & spices - give me tandoori chicken anyday! =)
-----
Back in the gym just for the sake of being back in the gym. No particular routine for yesterday's workout - for exercise purpose only. Lost 1.5kg over the flu ordeal. @#$%^&*!

Squats
50lbs x 15
50lbs x 15
50lbs x 15

Bench press
20kg (empty bar) x 20
25kg x 12
30kg x 10
30kg x 10

Barbell row
20kg (empty bar) x 10
22.5kg x 10
22.5kg x 10

Deadlift
52.5kg x 10
52.5kg x 5
JIB-89
post May 15 2008, 06:51 PM

313 posts

recovered from your flu already? when do u usually train? you all train together at one time?

This post has been edited by JIB-89: May 15 2008, 06:53 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post May 16 2008, 01:38 AM

2,425 posts

Train together with Pizzaboy, you mean? Nah, I don't even know how he looks like in real life. I'm a scrawny fella whacking the weights in Leisure Mall. I'm probably the smallest dud there.

I'm starting to train with a friend of mine on Friday evenings, in Bandar Tun Razak public gym. RM2 per entry. That's because my friend don't have fitness first membership and he can't find time to workout that much.

On other days, I train alone on any day I like, as long as I get a 1 days rest in between the workouts.

I like deadlifting in FF -- it makes heck of a noise when I deload everytime. Like something serious in FF is broken. *KLING KLIANG! X^D

I think I'm able to find a way to improvise a squat rack out of other equipments in FF leisure mall. There are 2 racks for holding those fixed weight mini barbells. I'll just pull them apart, put 2 bars on the top of the racks and use them as temp racks. Lets see if the trainers will buat bising. cool2.gif

My routine is here:

TSiamyuanwu
post May 17 2008, 01:55 AM

2,425 posts

Went to Bandar Tun Razak gahmen gym. Bugger... the place got burned down! The gym room all charred and black. So we had to go to the gym in IYC next door. No squat rack again. And the gym attendent basically lives there -- the dips bar is used as clothes hanger for his children's clothes. Hah hah!

Went with 2 friends, end up talking & demonstrating too much and working out too little. My friend - Penyu, never been to a gym before, has a darn good form for squats and the row -- all he did was just watch me with my cacat form. Pwned by n00b.

Squats (had my 2 friends lifted the whole barbell+weights and put them on my shoulders. The squats totally obliterated them too.)
20kg x 12 (warm up)
47kg x 5 (I feel so malu with such light weights)
47kg x 5
47kg x 5
47kg x 5
47kg x 5

Bench Press
20kg x 15 (warm up)
25kg x 8 (warm up)
34kg x 5
34kg x 5
36kg x 5
36kg x 5
36kg x 5

Pendlay row
20kg x 12 (warm up)
25kg x 8 (warm up)
29.4kg x 5
29.4kg x 5
29.4kg x 4,1/2
27.2kg x 5
27.2kg x 4,1/2
(will try with lower weights next time for proper form)

Dips

Gym tutup liao. So didn't do triceps pull down, db flies, front+side raise & leg curls.
Am I warming up correctly?
pizzaboy
post May 17 2008, 09:28 AM

9,495 posts

Hey, are you the one with the long hair? On menshealth?
19.5 BMI?

Actually, warming up is quite subjective. Some guys, for example Mark Rippetoe, says that he needs 10-15 minutes to warm up. I can understand I guess, old guy, creaky bones. Marc Bartley has his friends rub heat rubs on him to warm up

I warm up by working up to a 1RM or 3RM and dropping to my work-set. IT's all subjective. But generally, you should feel a bit warm, that's why it's a warm-up.

Anyway, say hi to victor for me when you see him. Say Kirks greets.
TSiamyuanwu
post May 20 2008, 06:51 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 17 2008, 09:28 AM)
1.Hey, are you the one with the long hair? On menshealth?
19.5 BMI?

2. Actually, warming up is quite subjective. Some guys, for example Mark Rippetoe, says that he needs 10-15 minutes to warm up. I can understand I guess, old guy, creaky bones. Marc Bartley has his friends rub heat rubs on him to warm up

I warm up by working up to a 1RM or 3RM and dropping to my work-set. IT's all subjective. But generally, you should feel a bit warm, that's why it's a warm-up.

3. Anyway, say hi to victor for me when you see him. Say Kirks greets.
1. Yeah, the long hair. The session with Redken, the hairstylist cut until like military cut liddat. Now I have short hair. I think I look better with long hair. Time to let it grow again.

2. Thanks for the heads up on warming up. I'll do low weight, high rep for warming up & see how goes.

3. Will do. Kirk? Star Trek fan, aye?
-----

JIB-89...
Are you in Leisure Mall today kah?

-----
Bahagian B
Yay, found a way to improvise a make shift squat rack. Leisure Mall weights are weird ass. Dumbbells in lbs, Plates and machines in kg. Is it so difficult to buy dumbbells in kgs meh?

(about 1 minute rest between sets)

Squats
'bar x 2 x 20
50kg x 5 x 5

Overhead press (never done this before, took a few sets to find the groove)
'bar x 8 (warm up but tak jadi, tire out instead)
22.5 x 5
bar x 5 (bar is 20kg, right?)
bar x 5
bar x 5
bar x 5

Deadlift
'50lbs x 2 x 10
55kg x 5
57.5kg x 5
57.5kg x 5

Pull up
1, 1/2, 1/2
1, 1/2

Hammer curl (so whacked out I can't even lift 10lbs properly. Consider removing this from routine)
10lbs x 3 x 10

Stiff arm pull down (don't see the point of this exercise now that I've done it. Consider removing also. Apparently, I did it the wrong way today. It should be high rep, lighter weight, body bend forward a little. I dream of V shape!)
12.5kg x 8
12.5kg x 6
10kg x 5

Standing row
25lbs x 8
25lbs x 7
25lbs x 7

Weighted sit up (Inspired by a friend who has nice abs, girls go gaga over his abs when they touch his tummy during clubbing. tongue.gif )
20lbs x 3 x 8

Leg curls
25kg x 4 x 8
JIB-89
post May 20 2008, 07:11 PM

313 posts

Yes, was there at around 1 i think
pizzaboy
post May 21 2008, 08:02 AM

9,495 posts

You're doing too much. That stronglifts routine, is actually Bill Starr's routine. He just changed it a bit, and called it his own, that bloody knock-off.

Anyway, you can get strong and big via the squats, deadlifts and presses as well as rows. You don't need the curls, forget the pull-downs, forget the machines at the moment.

The thing is about these movements, is you can do it 3x10 today, 5x5 tmr 3x3 the next and 1x20 next week, how unsystematic, and you'll STILL grow like a weed provided you've enough food.

They're just strong movements you see. And at the moment, I don't even see why you need a routine like "stronglifts billstar knockoff". You just need to increase weights at every dammed set, hit all five reps, move to the next exercise and do the same, in good form.

Go home? Rest. Grow.

Forget bicep curls la......not yet.

Added on May 21, 2008, 8:03 amkirks is my real name btw.

This post has been edited by pizzaboy: May 21 2008, 08:03 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post May 21 2008, 12:39 PM

2,425 posts

JIB-89...
I was in the free weights section from about 1.30pm to 3.30pm. I wwas stumbling with the barbell doing empty bar squats for warm ups.
Which were you? There were quite a few fellas in the free weights section.
---
pizzaboy [aka Kirk]...
You're right. The accessory exercises is an overkill. I basically don't have the energy to do them after the main lifts. And it was taking way too much time in the gym to complete it.
Everytime before each set of the main lifts, I need to mentally brace/prepare myself to do it. They are so challenging. Fuh! Fuh! Fuh! X^D
JIB-89
post May 21 2008, 01:22 PM

313 posts

was wearing full black attire, animal T-shirt tongue.gif , i was in front of the Incline B.P, you were training with someone isit?

This post has been edited by JIB-89: May 21 2008, 01:27 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post May 21 2008, 03:12 PM

2,425 posts

Alamak, tak perasan anyone in black and with animal motive. No lah, I always train alone in Fitness First. Have not got to known people in the gym yet -- I should though, since I'm working part time as a public mutual agent.
I was the one with a piece of paper to jot down my workout. Heh heh, I managed to use the fixed-weight-barbell rack as a squat rack. Trainers didn't say anything -- so it's all good.
I'll be going to LM again tomorrow, either early morning, or mid afternoon.

Now I'm looking for those pay per entry gym in Cheras, Pandan or Ampang area so I can workout in the weekends with my friends.
TSiamyuanwu
post May 23 2008, 02:52 AM

2,425 posts

double post

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: May 23 2008, 04:23 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post May 23 2008, 04:21 AM

2,425 posts

I'm looking for pay-per-entry gyms in Cheras, Pandan Indah or Ampang area. Any suggestions?
The free weights section should be well equiped.
BTW, is Top Gym in Pandan Indah pay-per-entry?

I'm going to workout with my friends who have no gym membership anywhere. (I got my FF percuma for the duration of the contest.)
---
Today's workout (Thursday) in Leisure Mall.

Bahagian A of Stronglift 5x5

Squat
'bar x 15
'bar x 15
52.5kg x 5 x 5 (Fuh fuh fuh! Not sure if I will be able to increase weights next session)

Bench press
'bar x 15
'bar x 12
40 x 1 x 5 (fuh, kaulat. Reduced weight next set, if not... sure kena stapled)
37.5 x 4 x 5

Pendley row (at least that's what I think I was doing)
One PT kept looking at me doing it. Then he tak boleh tahan and grab those fixed weight bars and started rowing too. biggrin.gif
'bar x 8
27.5 x 5 x 5

Dips

Leg curls (feet pointed down for more hamstring work)
30kg x 8
30kg x 8
30kg x 8
25kg x 8

Abs machine
'30kg x 10
40kg x 10
45kg x 10
45kg x 8 + 2(lousy reps)

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: May 23 2008, 04:23 AM
pizzaboy
post May 23 2008, 02:55 PM

9,495 posts

I'll say this and you'll think "Pizzaboy menyampah lah" but machines, abs machines...is an absolute waste of time
TSiamyuanwu
post May 23 2008, 04:47 PM

2,425 posts

Hah hah! Pizzaboy memang menyampah... semacam aku je! X^D

I normally avoid the machines (methinks they are so not helping my abs). I was lazy, that "thing" was there... so I just lantak buat lah, malas to pick up a dumbbell and sit up by that time. I just want to give the abs something to do before I run off. I was in a bit a hurry too.
TSiamyuanwu
post May 25 2008, 05:01 AM

2,425 posts

Went training with my friends again. This time in Bionic Gym near Cheras flats. Really damn ghetto, man! Not a single sissy... until I arrived blush.gif. The owner was nice though, had a lot of fun chatting with him while working out.

Bahagian B:
Squat - the owner watch my form: he said my butt juts out to the left when I'm standing up. Asked my friend to take a video... I memang poke my ass to the left (i'll post the vid when I wake up). My right leg is way stronger than my left, that's why I poke my ass to left, allow more weights to transfer to my right leg and lift. I also felt a very-very slight pull on my right side below the arm pits. Form cacat already. Must reduce weight next session -- should I start back at 45kg?
Maybe I should do leg extensions with my left leg too.

'squat machine 30kg x 15
'squat machine 30kg x 20
52.5kg x 5
52.5kg x 5
52.5kg x 5
52.5kg x 5
52.5kg x 4 (trying not to sway my hips... lost balance instead. ***! I damn tulan with my form!)

Overhead press
'5kg dumbbells x 15
22.5kg x 5
22.5kg x 5
22.5kg x 5
22.5kg x 5
22.5kg x 5

hang clean & press (this one I tak tau buat punya... simply do for fun after watching a few videos. O lifting looks like a lot fun)
22.5kg x 10

Deadlift (a nice dude there saw us deadlifting and takut we kena spinal slip disc. So he made us wear belts before lifting. notworthy.gif)
'bar x 20
60kg x 5
60kg x 5
60kg x 5
60kg x 5 (extra 1 set because I kept thinking 5x5)

Pull up Woohoo!

Leg curls
nada --- need to cabut liao.

Weighted decline sit up
7.5kg x 8
7.5kg x 8
7.5kg x 8
(one friend was crazy: 28kg on the chest x 10)

After workout concoction:
2.5 scoops ON 100% whey + 1 small packet Dutch Lady full cream milk + 1 plain (no flavour) yoghurt + water

Mix all together and shared among 3 of us. Approximately 25-27g of protein for each of us. laugh.gif
Snecx
post May 25 2008, 07:27 AM

208 posts

Hey, wondering how you doing with your weight gain. Mine was compromised for the last 2 weeks. shakehead.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post May 25 2008, 11:04 AM

2,425 posts

Weight gain went to fxcking h3ll liao. Dropped 1.5 kgs when kena flu for 2 weeks (you know lah, when sakit, I don't eat much... lying on the couch like going to die liddat.)

Now trying to gain weight damn susah. I can't eat much because my stomach feels bloated all the frigging time for no reason after that stupid flu. Taking whey & during-training-mass-gainer now.

Got a bit of improvement in muscle gain. Chest now thicker than a piece of bread, abs also looked bigger but still cover by fat. Not a lot of difference compared to when I started, but I feel it's coming around.
pizzaboy
post May 25 2008, 11:48 AM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ May 25 2008, 11:04 AM)
Weight gain went to fxcking h3ll liao. Dropped 1.5 kgs when kena flu for 2 weeks (you know lah, when sakit, I don't eat much... lying on the couch like going to die liddat.)

Now trying to gain weight damn susah. I can't eat much because my stomach feels bloated all the frigging time for no reason after that stupid flu. Taking whey & during-training-mass-gainer now.

Got a bit of improvement in muscle gain. Chest now thicker than a piece of bread, abs also looked bigger but still cover by fat. Not a lot of difference compared to when I started, but I feel it's coming around.
I've always had this question to ask. Why men want tetek besau?
yeeck
post May 25 2008, 12:25 PM

3,572 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 25 2008, 11:48 AM)
Stupid question...men want EVERY muscle in their body to be big.
pizzaboy
post May 25 2008, 01:05 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ May 25 2008, 12:25 PM)
Stupid question...men want EVERY muscle in their body to be big.
Awohh.....what a mind squeezing answer.

I definitely don't want every muscle in my body to be big. doh.gif

Hypertrophied muscles are pointless unless they're equally matched with sarcoplasmic muscular growth and an efficient CNS pathway. Trust me young padawan, you do not want big oblique muscles and huge gluteal muscles.

Strength+Fitness>Big big muskel thumbup.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post May 25 2008, 08:17 PM

2,425 posts

What the heck is sarcoplasmic muscular growth? You mean growth in the muscle fibers --> muscles keras macam batu?

Tetek besar? Gua tak mau tetek besak... gua mau tetek tebal macam 3-layered-sandwich. Semua pun mau besak... batang termasuk.

Heh heh! Right now, I don't even have the strength yet. Got nice body with the strength... lagi choon lah.

m8, you doing oly lifts ya? (getting ready for commonwealth aye?) Sounds like fun to me. I might try my hands on it after I'm done with 5x5.
pizzaboy
post May 25 2008, 08:32 PM

9,495 posts

Fun? It's actually tedious. 6 months to practice the clean and jerk and snatch form with a bar, before I could honestly call my technique close to perfect, with the bar. That didn't include the weights yet, and the weights, you can add another 2 months learning how to pull the bar overhead and squat under for the snatch.

And no not commonwealth, SEA games first. Commonwealth, lagi 6 tahun mungkin boleh lah....anyway, i'm coming over KL this Thursday, would like to meet up with ya guys. PM me man biggrin.gif
Snecx
post May 26 2008, 02:34 AM

208 posts

Oi, mana your video? You said wanna post your video?

