Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment

TSaussieMB
post Oct 18 2018, 03:05 PM, updated 6y ago

Hi All,

What epayment app do you recommend for China? Seems to be Alipay, Tencen (WeChat) or UnionPay, however I've read elsewhere that you need a China-based bank card to "connect" to your account before payments can be made. Is this true?

If anyone has successfully got an app and made payments, please share your experience here. Including ease of use, any security concerns, and language barrier (within the app itself, ie are all the screens and messages in English?)

I'll be using a Samsung phone, so Android app.

Thanks very much.
oldies1950
post Oct 18 2018, 03:12 PM

Validating
43 posts

You can use ALIPAY. But you neeed a FRIEND ...LOCAL who you can trust to transfer the Money into your Alipay ACCOUNT. Then you pay him/her the CASH.

Not sure if you your ALIPAY account open in MALAYSIA can be use in CHINA.

Many Places now use ALIPAY . So it is a MUST.

Some restaurants, stalls, etc may NOT use CASH. But better if you bring SMALL notes for PAyment as they may not have CHANGE for big Notes.

This post has been edited by oldies1950: Oct 18 2018, 03:15 PM
scorgio
post Oct 18 2018, 03:13 PM

4,642 posts

UnionPay is China's equivalent of Visa/Mastercard. It's Govt owned.

Mobile payment is mainly WeChat Pay & AliPay. However, both you'll need a China based bank account to reload your e-wallet. Or reload thru 3rd party. Not to mention you'll need data (to scan the merchant's QR code).

For WeChat account registered in Msia, you'll need a 3rd party to send min RMB1 angpow to your WeChat Pay in order to activate the China wallet. Else you'd only have Malaysia wallet.
TSaussieMB
post Oct 19 2018, 01:57 PM

ok, thanks for the info. Not so easy for foreigners in China for using phones to pay, it looks like!
scorgio
post Oct 19 2018, 07:50 PM

4,642 posts

QUOTE(oldies1950 @ Oct 18 2018, 03:12 PM)

Not sure if you your ALIPAY account open in MALAYSIA can be use in CHINA.

Yes you can. As long as you have RMB inside the account.

Buying groceries at supermarket, I just show my code to the cashier, no need data also the payment can be completed.

oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 09:59 PM

1,515 posts

How can this work without a China SIM card. Cannot buy nowadays due to new security rules.
oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 10:13 PM

1,515 posts

Are SIM cards still for sale at airports or anywhere?

Recent trip, I could not buy one from shops without a China ID. Foreign passport not eligible. Shenzhen airport zero, even asking staff.

Any solution (without asking someone else to register illegally)?
matrix88
post Oct 24 2018, 10:15 PM

2,233 posts

can get from Pudong airport last month
oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 10:26 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(matrix88 @ Oct 24 2018, 10:15 PM)
can get from Pudong airport last month
Maybe changed since Oct 1 ??? I was denied in every city for a week and two airports.
oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 10:29 PM

1,515 posts

I asked a friend to send me angpow. Came through OK but cannot open wallet without China ID and bank account. Ringgit wallet not usable in China.
knwong
post Oct 24 2018, 10:36 PM

3,352 posts

I bought WeFly SIM from Qoo10 Singapore before heading to China last month. Can use Whatsapp, YouTube in China without VPN. Just put in the SIM when landed there and straight away can use
aspartame
post Oct 24 2018, 10:44 PM

3,165 posts

I have no problem using just Visa card in China.
avantasia
post Oct 24 2018, 10:49 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(aussieMB @ Oct 18 2018, 03:05 PM)
Hi All,

What epayment app do you recommend for China? Seems to be Alipay, Tencen (WeChat) or UnionPay, however I've read elsewhere that you need a China-based bank card to "connect" to your account before payments can be made. Is this true?

If anyone has successfully got an app and made payments, please share your experience here. Including ease of use, any security concerns, and language barrier (within the app itself, ie are all the screens and messages in English?)

I'll be using a Samsung phone, so Android app.

Thanks very much.
I use to shop, dine, take public transport using rhb, hsbc, hong leong bank credit card when i'm at china. No problemo!!
oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 11:20 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(aspartame @ Oct 24 2018, 10:44 PM)
I have no problem using just Visa card in China.
Maybe those 5/6 star international hotels, ok.
Try hawker stalls in the street, parking lots, souvenir stalls, who happily accept WeChat sad.gif
Or supermarkets that say only China VISA.
oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 11:24 PM

1,515 posts

@Avantasia

How did you use cards for public transport? Were local taxis, buses, DiDi, bus and train stations OK for foreign VISA?
oneeleven
post Oct 24 2018, 11:37 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 24 2018, 10:36 PM)
I bought WeFly SIM from Qoo10 Singapore before heading to China last month. Can use Whatsapp, YouTube in China without VPN. Just put in the SIM when landed there and straight away can use
Thanks for the tip!

I found Sim2Fly on Lazada which looks like it will do the job too. My alternative was to ask a relative to bring along a HK dual card under his name, but that has its own problems like non renewable expiry, no top up outside of HK, etc.
touristking
post Oct 25 2018, 05:32 AM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 24 2018, 03:29 PM)
I asked a friend to send me angpow. Came through OK but cannot open wallet without China ID and bank account. Ringgit wallet not usable in China.
I did this. No guarantee.

1. I unlink my Public Bank debit card from my Ringgit wallet.
2. I get an angpow
3. I relink that same debit card to get a Yuan wallet.

avantasia
post Oct 25 2018, 07:20 AM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 24 2018, 11:24 PM)
@Avantasia

How did you use cards for public transport? Were local taxis, buses, DiDi, bus and train stations OK for foreign VISA?
I did use when using subway and it is well accepted. But taxi i use cash.
sweet_pez
post Oct 25 2018, 02:12 PM

何を見ているの
4,261 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 24 2018, 11:37 PM)
Thanks for the tip!

