Interactive Brokers (IBKR), IBKR users, welcome!

solstice818
post May 9 2020, 05:56 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(topitup @ May 9 2020, 04:13 PM)
Thanks moosset. Yeah, i did noticed someone hit the same error as mine few pages earlier.
Just done with the entire application with IBKR via TSG site. Hopefully it works this time, pending new acct approval.

1 more thing, i've noticed that IBKR site directed by TSG was pointing to Aus site ending with '.com.au'.
Wondering was that the reason that led to the previous error, i remembered the first signup was via .com.au too.
If it is, then i'm gonna hit the same error again, let's see how it goes.
I don't think so. '.com.au' works just fine for some of us here.
solstice818
post May 11 2020, 12:46 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Hey guys, just wanna check with all of you if there's any way to minimize cost if I fund using USD in my paypal.

I know I cant directly transfer my fund there but is there any methods to reduce the cost to the minimum?

All this while I have been transferring using my SG account.

This post has been edited by solstice818: May 11 2020, 12:46 PM
solstice818
post May 28 2020, 03:56 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(jay2you @ May 28 2020, 03:44 PM)
The first initial deposit to CIMB SG $1000 amount must transfer from CIMB MY? Can I use like bigpay/instarem? Coz the bank rate is higher compare to others.
Preferably bank as they need to verify your identity. I have done mine with instarem though. Need to do subsequent deposit to verify again.

This post has been edited by solstice818: May 28 2020, 03:56 PM
solstice818
post May 31 2020, 09:36 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(soundworks @ May 31 2020, 09:17 PM)
Unfortunately to open you need a work permit etc. I called the hotline and they said CIMB Malaysia can only link if you already have a SG account. Otherwise you can go the CIMB Preferred route but you need 250k to even begin lol
If only you bother reading the thread, you will know that it's possible to open the account without work permit.
solstice818
post Jun 3 2020, 08:08 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Jun 3 2020, 02:02 AM)
yes, €0.63 from TW (€) to IBKR (€).

I just needed some € in my TW debit card to activate a payment system so I gave it a go.
Can we get the card? thought our country not supported?
solstice818
post Jun 3 2020, 09:48 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(moosset @ Jun 3 2020, 09:44 AM)
Nope, not yet. sad.gif

only for overseas residents like SG, Australia, etc.
I see. Thanks. Sad case.
solstice818
post Jun 5 2020, 04:51 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Weng Cheong @ Jun 5 2020, 04:27 PM)
Hi, im considering opening account in Interactive Brokers.
if i would like to trade HK stock, i need to deposit SGD into IB --> USD --> HKD right?
can anyone provide me some insight on the currency exchange rate? says today 5th June 2020
i would like to compare the currency exchange rate to that of local brokerage.
Can straight deposit HKD.
solstice818
post Jun 9 2020, 11:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jun 9 2020, 09:54 PM)
Tried transferring SGD using BigPay. SGD810. Only RM2,500 max BigPay top up for me per month. First international transfer is free. Since no place to write user ID/reference, I purposely put a non-round number just in case they can't match lol.

Received it in IBKR after 2 working days.  rclxms.gif
Do you have to email them to get the fund allocated to your account since there's no place to write user id/reference? Also read from other forum that IB asked to explain about third party transfer.
solstice818
post Jun 10 2020, 01:23 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Raymond_ACCA @ Jun 10 2020, 12:23 PM)
Yes. They automatically opt my fees following TS global. Not sure how to opt back to Pure IB though, but didn't bother as my trade commission via IB currently is USD10 or less per month anyways. Barely trade penny stocks or active trading.
No need. First, create a new method of transfer, then just say it's from BigPay and fill up the information required. Even the information for bank account number is optional.

Then, initiate a notification of intent to transfer with them. Just ensure the amount stated on intention to transfer is the exact same amount that you're gonna transfer.

It seems they just match the actual amount transferred via the stated bank vs the notification of intent to transfer. So, to be safe, I put in a non-round number. Once, when transferring USD via Maybank, I actually forgot to put my user id/reference, but the amount still got deposited in a matter of hours.