I memang poke my ass to the left (i'll post the vid when I wake up).

brows.gif
bata
post May 26 2008, 02:46 AM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 25 2008, 11:48 AM)
can jugs the opposite tetek when "together"...kakaka laugh.gif

*sorry ya kacau yer thread tongue.gif

Chow

This post has been edited by bata: May 26 2008, 02:48 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post May 26 2008, 12:30 PM

2,425 posts

Alrighty! The squat vid is up. Lupa to upload.
My cacated-butt-jutting squat. Notice the the slight butt jutting at the beginning of the squat. My friends takut my tulang belakang pecah. BTW, pls check if my squatting form is ok ke tak?

---
QUOTE(pizzaboy @ May 25 2008, 08:32 PM)
Fun? It's actually tedious. 6 months to practice the clean and jerk and snatch form with a bar, before I could honestly call my technique close to perfect, with the bar. That didn't include the weights yet, and the weights, you can add another 2 months learning how to pull the bar overhead and squat under for the snatch.

And no not commonwealth, SEA games first. Commonwealth, lagi 6 tahun mungkin boleh lah....anyway, i'm coming over KL this Thursday, would like to meet up with ya guys. PM me man biggrin.gif
Yeah, lets meet up. You free pagi, petang or malam?
---
QUOTE(bata @ May 26 2008, 02:46 AM)
can jugs the opposite tetek when "together"...kakaka  laugh.gif

*sorry ya kacau yer thread tongue.gif

Chow
BWahahaha! XD That would be nice too! brows.gif
My main motivation is because girls always laugh at me being kecik and not meaty. Not nice to hug, not syok sit on a skinny thigh, no abs, no sense of security, looks like a little boy, etc... etc... Ego tercedera kaukau! cry.gif

N0eL
post May 26 2008, 02:10 PM

1,479 posts

Bro....

Your knees are not parallel with ur toes when you move down/up. This will put a big strain on the side of the knees and risk injuring urself. Be careful of ur left leg as it sways out when you were moving up. Both legs aren't really sync together when u move up.

Don't lock ur knees when you are at the starting position.

Control the down and up motion with the same speed. YOu are kinda going slow halfway and explode the rest of ur way up.

If u must, lift lower poundage to perfect the form first.

Good luck...
bata
post May 26 2008, 05:12 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ May 26 2008, 12:30 PM)
---

Yeah, lets meet up. You free pagi, petang or malam?
---

BWahahaha! XD That would be nice too! brows.gif
My main motivation is because girls always laugh at me being kecik and not meaty. Not nice to hug, not syok sit on a skinny thigh, no abs, no sense of security, looks like a little boy, etc... etc... Ego tercedera kaukau! cry.gif
lol....same as my reason when i started man......
they will say " eh, boleh angkat ke ni? " hmm.gif
or offer to lift together pretty small things....huaaaaaa cry.gif
when women say that you will be..... doh.gif doh.gif

Chow

This post has been edited by bata: May 26 2008, 05:14 PM
pizzaboy
post May 26 2008, 09:28 PM

9,495 posts

Hey yuan wu, here's what I think is your squatting problem

1. You have a muscular imbalance, your left quadriceps are weaker than your right, and your knees cave in when you rise from the squat. Address that with single leg squats or reduce the weight and correct your form.

2. Your hips aren't tight enough, your weight is moving all over. Your weight isn't on your hips and hamstrings. It's on your knees. Look at your own video and see, you aren't stable. You ARE lowering your hips but I think you break the movement from the knees. I can't exactly explain this on a forum.

3. You're doing a high bar squat, with a ***** pad. What gives? If you're doing a low bar squat, that's still ACCEPTABLE.

4. You "good morning" the weight up like an American powerlifter. Strengthen your back, keep it arched but not hyper-extended.

5. You're not SITTING between your feet. You're doing somewhat of a "box squat with no box". If I ask you to sit, you're going to curve your back..and fall forward.

6. You're trying WAY too hard to keep your knees behind your toes. If you ever want to learn to "sit" in your squat, forget that.

It seems like there's many, but I think it can be corrected, when you learn to "sit" in your squat.

Also I'll actually be coming on Wednesday. I'll be with SydG in the mornings about 10AM, to visit Bkt Jalil to get some information. Then we can chill out anywhere. Just pm me your num biggrin.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post May 26 2008, 10:34 PM

2,425 posts

Holy crap! I realise I have problems But that's a whole list man.

I'll ask you more about it when we meet. PM'd you my number.
---
My 5x5 Bahagian B
Now that my squats is certified cacat... I'm not even sure if all other lifts are correct. @#$%^&*!! I seriously need a spotter who knows his stuff to help correct my form.

Rowing [boat] machine
3 min for overall warm up

Squats
'bar x 20
45kg x 5 x 5 (will stick to this weight until form corrected)

Bench press
'bar x 20
40 x 5
40 x 5
40 x 5
40 x 4 (kena stapled - should have reduce the weight for this set. Stupiak! I d@mn tulan with myself now... tu lah, action lebih.)
37.5 x 5

Pendley row (wonder if my form is ok... haih...)
no warm up because kena tegur by PT for not wearing any shoes - just want to cepat habis then cabut.
30 x 5 x 5

Dips (using 90sec rest between sets, as oppose to unlimited rest last few sessions... this last 2 sets pancit teruk.
TSiamyuanwu
post May 28 2008, 11:36 PM

2,425 posts

Today's workout at home.
(*) denotes what I do during rest days.

single leg squat
body weight x 7
didn't count after that...

alternate leg lunge jump
2kg db on each hand x 5

Lateral raise* + standing row.. superset
2kg x 8 + 10kg x 10

DB curls
single arm 10kg x 3
double arm 10kg x 12

single arm 10kg x 3
double arm 10kg x 12

single arm 10kg x 3
double arm 10kg x 12

DB tricep extension
10kg x 12
10kg x 12
10kg x 12

*push up
diamond/triangle push up x 11
wide push up x 11
normal width push up x 11

*decline sit up
10kg x 7
8kg x 8

*Punching the air with 2kg DB each hand

*Pull up
TSiamyuanwu
post May 29 2008, 11:05 PM

2,425 posts

How to get get rid of fat in the mid section/waist. It started accumulating a year ago, and only in the waist and no where else. Not a lot, but it's obscuring the abs... the ABS! doh.gif This is so unfair!
+++
Bahagian A Stronglift 5x5

Concept2 rowing boat machine
3 min at level 10

Squat
'30kg x 12
45kg x 5
45kg x 5
45kg x 5
45kg x 5
45kg x 5

Overhead press
'10lbs x 15
25kg x 5
25kg x 5
25kg x 5
25kg x 5
25kg x 5 (barely can make it... like losing balance like that.)

Deadlift (lower back still a bit sore from last deadlift and all that weighted sit up crap)
'40kg x 8
60kg x 5
62.5kg x 5 (maybe form cacat?)
62.5kg x 5

Pull up (deadlift is damn tiring... after doing it, can't do much of anything else. Pull up before deadlifting next time, & see how it goes.)
7 (improve by +1)

Leg curls
35kg x 8
35kg x 8
30kg x 8

Abs machine
50kg x 10
45kg x 10
45kg x 10 (barely... pancit so many times in between reps)

Added on May 30, 2008, 6:01 pmJust took my weight and body fat in Fitness First.
Weight = 52.5kg
BMI = 19
body fat = 17.8% (previously - taken monthly = 14.6%, 18.5%, 16.8%)

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: May 30 2008, 06:01 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 2 2008, 02:15 AM

2,425 posts

Stronglift 5x5 takes a long time to complete. Too bl00dy many sets, which makes rest times just as many. Almost impossible to complete in 1.5 hours. I wanted to kautim within 1 hour if possible.
But the programme seems to work. I'm seeing some growth... very slight growth.

Bahagian B

Squat
'30kg x 8
52.5kg x 5 (miscalculated the weights, I actually wanted to squat 47.5)
52.5kg x 5
52.5kg x 5
50kg x 5
50kg x 5

Bench Press (My hands/arms shake when I lift the bar, even with empty bar - why?)
'bar x 15
'30kg x 8
40kg x 5 (what the heck is wrong? Why can't I lift 40kg?)
37.5kg x 5
37.5kg x 5
37.5kg x 5
37.5kg x 5

Pendlay row
30kg x 5
32.5kg x 5
32.5kg x 5
32.5kg x 5
32.5kg x 5

Dips (can feel the tension in the chest - as if it's working the chest more than B.P.) (1.5 minute rest)

Leg curls
35kg x 8
35kg x 8
35kg x 8

Abs machine
50kg x 10
50kg x 10
50kg x 10

Concept 2 rowing machine - HIIT cardio (trying to burn off the lard around my waist)
1min fast -> 1min slow x 6

1 hr pre-workout = 1 scoop ON Whey
during workout = Mass Xxplosion
1/2 hr post-workout = 1.5 scoop ON Whey

Body weight = 53.5kg (most probably from water I just drank)
Reminder: washboard abs, big chest, 58kg, win Refine&Define.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 4 2008, 04:32 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 4 2008, 04:31 AM

2,425 posts

Bhg B:

Concept 2 row
warm up 3min, resistance level 1

Squat
50kg x 5 x 5; 1min rest

Overhead press
27.5kg x 4; 1min rest (can barely balance the bar - reduce weight next set)
25kg x 5; 1min rest
25kg x 4 (pancit)

Deadlift
65kg x 3 x 5; 1min rest

Pull up (pwned, today damn lethargic... can't even lift my nuts)
6; 1.5 min rest
4; 1.5 min rest

Abs machine
55kg x 3, 50kg x 7; 1.5min rest
50kg x 9; 2min rest
50kg x 10

Leg curls
35 x 3 x 8; 1.5min rest

Cardio
nil - pancit teruk today.

Pre-workout: 1 half boil egg, 1 scoop ON whey
During workout: Mass xxplosion
Post workout: 2 scoops ON whey
--
Observation:
- Lack of sleep last night... probably why today pancit.
- Serious lack of strength in both forearms, especially left arm. During deadlift... left hand's grip almost gave up at last few reps, unable to balance the bar properly in overhead press & bench press -- my hands shakes even if I have no problem pressing the bar. Arrghh...
- body weight = 53.3kg
- Goal reminder: fat-->15%; wt-->58kg; abs visible, large shoulders+delt, thick pecs, Xmas tree on the back... by Aug.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 7 2008, 11:10 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 7 2008, 11:09 AM

2,425 posts

Bahagian A:

observation:
- squat form may have improved a bit, I guess...
- bench press still too weak to increase weight. @#$%^&*!!
- after each set of pendlay row, I feel that my right-lower back aches... something like a muscle pull. You know, when you sit on the floor with a hunch for too long, the back muscle sort of aches when you stand up. Is it because I'm dealifting too heavy in the previous session? Or should I lay off the deadlift for a week? Or is it my deadlift cacated? Will take a video and post here next time.
- gym owner taught me how to flex my lats & back. My back got some definition wei. Happy!

squat
50 x 5 x 5 (butt still juts to the left a wee bit, but less)

bench press
39 x 3 x 5
pause 15min (my friend let another fella share the bench and that idiot just held up the bench & did 6-7 set of 10 reps BP on that bench, messed up my timing.)
39 x 4 x 5

Pendlay row (felt a pull on right side of lower back. ???)
35 x 5 x 5

dips (the pump i feel in the pecs is simply crazy. I wonder why is it not much recommended for building the chest?)

captain's chair
shanecross
post Jun 7 2008, 12:07 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Nice progress man. The reason you row and ache your back is because you are putting to much tension on the lower back. Rows are gravitational exercises, go easy on the weights and get the form right first. Thats what I did, but I do the reg barbell row. I bet it works the same. Cheers
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 04:51 AM

2,425 posts

Shanecross...
Thanks, m8! Yup, similar to the bend over row. But I deload every rep for the pendlay row. I'm guessing the plate being small means the bar is way too low on the floor. So I rounded my back, causing some strain. I'd probably take a few days off the let the back recover a bit.
---
Anyone knows where to buy a dip bar?
---
www.simplefit.org
Trying out the Simplefit level 2 routine at home. Maybe I can do this at home during rest days.
---
Here's a photo of my back. Never seen my own back before. I was flexing my lats and ask my buddy - Henry to take it. Check out the delts too... heh heh!
Still lacking shoulders like boulders, and the xmas tree. Self consolation: but at least got a bit of V shape lah - the power of pull ups!

4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 07:36 AM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

You don't flex your back like that. You should do a back double biceps pose.
This pose is to show your delts, arms and back.
JIB-89
post Jun 8 2008, 08:13 AM

313 posts

Throw in some hyperextensions, you gotta make the "parit" in your back
Keep it up smile.gif
which gym is that anyway?

This post has been edited by JIB-89: Jun 8 2008, 08:16 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 11:44 AM

2,425 posts

Wah lau... back double bicep pose. Tak sampai level lagi lah, 4Rings. Malu to pose -- biceps tarak, shoulders tarak, lower back tarak, hamstring tarak, calves tarak, semua belum ada lagi.

That's the Bionic Gym, RM 3 per entry. Heck, I have probably learned more stuff within 2-3 times going to that gym than 2-3 months in FF.

Yeah, I was flexing like the photo when the owner came over show me the proper pose:
hands on the waist, chest up, elbow to the front & [like JIB mentioned,] arch backwards. Henry was laughing so hard because both of us skinny dude with so little muscles was trying to flex among all the big guys there.

shanecross
post Jun 8 2008, 11:46 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Where is this bionic gym?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 04:15 PM

2,425 posts

Taman Tenaga, Cheras. Cheras flats there, near the cheras-loke yew roundabout. The gym is damn ghetto, but the owner and people training there are friendly. They don't disturb you when you train, but they'll chat you up when you rest. Large guys there - I feel a bit inferiority complex everytime Henry and me enter. XD
4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 05:27 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

I was there on Friday. What time were you there?
bata
post Jun 8 2008, 06:24 PM

3,726 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 8 2008, 11:44 AM)
Wah lau... back double bicep pose. Tak sampai level lagi lah, 4Rings. Malu to pose -- biceps tarak, shoulders tarak, lower back tarak, hamstring tarak, calves tarak, semua belum ada lagi.

That's the Bionic Gym, RM 3 per entry. Heck, I have probably learned more stuff within 2-3 times going to that gym than 2-3 months in FF.

Yeah, I was flexing like the photo when the owner came over show me the proper pose:
hands on the waist, chest up, elbow to the front & [like JIB mentioned,] arch backwards. Henry was laughing so hard because both of us skinny dude with so little muscles was trying to flex among all the big guys there.
that is not double-biceps pose, more like front-lat spread pose.
anyway, nice back, but lack rear delts, and traps, can clearly see because your front delts overpowering them laugh.gif

Chow
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 08:08 PM

2,425 posts

4Rings...
I was there 8-10pm. We were 2 stick thin chinese boys talking quite loudly. We'll probably go there more often.
Which one are you? Call out to me lah, i'm 1-U.