I found Sim2Fly on Lazada which looks like it will do the job too. My alternative was to ask a relative to bring along a HK dual card under his name, but that has its own problems like non renewable expiry, no top up outside of HK, etc.
Another SIM option is Hello1010. I bought the RM66 sim before I went to Shanghai early this year. Works like a charm. Since the SIM is riding on HK network, there's no need for VPN to surf Google, FB, Whatsapp etc. I won't recommend VPN because the apps may not be stable. My co-worker rented a WIFI router instead and used VPN; her connection breaks off so often that she gave up after 2 days and resigned to being blocked from social media laugh.gif

Hello1010: https://hello1010.my/country/asia/china.html

This post has been edited by sweet_pez: Oct 25 2018, 02:12 PM
krayden
post Oct 25 2018, 02:44 PM

574 posts

Have a look at this

https://www.mypokefi.com/products

A lot of ppl i know working in hk, use this in china. Vpn not required. Whatsapp youtube all jalan
cytyler
post Oct 25 2018, 05:52 PM

392 posts

u can always get the SIM using passport at airport (mostly the shops inside the airport) , i've got the SIMs before in Guangzhou and Shenzhen airport , but Guilin airport is not available.
CKKwan
post Oct 25 2018, 05:53 PM

886 posts

You can get in bigger Unicom outlet. Don't buy CHina Mobile, can't get 4G
oneeleven
post Oct 25 2018, 09:04 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(cytyler @ Oct 25 2018, 05:52 PM)
u can always get the SIM using passport at airport (mostly the shops inside the airport) , i've got the SIMs before in Guangzhou and Shenzhen airport , but Guilin airport is not available.
Last week at Shenzhen none in sight. Asked airport staff , they said none in airport. In another city, several shops and agents said passport not enough, must have China residence or some other China ID.

Several brands available Myfly Sim2fly etc but one drawback -- no voice except maybe via WeChat etc, and no China number for others to call. Sometimes needed for apps and other business. A few years ago the HK dual ones had a number but don't know about the present system.

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Oct 25 2018, 09:06 PM
RegentCid
post Oct 25 2018, 09:42 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

Unicom China Sim card for foreigners

https://www.mychinaunicom.com/toProdisplayPage.dhtml
Customize your Sim card here then shipped to your China Hotel.
Collect it once you check in

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Oct 25 2018, 09:45 PM
cytyler
post Oct 25 2018, 11:38 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 25 2018, 09:04 PM)
Last week at Shenzhen none in sight. Asked airport staff , they said none in airport. In another city, several shops and agents said passport not enough, must have China residence or some other China ID.

Several brands available Myfly Sim2fly etc but one drawback -- no voice except maybe via WeChat etc, and no China number for others to call. Sometimes needed for apps and other business. A few years ago the HK dual ones had a number but don't know about the present system.
senzhen is selling alot sims outside the airport too.
oneeleven
post Oct 25 2018, 11:42 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(cytyler @ Oct 25 2018, 11:38 PM)
senzhen is selling alot sims outside the airport too.
But not for foreigners! I tried last week!!!
cytyler
post Oct 26 2018, 09:03 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 25 2018, 11:42 PM)
hmm i not sure...coz i just simply enter 1 shop and say im tourist, so they just register the sim with my passport
cytyler
post Oct 26 2018, 09:04 AM

392 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 25 2018, 11:42 PM)
or u can go to UNICOM centre to register sim with passport although not every centre allows , mostly small shops wont allow
oneeleven
post Oct 27 2018, 11:10 PM

1,515 posts

Found Lazada one for Guangdong only, enough for me this trip. Cheaper, more days, more GB, no blocking. But data only.
se800i
post Nov 5 2018, 04:30 PM

1,925 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Oct 24 2018, 11:49 PM)
I use to shop, dine, take public transport using rhb, hsbc, hong leong bank credit card when i'm at china. No problemo!!
You mean just wave your Credit card will do?
avantasia
post Nov 5 2018, 06:19 PM

a while in dreamland!!!
2,827 posts

QUOTE(se800i @ Nov 5 2018, 04:30 PM)
You mean just wave your Credit card will do?
Yes...widely accepted there! rclxms.gif
se800i
post Nov 7 2018, 09:54 AM

1,925 posts

QUOTE(avantasia @ Nov 5 2018, 07:19 PM)
Yes...widely accepted there!  rclxms.gif
but the currency conversion by the bank must be very kao kao
ukiya
post Nov 7 2018, 11:12 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Use Digi 3 Days Roams - RM25... works perfectly plus free many minutes to receive and call out local and international calls.

As for top up, there's many offers in shopee and online where u can ask them bout their "rate" and transfer it over to your mobile. Works great!
alantanblog
post Nov 7 2018, 03:48 PM

298 posts

Can call & received both Malaysia number & China number(my hotel)?

QUOTE(ukiya @ Nov 7 2018, 11:12 AM)
Use Digi 3 Days Roams - RM25... works perfectly plus free many minutes to receive and call out local and international calls.

As for top up, there's many offers in shopee and online where u can ask them bout their "rate" and transfer it over to your mobile. Works great!
legendaryNOKIA
post Nov 13 2018, 09:52 PM

Hi, is there any way for Malaysian to use alipay in china?
scorgio
post Nov 14 2018, 01:53 AM

4,642 posts

1)Phone kena ada data
2)Kena topup using China bank account.
3)If no.2 tarak, need to find a 3rd party to topup/transfer to your Alipay.
legendaryNOKIA
post Nov 14 2018, 05:00 AM

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 14 2018, 01:53 AM)
1)Phone kena ada data
2)Kena topup using China bank account.
3)If no.2 tarak, need to find a 3rd party to topup/transfer to your Alipay.
Phew... Meaning Malaysian bank card is useless?
touristking
post Nov 14 2018, 05:27 AM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 13 2018, 10:00 PM)
Not just Malaysian. Worldwide when it comes to alipay
legendaryNOKIA
post Nov 14 2018, 07:22 AM

QUOTE(touristking @ Nov 14 2018, 05:27 AM)
Not just Malaysian. Worldwide when it comes to alipay
How about wechat pay?
scorgio
post Nov 14 2018, 11:58 AM

4,642 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 14 2018, 05:00 AM)
Can withdraw cash there. Maybank charge RM12 per transaction.

