Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

Raymond_ACCA
post May 22 2020, 04:13 PM

826 posts

Omg I deposit 1000 USD using maybank. But then when reached my account only USD975. Called maybank and they said is not charged by them. IB charges on deposit?
Raymond_ACCA
post May 22 2020, 04:35 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ May 22 2020, 04:33 PM)
Yes they did, for receiving incoming telegraphic transfer! I wrote on the first post already.... the fee is about USD$25.
Sorry for your loss but I'm happy to be correct.  brows.gif

In Krv23490 case, it's a local bank transfer.
Haha omg! cause my first transfer i put USD10 to test, and i did receive USD10. Then 2nd time put USD1,000 kena ady. I guess next deposit I better put more.
Raymond_ACCA
post May 22 2020, 04:41 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ May 22 2020, 04:37 PM)
really? then I suppose if everytime you transfer less than USD25, there's no charge?  icon_idea.gif
Haha. Try transferring USD10 X 100 times.. you're gonna smash your laptop.
Raymond_ACCA
post May 26 2020, 01:00 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ May 22 2020, 04:33 PM)
Yes they did, for receiving incoming telegraphic transfer! I wrote on the first post already.... the fee is about USD$25.
Sorry for your loss but I'm happy to be correct.  brows.gif

In Krv23490 case, it's a local bank transfer.
Oh btw is the USD25 deposit fee apply to TSG too?
Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 9 2020, 11:14 AM

826 posts

IBKR calculate by number of stocks, not the value. So long story short, if you're buying penny stocks, better use local bank (with the condition you're buying at optimum value, i.e. USD6,250). If buying large cap stocks like AAPL, AMZN, use IBKR.

Say stock is USD0.1 per stock.
IBKR: 100,000 units = USD350 (Edit: Max charge 1% x 10,000 = USD100)
Local bank: 0.4% = USD40

Say stock is USD10 per stock.
IBKR: 1,000 units = USD3.5
Local bank: 0.4% = USD40

Edit: Note for future readers, for IBKR there is a 1% max cap, edited to reflect the correct info. Thanks for pointing out @dwRK

This post has been edited by Raymond_ACCA: Jun 9 2020, 05:10 PM
Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 9 2020, 05:03 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 9 2020, 11:20 AM)
buy 1 mil stock, 1 cent each, so total value $10000

calc 1, 1000000 x $0.0035/share = $3500
calc 2, $10000 x 1% max = $100

you pay lowest of the two, so $100

local broker, $10000 x 0.4% = $40
Haha yes! Totally forgot about the Max 1%. Never have I reached the max before cause never purchase so big quantity lol.
Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 9 2020, 09:54 PM

826 posts

Tried transferring SGD using BigPay. SGD810. Only RM2,500 max BigPay top up for me per month. First international transfer is free. Since no place to write user ID/reference, I purposely put a non-round number just in case they can't match lol.

Received it in IBKR after 2 working days. rclxms.gif
Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 10 2020, 12:23 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Jun 9 2020, 11:01 PM)
u use trade station global?
Yes. They automatically opt my fees following TS global. Not sure how to opt back to Pure IB though, but didn't bother as my trade commission via IB currently is USD10 or less per month anyways. Barely trade penny stocks or active trading.

QUOTE(solstice818 @ Jun 9 2020, 11:10 PM)
Do you have to email them to get the fund allocated to your account since there's no place to write user id/reference? Also read from other forum that IB asked to explain about third party transfer.
No need. First, create a new method of transfer, then just say it's from BigPay and fill up the information required. Even the information for bank account number is optional.

Then, initiate a notification of intent to transfer with them. Just ensure the amount stated on intention to transfer is the exact same amount that you're gonna transfer.

It seems they just match the actual amount transferred via the stated bank vs the notification of intent to transfer. So, to be safe, I put in a non-round number. Once, when transferring USD via Maybank, I actually forgot to put my user id/reference, but the amount still got deposited in a matter of hours.

Note that BigPay cannot transfer in USD ya. So ensure you select SGD as currency.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jun 10 2020, 08:28 AM)
You do know that's only for credit card top-up right? You can literally top-up up to rm10k using bank transfer.

Yes bigpay is slow.
Oh great, thought max was 2,500 whichever method sweat.gif
Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 10 2020, 03:50 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(livina2011 @ Jun 10 2020, 02:17 PM)
@Raymond_ACCA

How fast money reach our local bank after request withdrawal from IBKR? any limitation i.e max amount withdrawal per day, max request per month

can we request usd to our local usd local bank account?
Never withdraw before though, sorry can’t help on this. But I read somewhere in the website there’s a limited number of free withdrawal per month, then got some charges.
Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 10 2020, 11:05 PM

826 posts

I checked the conversion from SGD to USD in IBKR. Looks quite near google's rate. This means transfer is now made easier with using BigPay + Conversion via IBKR to purchase US stocks. Least hassle and less fees than bank TT.

Raymond_ACCA
post Jun 18 2020, 05:50 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jun 17 2020, 11:12 PM)
anyone? or..
Tried SGD 2.2k, no problem also.
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 8 2020, 07:47 AM

826 posts

Has anyone tried exercising warrants in IBKR before? What was the procedure? Have to email support?

Also, how does one transfer to pure IBKR? Also via email support or can do it ourselves?
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 14 2020, 08:09 AM

826 posts

Big pay has served me well. Their MYR/SGD rates are always almost close to google’s rate. And then convert to USD via IBKR is cheap too.

Basically can reach within 1 day if transfer before 5pm (will receive the money in IBKR before US market open the following day)
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 15 2020, 05:30 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 15 2020, 10:05 AM)
Max only RM 10k/transfer right?
For international transfer, it’s RM20k daily, RM30k monthly. I slowly pump in money everytime after I sell some bursa stocks lol.

The RM10k limit is between local bank to big pay.

This post has been edited by Raymond_ACCA: Jul 15 2020, 05:31 PM
Raymond_ACCA
post Jul 15 2020, 11:47 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 15 2020, 08:42 PM)
How do you deposit in rm20k?
I tried rm30k but was told by bigpay fox only accept rm10k (top-up)
Oh I should reword.

International transfer =20k per day/ 30k per month
Top up = 10k per day.

Raymond_ACCA
post Sep 3 2020, 02:52 PM

826 posts

Guys, anyone participated in any IPO via IB? I am chatting with CS now and it seems there is no way we can do that via IB.
Raymond_ACCA
post Sep 25 2020, 11:37 AM

826 posts

Have anyone tried using another person’s BIGPAY account to transfer to IBKR? Asking this as my bigpayinternational transfer already reached limit for the month.
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 11 2021, 08:09 AM

826 posts

QUOTE(loisjeans @ Feb 11 2021, 01:47 AM)
I need help on withdraw money from IB to my Maybank. I know the swift code of Maybank but I cannot get to search the corresponding bank. Anyone can help me on this?
Bumping this question.

Would like to know from anyone who did this before. How long does the withdrawal process take and the fees involved and the overall experience in withdrawing to a Maybank MYR account..
Raymond_ACCA
post Feb 12 2021, 10:15 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(jas029 @ Feb 11 2021, 10:29 AM)
there u go
Thanks!

0.2548sec    0.98    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 11:14 AM