Bata...
Thanks, m8!
Yeah, it's not the double bicep pose. That's my cipalk pose developed in my home bathroom to flex the lats.
Traps arr... that one have to flex another home-bathroom-ciplak pose to tunjuk a little traps.
Rear delts so lembik it felt like taufoo. The front delts was due to my super noobie effort 3 year ago - all i did was standing row, push ups and bicep curls... almost every day for 1 year.
---
Trained with pizzaboy just now in Fitness One, Bandar Sri Permaisuri (just outside Salak Selatan STAR-LRT, 99/month or RM7/hour. Too bad no squat rack). Trying to improve squat, bench press, deadlift and row form. I hope form no more cacat. Might also replace Pendlay row with Yates row... I don't have enough flexibility to do pendlay row properly.
4Rings
post Jun 8 2008, 08:13 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

I was there at around 8pm. I delivered protein supplements to the boss and left. Didn't stay to watch you guys workout. Gotta rush for dinner.
jones007
post Jun 8 2008, 09:56 PM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

dude why yates row? do the traditional bent over row la. best
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 8 2008, 11:15 PM

2,425 posts

Errr... don't know lah, pizzaboy recommended. Apparently my form cacat... lacking the flexibility to do it. I not 100% sure how the pendlay row looks like. I guess I'm doing about 80% of the proper form.

Arrghhh, dunno lah. I'll keep to pendlay for the moment while I find out more about pendlay, normal bend over & yates row. Deng!

BTW, just now meet up with pizzaboy apa macam? I wanted to come, but I promise a friend to play football. Where you stay? Taynton? Midah?
jones007
post Jun 8 2008, 11:58 PM

8,878 posts

i stay at taman pertama.. near midah.. we could meet up anytime lol
pizzaboy
post Jun 9 2008, 12:40 PM

9,495 posts

Don't make things so complex. Do a version of row, which you can FEEL your lats, upper back ...or the entire back structure working hard at it. You can even use dumbbell rows if you'd like to lessen the strain on your lower back.

Back training...it'd be better to use the bb'ing style of it. Something where you can feel the contraction, burn and what not whn you're doing it. Where you can feel the stretch la and all that.

The nama all different, but it's really up to how it feels good for you. In fact, doing pull-ups I feel nothing on my lats. But it feels more of a stretch when i'm doing close grip chin-ups. See? Different people, different methods. No textbook for weightlifting la.
lcsum
post Jun 9 2008, 06:39 PM

282 posts

dont feel down or look negative on yourself, stay confidentlah bro....
stop staying ciplak, lembik, cacat....this is all demotivating words

4Rings
post Jun 9 2008, 07:52 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

Actually I don't feel pump training my lats. But they grew faster than my chest which I felt good pump and sore.
pizzaboy
post Jun 10 2008, 09:14 AM

9,495 posts

That's sorta good thing right? I felt the pump a few times and it was rather painful. Hated it.
Btw do you mean you don't feel a stretch on your lats and back at all when you're training them?

4Rings
post Jun 10 2008, 02:59 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

I do but I can't get the pump and soreness like the chest.
jones007
post Jun 10 2008, 04:21 PM

8,878 posts

QUOTE(4Rings @ Jun 10 2008, 02:59 PM)
I do but I can't get the pump and soreness like the chest.
weird. i'm totally opposite of you. i cant get the pump on my chest.. but i get serious pump on my lats after some heavy duty rows.. haha
4Rings
post Jun 10 2008, 04:30 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

Maybe we could exchange those body parts when we workout the next time.
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 10 2008, 06:09 PM

2,425 posts

I can't get a pump in most of those exercises in Stronglift-5x5 pun. Nada... i just feel tired overall. Only dips and pull ups has the best pump. The pump is so ridiculous after dips, it feels as if my chest wants to go kaboom.

Hypothesis:
I have more slow twitch muscles, 5x5 is too little reps.

Perbincangan:
-No pump when doing 5x5 (which targets fast twitch muscles?).
-Feel pumped when doing dips & pull ups which is in the range of 6-13 reps (slow twitch muscles working?).
-No soreness during lifting. No DOMS after training sessions. --> muscles (which are mostly slow twitch) are not put under enough stress+work.

Kesimpulan: Tak tau. Aku sememangnya n00b lagi. Unable to confirm hypothesis based on my current knowledge.

Cadangan: Cuba 3x10... tengok ada pump ke tak.

XD
4Rings
post Jun 10 2008, 06:21 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 10 2008, 06:09 PM)
I can't get a pump in most of those exercises in Stronglift-5x5 pun. Nada... i just feel tired overall. Only dips and pull ups has the best pump. The pump is so ridiculous after dips, it feels as if my chest wants to go kaboom.

Hypothesis:
I have more slow twitch muscles, 5x5 is too little reps.

Perbincangan:
-No pump when doing 5x5 (which targets fast twitch muscles?).
-Feel pumped when doing dips & pull ups which is in the range of 6-13 reps (slow twitch muscles working?).
-No soreness during lifting. No DOMS after training sessions. --> muscles (which are mostly slow twitch) are not put under enough stress+work.

Kesimpulan: Tak tau. Aku sememangnya n00b lagi. Unable to confirm hypothesis based on my current knowledge.

Cadangan: Cuba 3x10... tengok ada pump ke tak.

XD
You won't get pump doing low reps. As a newbie, you should be doing 12 - 8 reps range.
If you are doing it correctly in strict form, you should get the pump.

TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 11 2008, 11:47 AM

2,425 posts

Bahagian B
Instead of 5x5, did 3x10 partly to save time, partly to try out if higher reps can give better pump. Should I abandon 5x5 and use 3x10?
Observation:
Maybe just a wee bit more of pump. I really can't tell.

Squats
44.5kg x 3 x 10

Overhead press
bar x 10
22kg x 10
22kg x 10

Deadlift
59kg x 10
63.5kg x 5

Pull up
9 6 3

Dips

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 11 2008, 12:07 PM
jones007
post Jun 11 2008, 06:21 PM

8,878 posts

3x10. work the weights up. dont stay on one weight. unless u r training for strength. ramp your weights up. light to heavy
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 11 2008, 07:31 PM

2,425 posts

Jones...
You mean increasing the weights every set until I reach the working set, then only I start to do 3x10?

---
Tried Simplefit.org level3 - home exercise during off days.
Monday: 2 pull ups --> 3 push ups --> 5 squats --> repeat until 20min is up.
Total sets = 16

Wednesday - 5 rounds for time (rest time not counted)
3 pull ups --> 10 push ups --> 16 squats --> 3min rest --> x5
= 7.50 minutes

Am I working out too much?
4Rings
post Jun 11 2008, 08:17 PM

Lord of the Rings
1,783 posts

You shouldn't be counting reps. Just pump to the max.
If you dun push hard your muscles can't grow.
Muscles need to be forced to grow.
Snecx
post Jun 12 2008, 02:12 PM

208 posts

Ei, Yuan Wu, you got give yourself rest weeks or not?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 12 2008, 03:04 PM

2,425 posts

Got. 1 month ago... kena flu. Rested for 2 weeks. Now I don't care. Kau lat training until Aug.

Rest day pun aku buat push ups and pull ups.
Snecx
post Jun 12 2008, 03:31 PM

208 posts

2 months more to go only. All the best! Take more whey/mass gainer if pocket allows.
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 12 2008, 09:43 PM

2,425 posts

After looking at snecx's tubs of protein... I realised why I'm not gaining weight.

I'm not eating enough. No wonder. Previously, it was easy to gain 1kg every 2-3 weeks, I was eating like a mad man. For the past 1 month... there's no weight gain at all. Gotta up my food intake.
---
Hah hah! Kena tegur from PT liao. This guy saw me squating with the make shift rack. After I'm done with the squats, he came and politely asked me if I can pull back the barbell racks together after I'm done with it. Of course I can... but actually I don't think I will. I'm going to use it everytime I go there, there's no point for me to move it back. In any case, it's not obstructing anything or anyone at all. No power/squat rack pun berani kacau me some more. Haih...

Today, Bahagian (A) (3x10 instead of 5x5)

observation:
- Bench press: Unable to balance the bar properly, my shoulder blades are moving all over the place - the bench macam too narrow to allow my back to rest on it. By 3rd set baru dapat balance the bar properly. I hate that fix height hook. My hands is just too darn short to get it off.
- Pendlay row: Can feel the middle back getting more work, but no feel on the lats.
- Did half a Tabata interval on the rowing machine to see what the hype is it about. I guess half is not enough.

Squat
45kg x 3 x 10; 90s rest

Bench press
32.5 x 2 x 10; 90s rest
35 x 2 x 10; 90s rest

Pendlay row
30 x 3 x 10; 90s rest

Dips

Abs machine
55 x 8
50 x 10
50 x 8

Concept 2 rowing
Tried a ciplak half Tabata interval for 2 minutes only.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 13 2008, 12:11 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 14 2008, 01:00 AM

2,425 posts

Leong PM'd me this. I thought I'd put it up here for everyone:
Thanks, Leong.

QUOTE(EmpatCincin)
I found this article. Hope it is useful to you.

The 8 Anabolic Workout Plan Commandments

1. Thou shalt workout each body part once a week
2. Thou shalt workout 5 times a week (pick the days that suit you)
3. Thine workouts shall never last more than 45 minutes
4. Thou shalt stay within the optimum muscle-building rep range of 8-12
5. Thou shalt lift for 1-2 seconds and lower for 2 seconds per rep
6. Thou shalt seek Progressive Overload every week (you need to keep written logs of your workout progress!)
7. Thou shalt take 1.5 to 2 minutes rest between sets
8. Thou shalt perform at least 6 sets, and at most 9 sets for each muscle group

You can choose the days you would like to workout on; I like Monday to Friday with a break at the weekend. You can also vary the muscle groups to combine on any given day. For example, at the moment I like to work my chest and triceps on the same day but you can choose to hit your abs and chest on the same day instead.

However, you must prioritize your workouts like this:

- On days when you are working out 2 body parts, work the body part you would like most growth in first. This is because the second body part will have become slightly fatigued and will not perform to its full potential.

- Give priority body parts a day of their own. So, if your chest is lagging, work it separately on a day of its own. Either this or, at least, work them first before a body part you consider less important at this time.

- On single body-part days, do the full nine sets

- Always do one warm-up set before each body part. Your warm-up set should be 50% of the weight that you will use for your first real set; perform 12-15 reps and rest for 1.5 to 2 minutes before the first set.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 14 2008, 01:27 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 14 2008, 01:38 AM

2,425 posts

Some tasty food for my reference:
QUOTE(kege @ Jun 13 2008, 03:03 PM)
haha.. actually you can make your own mass gainer. no need to spend money on so much supplements. i only have whey at home. to make a real good tasting mass gainer shake, try blending:

500ml water
1-2 servings whey (depending on your size)
2 raw eggs
2-4 tbs of peanut butter
+flavoring of choice (but usually the whey will provide enough flavor)

abt 35-50g protein, 15-30g fat

take one between lunch and dinner, and another before bed time.

definitely gonna make u super full. might want to take it in 2 portions. i have gained a lot of muscle with this shake. but i'm getting bored of the taste already  laugh.gif
Tried it just now, with some modifications:
1 tbs oats
1 teaspoon 5-grain powder (taste absolutely weird, but i know it's good stuff because my mom bought it.)
1 scoop ON Whey choc
1 egg (boiled a bit)
1 tbs peanut butter
a bit of milk.

Thankfully not puke inducing!
Next time, i'll add natural flavoured yogurt. Sure super tasty and canggih one! And the best thing about yogurt... it reduces the puking/nauseous effect.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 14 2008, 01:39 AM
SUSraindrops
post Jun 16 2008, 03:45 PM

330 posts

got no new progress pic@@?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 18 2008, 07:33 PM

2,425 posts

There's this niggling ache at the very low back near ass. It only aches a bit when I bend over hard. Taking a half week off from heavy lifting and see if the soreness & aches at the lower back will improve.
---
simplefit.org Level 4 day 3 = 7.15 min
---
Anyone here does clean & jerk and snatches in fitness centres like Fitness First, California Fitness, etc...
C&J and snatch sounds like very interesting. I tried a superbly-cacat-form of hang clean & press --- Woah! Feels like kena trashed! Huffing and puffing -- nice!

Who know how to C&J and snatch?
---
raindrops...
Will post picture tonight.
SUSraindrops
post Jun 18 2008, 08:17 PM

330 posts

im waiting^^
U and spenx are my role model, cause we are same category!^^
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 19 2008, 02:37 AM

2,425 posts

Snecx lah, not spenx... sounds like spandex liddat. Nanti Snecx slap you with spandex baru u tau. XD
---
cool_iced...
Oi, Mie!
Stop lurking and drop something in my comment. You secretly mornitoring my progress but diam-diam ubi, ya?
---
Heck, why is everyone so bl00dy tall?! Every single guy who posted their journal is 175cm and above. I'm barely 166.
---
Here are the photos! Crap... the photos are so big. Next time I'll resize them to smaller ones.

2008-06-18 This is a 166cm body, so it's actually smaller than it looks.
user posted imageuser posted image user posted image

All poses are home brewed. And i position myself in the best lighting to amplify the illusion of muscles.
XD

When I flex my abs, the nice definition of the pec seems to disappear. Instead of a nice square chest... there's some rounded stuff appearing below... making it looks like I have manboobs.
And don't be fooled by the abs --- i have to flex and suck in until muka merah macam mawar berkembang so that only 4 pieces appear.
I can finally see traces of the nice double trunk running along the back. YES! icon_rolleyes.gif More squats and deadlift please!
bata
post Jun 19 2008, 03:00 AM

3,726 posts

lol....i dont realized your stats almost same as mine tongue.gif

Chow
REYZAI
post Jun 19 2008, 11:33 AM

261 posts

seriously like the veins on ur arms in the 2nd pic and ur shoulder shape in the 3rd pic. 加油bro.
shanecross
post Jun 19 2008, 11:39 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Eat more..!
Snecx
post Jun 19 2008, 01:11 PM

208 posts

That looks good! Haha. Keep it going!
SUSraindrops
post Jun 19 2008, 02:11 PM

330 posts

why is everybody growing chest faster than me T_T!!!!!!!!!

LOL, u change alot better liao1!

everybodi is improving cept me=.="

p/s:i can see u flex ur abs and suck ur tummy veri hard, cause at the second pic, i see ur veins coming out of neck!

LOL, anyway, major improvement compare first pic when u started!!!!

hope i can improe lke u too!
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 19 2008, 05:11 PM

2,425 posts

Bata...
Stats? You mean body weight, fat%, etc?
Sama-sama, bro!

Rey...
Heh heh, tak pernah perasan the veins on my arms until you mentioned.
Speaking of which... Mass XXplosion & ON Whey sudah mau habis. You've got stock?

Raindrops...
Secret to bigger chest: work the back more than the chest. Oh, and lots of push ups too.

Ini sudah 5 bulan. 5 months... if still no improvements then I'm certified memang tak guna already. I need to eat more! Eat more!
bata
post Jun 19 2008, 05:44 PM

3,726 posts

height and weight.
you sure about your bodyfat?
seems to me <10 % ler

Chow
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 19 2008, 05:53 PM

2,425 posts

Bata...
Don't know, man... Fitness First machines. The way it measures pun I feel doubtful.

But I can tell you there is a layer of flab around the waist. Just that I flex kau kau... it became invisible in the photo.
If I slouch on a chair... like Michelin Man liddat... can see 3 lapis on the tummy. Target to reduce body fat to 10%.
---
Just stumbled upon this:
http://hundredpushups.com

Who's up for the challenge?
I'm going to mix it with the simplefit.org and see if I'll get super fit.

1 week sabatical from gym. Lower back soreness seems to have reduced.
Snecx
post Jun 20 2008, 03:15 PM

208 posts

I'm up for it! 100 push-ups? I just tried, 17 only then I gave up. Don't dare to push too far since I am a bit hard-pressed for energy this week.

Thinking back, I was able to churn out about 10 only before I start my workout.
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 21 2008, 07:26 PM

2,425 posts

40 simple push ups at one go. The last 6-7 reps have to force it out and take a few second rests.