Bank of China & ICBC ATMs max RMB3000 per withdrawal.
legendaryNOKIA
post Nov 14 2018, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(scorgio @ Nov 14 2018, 11:58 AM)
Can withdraw cash there. Maybank charge RM12 per transaction.

Bank of China & ICBC ATMs max RMB3000 per withdrawal.
I would like to use but seems not working
touristking
post Nov 14 2018, 03:51 PM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 14 2018, 12:22 AM)
How about wechat pay?
Same problem.

You can have China wallet but you can't top up using your Malaysian/Worldwide credit card.

biatche
post Nov 15 2018, 03:59 PM

1,624 posts

I'll be going to china soon

So I'm told that the best way to pay for everything in china is either alipay or wechat.

I've just setup both. How do I top them up?
joe09
post Nov 15 2018, 07:49 PM

39 posts

Anyone have experience with Travel Recommends wifi adapter before?
Im tempted to buy the wifi adapter without VPN option instead of the one with VPN.

Just afraid that will be getting unstable line if i go for the wifi adapter without VPN.

Btw, any free VPN to recommend? Am using Android btw
konarbaring
post Nov 18 2018, 10:50 PM

QUOTE(biatche @ Nov 15 2018, 03:59 PM)
I'll be going to china soon

So I'm told that the best way to pay for everything in china is either alipay or wechat.

I've just setup both. How do I top them up?
yes, need info on this too, already registred for ali pay. not sure how to top pup
TSaussieMB
post Nov 19 2018, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(konarbaring @ Nov 19 2018, 01:50 AM)
not sure how to top pup
Seems you may need a China-registered (China bank issued) credit card for top-up, from what I have read elsewhere so far...?

Also I heard Android pay (Google Wallet) and Samsung pay etc also doesn't work in China.

Maybe the next traveller to China can verify and post back here!
luminaryxi
post Nov 30 2018, 04:12 PM

571 posts

hi all, so the only way for a person without a china bank account is to use cash in every transaction?

i am afraid the chinese will hate me
yahiko
post Nov 30 2018, 08:17 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(luminaryxi @ Nov 30 2018, 04:12 PM)
hi all, so the only way for a person without a china bank account is to use cash in every transaction?

i am afraid the chinese will hate me
My co worker when for business trip told me the same. Most of them don't accept foriegn credit card unless is international chain like Starbucks Disney blah blah. Else just pay cash but some dont accept big notes.

Questions: if I have bank of china credit card (Malaysia). Can use in China like normal citizen? Just wondering

This post has been edited by yahiko: Dec 1 2018, 03:59 PM
luminaryxi
post Dec 9 2018, 09:12 PM

571 posts

so the proper step if want to use alipay is :

1) get a china sim card like hello1010, activate at Malaysia
2) download China's version WeChatpay or Alipay
3) get someone's service to exchange RM with RMB to top up that WechatPay / Alipay

correct?
cheekiat95
post Dec 13 2018, 09:12 AM

66 posts

You can use Alipay with a China sim card. Transfer your RMB cash into your Alipay account at any convenient stores (depends on the amount, with extra 10-30RMB as service charge). You can pay at any stores or Didi (grab in China) using Alipay, but not subway or public transport.
RegentCid
post Dec 13 2018, 05:40 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

QUOTE(cheekiat95 @ Dec 13 2018, 08:12 AM)
You can use Alipay with a China sim card. Transfer your RMB cash into your Alipay account at any convenient stores (depends on the amount, with extra 10-30RMB as service charge). You can pay at any stores or Didi (grab in China) using Alipay, but not subway or public transport.
Shanghai subway accept Alipay and Wechatpay
cheekiat95
post Dec 14 2018, 10:35 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 13 2018, 05:40 PM)
Shanghai subway accept Alipay and Wechatpay
You cant pay with Alipay or Wechat unless you verified your identity with local bank card or ID.
RegentCid
post Dec 14 2018, 10:59 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

QUOTE(cheekiat95 @ Dec 14 2018, 09:35 AM)
You cant pay with Alipay or Wechat unless you verified your identity with local bank card or ID.
Got trick to used alipay and wechat pay for foreiners

Buy China Sim card and download wechat & alipay.
Once done pay cash to someone and ask them transfer the wechat/alipay credit to your phone and activated the whole system.

Without bank account link to it, you just can't direct transfer money into wechat/alipay account. So eveytime you want to top up, just pay cash to someone and ask them transfer credit to you
cheekiat95
post Dec 14 2018, 11:05 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 14 2018, 10:59 AM)
Got trick to used alipay and wechat pay for foreiners

Once done pay cash to someone and ask them transfer the wechat/alipay credit to your phone and activated the whole system.

Without bank account link to it, you just can't direct transfer money into wechat/alipay account. So eveytime you want to top up, just pay cash to someone and ask them transfer credit to you
True it is, but only for Alipay. Wechat unable to receive credit without identity verified. Purchasing tickets at some public transportation with AP or WP will need real name identification with ID or China bank account.
TSaussieMB
post Dec 14 2018, 11:55 AM

Wah it seems so complicated to transact a purchase within China. The entire tech platform is skewed against non-Chinese residents and makes it really hard for casual foreigners to visit and buy stuff on streets and shops. This is really a big negative, I hope they realise.
neverland
post Dec 14 2018, 12:40 PM

106 posts

So for Alipay have to reload through third party as I read above, then if I got extra RMB in my Alipay after travel, anyone know how can I withdraw it?
oneeleven
post Jan 22 2019, 01:28 AM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(cheekiat95 @ Dec 14 2018, 11:05 AM)
True it is, but only for Alipay. Wechat unable to receive credit without identity verified. Purchasing tickets at some public transportation with AP or WP will need real name identification with ID or China bank account.
If the AP is working on your phone with China SIM registered to you, wouldn't your passport be enough for ID?
oneeleven
post Jan 22 2019, 01:31 AM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Dec 14 2018, 10:59 AM)

Can I do this now in Malaysia with my China SIM?
oneeleven
post Jan 22 2019, 02:16 AM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 25 2018, 09:42 PM)
Unicom China Sim card for foreigners

https://www.mychinaunicom.com/toProdisplayPage.dhtml
Customize your Sim card here then shipped to your China Hotel.
Collect it once you check in
Nice site, nice service, but maybe over-priced in USD$. 10GB data for Rm80?

