427 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

SUSTOS
post Jul 13 2020, 10:10 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Jul 12 2020, 10:29 PM)
had you ever try to trasnfer usd or gbp from hk account to IBKR?
To my experience most hk account is integrated (mean they are single numbered multicurrency account even their credit card is coming with choices of dual currency and the popular one is hkd + cny
is this statement correct?
No, because I only invested in SG stocks thus far, so no experience of transferring USD or GBP to IBKR before. I was told that USD transfer is quite cumbersome. Given the USD-HKD peg, and that IBKR charges little commission at spot rate for forex, it would make more sense to deposit HKD then convert to your designated currency such as USD. At least it's cheaper and can avoid high mark-up charged by HK banks and avoid all kinds of scrutiny from IBKR (especially USD-related transactions).

As for integrated account, yup. That's pretty much the case. I don't like to owe people money, so when they give me a credit card, I break it up and destroy the chip immediately. The so-called integrated account is for them to make more money out of your pocket because you have all services under one umbrella. Integrated account is just similar to your premier/preferred banking in Malaysia. From low-profit margin basic banking services to high-profit margin securities business. Their NII is their main source of revenue. FD rates is just miserable, 1.5% at most. but loans are typically 5%. NII is quite high in HK banks. (2.2% for Hang Seng).

https://www.hangseng.com/en-hk/about-us/inv...s-announcement/

HKD-CNY account is popular for mainland students and professionals studying and working in HK, and also for businessmen in HK to deal with mainland business. For a Malaysian you won't find it useful unless you have big business in HK and want to expand your business in mainland China. I don't use any of the other currency accounts in my HK bank.

Side note, ranting: The thing is they don't have a debit card. (You call this place an IFC?) In Malaysia, my Maybank card can be used as both an ATM card and a debit card, but in HK, your ATM card is just an ATM card. I tried typing my "ATM" card number into an online bookstore where I want to buy books but failed. It's only when I asked other schoolmates that I realized in HK, they encourage you to owe and spend more, to the extreme that uni students can be given credit cards when they earn nothing. (In Malaysia, no job = no credit card). No wonder loan firms are so common in TVB advertisement there. laugh.gif

Guess what, I even have a current account there and can write cheques... sweat.gif

jas029
post Jul 13 2020, 10:55 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 12 2020, 10:54 PM)
Malaysian banks -> Instarem/bigpay/TransferWise-> Sg bank > IBKR Sg Bank account (local transfer in SGD) -> convert at spot rate inside IBKR. I am basically using money changer rates or close to money changer rates using those fintech.

wondering will SG banks question for 3rd party when u perform the step instarem/bigpay/transferwise -> SG bank?

and may i know the reason why u dont just instarem/bigpay/transferwise (in SGD) -> SG IBKR?
jas029
post Jul 13 2020, 11:19 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Jul 12 2020, 11:51 PM)
Want to ask something about stock transfer. If I transfer out my shares to other broker, does all the cost gets transferred as well? Will I still be able to see an accurate portfolio for the unrealized profit/loss?
the cost of the stock will definitely remain the same..

eg. if u buy SBUX (Starbucks) @ 74.00 through broker A.. u can't expect the cost of ur purchase to become 70.00 when u transfer it out to broker B right?

as for the layout of portfolio, it really depend on the broker that u planned to transfer to.. u may have to check with them in this case to be sure whether they are able to capture ur cost and display it in their platform

to be safe, record ur own transactions
solstice818
post Jul 13 2020, 11:50 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 11 2020, 01:44 PM)
Thanks. If it work is a good alternative.
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 11 2020, 08:52 PM)
i have been using Trading212 for past few weeks.
basically good stuff:

a) accessible to US,  Europe (not fully)
b) no maintenance fee
c) fractional shares.  (from USD1)
d) no transaction fees
e) easy to deposit money (use BIGPAY debit card for almost @ spot live rate)
f) option for CFD account. i did not explore it yet

overall, great brokerage with everything laid out clearly
If ur a small amount investor who doesn't want misc fees and inconvenience, trading212 is the way to go

Basically, easy forward to open acc. doc needed : Passport, Bank account statement, utility bills. Most important of all, name and address must same and correspond to you what you have registered.
Off-topic:

Seems like the withdrawal can only be done through the channel you funded your deposit.

Meaning, you will have to fund through TW to be able to receive through TW.

Anyway, is there anyone else using Trading212? Should we create a thread there? Not so nice discussing about it here in IBKR thread.
kucingfight
post Jul 13 2020, 12:14 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jul 13 2020, 11:50 AM)
Off-topic:

Seems like the withdrawal can only be done through the channel you funded your deposit.

Meaning, you will have to fund through TW to be able to receive through TW.
Anyway, is there anyone else using Trading212? Should we create a thread there? Not so nice discussing about it here in IBKR thread.
ya, seems to be that way. i have not tried withdrawing with different means .
T212 technically it's backed by IBKR laugh.gif , but yeah should have its own thread not to be confused with
dwRK
post Jul 13 2020, 02:27 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(infrasonic @ Jul 12 2020, 11:51 PM)
Want to ask something about stock transfer. If I transfer out my shares to other broker, does all the cost gets transferred as well? Will I still be able to see an accurate portfolio for the unrealized profit/loss?
nope.

receiving broker gets XXX share... portfolio value shows YYY (XXX * price when they received it)... and you get a new unrealized profit/loss based on YYY...
Chanching P
post Jul 13 2020, 04:52 PM

Probation
26 posts

Hi Guys seems like my ques got buried so I’ll post again la haha. Im 21 still studying, I know nothing bout tax. But got some funds and already invested and traded stocks.