Friday 20 June:
Bhg B

Squats
50kg 3x10

Overhead press
25kg x10
22.5kg x10
22.5kg x10

Deadlift (the 20kg plates are larger, so the bar is slightly higher = less distance travelled when lifting --> making it easier to lift?)
60kg, 2x10

Pull ups
[after 1 set, the stupid mah chow hai PT went and showed a girl how to use the graviton-pull-up-machine --- tunjuk the various grips and how to set up the weights etc. The girl then promptly squeeze out 40-50+ pull ups using 1 tonne counter weight --- as if she was playing see-saw liddat. Then the PT happily chatting with her bf about pull ups and everything under the sun.
I was standing next to them staring at her ass and her boobs and waiting to use the machine... feeling pissed and all 3 of them totally ignored me. Fxcked up my timing! And worse of all, it's not even part of their workout programme or PT session, the PT saja nak action lebih about how high-tech is that graviton! Super @#$%^&%$# TULAN! vmad.gif
Thankfully the girl is slim and pretty also lah... eventhough I'm pissed, I still find solace in staring at her boobies and booties. drool.gif
If any FF PT ever come and disturb me when i'm in FF, I'm going to screw them left-right-up-down-&-centre! Probably shove a barbell up their arse... a.k.a. hukuman sula!]

10+1 (after 10 reps, I came off from the bar for a split second and squeeze out 1 rep. Then the above incident happened.)
8+1

Added on June 21, 2008, 7:48 pm21 June
hundredpushups.com
Week 1 Day 1
2-3sec down, half up, down, bounce-explode-up-hands-off-the-floor
10; 60sec rest
7+16 (bounce but no jump; last 16 = simple push ups, muscles feel like could do more but I guess CNS is out already)
--
Oris watch appreciation.
Went to Oris in Lot10. Had a great time learning about certain watch movements and Oris. Cheapest watch rm3800, most expensive rm48k. Apparently, mechanical watches require quite an amount of care and maintainence. Even if they give me one, maintaining an Oris would require quite a deep pocket.

The watches are still hand made in Holstein, Switzerland. The name Oris is from the river Oris near Holstein. Oris' ambassador this year is Nico Rosberg of Williams F1 team.
Watches are still hand made (like most other mechanical watch makers) or hand assembled. Calling the various parts that make up the watch 'small' is an understatement --- microscopic is more suitable. There this part called the hairspring inside the flywheel that regulates the speed of the dials --- the spring is literally as thin as hair... maybe thinner.
---
Then went to H&F gathering. Basket, in the thread... so many people cakap nak datang. Akhirnya beberapa budak je yang hadir. Sial....

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 21 2008, 07:48 PM
JIB-89
post Jun 21 2008, 08:08 PM

313 posts

dude u still got FF at the curve? which PT is that? normally the time im there rarely got girls, unless they have that bodypump class
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 21 2008, 08:46 PM

2,425 posts

FF Leisure Mall. It has got to be the most [insert choice of expletives] cacated FF branch ever. That PT is a bit berjanggut, my height or shorter, dark skinned, a bit rounded. A 'dwarf' (as in LOTR) would describe that KNNCCB-imbecile nicely.

I just couldn't understand why Leisure Mall choose to put a cable-stepper that no one touches (except for a few aunties) or 2 cable machines (one of which very little people use)... instead of a power rack. I'm sure the power rack is way cheaper.
Sp00kY
post Jun 23 2008, 05:36 PM

3,366 posts

I kinda like the cable machine apart from free weights though. its the same in FF curve where not many ppl uses the cables
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 23 2008, 07:18 PM

2,425 posts

Nah, nothing against the cable machines. It's just that I feel having 2 but with people using only 1 is a bit lame. Might as well replace it with a power rack. But then again... there might be even less people who would use the power rack. Ah, well...

Added on June 23, 2008, 7:30 pmA heads up for you guys:
GNC warehouse sale in The Weld (next to KL Tower), 23-28 June 10am-9pm. Kononnya up to 70%.

I'm going tomorrow to check it out, see if I can get some bargain there (I don't think so).

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 23 2008, 07:30 PM
darklight79
post Jun 23 2008, 08:43 PM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 23 2008, 07:18 PM)
Nah, nothing against the cable machines. It's just that I feel having 2 but with people using only 1 is a bit lame. Might as well replace it with a power rack. But then again... there might be even less people who would use the power rack. Ah, well...

Added on June 23, 2008, 7:30 pmA heads up for you guys:
GNC warehouse sale in The Weld (next to KL Tower), 23-28 June 10am-9pm. Kononnya up to 70%.

I'm going tomorrow to check it out, see if I can get some bargain there (I don't think so).
I've been to a GNC "warehouse sale". Trust me, it's bullshit. Even after a discount, their prices are still overpriced.
metalfreak
post Jun 24 2008, 04:11 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

QUOTE(darklight79 @ Jun 23 2008, 08:43 PM)
I've been to a GNC "warehouse sale". Trust me, it's bullshit. Even after a discount, their prices are still overpriced.
I 2nd that.

TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 24 2008, 05:28 PM

2,425 posts

Just came back from it.
I 3rd what Darklight said. Memang expected already lah. Whey protein, creatine, Muscletech, ON, BSN, EAS all those still giler babi 'mahai' (my grandma's way of saying 'mahal').

What about other supplements e.g. fish oil (EPA,DHA), flaxseed oil, multi vitamins, antioxidants, & various other supplements?
After 30% discount, wild salmon fish oil costs 70 Ringgit... reasonable kah? I'm so tempted to buy.

Syd G
post Jun 24 2008, 10:21 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

Buy online wink.gif
Sp00kY
post Jun 24 2008, 11:46 PM

3,366 posts

luckily i didn't go:)
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 25 2008, 12:20 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(Syd G @ Jun 24 2008, 10:21 PM)
Buy online wink.gif
Eh, apa ni? Recommend lah website mana-mana yang bagus.
So, Syd... do you sell fish oil tablets and multivitamins?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 25 2008, 01:06 AM

2,425 posts

Today's workout:
Observation:
- My Pendlay row tak boleh pakai. I notice I couldn't really arch my lower back when I pull the bar. I'm lacking the flexibility to bend over and arch the back. It's putting too much strain on my hips. Will switch to Yates or bend over row.
- Damn hard for me to increase my bench press weight.

BHG A:
squats
52.5kg, 3x10
55kg x5

bench press
40kg, 4x10

Pendlay row
32.5kg x10
35kg x10
35kg x7
35kg x5

dips

abs machine
50kg x10
50kg x10
55kg x10
55kg x10 (cacat set)
Sp00kY
post Jun 25 2008, 11:04 AM

3,366 posts

bench press 40kg is good adi...i dont think i can do that too..
Snecx
post Jun 25 2008, 03:41 PM

208 posts

Eh, 40kg? Your plates are all in kilos? I gotta work hard towards that!
jamis
post Jun 26 2008, 02:15 PM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 25 2008, 01:06 AM)
Today's workout:
Observation:
- My Pendlay row tak boleh pakai. I notice I couldn't really arch my lower back when I pull the bar. I'm lacking the flexibility to bend over and arch the back. It's putting too much strain on my hips. Will switch to Yates or bend over row.
- Damn hard for me to increase my bench press weight.

did u bent ur knee ?? if u do it correctly, u will feel the strain on ur back not on ur hips, and make sure the bar touching ur tummy, not ur chest. smile.gif
Syd G
post Jun 26 2008, 06:10 PM

Mom. Servant of God.
8,023 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 25 2008, 12:20 AM)
Got. Whats your budget?

Btw fish oil doesnt come in tablets sweat.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 26 2008, 06:23 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(jamis)
did u bent ur knee ?? if u do it correctly, u will feel the strain on ur back not on ur hips, and make sure the bar touching ur tummy, not ur chest. smile.gif
Yes, I do bend my knees. I bring the bar to my upper abs. But I feel the burn in my thighs and a bit on my lower back.
You coming to the H&F gym meet on Sunday? Then I can ask you to spot my Pendlay row.
---
QUOTE(Sp00ky)
bench press 40kg is good adi...i dont think i can do that too..
QUOTE(Snecx)
We are in Malaysia mah, so use metric system lah. Pounds is for the Americans... they just like to be different for the sake of being different. doh.gif

I see people b-press 60kg... sometimes up to 100kg+ in Leisure Mall... fuiyoh!!
I feel so inferior. Semua guna beberapa big plates... I use one green plate also huffing and puffing like a dog. Some more I need to 'cheat' the weights up. Pizzaboy ajar punya! X^D
---
Week 1 of hunderdpushpus.com kaotim.
Starting week 2 on Sat or Sun.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 26 2008, 07:18 PM
toto4d
post Jun 26 2008, 07:13 PM

643 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 25 2008, 12:20 AM)
Rey do sell good and cheap protein. ON 100% whey. I just got my whey from him.

http://supplement88.com/
jamis
post Jun 27 2008, 09:25 AM

Sometime just need to LOL.
3,385 posts

dude, i m not comming hehe, but u can ask the members who is going, since i learn pendley from this forum too last time now i have switch it to barbell row. tongue.gif

just a tip, if u feel ur lower back pain or anything, may be u should cut down the weight tat u carry, increase slowly.
Sp00kY
post Jun 27 2008, 10:19 AM

3,366 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 26 2008, 06:23 PM)
QUOTE(Snecx)
We are in Malaysia mah, so use metric system lah. Pounds is for the Americans... they just like to be different for the sake of being different. doh.gif

I see people b-press 60kg... sometimes up to 100kg+ in Leisure Mall... fuiyoh!!
I feel so inferior. Semua guna beberapa big plates... I use one green plate also huffing and puffing like a dog. Some more I need to 'cheat' the weights up. Pizzaboy ajar punya! X^D
---
Week 1 of hunderdpushpus.com kaotim.
Starting week 2 on Sat or Sun.
Oh one green per side, i tot u have 1 blue per side that makes up the 40kg....i prefer to smith machine, easier for noob like me smile.gif
pizzaboy
post Jun 27 2008, 10:42 AM

9,495 posts

I NEVER taught cheating. I only advocate cheating in nonsensical movements because they're not worth the time.
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 27 2008, 03:03 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Jun 27 2008, 10:42 AM)
I NEVER taught cheating. I only advocate cheating in nonsensical movements because they're not worth the time.
I was pulling your legs, m8! tongue.gif Saja nak tengok bagaimana pizzaboy react.

Not 'cheating' actually. I don't know what it's called, but it's something to do with CNS stimulation thing. Using the thighs and lower body muscles to increase the nervous response... so that the chest and arms can push more weights during bench press. Unbelievable, when pizzaboy first showed me.
Snecx
post Jun 28 2008, 01:43 AM

208 posts

Using the legs on the ground to push the body and give support?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 28 2008, 02:38 AM

2,425 posts

It's definitely not for support --- you're already lie down on a bench, what else support do you need.
Pizzaboy ajar the powerlifter's nifty trick.

Lie on the bench, put your feet on the ground. Then pull your legs as far back towards your head as possible (only the toes are still in contact with the ground at this point) and arch your body. You should form a rainbow between your shoulders and your butt.

Now start doing the bench press. When you press the weights up, flex your thighs or try to dig your toes/feet into the ground. Scream if you want (this will probably flex the abs for more nervous response X^D). You'll notice you could push more weights.

Not as easy to describe it in words. Sometimes I forget about the digging toes into ground thing... but this trick allowed me to force the last few reps and complete the whole set.
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 28 2008, 04:24 AM

2,425 posts

Today in Bionic Gym, the ghetto gym!

Observation:
- My weird ass programme. First 2 set: heavier and less rep, I reckon it can be useful for increasing strength; next 3 set: normal weights and more set, for muscular growth... I hope...

- Squats... In certain reps, I feel the weights fall on the ball of my feet rather than on the heels.
- Squats... Should I lock out my knees when I reach the top? Because I suspect that I'm locking my knees too hard and I can feel some niggling aches now. Or maybe I should be doing some hamstring and glut work?
- Deadlift... 2nd set, by 5th rep, i need to take a 10 second rest. Crap. During one of the heavy reps, I think I rounded my back a little. So at the top, when I tried to lean backwards to squeeze my gluts... I felt my lower back suddenly snaps into an arch. Fxcking scary! Next time must control my abs, back muscles properly. Always forgets to tighten the abs and back.
- Pull ups... Can't feel the burn/sore in my lats anymore. I used to feel it everytime habis pull ups.

- Misc... my training partner claimed that his spine is injured, somewhere between the middle back and lower back area. I tried to feel his spine and look at his back... I don't see anything abnormal, though he kept saying it aches/sore. I'm not even sure if he can differentiate the soreness of his back muscles with the aching of his spine. This began after a heavy deadlift session 2 weeks ago. Sometimes I observe him perform the squats... I damn scared his knees will crumble like a cave in. I so feel like kicking his knees until they follow the toes.

icon_question.gif So he says he can't squat, can't deadlift, anything that involves the spine/back muscles is a no-no for him. What exercise do you guys recommend for him? (I'm guessing he sprained his spine a bit? unsure.gif ).

Squat
60 x 5
60 x 5
55 x10
55 x10
55 x10

Overhead press
30 x 5
30 x 3
25 x 10
25 x 9 (pancit)
25 x 8 (pancit again)

Deadlift
71.5 x 5
65 x 10 (but with many rest in between reps)

Pull ups
Snecx
post Jun 29 2008, 07:37 AM

208 posts

The last entry all in kilos ah? That's a lot of weight. Yuan Wu, you're stronger than I am. I gotta kejar you now. flex.gif

p.s. Last time I did push up 17, now I pushed again, 24. How did you manage to do 40+? Still aiming for 100 consecutive reps?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 29 2008, 10:01 PM

2,425 posts

Snecx...
Of course I'm still up for the 100 push ups thing. Week 2 day 1 habis.
Semua kg lah. Easier to count, easier to remember. The imperial system is only for the shakehead.gif Americans.
---
Basket... banyak orang make a lot of noise for the meet up in FF Consplant. In the end Shanecross, DKSH and me saja datang. Apa ni?!

First time I see aunties doing free weights. I've never seen any female species touching free weights in Leisure Mall. I guess Cheras is an ulu place after all...
But then, LM's free weights is on a split level and highly testosterone charged.
---
Today's log:
Observation:
- Hung over from yesterday. Only managed 4 sets today. Going to die liddat. Worse... now down with sore throat, cold and fever.
- Squat: Shane noticed I'm using more hip action. Less quad activation. I'm OK about that, my concern now is to lift heavy with any correct form (preferably oly style) to stimulate more growth.
- Pendlay row: better form today thanks to Dixon spotting my posture.

Squat
62.5 x5
62.5 x5
55 x10
55 x10
x

Bench press
47.5 x5
50.0 x5
42.5 x10
42.5 x10
x

Pendlay row
40 x5
40 x5
35 x10
35 x10
x

Dips (3++ minute rest)

Various other exercises that I ikut Dixon buat.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 29 2008, 10:22 PM
JIB-89
post Jun 29 2008, 11:01 PM

313 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 28 2008, 02:38 AM)
It's definitely not for support --- you're already lie down on a bench, what else support do you need.
Pizzaboy ajar the powerlifter's nifty trick.

Lie on the bench, put your feet on the ground. Then pull your legs as far back towards your head as possible (only the toes are still in contact with the ground at this point) and arch your body. You should form a rainbow between your shoulders and your butt.

Now start doing the bench press. When you press the weights up, flex your thighs or try to dig your toes/feet into the ground. Scream if you want (this will probably flex the abs for more nervous response X^D). You'll notice you could push more weights.