Guangzhou in November - I found SIM service at the Hotels Info counter before exiting security area. It was Unicom but I don't remember the price. Official Unicom counter in big mall told me it would be valid as long as there is balance. I bought a 50 yuan top up card to keep on hand for next landing in China..

The website says expires after 90 days despite balance. Extend 90 days for USD$10, etc. When I put in number, it says not valid for their service. I guess I should risk 50 yuan and load the topup before the 90 days. Dunno if works outside China though.

This post has been edited by oneeleven: Jan 22 2019, 02:18 AM
RegentCid
post Jan 22 2019, 10:22 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 22 2019, 12:31 AM)
Can I do this now in Malaysia with my China SIM?
If your IP address is China then can download China version wechat & Alipay which comes with thier payment system.

QUOTE(oneeleven @ Jan 22 2019, 01:16 AM)
Nice site, nice service, but maybe over-priced in USD$.  10GB data for Rm80?

Guangzhou in November - I found SIM service at the Hotels Info counter before exiting security area. It was Unicom but I don't remember the price.  Official Unicom counter in big mall told me it would be valid as long as there is balance. I bought a 50 yuan top up card to keep on hand for next landing in China..

The website says expires after 90 days despite balance. Extend 90 days for USD$10, etc.  When I put in number, it says not valid for their service. I guess I should risk 50 yuan and load the topup before the 90 days. Dunno if works outside China though.
Should be able to top up outside of China since it was using credit card method to top up.
This FAQ should able to answer ur question.
https://www.mychinaunicom.com/help-FAQ.jsp

This foreigners version of Unicom sim card cannot top up from shop, It only can top up from website according to FAQ

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Jan 22 2019, 10:24 AM
oneeleven
post Jan 22 2019, 08:59 PM

1,515 posts

QUOTE(aussieMB @ Dec 14 2018, 11:55 AM)
Wah it seems so complicated to transact a purchase within China. The entire tech platform is skewed against non-Chinese residents and makes it really hard for casual foreigners to visit and buy stuff on streets and shops. This is really a big negative, I hope they realise.
Left-over Soviet style tourism economy. Obviously you didn't experience the hassle before of different currency notes for foreigners, notes that local people had never seen before and could be used to buy "luxury" goods, like rationed soap.
pigduck
post Feb 26 2019, 10:11 PM

419 posts

Some Qs:

1. So can we use the Alipay (installed in Malaysia) in China?
2. Can we use Malaysia credit / debit card registered in Alipay (installed in Malaysia) in China?
3. Should I go through the hassle or just get a Unionpay debit card?

What about WeChat?
oneeleven
post Mar 3 2019, 10:17 PM

1,515 posts

Update: I could not do the 50 rmb top up myself. I had to get a China resident visiting Malaysia to do it for me.

@pigduck: " or just get a Unionpay debit card?" Do you mean do this in Malaysia? Might not work in China or charges very expensive. If it allows you to validate for AP and WP then good!
real55555
post Mar 11 2019, 11:35 AM

309 posts

So to summarize:

1. It will not be easy to get a sim card that can be registered using passport? (Not easy as in not every telco shop can sell a sim card for tourist)

2. Malaysia wechatpay and alipay will not be able to use in China. In order to use in RMB denomination, we have to ask someone with RMB wechatpay account to give us RMB angpau. (But in the first place can we register a RMB wechat pay account, or upon the transfer of the RMB angpau we will automatically have a RMB wechat pay account)?

3. Didi (equivalent to our Grabcar) requires us to have a china simcard/phone number to use, in order for the driver to contact us to confirm location etc?

Thank you.
treblecase
post Mar 11 2019, 01:49 PM

IHI
774 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 11 2019, 11:35 AM)
So to summarize:

1. It will not be easy to get a sim card that can be registered using passport? (Not easy as in not every telco shop can sell a sim card for tourist)

2. Malaysia wechatpay and alipay will not be able to use in China. In order to use in RMB denomination, we have to ask someone with RMB wechatpay account to give us RMB angpau. (But in the first place can we register a RMB wechat pay account, or upon the transfer of the RMB angpau we will automatically have a RMB wechat pay account)?

3. Didi (equivalent to our Grabcar) requires us to have a china simcard/phone number to use, in order for the driver to contact us to confirm location etc?

Thank you.
Nope..I used didi in China with my Malaysian phone. No problem.
real55555
post Mar 11 2019, 02:31 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Mar 11 2019, 01:49 PM)
So do they not need to call you to confirm location etc?
il0ve51
post Mar 11 2019, 02:38 PM

1,029 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ Mar 11 2019, 02:49 PM)
no need call, if you have data can already. they accept cash if better they prefer cashless.
treblecase
post Mar 11 2019, 03:43 PM

IHI
774 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 11 2019, 02:31 PM)
Make sure of your exact location & there’s no need for calls just like here when using grab
inachi
post Apr 14 2019, 12:28 PM

i don troll
1,097 posts

QUOTE(real55555 @ Mar 11 2019, 02:31 PM)
you can chat in app too so if u have data can liao.
sklc
post May 18 2019, 11:20 PM