Wanna know, When investing in US stocks like TSLA or even other countries like China etc Alibaba, do we have to pay tax. If so how & when? Like how do we go abt it?
How does it work in Msia?

Some sifu here can breakdown pls🙏🏻

Thx in advance guyss!
singkalan P
post Jul 13 2020, 06:49 PM

Probation
38 posts

QUOTE(Chanching @ Jul 13 2020, 04:52 PM)
Hi Guys seems like my ques got buried so I’ll post again la haha. Im 21 still studying, I know nothing bout tax. But got some funds and already invested and traded stocks.

Wanna know, When investing in US stocks like TSLA or even other countries like China etc Alibaba, do we have to pay tax. If so how & when? Like how do we go abt it?
How does it work in Msia?

Some sifu here can breakdown pls🙏🏻

Thx in advance guyss!
Please read entire page 77 especially post #1518. This article helps as well. A lowyat thread
singkalan P
post Jul 13 2020, 06:51 PM

Probation
38 posts

QUOTE(singkalan @ Jul 13 2020, 06:49 PM)
Please read entire page 77 especially post #1518. This article helps as well. A lowyat thread
Typo: page 76
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2020, 10:08 PM

24,338 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Jul 13 2020, 10:55 AM)
wondering will SG banks question for 3rd party when u perform the step instarem/bigpay/transferwise -> SG bank?

and may i know the reason why u dont just instarem/bigpay/transferwise (in SGD) -> SG IBKR?
Nope. No questions asked.
Reason is I want to avoid 3rd party transfer which have more scrutiny.
normanTE
post Jul 13 2020, 10:46 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 3 2019, 06:25 PM)
Just use their whitelabels. Settled.
https://www.tradestation-international.com/...pen-an-account/

is this a whitelabels you refer to ? thank you Ramjade for been so helpful
normanTE
post Jul 13 2020, 11:08 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 26 2019, 07:55 AM)
Keep in mind over long time you will be bleeding lots of money to banks if you use TT to interactive broker.
which is the cheapest ROUTE in transfering myr to ibkr? if not TT.
MYR --> SGD --> IBKR ?

Ramjade
post Jul 13 2020, 11:11 PM

24,338 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Jul 13 2020, 11:08 PM)
which is the cheapest ROUTE in transfering myr to ibkr? if not TT.
MYR --> SGD --> IBKR ?
See my previous reply.
normanTE
post Jul 13 2020, 11:16 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 28 2019, 06:18 PM)
Whitelabels memang got no inactivity fees.
You paid for it by paying higher commission. Pure IB few cents per transaction, whitelabels $2-4/transaction. Which is still cheap.
I see if whitelabel is costing more then pure IB, i will rather stick it with IBKR. my intention is funding 100kusd
I been position trading for years. lately been pretty active in 3 market hk, uk , and us market.
honestly permonth i trade more then 10 position. if you include 3 -4 or 5 market that is not an issue for me
Chanching P
post Jul 13 2020, 11:20 PM

Probation
26 posts

QUOTE(singkalan @ Jul 12 2020, 10:51 PM)
Typo: page 76
Thanks for the reference Singkalan🙏🏻
Wait so to clarify, no tax on capital gains at all or am I reading it wrong?
mr_tuzki
post Jul 14 2020, 01:37 AM

339 posts

QUOTE(Chanching @ Jul 13 2020, 11:20 PM)
Thanks for the reference Singkalan🙏🏻
Wait so to clarify, no tax on capital gains at all or am I reading it wrong?
No tax, unless you're trading as a profession and as your main source of income

This post has been edited by mr_tuzki: Jul 14 2020, 01:37 AM
Ramjade
post Jul 14 2020, 07:28 AM

24,338 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Jul 13 2020, 11:16 PM)
I see if whitelabel is costing more then pure IB, i will rather stick it with IBKR. my intention is funding 100kusd
I been position trading for years. lately been pretty active in 3 market hk, uk , and us market.
honestly permonth i trade more then 10 position. if you include 3 -4 or 5 market that is not an issue for me
Is not how much you trade. Is whether your trading commission can generate usd10/month or not.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 14 2020, 07:28 AM
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 14 2020, 08:09 AM

826 posts

Big pay has served me well. Their MYR/SGD rates are always almost close to google’s rate. And then convert to USD via IBKR is cheap too.

Basically can reach within 1 day if transfer before 5pm (will receive the money in IBKR before US market open the following day)
normanTE
post Jul 14 2020, 10:01 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 14 2020, 07:28 AM)
Is not how much you trade. Is whether your trading commission can generate usd10/month or not.
Thank you again Ramjade. to generate 10usd /month can be easy some month but not if volatility contracting there isnt much trading opportunity. soemtime you just cant simply force trade.

This post has been edited by normanTE: Jul 14 2020, 10:02 AM
SUSMNet
post Jul 14 2020, 10:26 AM

11,954 posts

QUOTE(normanTE @ Jul 13 2020, 11:16 PM)
WHat broker u using now?
And why u looking for new broker?

427 Pages « < 75 76 77 78 79 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:24 PM