Not as easy to describe it in words. Sometimes I forget about the digging toes into ground thing... but this trick allowed me to force the last few reps and complete the whole set.
Another thing u can try is gripping the bar harder, as if you're tearing it apart and try flexing ur lats, it helped me a bit though i wont encourage these methods if you're looking to pack on muscle, its this part of PL that ppl mean when they say "its not necessarily getting stronger"
bata
post Jun 29 2008, 11:32 PM

3,726 posts

later u use your lats pulak for benchpress..lol
woww....iamyuanwu getting stronger..i gotta catchup

Chow
shanecross
post Jun 29 2008, 11:49 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Nice to meet ya buddy. Train and eat harder
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 1 2008, 05:18 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(JIB-89 @ Jun 29 2008, 11:01 PM)
Another thing u can try is gripping the bar harder, as if you're tearing it apart and try flexing ur lats, it helped me a bit though i wont encourage these methods if you're looking to pack on muscle, its this part of PL that ppl mean when they say "its not necessarily getting stronger"
Yeah, it makes me lift more. I'm hypothesizing that lifting heavier with more muscle recruitment may stimulate more growth.
At this stage, I hope the basic big lifts can increase my overall muscle mass first... before I start targeting muscle groups and isolation.

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jun 29 2008, 11:49 PM)
Nice to meet ya buddy. Train and eat harder
Yup. Nice too see you too.
Heck... Federal Highway to Subang Jaya is a mess. My goodness...

Added on July 4, 2008, 12:03 pmTried to use the hundredpushups.com programme for pull ups.
--> Not possible. Pull up uses too damn much energy just to do one. Unlike push ups, squeezing one more rep is super hard. Fuh!

Week 2 day 3 --> done.
Week 1 day 2 (6-10) for pull ups --> pancit giler - unable to complete.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jul 4 2008, 12:03 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 6 2008, 11:35 PM

2,425 posts

Observation
- Tak cukup tidur. Can't lift nuts! Squats almost failed a few times. @#$%^&*#$&%$!!! Gave up for today's workout. No point, I simply can't lift today. Pissed with myself.

I'm also super pissed with FF LM not having a power rack/squat rack. Fxcking mah lan faan... everytime have to pull the barbell racks apart and all those shite. And the free weights section is so small I might as well deadlift in the changing room --- there's more space there. vmad.gif mad.gif

Squat
65.0 x5
62.5 x5
57.5 x10
57.5 x9

Overhead press
30 x5
30 x5
25 x10
25 x8
25 x7
shanecross
post Jul 6 2008, 11:55 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

Chill, grab a booze
SUSraindrops
post Jul 7 2008, 03:55 PM

330 posts

lol? u havent seen my mini gym, apa also tak ada, i just make the best out of it ^^
pizzaboy
post Jul 7 2008, 04:02 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jul 6 2008, 11:35 PM)
Observation
- Tak cukup tidur. Can't lift nuts! Squats almost failed a few times. @#$%^&*#$&%$!!! Gave up for today's workout. No point, I simply can't lift today. Pissed with myself.

I'm also super pissed with FF LM not having a power rack/squat rack. Fxcking mah lan faan... everytime have to pull the barbell racks apart and all those shite. And the free weights section is so small I might as well deadlift in the changing room --- there's more space there.  vmad.gif  mad.gif

Squat
65.0 x5
62.5 x5
57.5 x10
57.5 x9

Overhead press
30 x5
30 x5
25 x10
25 x8
25 x7
Aren't there any other fitness first centers?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 7 2008, 04:07 PM

2,425 posts

It's Fitness First! Bl00dy 175 per month!
And there's very little space to move around the place. I don't mind if that's the case in a ghetto gym.

And I was tulan that day because i was too lethargic to lift. So, little things can piss me off.

Added on July 9, 2008, 12:48 amWeek 3 day 1 of hundredpushups.com -- PHAILED11!1
Getting more and more difficult.
To be repeated on Thursday.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jul 9 2008, 12:48 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 11 2008, 10:57 PM

2,425 posts

observation:
- Strength turun due to missed workout for 1 week++, and tak cukup tidur
- deadlift form a bit out due to lack of strength. Next time don't try to be hero.
- pundi kencing can hold up to 0.5kg of urine. Weight before peeing= 54.1; wt after peeing=53.6kg. Oi Raindrops, 0.5kg of difference doesn't mean muscle gain, it might simply be water you just drank. X^D
- body fat = 15.5%. Don't know the machine reliable or not -- I ain't feelin' no difference pun. If it's accurate, then I'm happy... on the way to 10%

squat
65.0 x5
65.0 x5
57.5 x10
57.5 x10

overhead press
30.0 x5
30.0 x5
25.0 x10
25.0 x9
25.0 x6 + 22.5 x4

deadlift
75.0 x5
67.5 x10

pull up

around the world
15 x10
15 x10

calf raise smith machine
20 x10
20 x10
20 x10
gunnerboy
post Jul 12 2008, 02:33 AM

140 posts

QUOTE(yeeck @ Feb 29 2008, 04:06 PM)
Eat more meals instead of just eating bigger meals. I used to eat 2 whole eggs when I started at 55kg but somehow I think the eggyolks caused my tummy to appear much bigger....so limiting yolks to max of 1 per day only or just more eggwhites. But based on your pic, what the heck, eat away anyway....
yeah..even d doctors said that max egg yolk per week is 2 (to prevent heart disease)
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 13 2008, 02:51 AM

2,425 posts

Off day home workouts. All based on hundredpushups.com's regime.

pull ups: 2nd column,week 1, day 3
push ups: 3rd column, week 3, day 2
squats: follow push ups, but add 50% more reps

I'm hypothesizing that the crazy amount of push ups can be a good way to reduce body fat... considering that I dropped from 17% to 15.5% (but i suspect this is not accurate)
gunnerboy
post Jul 13 2008, 03:31 AM

140 posts

[quote=iamyuanwu,Feb 28 2008, 11:10 PM]
Brad Pitt in Snatch --- now that's a body to drool over! Lagi best if I can punch like his character. tongue.gif

Height: 166cm
Weight: 52kg

i use to be at ur size...eat like me bro ---> http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=739437&hl=

GOOD LUCK!
shanecross
post Jul 13 2008, 10:36 AM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

QUOTE(gunnerboy @ Jul 12 2008, 03:33 AM)
yeah..even d doctors said that max egg yolk per week is 2 (to prevent heart disease)
another load of s***
John91
post Jul 13 2008, 02:06 PM

1,193 posts

I eat an average of 3-4 eggs a day but I take the yolks too. Some peeps in LYN say to take yolk together as it won't affect cholesterol and another view says just to take the whites and ditch the yolks. Heard of an article on this and can't find the link. Anyone?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 13 2008, 07:39 PM

2,425 posts

Yeah, I gotta eat like you, gunnerboy. That's a large diet!
------
If humans have been eating something for ages and ages and no one dies from it, then you know it's safe.

No one has died from eating butter for centuries, or eggs with yolks for that matter. You could attribute it to their labour-heavy lifesytle... but since we workout and exercise, it's basically the same. 2 yolks per week? You're throwing away all vitamins+minerals and 1/2 of protein.
jones007
post Jul 13 2008, 08:23 PM

8,878 posts

i eat 4-6 yolks everyday. dont think i'm dying tho
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 30 2008, 07:16 PM

2,425 posts

Final assessment is this Saturday 3-5pm in Fitness First The Curve.
This is it! 6 exercises to determine who's the DUDE, and who's the DUD.

2km in 10min, squat-kick, push up, knee up then lunge, boxing with dumbbells, abs.
The first assessment: 1.5km, 100, 20, 40, 30, 40.
This coming final assessment: 2.2km, 150, 50, 100, 100, 100 (do you think I can achieve this? rclxub.gif)

If you are around The Curve this Saturday, give me a call & lets meet up.

---
Jones...
Yup, 4-6 yolks won't kill you,
but 4-6 sticks of ciggies definitely will. Just quit it. Just bl00dy h3ll QUIT IT.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jul 30 2008, 07:32 PM
Sp00kY
post Jul 30 2008, 09:33 PM

3,366 posts

i might be there dude..what is this assessment about ?
shanecross
post Jul 30 2008, 09:56 PM

The Vibrator
1,885 posts

dude, you got quite a temper i see eh? haha
TSiamyuanwu
post Jul 31 2008, 12:40 AM

2,425 posts

sp00ky...
It's the Refine & Define contest.
Assessment to determine who improved the most and thus will win that module. I'm sure I'll get something out of it.

Shanecross...
That day, I was in a particularly sial mood. =P
You're not the first person to say that... my ex-boss noticed it too. I scolded some clients on the phone and she over heard (but the clients needed some tough love so my boss buat tak tau. X^D)
Snecx
post Aug 7 2008, 03:19 AM

208 posts

Yuan Wu, how was the event? It has finally ended heh?
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 7 2008, 05:00 PM

2,425 posts

Habis liao. Losing motivation to go to the gym...

kick squat 122
push up 45
split lunge 100+
punch with dumbbells 150
legs up - toe touch (abs exercise) 100+
1.7km in 10 minutes
metalfreak
post Aug 7 2008, 05:11 PM

Working out is not my routine, it's my new lifestyle
3,300 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Aug 7 2008, 05:00 PM)
Habis liao. Losing motivation to go to the gym...

kick squat 122
push up 45
split lunge 100+
punch with dumbbells 150
legs up - toe touch (abs exercise) 100+
1.7km in 10 minutes
OMG...is it where you lie down, legs straight up towards the ceiling and you try to reach for your toe??

holy cow...100+?
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 19 2008, 07:37 PM

2,425 posts

Hah hah!
Oh yeah. Legs straight on the air, and touch the toes. It's actually not that hard. But sit up will make me pancit faster.

Quite a few dudes managed close to 200. Crazy right?
lcsum
post Aug 20 2008, 07:19 PM

282 posts

it took you almost 2 weeks to answer that... tongue.gif

TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 20 2008, 07:28 PM

2,425 posts

I totally neglected my journal liao. Haven't been to gym for weeks already.

After the competition... all motivation went down the drain. XD
TSiamyuanwu
post Sep 10 2008, 01:34 AM

2,425 posts

Modified Simplefit level 6 day 2

5 sets of:
6 pull ups
19 push ups
32 pistols (16 each leg)
Rest not timed, approx 4-5min rest after each set.

5 sets = 20 min 33 sec

Tough like heck! The last time I did it at level 5, I almost puked. rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jan 25 2009, 01:48 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jan 25 2009, 01:49 AM

2,425 posts

I'm back with a vengence!
Due to neglect, strength went kaput. Had to restart Stronglift 5x5 3-4 week ago. Now getting close to previous strength level.

Squat 62.5kg
Bench press 47.5
Barbell row 30
overhead press 27.5 (stalled, cis!)
deadlift 65
dips 20, 9, 9
pull ups 10, 6, 6

And since it's CNY and gyms are closed (and I'm also lazy to go to gym)
Will use the hundred-push-ups Week 4 to keep some strength.
See if I can progress to week 5 next week.
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 18 2009, 09:36 PM

2,425 posts

Stuck in China with no nearby ghetto gyms.
Doing push ups as often as I can.

Today's number: 150 (50 each time)
Target: >250 per day.
registryeditor
post Feb 18 2009, 10:19 PM

Internets Super Heroes HAGAGA
1,520 posts

bro, wanting to ask you this long time ago. what are you doing in china? posted there?
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 19 2009, 02:38 PM

2,425 posts

Yeah. Posted here for some work.
Things are not as cheap in China as many people believed.

I miss my chin up bar. =(
registryeditor
post Feb 19 2009, 02:48 PM

1,520 posts

you are not staying in a hotel there?
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 19 2009, 02:59 PM

2,425 posts

Nope. Staying in the attic of the company apartment.
Well, they converted the attic into a nice room, so it's OK. =)

I read somewhere that a ghetto gym would cost about 40rmb per entry. That's like RM20 for 1 session. Wah lau!
registryeditor
post Feb 19 2009, 04:26 PM

1,520 posts

holy cow, RM20 per entry? that's suicidal bro! just get some kinda short-term membership la. what do you do anyway?
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 19 2009, 10:42 PM

2,425 posts

RMB40 is what I managed to find online. I've yet to check out those around my area.

The Fitness-First-type of gym cost rmb 4000 (approx 2000, not yet nego and various discounts) a year. They don't offer monthly contract.
And it's not as slick and polished as Fitness First or California Fitness. Still a bit ah beng. X^D
-----
I'm just a junior executive lah, posted in China. Low level position only. The company is something similar to the Melium group in Msia.

Added on February 19, 2009, 10:42 pm260 push ups throughout the day.

Added on February 19, 2009, 10:43 pm20 pistols

Added on February 23, 2009, 12:08 amWeee! Found a gym. It's actually the clubhouse/community centre in my apartment. Ghetto style gym run by YMCA. Continued with my Stronglifts 5x5 today. After a month of strength-less training... sudah kaput a bit. But still it cost rmb25 (~RM13) per entry.

The person running the place is a middle aged lady. And she's also a bodybuilding coach for guys! A number of the PT working around the area used be coached under her! FULAMAK!!!

And PTs in China are huge, and real bodybuilders themselves! I've yet to meet PTs in KL like that before!

And there are FEMALE BODYBUILDERS in China! Fuiyo! And there are contests for them too. I thought only the US have female bodybuilders.
Malaysian girls are too weak! (disclaimer: except for syd G. Thou shall not accidentally flame Syd in case she makes some farney sarcastics comments about me. X^D )

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Feb 23 2009, 12:08 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 25 2009, 11:39 PM

2,425 posts

YMCA gyms is nice, but limited free weights. And working out at 15 deg celcius is not so nice. No sweat one, and the bar is so cold, my fingers become numb.
But it's so darn near my place it's only 2 minutes walk away. X^D

The lady running the place is damn pro wei! She actually knows her stuff and the proper forms of various lifts.
She thought I was too thin until she saw me lift. Heh heh!
CAn lift heavy also no use... no physique to show off. GOMAD!!!

Still stronglift 5x5 :-
Squat 65kg [there's no 1.25kg plates... how the heck am I going to increase 5kg each session?! ]
BP 50kg
Row 35kg
dips 20, 10, 9.
abs wheelie thing 10, 10.
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 26 2009, 10:18 PM

2,425 posts

Squat 65
Press 30
Deadlift 70
Pull ups 11, 5, 3.
Abd wheelie thingamajick 10, 10. WOOooooh! Tomorrow my abs sure sore kau kau!

1.5 litres of milk today! LOMAD!!!

Milk dam expensive in China. This is so WTF?!
mrPOTATO
post Feb 26 2009, 10:42 PM

2,113 posts

Walauwei... stil dare to drink china milk ah ? Hey, take some fotos of the PTs lah. Too bad we dun have opportunity to be there c in our eyes.. So curious.
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 22 2009, 05:15 PM

2,425 posts

Heh heh... My postings here are so sporadic.

Of course still can drink lah. No problem one. After the previous incident... the Chinese health authority went berserk over the milk producers and their chain of supply.
-----
Have been doing Stronglift's 5x5 for close to a year liao. Not feeling the oomph & enthusiasm anymore. And the lack of cage makes it an inconvenience to squat frequently

Starting with W4SB by Joe Defranco. Maybe will move back to 5x5 again after a few months.
Rest time: 90s

Monday (repitition lifts):
- Dips 3x max in 60s
- Tricep extension (or skull crushers?) 3x10
- Pull ups 4x8 (I can't do that, end up doing negatives)
- DB shoulder press 3x10
- Hammer curl 3x10
- Ab circuit, no rest: inclined weighted sit up x10, abs wheelie x10, prone bridge 60s, wood chop x15, around the world x15.