60 posts

You can get top up for wechatpay from Yayaka website. Buy whatever amount you need. In order to activate China wallet, yayaka support will help you by sending 1 cent yuan to u via wechat. However it requires you to install Wechat for windows, on your PC, to accept the 1 cent. It's a workaround. Once your wallet is activated you can logout from PC and on your phone wechat app, you will see a new item to switch wallet region... then you can also add your Malaysia credit card. Then Yayaka support will send you the QR codes for u to transfer/topup yuan into your China wallet. Don't rely on credit card although linked already. Try to ensure you have Cash balance in case your credit card transaction doesn't work with certain transactions.
touristking
post May 22 2019, 02:46 PM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(sklc @ May 18 2019, 04:20 PM)
You can get top up for wechatpay from Yayaka website. Buy whatever amount you need. In order to activate China wallet, yayaka support will help you by sending 1 cent yuan to u via wechat. However it requires you to install Wechat for windows, on your PC, to accept the 1 cent. It's a workaround. Once your wallet is activated you can logout from PC and on your phone wechat app, you will see a new item to switch wallet region... then you can also add your Malaysia credit card. Then Yayaka support will send you the QR codes for u to transfer/topup yuan into your China wallet. Don't rely on credit card although linked already. Try to ensure you have Cash balance in case your credit card transaction doesn't work with certain transactions.
When was that?

I used to have Wechat China wallet. Long story.

But suddenly this year, it stop working. The only way to get it back is to have a China bank card and a China phone number.

Burningsunz
post Jul 16 2019, 12:48 AM

300 posts

Hey guys, im travelling to shenyang end of this year from dec 31 to jan 20.. the cheapest flight for return is xiamen airlines which js only rm1.1k. Anyone have experience taking xiamen air? Are the airlines ok?
Burningsunz
post Jul 16 2019, 12:49 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 22 2019, 02:46 PM)
When was that?

I used to have Wechat China wallet. Long story.

But suddenly this year, it stop working. The only way to get it back is to have a China bank card and a China phone number.
Never updatw the latest version of wechat. Once you update then your china wallet is gone
RegentCid
post Jul 16 2019, 12:01 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jul 15 2019, 11:48 PM)
Hey guys, im travelling to shenyang end of this year from dec 31 to jan 20.. the cheapest flight for return is xiamen airlines which js only rm1.1k. Anyone have experience taking xiamen air? Are the airlines ok?
One of best airline in China. 4 star airlines, similar to our MAS
Meal and check in luggage are complimentary
kamisama
post Jul 16 2019, 03:53 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jul 16 2019, 12:48 AM)
I had good experience flying with them to Beijing for a few times. Nothing to complaint about aside from noisy passengers.
Burningsunz
post Jul 17 2019, 10:34 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 16 2019, 12:01 PM)
One of best airline in China. 4 star airlines, similar to our MAS
Meal and check in luggage are complimentary
QUOTE(kamisama @ Jul 16 2019, 03:53 PM)
I had good experience flying with them to Beijing for a few times. Nothing to complaint about aside from noisy passengers.
im relieved to hear this cause or else don't know which airline to buy my ticket from because so expensive.

They don't offer me to buy insurance during payment. is that normal?
kamisama
post Jul 17 2019, 10:54 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Jul 17 2019, 10:34 AM)
im relieved to hear this cause or else don't know which airline to buy my ticket from because so expensive.

They don't offer me to buy insurance during payment. is that normal?
nothing to worry about, i usually purchase AXA travel insurance separately
Burningsunz
post Jul 17 2019, 11:03 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(kamisama @ Jul 17 2019, 10:54 AM)
nothing to worry about, i usually purchase AXA travel insurance separately
ok. just bought my flight with them.

the economy supersave and economy save the difference is only in miles point is it?
arowana33
post Jul 17 2019, 05:09 PM

204 posts

If you need VPN to unblock everything, go Lazada.com.my and find Cisco Express VPN.
nordtty
post Jul 17 2019, 06:50 PM

109 posts

Cisco? Some VPN interfere with WeChat e-payment, must check properly first before using.
There is a list somewhere on which VPN can work well there, can Google first.
touristking
post Jul 18 2019, 11:30 AM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(nordtty @ Jul 17 2019, 11:50 AM)
Cisco? Some VPN interfere with WeChat e-payment, must check properly first before using.
There is a list somewhere on which VPN can work well there, can Google first.
Nordvpn

Burningsunz
post Jul 19 2019, 11:19 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(Yeryano @ Jul 19 2019, 04:56 AM)
Awesome topic, I am going to China this autumn (I managed to buy cheap flights). Actually, I have been to China once but then I was 19. Consequently, I have no memories of that trip. So, where to go? What to see?
Give more info on what you want to see.
teng_08
post Sep 26 2019, 02:53 PM

978 posts

Any recent feedback on Hello1010?
I did a search and found couple of positive feedback on Hello1010 but that was back in 2018.

Just want to get reassurance that it is still a good buy before getting it smile.gif
TSaussieMB
post Sep 26 2019, 06:03 PM

Note that I was in Shanghai on my way back from Europe recently. Got the Hello1010 SIM, it connected to China Mobile, but WhatsApp didn't work...I wasn't using a VPN as I was only 3hr transit, couldn't be bothered.
kueks
post Sep 28 2019, 01:03 PM

Playstation
6,432 posts

hi hi

anyone used the pudong airport lounge before to sleep / shower ?

Cant seem to find booking page, or only walk ins?
anyone can walk in or need certain membership

https://www.sleepinginairports.net/guides/s...ide.htm#lounges
TSaussieMB
post Sep 28 2019, 04:26 PM

If you are a member of Priority Pass, there are several lounges you can access in Pudong. See https://www.prioritypass.com/en/lounges/chi...g-international

Some of them also accept pay-per-entry I believe.

I'm a member, but last trip I used the China Eastern lounge as I was in Business Class.
touristking
post Sep 29 2019, 07:30 PM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 26 2019, 07:53 AM)
Any recent feedback on Hello1010?
I did a search and found couple of positive feedback on Hello1010 but that was back in 2018.