Note that BigPay cannot transfer in USD ya. So ensure you select SGD as currency.
Oh great, thought max was 2,500 whichever method  sweat.gif
Thanks for the detailed explanation. Got it all and gonna try it soon! thumbup.gif Wanna compare the rate with TW and Instarem.
solstice818
post Jul 6 2020, 03:02 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(z21j @ Jul 6 2020, 02:52 PM)
If i deposit usd from hk or sg multicurrency account to ib, are there charges or handling fees? How about withdrawal, if i withdraw usd do i get in hkd or sgd assuming in crediting to local banks?
Your answers for both questions are in the thread. Just search for it.
solstice818
post Jul 7 2020, 11:24 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 7 2020, 08:11 AM)
Trding212 is ok.
If I have UK bank account sure open an account with them already.
No need UK bank account to open account with them. You are talking about withdrawal izit?
solstice818
post Jul 8 2020, 07:24 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

Hey guys, anyone lodge a ticket before for missing dividends? How long does it take for them to reply and sort it?
solstice818
post Jul 9 2020, 09:32 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Jul 9 2020, 12:07 AM)
Are you 100% sure they missed?
Ex-date and payment date is different.
Haha I know how to differentiate that la. Apparently the dividend has been suspended and I missed the news.
solstice818
post Jul 11 2020, 01:30 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 11 2020, 12:29 PM)
Yes I won't convert back. My money which I transfer overseas are basically one way ticket. The reason is simple. Ringgit is a a depreciating asset and I won't hold onto a depreciating asset.
That way I can maintain my purchasing power.
Theoretically yes but I don't think anyone tested yet. If you have tested, kindly let us know.
QUOTE(Gwynbleidd @ Jul 11 2020, 12:54 PM)
Too bad I don't have the TW Borderless Account. I signed up only after they removed Malaysians eligibility.
I have both the TW account and trading212. Will try and update you all...but not so soon.
solstice818
post Jul 13 2020, 11:50 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 11 2020, 01:44 PM)
Thanks. If it work is a good alternative.
QUOTE(kucingfight @ Jul 11 2020, 08:52 PM)
i have been using Trading212 for past few weeks.
basically good stuff:

a) accessible to US,  Europe (not fully)
b) no maintenance fee
c) fractional shares.  (from USD1)
d) no transaction fees
e) easy to deposit money (use BIGPAY debit card for almost @ spot live rate)
f) option for CFD account. i did not explore it yet

overall, great brokerage with everything laid out clearly
If ur a small amount investor who doesn't want misc fees and inconvenience, trading212 is the way to go

Basically, easy forward to open acc. doc needed : Passport, Bank account statement, utility bills. Most important of all, name and address must same and correspond to you what you have registered.
Off-topic:

Seems like the withdrawal can only be done through the channel you funded your deposit.

Meaning, you will have to fund through TW to be able to receive through TW.

Anyway, is there anyone else using Trading212? Should we create a thread there? Not so nice discussing about it here in IBKR thread.
solstice818
post Jul 18 2020, 01:44 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Jul 17 2020, 11:59 PM)
Trading212 is so cool, the user interface is very user friendly and modern. I wonder if 0$ commission, 0 fees, how they make money?
Through spread.
solstice818
post Aug 4 2020, 11:12 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(keenauto @ Aug 4 2020, 12:10 AM)
Just wondering, usually how long does it take to get whitelable IBKR account approved (funded)?
2 days for me.
solstice818
post Aug 6 2020, 10:45 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(erizdagreat @ Aug 5 2020, 05:08 PM)
Sifu here. I'll help answer your question.

Before you apply for trading permission on an additional security/product, make sure you have met the requirements needed. For CLPs, the requirements according to IBKR are:

"In the case of Complex & Leveraged Products, you must have a Good or Extensive Knowledge Level for stocks and options, or stocks and futures, or take a test."

Additionally, they require you to have a certain amount of liquid net worth and income according to your age. For age 31 to 40, liquid net worth should be at least $50k and income at least $45k.

Once you have submitted the permission request, on the account permissions main page, the link "request for permission" next to the product should have been replaced with a greyed out "global". That means it's pending. If it still shows "request for trading permission", then you have not submitted the request yet.

It usually takes less than 24 hrs on a weekday, but because of the influx of noobs like you to platforms like IBKR and robinhood, there might be delays.

Good luck, boy!
Why are you saying "good luck boy" to yourself?

What's your main acc?
solstice818
post Aug 10 2020, 12:55 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

QUOTE(Yggdrasil @ Aug 9 2020, 02:52 AM)
Obviously it's an error la. Where got 31 Dec 4712?
Just email CS. Shouldn't be any problem la.
solstice818
post Aug 25 2020, 04:10 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
4,503 posts

So, post 1 - transfer EUR via instarem no longer working?

0.0313sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:41 AM