Wednesday (Max effort upper body):
- Bench press 5x to 3RM
- Inclined DB bench press 3x10 <-- I might want to replace this with military press.
- Pendlay row 3x10
- Seated cable row 2x15
- Seated DB rear raise 3x10
- Hanging leg raise 3x12

Friday (Lower body):
- Squat 5x to 3RM
- Reverse Lunge 3x10
- Deadlift 3x10
- Jump squats 3x10
- Plate pinching 3x 1min

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Mar 22 2009, 07:11 PM
myremi
post Mar 22 2009, 08:04 PM

1,846 posts

How about using resistance bands? Since you travel a bit.
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 24 2009, 11:45 PM

2,425 posts

Where do you get your resistance band? How much?

I can do pull ups, it's just that 4x8 is a lot! So I just pull whatever I can, then do negatives to complete the set.

My forearm is still sore after 3-4 days of the Monday routine. Nuts!

Added on March 25, 2009, 11:58 pmWed, max effort upper body

Bench press
30kg x12
35x12
40x12
45x10
50x6
55x3
55x3

Inclined DB bench press: this is tough. 17kg is too much, don't be greedy next time.
13kg x10
13kg x10
17kg x10

Pendlay row: probably too heavy for 8 reps
40kg 3x8

Seated cable row
5 plates 2x15

Bent over rear raise: can't feel much yet, lets see if there's DOMS tomorrow
3kg 3x10

Leg raise: I have no idea how to do this properly. There's too much crap in the internet.
3x12

around the world: I love this, simple but damn tough to do.
2x10

End thoughts: Doesn't feel intense enough compared to 5x5, probably because there's no squats for today. Remember to stretch before workout next time.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Mar 25 2009, 11:58 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 28 2009, 08:30 PM

2,425 posts

Friday, max effort lower body
Time: 1 hr 15 min.

Squat
30kg x15
40x12
50x8
60x6
65x4
70x3 I could probably do heavier. But lets leave it at 70 kg first.

Reverse lunge I thought this was easy until i started doing. Nasib baik I used only 30kg.
30kg x 3 x 12

Deadlift
50kg x 10
60kg x 10
60kg x 10

Jump squats
bar x 3 x 15 Nut case. Jump until lenguh.

Plate pinch
5+5kg 40s
5+5kg 40s
5+5kg 30s

Around the world I love this exercise. Look simple but not easy. I would be better if there is a bosu ball.
15kg x 10

Cycle for 3 minutes to cool down.
coolz_iced
post Mar 28 2009, 08:50 PM

92 posts

i got lordosis, long time ago.. due to i m skinny *******..
when i doing strength training, i didnt aware about my bad physical posture, all of those years.
actually when doing squat, my form is okay n good. lordosis can be seen when you stay straight n u can see excesive arch at lower back, ur gut also infront like boroi.

squat didnt make some one became lordosis. if you feel your lower back tight, do more hamstring strecth. try reach out your big toe stand or lay down.. if your hamstring tight also can make u became lordosis..

if some one has lordosis, there is limited exercise u can do. i cannot perform well on machine, such as hack squat, smitch machine n else.

i do 5 day/week workout.

day 1 ohp, bench, bentover row, deadlift
day 2 shoulder, bicep, tricep
day 3 ohp, bench, bentover row, deadlift
day 4 shoulder, bicep, tricep
day 5 ohp, bench, bentover row, deadlift
day 6 rest
day 7 rest

it seem work to me, now i think want to change workout, like 1 day only big compund exercise and 4 day body split workout..

hoping my body weight became 70kg..
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 30 2009, 01:19 AM

2,425 posts

Eh, Mie...
Skinny dan lordosis takde kena mengena lah. Probably some other underlying issues that cause it. Aku pun skinny jugak.

Anyway,
Today is repitition lift
Time: 1 hr 25 minutes. Wah! Too long...

Dips: 25, 15, 13 decreased!!!
Skull crusher:
11kg x12
14kg x10
14kg x10

Pull ups: Eh? How come mu pull ups become cacated?! I could normally pull 8-9 reps no problem. Must be the dips exhausted my arms.
5 +3 negatives
3 +5 negatives
8 negatives
8 negatives

DB OHP: 9kg 3x10

Hammer curl: 5kg 3x10

Abs circuit:
inclined sit up 2.5kg x10
abs wheelie x10
the plank 70s
wood chop x15 each side
around the world 15kg x15
duck under (bar at waist level) x10 <-- entah apa exercise ini?

rope skipping: 2 minutes
coolz_iced
post Mar 30 2009, 09:26 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Mar 30 2009, 01:19 AM)
Eh, Mie...
Skinny dan lordosis takde kena mengena lah. Probably some other underlying issues that cause it. Aku pun skinny jugak.
not everyone got lordosis, it is how your everday doing posture tongue.gif.
if you sit n slouching over, if you keep this habit years.. than u got bad posture. that what happen to me..
nowday u can see many people got hump back.. driving, to much sitting..

u r not to skinny la..
but most of person that got bad posture, skinny.
u also can see fat person also got bad posture.

because of bad posture, it will effect your way of doing in live.

sorry for my rant.. huhuhu..

nice workout u got there.. keep it up..
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 30 2009, 10:29 AM

2,425 posts

Dude,
This is great stuff!

Yalah, many like to recline the car seat too much when driving, and slouch too much.
That's bad posture which also slows down your reaction. Dangerous.

BTW, thanks for the pictars!
-----
I'm 56.5 kg now! 60kg here I cum!
Hell yeah, baybeh! The powah of LOMAD!

I'm so skinny, and the YMCA lady wants me to train for next year's YMCA BB competition. LMAO!
But she told me she saw improvements in my physique! Woohoo!
mrPOTATO
post Mar 30 2009, 08:10 PM

2,113 posts

Wah, got ppl praise u got bb potential, so good. Me, ppl only say i've become fatter sad.gif Hey, ur lighter than me but carry more kg. Strong man !
TSiamyuanwu
post Mar 30 2009, 10:27 PM

2,425 posts

Eh, don't praise me lah. Nanti aku terbang wei!

YMCA (Hangzhou) organises an internal BB competition annually, for amateur's punya lagi amateurs.
I'm one of the strongest in that gym, despite my small frame. But the gym is very small lah, cater to general fitness crowd. Not many hardcore people like LYN. So I easily stand out.

Sometimes, I don't dare to post my poundage in LYN. Those people here bench press 60kg-120kg. I where got so powderful?!

I still can't see myself competing. Seriously, if you see me in real life you'll laugh at how skinny I am. (I need to grow moar meat! )

Not to mention LYN and the many bros (pizzaboy, darklight's posts, 4rings, etc) here have taught me so many things (directly and indirectly).
So it's easy for the gym lady to share her knowledge with me. She has to repeat-repeat-repeat to those other people and still they buat pandai and ignore her advice. X^D
----
Observation in my gym:
I noticed another guy about my size a week back. He started loading up the smith machine. I think up to around 60+kg (not inclusive of bar, Smith bar don't know what weights).
I thought: dude, this ecto is damn powderful wei! Want to bench press so gila heavy.
I didn't think an ecto like me could bench so heavy.

Then he went und under the bar and started squatting. I still though he is quite strong until I continued looking at his squat. Mana tau it's not even a half squat! Thighs were only 45 deg to the ground.
Deng, if liddat I can't squat 100+kg in the smith machine loh! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Apr 1 2009, 09:19 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 1 2009, 09:18 PM

2,425 posts

Upper Body Max Effort

Time: 1hr 15min

-Bench press
35kg x12
40kg x12
45kg x10
50kg x7
55kg x3
58kg x3
58kg x3

-Inclined DB BP: 17kg, 3x10

-Pendlay row: 40, 3x5

-DB row: 10.5, 3x10

-Rear delt raise:
3kg x10
2kg, 3x12

-Leg raise: 3x10 (1 fella in the gym did the straight leg raise, when he did it he looked like a gymnast. Damn power wei! And good flexibility too. I look so crude compared to him.)

-Around the world: 15

Diet: No diet. I just simply whack.
Pre- until Post-workout: 500ml of milk, 2 scoops of whey, 1 scoop of glucose, 1 scoop of oat, 3 bananas
Dinner immediately
---
Observation in gym. All kinds of cacated form in the gym.
Rounded back [romanian] deadlift no deload, squat in smith machine with legs together, squat in smith machine with knees caved in. Goodness.
Should I point them to the proper form, or I just mind my own business? (maklum lah I'm not pro.)
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 4 2009, 01:32 AM

2,425 posts

Today's log
Lower body max effort:

Duration: 1hr 20min

slow cycling 4 minutes.

Squat
40kg x8
50kg x8
55kg x8

Deadlift
50 x10
60 x8
65 x5
70 x4
75 x3
80 x3
85 x3 <--Woohoo!

Alternating reverse lunge: 30kg 3x10 per side

Leg curls: 2 plates 3x10

Alternating jump lunge: 2x6kg DB; 3x7 per side <--nuts!

Plate pinch: 2x5kg plates per hand; 40s, 40s, 30s

Slow cycling 3 minutes

TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 5 2009, 09:38 PM

2,425 posts

Repitition day

Duration: 1 hr 30min

Cycling 3 min to warm up

Low bar squats (ala Rippetoe) for warm up:
40kg x8
50kg x8
55kg x8

Dips: 6kg dumbbell, 14, 10, 11

Superset
Pull ups: 8 5 2 1
Rear delt raise: 2kg, 3x10

Superset
Lateral raise---bird style (translated from Mandarin): 2kg, 3x10
Dumbbell upright row: 7kg, 3x10

Superset
Arnold press: 7kg, 3x10
Hammer curl: 5kg, 3x10

Abs circuit non stop:
Inclined sit up: 3kg plate x15
Abs wheelie: x10
Plank : 70s
Wood chop: 5kg x15 per side
Around the world: x15

Rope skipping: 2 minutes
---
Nutrition: 2 scoops of oats, 2 scoops of whey, 3/4 scoop of glucose. Started sipping 10 min before workout.
Post workout: 1 banana. Then dinner.
Throughout the day: 1L milk.
---
I think tomorrow my delts and traps are going to feel some serious koyak-orgasm (as how Zeist would describe it). WOOooo hoohoo hooooooo! icon_rolleyes.gif
---
Weight today: 58kg
Booyah! The heaviest I've ever been. LOMAD!!
---
New avatar: to remind me of what I want to achieve! I'm gonna have that body in 1 year! 1 year, baybeh!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Apr 9 2009, 12:27 AM
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 9 2009, 12:28 AM

2,425 posts

Hmmm... I wonder if I chose the wrong routine. W4SB is for athletes wanting to get strong and a little bigger. I'm not sure if I'll ever get big on this.
Anyway I'll give it until end of May. Then I'm gonna emulate Darklight's HVT, and see if I'm good enough to do instinctive training.

And I'm gonna add some HIIT or conditioning stuff to boost some growth!
---
8 Apr 2009
Upper Body Max Effort

Berat badan: 57.5kg. Apa ni? No increase! I gotta eat MOAR! Sleep MOAR!
I gotta get a measuring tape to measure those bicep, triceps, quadriceps, pentaceps, hexaceps & heptaceps.

Duration: 1hr 20 minutes

Bench Press:
35kg x12
40 x12
45 x10
50 x7
55 x5
58 x3
60 x3 PR. But I felt that My spotter was carrying the weight for me. I just wanted her to help me take off the bar from the hook. Will try 63 next week.

Inclined DB BP: 12.5kg 2x15

Pendlay row:
30kg x15
35kg x15

Rear delt raise: 2.5kg 3x15

Overhead barbell shrug: Bar 2x15, 1x10
some weird shit of shrug I saw at some article in T-nation. Kononnya help with shoulder stability, so I just try it.

Hammer curl: 6kg 2x15

Hanging knee raise: 3x10

Around the world: 15kg x15

Some stupid floating crunch that gives me a crazy burn in the abs. Ridiculously effective [at making me sore], some more can do it on a chair (as long as it has handles). Nice!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Apr 9 2009, 11:20 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 9 2009, 11:23 PM

2,425 posts

Cardio and HIIT is good for muscle growth.
Since running is not a viable option right now, I'd stick to indoor options.

No Excuse workout by Ross Training.
Woohoo! 10 minutes of puke inducing conditioning. The first time I actually completed this thing. The previous few attempts, I quit after the 1st round. Needs lots of mental strength. Crazy!

Burpees, star jumps (no place to pull up), push ups, squats.
Squats and push-ups on wrong position, no wonder my legs felt like they were going to collapse half way through.
60 sec of each, then
45 sec of each, then
30 sec of each, then
15 sec of each.
no rest at all.

Total time = 10 really looooooooong minutes

Heart rate after the session = 160-170/min (I couldn't count exactly, too whacked out).
5 hrs after: 74/min

Forgot to do warm ups and cool downs. Darn.
Will add another 10 minutes of star jumps or shadow box next time.
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 10 2009, 11:06 PM

2,425 posts

Max effort lower body

Duration: 1 hr 5 minutes. (that's the way: fast, intense, crazy!)

Squats: I just realised I don't have the flexibility to go ATG. My lumbar will round if lower than parallel. How to increase ROM? I gotta ask Pizzaboy.
40kg x10
50 x8
60 x6
65 x5
70 x3
73 x3

Deadlift:
50kg x8
65 x8
75 x5 <--grip giving way. It is my grip having problems? I always hang the bar on my fingers.

Reverse lunge (alternating leg): 17kg (each hand), 2x15 <--rest pause, grip was giving way, my ass was fried from the squats, DL & yesterday's burpees, and my stamina simply couldn't sustain me through. I'm in serious need of HIIT of conditioning work.

Leg curls: 3 plates, 2x15 (I think each plate is 10 lbs)

Jump squats: empty barbell, 2x15

Plate pinch:
2x5kg plates, 60s, 40s, 30s. <--haha, improvement. All those dumbbell works are really giving the grip and forearms some tough time.

Legs days are damn tiring. And I was nauseous when after DL. Thank goodness for bananas! X^D
And I love leg days. It makes me feel I've accomplished something.

And Ross Training's No Excuse is stupidly crazy. 4 minutes yesterday, and I'm still whacked out today. Like WTF?
-----
Time to go disturb Darklight about how to do instinctive training. Heh heh heh!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Apr 10 2009, 11:38 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 12 2009, 11:13 PM

2,425 posts

Repetition day

Duration: lazy to check.

Body weight: 59kg Hooray!
But then, how come I'm not seeing a little bigger chest or wider lats or bigger arms and traps?
Or are all those weights accumulated as belly fat?

Dips: 3kg plate: 16, 12, 11

Pull ups + rear delt raise, superset <-- my pull up strength has gone down terribly!
8 reps + 3kg x15
5 reps + 3kg x15
3 reps + 3kg x15

Lateral raise + pulldown, superset
3kg 3x15 + 5 plates 3x15

Arnold press + hammer curls, superset
9kg 2x15 + 7kg 2x15

Calf raise on smith machine
60kg 2x15

Abs circuit: <-- no more soreness. I wonder if it's still effective at strengthening it.
Inclined sit up 3kg x15
abs wheelie x15
the plank 70s <-- need to add some weights next time.
woodchop 6kg x15 per side
around the world 15kg x15

Rope skipping:
2 min
100 reps
100 reps
100 reps <-- will I get 'koyak orgasm' on my calves tomorrow?

TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 26 2009, 10:23 PM

2,425 posts

2 weeks of holiday and my body weight went down the drain.
Sheeeeeeet. I'm beginning to believe that my genetically optimum weight is 52-55kg. Once I stop eating a meal and my weight will plummet back into that range. I can starve for 1-2 days and my weight is still within that range.

Anyway,
I was too lazy to get back into the W4SB programme today. So I tried something crazy for the heck of it (inspired by Pizzaboy!).