Just want to get reassurance that it is still a good buy before getting it smile.gif
A couple of years ago, their 24/7 online help was excellent. As for their SIM, depending on where you use it, you may need some technical expertise to get it to work. You comfortable with APN setting?

teng_08
post Sep 29 2019, 08:43 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 29 2019, 07:30 PM)
A couple of years ago, their 24/7 online help was excellent. As for their SIM, depending on where you use it, you may need some technical expertise to get it to work. You comfortable with APN setting?
Not very familiar with APN Settings. I thought no set up is required for the Hello1010 SIM. Guess I'll have to research more on it.
touristking
post Sep 29 2019, 10:59 PM

5,706 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 29 2019, 01:43 PM)
Not very familiar with APN Settings. I thought no set up is required for the Hello1010 SIM. Guess I'll have to research more on it.
It may work straight out of the box or it may not.

If you go to UK and they gave you a UK company's SIM card, then it most likely will.

If they give you a non-UK company's SIM card that will work in UK, then it may not. Then you probably have to do the APN setting manually.

Depends on your luck. Having said that, Hello1010's customer service is 24/7 and excellent. But you still need some technical expertise.
teng_08
post Sep 30 2019, 08:40 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ Sep 29 2019, 10:59 PM)
It may work straight out of the box or it may not.

If you go to UK and they gave you a UK company's SIM card, then it most likely will.

If they give you a non-UK company's SIM card that will work in UK, then it may not. Then you probably have to do the APN setting manually.

Depends on your luck. Having said that, Hello1010's customer service is 24/7 and excellent. But you still need some technical expertise.
You're right. Just saw this on their website. Looks like need to change the setting a little.
teng_08
post Sep 30 2019, 09:37 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(aussieMB @ Sep 26 2019, 06:03 PM)
Note that I was in Shanghai on my way back from Europe recently. Got the Hello1010 SIM, it connected to China Mobile, but WhatsApp didn't work...I wasn't using a VPN as I was only 3hr transit, couldn't be bothered.
Whoa, this is not good. I will need to depend on WhatsApp a lot to communicate when I'm there.
Weird. Their website clearly states "Access Google, Facebook, Whatsapp without restrictions".
yahiko
post Sep 30 2019, 11:02 AM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 30 2019, 08:40 AM)
You're right. Just saw this on their website. Looks like need to change the setting a little.
was searching about this~ thanks alot
anyway wanna ask.. is it safe to get money exchange in China itself rather than in malaysia because my friend kena before fake notes. Just checking.

how is the rates there compare to malaysia.. i will use most CC if able to the rest use Cash
teng_08
post Sep 30 2019, 11:07 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Sep 30 2019, 11:02 AM)
was searching about this~ thanks alot
anyway wanna ask.. is it safe to get money exchange in China itself rather than in malaysia because my friend kena before fake notes. Just checking.

how is the rates there compare to malaysia.. i will use most CC if able to the rest use Cash
Please change in Malaysia. I've heard many stories about this scam where they switch the money (big notes) when you're not paying attention and then claim you gave them fake notes.
This is also happening in taxis around Shanghai. Not sure how common though.
Try to get smaller denominations when paying and keep an eye when they're giving you back change.

victorian
post Sep 30 2019, 08:16 PM

Look at all my stars!!!
5,335 posts

I'm visiting Shanghai this Nov, any tips for tourist?

Also is 5 days (excluding flight) enough for Shanghai city only? Will be going to Disneyland one day.

crixalisrox
post Oct 7 2019, 08:56 PM

551 posts

I'm able to use their sim without any manual apn setting. Have good experience with them for my 2 weeks trip in Beijing last month. Just that I need to contact their CS for sim phone no as it doesn't appear automatically.
eagle008
post Oct 7 2019, 11:19 PM

102 posts

may i know how much/ where u buy this sim ?
Beside for internet surfing can it support for incoming and outgoing calls ?
teng_08
post Oct 8 2019, 06:50 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(eagle008 @ Oct 7 2019, 11:19 PM)
may i know how much/ where u buy this sim ?
Beside for internet surfing can it support for incoming and outgoing calls ?
U can purchase the SIM card from hello1010.my
No, it does not support calls and sms.

5GB+2GB Unlimited Data*
Up to 4G+ Speed
Usable in China, Hong Kong, Macau & Taiwan
Support Hotspot
15 Days Usage (Count daily based on Malaysia Time +8GMT)
No registration required
Access Google, Facebook, Whatsapp without restrictions
Cannot Call & SMS
Cannot top up credit
SIM Card expiry 31st March 2020
weidasdnbhd
post Oct 28 2019, 02:57 PM

83 posts

Hello, does anyone has the experience using alipay in China? I just registered an account, already uploaded my passport and selfie for verification purpose. Now my account is partial verified, not fully verified. I heard that we can still use the balance to pay or receive RMB in China now . So does anyone willing to send me RMB0.01 for testing purpose? I will transfer back to you after that.
alantanblog
post Oct 28 2019, 08:03 PM

298 posts

You can easily buy that RMB at Shopee

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Oct 28 2019, 02:57 PM)
Hello, does anyone has the experience using alipay in China? I just registered an account, already uploaded my passport and selfie for verification purpose. Now my account is partial verified, not fully verified. I heard that we can still use the balance to pay or receive RMB in China now . So does anyone willing to send me RMB0.01 for testing purpose? I will transfer back to you after that.
TSaussieMB
post Oct 30 2019, 03:55 PM

Just came back after a 2-week trip to China. According to my guide, China will go 100% e-Wallet in next 2 years. Not sure how the foreigners will cope then.

QR codes are everywhere, even very tiny stalls selling sticky rice for 5 Yuan! I see the locals just scan the code, enter the amount on their app and payment is done on the app. Instant confirmation for both vendor and buyer, no paper receipts. Vendors have a payment app on their phone, or have a small screen near them to show the transaction.

Metro tickets are also purchased this way, but they still have the other machines in most stations that take cash or card. Almost no queue on those!

