29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

dwRK
post Sep 29 2019, 10:16 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Sep 29 2019, 09:09 PM)
any major differences between IBKR Lite and PRO, other than Lite only for US stocks and ETF?
They put up a comparison you didn't see?
dwRK
post Oct 2 2019, 10:48 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 1 2019, 10:39 PM)
Lite is only limited to US markets.
US market no commission...rest of the world still can but pay normal fees (not sure quantum yet)
dwRK
post Oct 2 2019, 10:54 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

btw...charles schwab is also pressured to offer commission free for us stocks starting oct 7.

tdameritrade is also slashing to zero

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 2 2019, 10:56 AM
dwRK
post Oct 2 2019, 11:59 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 2 2019, 11:30 AM)
so which one is better?

IBKR Lite is not yet available right? Didn't see it yet.
Charting platform = TDA (withdrawal cost $25)
Lowest fees = IBKR and its introducing brokers (1st withdrawal per month free)
International market = IBKR

Also depends on what you trade and how you trade...shares, futures, options, forex, etc. Long term hold vs scalping...

Btw...can open demo account and try see whichever you like, and no one is stopping you from opening both.

I'm using TDA, I like it so much better, but your mileage may vary. Plan to open IBKR soon to dispose of some EU stocks.

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 2 2019, 12:00 PM
dwRK
post Oct 2 2019, 01:02 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 2 2019, 12:15 PM)
ah, thanks!

I've another European broker. Can I switch my stocks from one broker to another?
Best check out transfer fees and trading fees for your shares... mine is free transfer so is worth it

TDA doesn't do EU stocks. Charles Schwab International costs just as much as my EU broker so no point.

So for EU stocks left only IBKR.

Ps...In addition to having a pretty interface, TDA has some charts and indicators that IBKR just doesn't have... so TDA is like BMW with full package vs IBKR's Perodua... both gets you A to B...but moot point lah if wanna dispose of EU stocks

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 2 2019, 01:12 PM
dwRK
post Oct 2 2019, 09:07 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 2 2019, 08:46 PM)
Thanks!
I'm currently leaning towards IBKR Lite since I want access to US stocks & ETF. I'm also not very good with charts and indicators, only know some simple technical trading indicators.

I'd also like to enter SG REITs market but maybe I don't need it, considering the additional cost.

My European broker doesn't allow US ETF trading, that's why I registered for IB. I hold some US stocks with them, so was thinking of transferring. Nah, maybe not lah... just too much trouble. I currently pay 0.25% brokerage with this broker.
Np. Just ask them to switch you to lite when available. Btw, I think you should be able to buy EU domiciled US ETF from your EU broker. The folks over at the diy s&p500 thread are buying Irish domiciled US ETF from German exchanges.

My broker charges minimum of 20 Euro + I think 0.25% above certain traded value. Lol

dwRK
post Oct 3 2019, 08:48 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 2 2019, 09:18 PM)
wow!! This is too expensive!!  shakehead.gif

mine is €1 or 0.25%, whichever is higher.
ya...custodian type broker assisted full service type...lol
dwRK
post Oct 4 2019, 08:42 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 3 2019, 06:11 PM)
IBKR Lite is only available to US & India residents!!

bangwall.gif
Aiyah... but no big loss really if you trade EU stocks...

"For products not entitled to zero-commission trading under IBKR Lite, the same commission structure will apply to both IBKR Lite and IBKR Pro. Where applicable, a "Fixed" commission model will apply to IBKR Lite clients for such products."

Pro you can select much cheaper tier commissions...

Hope TDA don't play such a stunt and limit commission free trades to US only...

I guess you'll proceed to fund your Pro account? You realize the monthly min $10 commission/fee if total assets <$100k right?

dwRK
post Oct 4 2019, 09:33 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 4 2019, 08:57 AM)
As mentioned the USD10/month can easily be bypass by going with Whitelabels.
Yeah... just a prompt to him... he may have >$100k or trading fee >$10 so is non-issue & Pro is cheaper

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 4 2019, 09:39 AM
dwRK
post Oct 4 2019, 01:25 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 4 2019, 12:46 PM)
No, I don't plan to invest 100k USD even if I had that amount now. That's why would be nice if I could use IBKR lite.
Now have to look for whitelabels instead.