1 set of 100 squats.

Pizzaboy did 100 reps with body weight on the bar. Which means if you weigh 70kg, you load the bar 70kg and whack 100 reps.

I'm a weak and skinny ba$tard. And I'm a 'chicken'. (heck, Pizzaboy's max is 190kg, my max is only 88kg)
So I did 35kg x 100 reps!

Super kau-lat! I couldn't do continuous. I had to rest like 5-10 seconds on the top for every 2 reps.
By the end of it, I was panting and huffing and puffing. Fooh... fooh... foooh!
It's tough, but not the crazy-puke-inducing kind of tough. I feel that I would be able to whack 40kg next time.

Hah hah! I should try it with rows and bench press and military press and deadlift. rclxms.gif

Ended today's session with 4 x 100 rope skipping.
yeah_guyz
post Apr 27 2009, 12:10 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 26 2009, 10:23 PM)

1 set of 100 squats.

Pizzaboy did 100 reps with body weight on the bar. Which means if you weigh 70kg, you load the bar 70kg and whack 100 reps.

I'm a weak and skinny ba$tard. And I'm a 'chicken'. (heck, Pizzaboy's max is 190kg, my max is only 88kg)
So I did 35kg x 100 reps!

lol

100reps squat! sounds cool! gila punya pizzaboy, 100x70kg =.=
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 27 2009, 09:57 PM

2,425 posts

Pizzaboy is memang KERAZEE!
But he's aiming for a spot in the national team.

I'm not. I'm concerned with improving my athletics and aesthetics.
So if I'm lifting heavier than of most people, I'm happy.
-Dan
post Apr 27 2009, 11:11 PM

4,382 posts

Dayum! 100 rep squats! There's something I have to try! tongue.gif It'll probably take me a week to recover from it. xD
JonYeap
post Apr 27 2009, 11:13 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hehe... yuan, u also gila ah... go do that. =.=
kaka... i not so crazy to even try... hahaha...
i think 50 reps also i wont try. kakaka
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 28 2009, 12:02 AM

2,425 posts

I only did 100 reps of squats yesterday. Nothing else. Except a few pull ups after that then the rope skipping to round things up.

It takes A LOT OF mental strength just telling myself not to quit. If your mind is not strong, then get a spotter to give you a kick.

35kg is chicken feed. Jon, you could probably go 50-60kg.
My legs are OK today, just a slight soreness. Which means I'm not using a heavy enough weights.

This Sunday, 10x10 squat. 45kg. 90s rest. This is gonna be crazy too!
(also known as the German Volume Training-GVT by popularised Poliquin)
JonYeap
post Apr 28 2009, 12:09 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

haha... thats insane...
i tried doing 10 reps for 8 sets
2 set 55kg
2 set 75kg
2 set 85kg
2 set 55kg
hahaha.. all 10 reps...
killer
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 28 2009, 12:37 AM

2,425 posts

Dayum... 85 is my max. And you could just do 10 reps of it.
I so fxcking paiseh.
JonYeap
post Apr 28 2009, 12:44 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hmm... its not my max 10 reps.
but i dont push myself further coz i need to complete my leg press, leg extension, calf raises again.

squat, leg extension, leg press, calf raises.
all high reps sets... 15-30 reps
yeah_guyz
post Apr 28 2009, 11:09 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 28 2009, 12:37 AM)
Dayum... 85 is my max. And you could just do 10 reps of it.
I so fxcking paiseh.
go from 60kg and do 20reps

keep increasing the weight by 2.5kg everytime u hit the gym
you will see that your body adapt to it damn fast
pizzaboy
post Apr 28 2009, 12:13 PM

9,495 posts

Sorry eh...my max BS is only 180KG not 190KG.

If your legs aren't sore till you can't walk, for at least 3-4 days, you're not using enough weight. Anyway, this cannot be achieved like in a random time. You first have to build your work capacity by going through 2-3 weeks with 50-55-60% of your 1RM for 5 sets of 20 reps.

Then play around 60-65% and try hitting about as many reps as possible ABOVE 20 reps for two sets for about 2-3 weeks.

Then finally work to your BODYWEIGHT and then try to hit 50-60x for two sets. Try to hit above 120 reps in that two sets. Do this for another 2 weeks.

Then try your 100 rep bodyweight squats. The preparation takes between 6-8 weeks, then you try it once and you walk away wit loads of extra muscle.
JonYeap
post Apr 28 2009, 01:32 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

haha... i dont even wanna dream on doing that crazy weights... kaka... 85kg for 100 reps?
i think i will die even reaching 20 reps.
kakakakkaka...
give me a year also dunno can or not.
kirk, try 100kg 100 reps...
hehe... mental torture... =.=

maybe i will try 50kg for 50 reps... thats the most insane thing i would try i guess...
TSiamyuanwu
post Apr 28 2009, 07:32 PM

2,425 posts

Ooooh. Let me put it in point form.

Week 1:
50% 1RM
5x20

Week 2:
55% 1RM
5x20

Week 3:
60% 1RM
5x20

Week 4-6:
60-65%
2x max (at least 20)

Week 7-8:
Bodyweight
2 x 60 (or more)

D-day:
Bodyweight
1 x 100

D-day + 7
Octopussy legs.
pizzaboy
post Apr 28 2009, 09:07 PM

9,495 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Apr 28 2009, 07:32 PM)
Ooooh. Let me put it in point form.

Week 1:
50% 1RM
5x20

Week 2:
55% 1RM
5x20

Week 3:
60% 1RM
5x20

Week 4-6:
60-65%
2x max (at least 20) The reps, BEGIN at 20. 20 and below, not even counted.

Week 7-8:
Bodyweight
2 x 60 (or more)

D-day:
Bodyweight
1 x 100

D-day + 7
Octopussy legs.
yeah_guyz
post Apr 29 2009, 08:58 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/894464 brows.gif

you all is going crazy route, i cant imagine what will it be to me if i done 100reps =.=
20reps with bodyweight already crazy tax my leg
coolz_iced
post May 29 2009, 01:20 AM

92 posts

hai yuan.. what happening.. so quite here.. also can see some spider web.. tongue.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 4 2009, 08:58 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(coolz_iced @ May 29 2009, 01:20 AM)
hai yuan.. what happening.. so quite here.. also can see some spider web..  tongue.gif
Aku malas lah, baru-baru ni.

Pindah rumah, out station assignments.
Buat dips and plank kat bilik hotel aje. Toksa lah update about doing dips and plank.

Anyway, I'm using the hundredpushups.com programme. But instead of doing pushups, I'm using bodyweight dips.
If I can eventually get to 50 dips in a single set, I'd be damn happy already.

Playing around with cacated iron cross+L-sit. Can't do it yet. I only manage 15s on a 'peace' cross.
Lets see how long it would take for me to increase the hold to 1 minute.
Amended: I tried doing it again. It's not even close to a cross. It's a wide grip dip position at best, around 90cm wide. My wrist is too damn weak to even try anything close. Ah well, I'll just be happy with a low L-sit for 15s. =)

Just got an *ahem-ahem* copy of Buiding the Gymastik Body. Maybe I'll get a set of gymnastic rings to play around.
Taobao.com is full of cheap stuff!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 4 2009, 09:41 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 11 2009, 11:05 PM

2,425 posts

I think I'm having attention deficit disorder.
I've been jumping from 1 programme to another in weekly basis.

After a year of SL 5x5,
Then went to W4SB, tak sampai sebulan... gym schedule was interrupted for 3 weeks,
Then I go do GVT to try to bulk up for my Phuket trip, which lasted for a mere 1 week. Other gym members were complaining that I was hogging the only barbell for 1 hour to myself.

Now I'm doing some Pavel 40 crap. High frequency to get strength up.
40 days, 5x a week:

warm up 15s for each: High knee, jumping jacks, skipping, left-right, push ups, crunches, mountain climbers, burpees.
Posterior chain: Squat or DL 2x5
Upper body push: BP 2x5 (hmmm, should I alternate with military press?)
Upper body pull: Row 2x5
Explosive training: CnJ, DB swings, SB snatches 1x20-50
Anterior chain: abs wheelie, hanging leg raise, weighted plank.
Rope skip if I feel like it.

Everything must kaotim in 45min.
-----
I also seem to have conflicting interests. I want a some what BBer-athlete-fitness model type of body.
But I am kept attracted to strength based training because it a lot more fun to do. It's fun to do swings, CnJ, DB snatches, DL, squats. It's no fun doing curls and skull crushers & plank.
JonYeap
post Jun 11 2009, 11:37 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

then i guess u will not be anything if u continue swinging around without a goal...
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 12 2009, 12:49 AM

2,425 posts

Since you mentioned it, my goal is to get strong, for now. Looks will come with strength.

90kg 3RM squat
120 1RM DL
50kg row
40kg CnJ

Sounds a bit far fetch. Reach for the sky, at least if I fail, I'll fall on the clouds. X^D
coolz_iced
post Jun 12 2009, 11:30 AM

92 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 12 2009, 12:49 AM)
Since you mentioned it, my goal is to get strong, for now. Looks will come with strength.

90kg 3RM squat
120 1RM DL
50kg row
40kg CnJ

Sounds a bit far fetch. Reach for the sky, at least if I fail, I'll fall on the clouds. X^D
wahh.. nice poundage. thumbup.gif

so it mean your body already have some mass n thickness, rite?
update some picture la.. because you mainly do strength based workout, show me your back. i bet your lats already grow and have nice v-shape already.

this is my workout..
day 1: some squat, bench, row, deadlift - heavy/medium day (sometimes i skip squat)
day 2: delt, tricep, bicep, trap. e.g.. ohp, smitch seated ohp, closed grip bench press..
day 3: off
day 4: some squat, bench, row, deadlift - medium/heavy day (sometime i skip squat)
day 5: delt, tricep, bicep, trap. e.g.. ohp, smitch seated ohp, closed grip bench press..
day 6: sleep
day 7: sleep

try it.. it fun.
my way on weight increment, e.g. for deadlift, i will stick for that weight maybe 2 week or more before i slowly increase. so my body, muscle, joint, spine can adapt that heavy toll and became strong.

my workout seem to be taxing but i listen to my body n know my limits.

my food intake is suck.. still low on protein.. budget.. tongue.gif ...

darklight79
post Jun 12 2009, 11:59 AM

I'll eat your food
9,006 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 12 2009, 12:49 AM)

90kg 3RM squat
120 1RM DL
50kg row
40kg CnJ

Mate, with all due respect. I'm not dissin' any strength programs but you've been on them for so long and still haven't reached them, then it's time a change.

Seriously now, ask Jon Yeap, he has met my 2 training partners in person and trained with them more than a few times. They've been on nothing but a conventional bodybuilding program and they've hit those goals in less than a few months. My partner's stats under my supervision for 4 months or so:-

110kbs squat x 10
140kg deadlift x 1
70kg row x 9
I don't know about C & J because we don't do that.

It's either your diet needs tweaking or a conventional strength program is not your cup of tea.
JonYeap
post Jun 13 2009, 03:01 AM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

hehe i started around 3 months back but simply only.

current stat is
squat 125-130kg 1RM
deadlift 160kg-170kg 1RM
barbell row 80kg 6 reps

TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 26 2009, 08:48 PM

2,425 posts

Crap, I think I'm under eating.

How the heck you guys can row 70-80kg with your back parallel to the floor?
Shit lah, I'm a rabbit! Lift like a rabbit, eat like a rabbit. cry.gif

Worse, body weight dropped a bit. Probably because summer is in.

Added on June 29, 2009, 12:24 amWanted to take some pic to record some progress. When I looked at them and compared to past pics... fxck! The difference is so little, I feel ashamed to even say I work out.

Time to eat!

Added on July 3, 2009, 11:25 pmThe idiot who tulanated me last time did bench press today, with legs high up in the air.

70kg bench press... not bad!
Until I saw that the poor lady owner of the gym (who was his spotter) had to do a hybrid of deadlift-cum-row during every rep. Probably lifting 20-25kg (or more) for him, she was grunting louder than he was. The shittiest BP I've ever seen. Cannot press so much, then reduce the weight lah.
Nasib baik he didn't ask me to spot. I'd let the bar compress his chest a little before I actually pull it up. Nyek nyek nyek!

Another fella quarter smith squats all the plates in the gym, only to have the lady gym owner 'spot' him. She was literally squatting a large portion of the weight. Might as well just call it the tethered-double-smith-squat. doh.gif
He's a cool dude though. But I just like thrashing his smith squats online because I tak boleh tahan looking at it.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 20 2009, 11:03 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Aug 20 2009, 11:04 PM

2,425 posts

Confirm that my diet is cacated. I upped my intake and poof, I'm now gaining weight.

Did a weird sh!t routine that I composed myself.
Does it make any sense at all? No it doesn't.
So why still do it? Because I love these exercises. And that's all the motivation I need for today!

The usual warm up:
15sec of each: skipping on the spot (with high knee), jumping jacks, running on the spot, jumping side to side, pushups, crunches, mountain climber, burpees.
According to a research from West Point (no1 US military school), this warm up can help trainees run faster and jump higher. And I find it a quick way to get my metabolism up.

5-10 vertical jumps.
I found out that [max effort] jumping spikes up your nerves. There was once, I was so lethargic I actually napped for 10 minutes in the gym before I started training. And became totally groggy. After a few jumps, I'm hyped up, and ready to go! rclxms.gif

Most are done with 90-120s rest:

1) [push] Inclined DB press --> 13kg 2x20 4min rest
2) [legs] Bulgarian split squat --> 35kg bar 2x10 [fried my legs too soon]
3) [pull] Chin up + face pull super set --> 2x max chin ups + 2lbs face pull on the cable row
4) [legs] Pistols --> 1x10 [I feel that I might puke if I did an extra set]
5) [a$$] Alternating DB upright row --> 13kg 2x10
6) [legs] Single arm DB swings --> 13kg 2x10 [last few reps, my form were getting sloppy]
7) [pull] Self supported DB rows (aka 2 point row) --> 13kg 2x10
8) [a$$]] DB snatch --> 13kg 2x10
9) [abs+shoulder] Turkish get-up --> 13kg 2x2 [my grip was giving up from all those DB power movements]
10) [abs] Plank with 10kg on my a$$ --> 40sec

Approx 80 min. This is pretty tough. My heart rate never dropped even with 90s rest between sets. And I'm continuously panting and sucking air. And the weirdest thing is I had a side stitch for a while (those pain on the side when jogging or running). LOL!

After taking a shower, I noticed that I'm in a surprisingly good mood. laugh.gif And I feel refreshed. Like a runners/cardio high!
I'm putting this routine into my permanent programme! Whoever is crazy enough, do try it out too!

P.S. while doing the swings, a dude came over and asked me if I practise Sanda (散打chinese kickboxing). YES! Objective tercapai. I'm looking forward to a fighter's physique.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Aug 20 2009, 11:07 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jan 30 2010, 11:35 AM

2,425 posts

The Armstrong Pull Up Workout

Training sets

Week 1
Armstrong
Day 1, 5x max: 11 8 6 5 4
Day 2, pyramid: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 6 5 4 3 2 1
Day 3, 9x training sets: 2 2 2 2 2 2 3 3 3
Day 4, max training sets: 30 x 3
Day 5, repeat most difficult: pyramid 1 2 3 4 5 6 6 6

Hundred Push ups:
(set 1+2: spiderman + rock climber; set 3+4: rock climber; set 5: close grip x20, normal to failure)
Day 1: 10 12 7 7 30
Day 3: 10 12 8 8 25
Day 5: 11 15 9 9 30

By day 4, slight fatigue is setting in. Day 5, fatigued. I'd normally take the stair, but I just don't feel like it. That's what 90 pull ups can do to me! LOL!
Stretching on day 6+7. blush.gif
nandayryu
post Jan 30 2010, 11:44 AM

1,072 posts

do u guys take any pills 2 build up ur body ?
TSiamyuanwu
post Feb 9 2010, 02:36 AM

2,425 posts

Week 2 Armstrong.
9 5 4 4 3 (2 buckets of water)
1 2 3 4 5 6 6 5 (1 bucket of sand)
9 x 3 (water + sand)
25 x 3 (water + sand)
1 2 3 4 5 6 6 5 (water + sand)

Week 2 of hundredpushups.com

Added on February 9, 2010, 2:45 amWeek 3
day 1: (5)2, (4)2, (4), 6, 5 (2 sand buckets in first 3 sets); HLR, 3x5 dips, 3x5 1 bucket sand sit ups
day 2: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) 6 7 6 4 -1 -1 -1 (10kg); HLR 3x5
day 3: 3x5 PU, 3x5 CU, 3x5 wide PU [1 min]
day 4: 18 x 5 [1 min]
day 5: conditioning: No excuses + Javorek

Week 3 hundredpushups.com
day 3: 14 18 14 14 30; 12(30s)
day 4: 20 25 15 15 35; 10(30s)
day 6: 22 30 22 22 >28

Added on March 8, 2010, 6:48 pm8 Mac 2009
1) 10kg: 7 5 4 4 3; pistol 10kg 3x3; cossack 10kg 2x5

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Mar 8 2010, 06:48 PM
eXsonHackman
post Apr 28 2010, 10:54 PM

wat is d weight n height will be consider is skinny?
my current weight n height is 68kg n 178cm, but my chest, stomach n leg look thin~
cheezzzz
post Apr 28 2010, 11:51 PM

610 posts

QUOTE(eXsonHackman @ Apr 28 2010, 10:54 PM)
wat is d weight n height will be consider is skinny?
my current weight n height is 68kg n 178cm, but my chest, stomach n leg look thin~
ur most probably skinny. u may have heavy bones haha. neways, u sud b 1kg for every cm after 100cm of ur height. means if ur 180cm u should be 80kg. its a rough estimate, but u shud be that height with muscle, not all fats. im 180cm but now only 62-63kg. but better than before workout, which was about 2 mths ago, 58kg..
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 13 2010, 01:38 AM

2,425 posts

KB EDT
i Pr 40
ii PU 40

i Cossack 70
ii Sw 140

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 16 2010, 11:14 PM
DDSFan8
post Jun 13 2010, 01:42 AM

1,278 posts

is Cyto Milk any good?
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 13 2010, 01:56 PM

2,425 posts

Dunno. I've never tried it.
Lots of rice and banana works though.

Added on June 15, 2010, 5:21 amKB EDT
i Pr 12kg 48
ii PU 48

i Lu 22kg 35
ii Sw 22kg 35

Added on June 24, 2010, 12:31 amKB EDT
i Sna 12kg 60
ii PU 12kg 24

Added on June 24, 2010, 9:31 pmTacfit swinging plank, leg swoop, sambo, lunge swing, weird lunge, dragon lunge (hunh?!)
Eric Wong circle swing waist level

Added on June 25, 2010, 9:31 pm1 2 3 4: 12kg 14min
CnP, PU, pistols

Added on June 26, 2010, 8:57 pmComplex, 12kg, 4 rounds, 5 reps: Sw, Sn, CnP, BSS, Row
Geoff Neuperthttp://chasingstrength.com/your-questions-answered

Added on June 27, 2010Magic 50, 12kg KB
Lats a bit sore. Either from Row or magic 50 (?).
Needs more quad endurance. Fatigued too easily to lactic acid burn.

Added on June 28, 2010original KDT Academy KB Personal Challenge: 5 lifts (Sn, Sw, PP, C, Sq), 100x (50L, 50R), <1 hour
modified to 4 lifts, <40min, 12kg
Sn, Sw, PP, C = 36.5min.
Anterior serratus sore = scapular f[x] normal.
Clean form is not pretty & not smooth. More like a 'heaveho'.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 29 2010, 04:05 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 29 2010, 02:09 AM

2,425 posts

John Logan - Kettlebell Snatch Broken Arm

My Thoughts About It

Disclaimer:

Here, John Logan described how he broke his forearms while doing a kettlebell snatch.
http://www.transformetrics.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1725

This is where he and others discussed about his injuries and the dangers of kettlebells:
http://skinnybulkup.com/kettlebells-are-in...r-to-dumbbells/
-----
Summary
John Logan. 41 years old. Been training for 23 years without injury. He's a strong dude (17x one-arm push ups). Was a trainer in a gym before. Has done yoga/chi kung. Bought a 24kg kettlebell. Bought 6 DVDs and train with kettlebells for 6 months doing swings and snatches once a week. Then one day, he did his first rep of KB snatch. On the 2nd snatch he broke his arm (radius bone, the bone on the side of the thumb). It is a really bad injury if you read his account.
He is pissed that none of DVDs or any online kettlebell resources talked about the risk of broken arm training with a kettlebell. Especially so with a 24kg KB. He is bitter and blames the kettlebell for being a dangerous item. And he makes lots of noise online (Google: kettlebell snatch broken arm, and see for yourself).
-----
What I think:
I don't blame his bitterness towards KB and the DVDs and KB instructors. And he has brought up a good point most people tend to gloss over: the risk of using a KB incorrectly, and how to prevent it. Most online KB trolls keep calling him an idiot for using the wrong form etc etc, instead of providing useful suggestions on injury prevention.

Most ballistic movements are technical, require lots of practice to master, and full concentration+awareness when executing them. E.g. Olympic Clean & Jerk, Barbell Snatch.

This includes the Kettlebell snatch. The lifter needs to be very aware of his own movement & how the KB is moving and 'flowing' AT ALL TIMES. Since I'm still very new to KBs, my experience is: the first few reps of snatch during any training session will not be in perfect form. The KB will crash onto my forearms, or I twist it around too much, over swing it, etc, etc. And I can feel my forearms getting banged, or the elbows absorbing the snap, or losing my balance.

What happens is that I have not acclimatised to the weight yet. I need to swing it around to feel the weight and estimate the amount of 'explosion'(force) I need to generate to get the KB to swing up to the perfect height (not too high or too low) so that the KB can roll around nicely on my arm.The first 5 reps are generally a mess. After that, I get into a groove and the KB Snatch is generally a smooth ride.

I suspect that Logan did not warm up for the movement or get acclimatised to the weight before doing the KB snatch. So he must have exerted too much force and caught the KB using an incorrect 'grip'. The heavy KB (24kg) then crashed onto his forearm. sad.gif

-----
Conclusion:
1) ACCLIMATISE YOURSELF TO THE WEIGHT (dumbbells, barbells, especially off centre weights like kettlebells).
DV8 Fitness has a very good video here ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6MGUllzX_0g ). Pay attention when he talks about the "high pull progression". I personally feel that "high pull progression" is a great way to get acclimatised to the weight before a KB snatch session.

Also do a few jerks or push press to 'feel' the weight overhead.

2) WARM UP USING LIGHTER KB. Something light to groove the movement. (Not everyone has a lighter kettlebell, so make do or buy or use a small sandbag with a loop).

3) HOLD/CATCH THE KB CORRECTLY. Holding the KB the correct way will solve half of the problem of a crashing KB. Most YouTube videos don't show it, so learn from a good KB instructor. Catching the KB with the correct 'grip' (technically, you don't grip a KB) will comply you to use the correct way to snatch, to generate the correct amount of force, and allow the KB to land softly.

4) FEEL THE WEIGHT. This sounds very yoga/taichi/wing chun/zen, BUT lifter needs to be aware of where, when, how the KB is moving AT ALL TIMES. Do it in front of a mirror and LOOK AT THE KB (not yourself). No mirror? Turn the head slightly & look at the KB from the corner of the eyes. I find that when I look at the KB, my snatches tend to be smoother.

5) START YOUR JOURNEY USING A LIGHT KB. 12kg or below. Until one can snatch 50 reps non-stop each hand, don't use a heavier KB. No matter how strong one is, an off centre weight will always be stronger. It doesn't matter if you can squat 200kg or dumbbell bench press 70kg per side. The forearms, elbows, shoulders, etc are not ready for the off centre weight.

Use the light KB to make all sorts of mistakes and learn from it. Get the forearms bruised/tender and learn to let the KB roll around the wrist; fumble around with the KB overhead until the shoulders are strong enough to keep the it stable.

Pavel Tsatsouline said best:
"It is best to learn to use free weights kettlebells when you have the least strength weight to hurt yourself. Would you rather 'stagger and explore' with fifty or three hundred fifty pounds in your hands?"
This holds true for all strength training implements, kettlebells, barbells, beer kegs or anything.
cheezzzz
post Jun 29 2010, 09:07 AM

610 posts

how's the progress bro?

what are your goals at the moment? keep lifting bro!
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 29 2010, 02:42 PM

2,425 posts

Not much progress. Haven't been to a gym for a year plus, and haven't been eating properly.
Most of my workouts are bodyweight stuff & kettlebells now. Trying to learn handstand now. Difficult like shit. LOL!

Added on June 29, 2010, 2:49 pmTime to go crazy on front squat. Quad stamina too low.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Jun 29 2010, 02:49 PM
yeah_guyz
post Jun 29 2010, 03:46 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 29 2010, 02:42 PM)
Not much progress. Haven't been to a gym for a year plus, and haven't been eating properly.
Most of my workouts are bodyweight stuff & kettlebells now. Trying to learn handstand now. Difficult like shit. LOL!

Added on June 29, 2010, 2:49 pmTime to go crazy on front squat. Quad stamina too low.
nice to hear you got your ball, my kettlebell is still with my friend..deng

i have dled alot of kb video!
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 29 2010, 04:12 PM

2,425 posts

Fai fai get it back from him!
Which vids do you have?
yeah_guyz
post Jun 29 2010, 04:30 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Jun 29 2010, 04:12 PM)
Fai fai get it back from him!
Which vids do you have?
When we say Kettlebells, We mean Strength, when we say Strength We mean Kettlebells

Pavel Tsatsouline funny quotation...lol

but mine is 20kg

i don't know weather i can snatch or clean it smoothly..
TSiamyuanwu
post Jun 29 2010, 07:11 PM

2,425 posts

BSS: 10kg DB + 12kg KB: 3x10
Front sq: 10kg DB +12kg KB: 1x20 (rack), 2x20 (zercher)
20 push ups
Ass grating Cossack (AGC): 10kg DB + 12kg KB: 20 <---best hip mobility shit ever!

Added on June 29, 2010, 7:16 pmClassic Pavel:
"Comrade, next time you're in the gym, I don't wanna see any of these 'errrrrggggghhh' sissy stuff!"

Added on August 14, 2010, 1:19 amUnilateral 5x5
Pistols 12kg
Ring dips
Reverse rows
-on the verge of puking. Not sure if it would be smart to add push ups at the end.
(Pistols, Pr, SLRDL, PU?)

Added on August 18, 2010, 9:36 pmUnilateral 5x5
SLRDL 11+12kg
PU 12, 12, 10, 10, 10kg
Pr 13.5 + 12kg

Added on August 21, 2010, 9:47 pmUnilateral 5x6
pistols 12kg
ring dips---bodyweight is hard enough per se
inverted rows 1kg

Added on August 24, 2010, 11:11 amUnilateral 5x6
SLRDL 12+12kg
Pr 12+12kg
PU 10kg

Added on August 26, 2010, 1:13 pmUnilateral 5x7
Pistol 12kg
Dips .5kg
Rows 3.75kg

Added on September 1, 2010, 9:24 pmUnilateral 5x7
PU 10kg: 7 6 5; 5kg: 7 7 <--shit @ss tough. Didn't get enough carb pre-workout... feels like tayar pancit.
Pr 12+12kg
SLRDL 12+12kg
I dunno next round of 5x8 I can tahan or not. Probably an intermediate 88877.

Added on September 4, 2010, 5:27 pmUnilateral 5x8 3 Sept 2010
Forgot about the 88877 thing and went full steam ahead.

Pistols 12kg <--- it is getting ridiculous. 1.5-2 min rest between sets.
rest 1/2 hour to chat online.
Ring dips 1kg
Inverse row 3 set of 5kg, 2 sets 3.5kg

Actually, the whole workout is starting to get ridiculously tough. How to fxcking tahan until 5x10 is beyond me.

Lower traps/rhomboids area is a bit sore.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Sep 4 2010, 05:27 PM
TSiamyuanwu
post Sep 4 2010, 08:52 PM

2,425 posts

Syok sendiri 4 Sept 2010
push ups on taekwondo belt 10
windmill 12+12kg
push ups on kettlebell & stool 15
windmill 12+12kg
push ups on taekwondo belt 15

Farmers walk 12kg + 20kg: 1 round around the block. Switched hand 6-7x.
Zercher walk aborted due to rain and non-ergonomic strap implementation. The DB was crashing onto my balls.
yeah_guyz
post Sep 4 2010, 10:07 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

i see you did alot homegym stuff, i come out some great idea which to train heavy, go buy those 5 gallon water keg, i think after filling sand, it can be around 30-40+kg
clean, squat, farmer walk, overhead press, you can have alot of fun with it. i have one but not yet fill sand tongue.gif
TSiamyuanwu
post Sep 4 2010, 11:46 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Sep 4 2010, 10:07 PM)
i see you did alot homegym stuff, i come out some great idea which to train heavy, go buy those 5 gallon water keg, i think after filling sand, it can be around 30-40+kg
clean, squat, farmer walk, overhead press, you can have alot of fun with it. i have one but not yet fill sand tongue.gif
Bro! Where did you get your water/beer keg? I've been looking around, but can't seem to find them.

Haven't got around to make my sandbag and Bulgarian bag yet. BTW, you know anywhere to curi free sand?
Port Dickson is not exactly nearby.
yeah_guyz
post Sep 4 2010, 11:51 PM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Sep 4 2010, 11:46 PM)
Bro! Where did you get your water/beer keg? I've been looking around, but can't seem to find them.

Haven't got around to make my sandbag and Bulgarian bag yet. BTW, you know anywhere to curi free sand?
Port Dickson is not exactly nearby.
those so called diamond water shop got alot keg la..those use for water dispenser
just go hardware shop buy the sand la.. not exp
TSiamyuanwu
post Sep 5 2010, 12:24 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(yeah_guyz @ Sep 4 2010, 11:51 PM)
those so called diamond water shop got alot keg la..those use for water dispenser
just go hardware shop buy the sand la.. not exp
Oh, you are talking about those plastic/transparent kegs? Hah hah!

I was referring to 30L or 50L metal beer kegs, that looks a bit like a gas tank. Pressing it with water sloshing inside would be damn freaking tough. You'll need shoulders as solid as concrete to press it up. LOL! It will be crazy!

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Sep 5 2010, 12:27 AM
yeah_guyz
post Sep 5 2010, 12:42 AM

o2 + co2= coo22 ^_^lll
3,980 posts

QUOTE(iamyuanwu @ Sep 5 2010, 12:24 AM)
Oh, you are talking about those plastic/transparent kegs? Hah hah!

I was referring to 30L or 50L metal beer kegs, that looks a bit like a gas tank. Pressing it with water sloshing inside would be damn freaking tough. You'll need shoulders as solid as concrete to press it up. LOL! It will be crazy!
yes, plastic.. fill with sand is enough to kill your ass biggrin.gif
zaxxshoxx
post Jan 19 2011, 12:26 AM

put up or shut up
1,331 posts

no update?

0.0811sec    0.92    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:56 PM