I'm not sure which country or region that I have more faith. EU/UK/US ....  sad.gif
Everything is so uncertain now.
Tradestation global or captrader... you check them out lor.... And rich ppl never say they are rich wink.gif

Recession hits all will goes down the drain...no such thing as a safe region.
dwRK
post Oct 9 2019, 08:08 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Oct 9 2019, 02:25 AM)
Ramjade

While waiting for my tradestation account to be approved, I've a question.
The min trade for TradeStation is USD5, while IBKR charges USD10.
So, if I trade twice a month, then IBKR is actually ok?

Now I think about it, M'sian brokers are also not cheap.
if buy RM 10k stocks, RM 10 clearing + RM10 brokerage + 0.03% + VAT, also about USD5.
$1.50 vs $1.00 IBKR fixed fee, $0.35 tiered fee for US stocks

If trade 2x per month but commissions <$10 and account <$100k... ibkr will charge you $10 for every month onwards... so $120 fee per year for small account investors hehehe

This post has been edited by dwRK: Oct 9 2019, 08:17 AM
dwRK
post Oct 28 2019, 05:48 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Oct 28 2019, 03:01 PM)
If we are using whitelabel such as TradeStation, will whitelabel or Interactive Brokers charge us inactivity fees, if we do not  perform minimum number of share transactions (less than $20 of monthly commissions) every single month?
No fee.
dwRK
post Oct 28 2019, 05:56 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

AFAIK... how much funds you have determine the types of products you are allowed to trade... margin stuff will need mucho $
dwRK
post Nov 5 2019, 05:51 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 04:16 AM)
what's the difference between these 2?

why need to download both?

edit: I'm using MAC and these two links are for Windows. sad.gif

Just use web or mobile if you investing long term and not day trading.

The two are trading softwares to do lots of charting by respective companies
dwRK
post Nov 5 2019, 07:45 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 06:58 AM)
#1...so the username and password they sent me (after funding the acc) are just for this purpose?

#2...what about analyst reports?
Don't understand #1. Don't you set your own during reg?

#2...web portal can get

This post has been edited by dwRK: Nov 5 2019, 08:24 AM
dwRK
post Nov 5 2019, 08:10 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 08:03 AM)
yes, I set my own username and password for log in.

but after funding the IBKR acc, TradeStation global will send another set of username and password in order to access those two platforms (as in the pic). I got the email telling me to download these two platforms.
go to https://interactivebrokers.com/en/home.php try login to portal and see work or not...
dwRK
post Nov 5 2019, 10:21 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 5 2019, 06:49 PM)
Thanks!

I've also got some answers from them:
Hehehe... just use the web portal... quick n easy... mobile even faster...
dwRK
post Nov 8 2019, 10:43 AM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 8 2019, 06:14 AM)
Question 3: for those who are good at putting special orders. How do I place this order?

"Buy when the value has dropped 5%" Is this trailing BUY?
I don't want to set a fixed price, rather I want to execute BUY when there's a certain movement. How?
Ibkr has lots of training videos. Youtube also.

5% below is still a fixed price order, just means you let ibkr calc this price for you.

Trailing buy means you set the price offset above current price, it follows the price down and when price bounce back up it buys. If price just goes up instead you'll end up buying at the higher offset price. If price is volatile, it can whip up hit your buy order then crash back down... just saying

For someone new who's looking to buy 1 etf share and hasn't bought anything you sure have lots of ideas and requirements... biggrin.gif very good keep it up thumbup.gif

dwRK
post Nov 8 2019, 02:07 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Nov 8 2019, 01:04 PM)
no ... not fixed price.

Say today, it's USD 100. End day is USD 97. So it has not dropped 5%; but the new baseline has gone down to USD97.
So if the next day, it drops to USD 92.15, then it will buy.

something like this... I'm not sure if I have explained it well.
At $100 it's fixed 5% below so $95...
At $ 97 it's fixed 5% below so $92.15...

Only bots can do what you want. Alternatively you wake up and set it to 5% below yesterday's close wink.gif
dwRK
post Nov 8 2019, 02:19 PM

the consummate chartist
5,118 posts

QUOTE(livina2011 @ Nov 8 2019, 01:16 PM)
if let say everyday down 4.90% then forever you won't get that stock....lol kidding nia
Worse is everyday up 5% for months...then finally reverse 5% trigger the buy and then continue downwards spiral...lol

29 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2622sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 04:30 PM