I hope Alipay will expand their services to allow non-Chinese credit cards or some other form of credit like PayPal etc. WePay seems popular as well, many vendors have QR codes for both apps.

Wi-Fi available in all hotels but as expected, all Google apps, Facebook/Messenger, Instagram are blocked. WhatsApp works but for text only, any photos included in your message doesn't get thru. I didn't use VPN nor my global SIM on my phone.
post Oct 30 2019, 11:00 PM

549 posts

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Oct 28 2019, 02:57 PM)
as per now you must have china bank card to tie with alipay in order to conduct any transaction. same goes to wechat. yeah.. new law.
ken_zie
post Nov 3 2019, 11:49 PM

830 posts

Will be in Shanghai from 1 - 3 Jan and 4 - 6 Jan in Hangzhou. I know it will be cold but wondering if you have any idea how cold will it be?
crixalisrox
post Nov 6 2019, 11:44 AM

551 posts

QUOTE(47100 @ Oct 30 2019, 11:00 PM)
as per now you must have china bank card to tie with alipay in order to conduct any transaction. same goes to wechat. yeah.. new law.
Today news - Alipay ewallet new feature available for foreigners. Its call Tour Pass and min top up just 100 yuan.

Thats really a great news for me as I'm going to China again next year. Previously need to find shopee seller to reload, its more convenient now.
TSaussieMB
post Nov 6 2019, 03:51 PM

QUOTE(crixalisrox @ Nov 6 2019, 02:44 PM)
Today news - Alipay ewallet new feature available for foreigners. Its call Tour Pass and min top up just 100 yuan.
Great news. Found an article on how to set it up and make it work...

https://theshutterwhale.com/blog/2019/11/5/...it-up-right-now

19 Degree South
post Nov 6 2019, 06:07 PM

1,621 posts

QUOTE(ken_zie @ Nov 3 2019, 11:49 PM)
Will be in Shanghai from 1 - 3 Jan and 4 - 6 Jan in Hangzhou. I know it will be cold but wondering if you have any idea how cold will it be?
Sibei cold. Even in early April, temp can go as low as 5 deg cel in the day time! Prepare lots of lotion, your skin will be damn dry! Hangzhou in my experience is not as cold as sha but will still be Beri cold to most Malaysian.
alantanblog
post Nov 7 2019, 08:08 PM

298 posts

Just use Digi roaming, no need VPN
mycroftlee
post Nov 8 2019, 09:55 AM

38 posts

tour pass available for Alipay. change the Alipay app to international region (everything will be in English) or just search for "tourpass", topup using local Msia credit card, first time need to snap photo of china visa, and the balance would show up in the tourpass prepaid card. (balance not in Alipay wallet balance) - max RMB 2000
paying shud be the same like using alipay, option below the qr would be tourpass prepaid.
website claim any unuse credit will b credit back to the original credit card in 90 days.

personally had topup the tourpass, since goin to Hangzhou next week. very fast. Not sure the exchange rate, currently Bank of Shanghai, the bank which manage the tourpass is charging 0% til Dec 2019, so only pay for exchange rate by mastercard/ visa.

in the other thread ewallet in lowyat there are report ppl start using the tourpass, exactly as ez as alipay
ken_zie
post Nov 8 2019, 01:31 PM

830 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Nov 6 2019, 06:07 PM)
Sibei cold. Even in early April, temp can go as low as 5 deg cel in the day time! Prepare lots of lotion, your skin will be damn dry! Hangzhou in my experience  is not as cold as sha but will still be Beri cold to most Malaysian.
If so, I might really need some very warm clothing as many said it is coldest in January hmm.gif
yahiko
post Nov 8 2019, 02:50 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(mycroftlee @ Nov 8 2019, 09:55 AM)
tour pass available for Alipay. change the Alipay app to international region (everything will be in English) or just search for "tourpass", topup using local Msia credit card, first time need to snap photo of china visa, and the balance would show up in the tourpass prepaid card. (balance not in Alipay wallet balance) - max RMB 2000
paying shud be the same like using alipay, option below the qr would be tourpass prepaid.
website claim any unuse credit will b credit back to the original credit card in 90 days.

personally had topup the tourpass, since goin to Hangzhou next week. very fast. Not sure the exchange rate, currently  Bank of Shanghai, the bank which manage the tourpass is charging 0% til Dec 2019, so only pay for exchange rate by mastercard/ visa.

in the other thread ewallet in lowyat there are report ppl start using the tourpass, exactly as ez as alipay
wow this is a very good!
wondering if we need data to scan? if yes can we use shared/hotstop data to do so?

do feedback after you trip rclxm9.gif
TSaussieMB
post Nov 9 2019, 08:19 AM

QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 8 2019, 05:50 PM)
wow this is a very good!
wondering if we need data to scan? if yes can we use shared/hotstop data to do so?

do feedback after you trip rclxm9.gif
When I was in China a couple of weeks ago, I heard that you need an internet connection (data) for this to work, as any payment you authorise after scanning the QR code needs to go back to the Alipay server for release of your funds to the vendor.

I guess need to carry hotspot or have a roaming SIM for this to work then. Small price to pay for ease of financial transactions in the future hopefully without any hassles.
oneeleven
post Nov 13 2019, 01:16 AM

1,515 posts

Any non-China residents with a report about using WeChat Pay in China ?
weidasdnbhd
post Nov 13 2019, 06:52 AM

83 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 7 2019, 08:08 PM)
Not need to do any settings on phone? Just turn on roaming and mobile data?
alantanblog
post Nov 14 2019, 08:06 PM

298 posts

Yes....FAQ is at

https://www.digi.com.my/support/help-center/roaming/pass

QUOTE(weidasdnbhd @ Nov 13 2019, 06:52 AM)
Not need to do any settings on phone? Just turn on roaming and mobile data?
kons
post Nov 17 2019, 12:08 AM

Конс
6,172 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 7 2019, 08:08 PM)
maxis roaming and celcom roaming no block fb and whatsapp too.

yahiko
post Nov 22 2019, 04:12 PM

1,215 posts

In china now. Using alipay like China people. The only issue is the cap at 2k rmb. Else I plan to use it more
alantanblog
post Nov 22 2019, 04:30 PM

298 posts

Have U tried to top up multiple times after finished up that 2k rmb i.e 2k+2k +2k ....?

QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 22 2019, 04:12 PM)
In china now. Using alipay like China people. The only issue is the cap at 2k rmb. Else I plan to use it more
MR_alien
post Nov 22 2019, 05:15 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,499 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 22 2019, 04:30 PM)
Have U tried to top up multiple times after finished up that 2k rmb i.e 2k+2k +2k ....?
why is it so troublesome to spend money in china?
they don't accept cash and they make it difficult to go cashless

any other way?
koUen
post Nov 23 2019, 12:18 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alantanblog @ Nov 22 2019, 04:30 PM)
yes...i ise tourpass and multiple top up...quiet convenient...just scan qr code and all is done.
only issue isue need data
alantanblog
post Nov 23 2019, 09:19 PM

298 posts

multiple top up of 2k rmb?

QUOTE(koUen @ Nov 23 2019, 12:18 PM)
yes...i ise tourpass and multiple top up...quiet convenient...just scan qr code and all is done.
only issue isue need data
yahiko
post Nov 24 2019, 12:02 AM

1,215 posts

O.. i check my Max to top up..

Balance left 1500

It was written i can top up another 500..
Nice.. but yet to do so. Wait until I not enough money first.

I using mixing both cash and alipay
RoofTopPrince
post Dec 17 2019, 10:34 AM

As long as you have the memories, you can be with that person fo
583 posts

Hi guys, I have a question regarding AliPay tours pass. Anyone use it before? I traveling to Chengdu this January and wan to know how does AliPay works and how to activate and topup (which bank offer best rate.)
Burningsunz
post Dec 19 2019, 11:46 AM

300 posts

i want to know as well, heading to harbin 1st of Jan. i read alot of forum they say can only top up to RMB5000 only. i tried to find the conversion rate but can't seems to find
RoofTopPrince
post Dec 19 2019, 12:47 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Dec 19 2019, 11:46 AM)
i want to know as well, heading to harbin 1st of Jan. i read alot of forum they say can only top up to RMB5000 only. i tried to find the conversion rate but can't seems to find
They say can top up 2000rmb x2 1000rmb x1 and wechat unlimited.
Burningsunz
post Dec 19 2019, 01:01 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Dec 19 2019, 12:47 PM)
They say can top up 2000rmb x2 1000rmb x1 and wechat unlimited.
so total can top up is rmb5000 and after that cannot top up anymore.
can use wechat to top up for us also cannot top up money into wechat wallet
RoofTopPrince
post Dec 19 2019, 01:52 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Dec 19 2019, 01:01 PM)
so total can top up is rmb5000 and after that cannot top up anymore.
can use wechat to top up for us also cannot top up money into wechat wallet
Ya max 5000rmb and wechat pay thru card. cannot topup.
Burningsunz
post Dec 19 2019, 01:58 PM

300 posts

QUOTE(RoofTopPrince @ Dec 19 2019, 01:52 PM)
Ya max 5000rmb and wechat pay thru card. cannot topup.
How to use wechat to pay? I don’t think us foregners can use right?
RoofTopPrince
post Dec 19 2019, 03:05 PM

583 posts

QUOTE(Burningsunz @ Dec 19 2019, 01:58 PM)
How to use wechat to pay? I don’t think us foregners can use right?
You can bind visa or master card in wechat and pay thru either balance or card.
MR_alien
post Dec 20 2019, 10:31 AM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,499 posts

is cash is still a thing in china?

because all this alipay and wechat seem more troublesome for tourist
RoofTopPrince
post Dec 20 2019, 11:32 AM

583 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Dec 20 2019, 10:31 AM)
is cash is still a thing in china?

because all this alipay and wechat seem more troublesome for tourist
They still accepting cash in China, AliPay I think its okay to setup.
alieamin
post Jun 12 2023, 08:29 AM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

Hi guys,

Travelling to china end of this month,my main concern here is how to overcome internet restrictions over there. Can someone who recently been there to clarify few things for me?

Do i need new simcard for data over there?
What is the best way to access whatsapp,use vpn?
Which is more easier to use and have wide acceptance,alipay,tencent?

Thanks in advance
fongkarseong
post Jun 12 2023, 08:39 AM

124 posts

QUOTE(alieamin @ Jun 12 2023, 08:29 AM)
Hi guys,

Travelling to china end of this month,my main concern here is how to overcome internet restrictions over there. Can someone who recently been there to clarify few things for me?

Thanks in advance

1) Data roaming with your current IP is the best.
2) Yes. VPN is the only way. Even if you are on data roaming, FB, and WhatsApp cannot access also. So VPN is a must.
3) You mean the e-wallet. Alipay and Wechat equally good.

noos
post Jun 12 2023, 08:47 AM

561 posts

If u use roaming data from Malaysia then don't worry, u will still able to access FB & YT & +++
If u buy local data sim then u need to preinstall VPN app
WeChat pay is more widely used, but usually both are available

This post has been edited by noos: Jun 12 2023, 08:48 AM
post Jun 12 2023, 08:51 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Jun 12 2023, 08:39 AM)

2) Yes.  VPN is the only way. Even if you are on data roaming, FB, and WhatsApp cannot access also. So VPN is a must.
the last time i was there, data roaming can access everything
jibpek
post Jun 12 2023, 09:38 AM

662 posts

I boughted SIM card there with the help from my amoi pren

Setup own VPN at home, all others VPN are slow to connect (if ever), ExpressVPN and NordVPN are craps.

Have both AliPay and WeChat pay. Tends to us ApiPay more because it has more promotion, unless ...... the seller is amoi and you wish to know her wechat contact drool.gif
Harfan
post Jun 12 2023, 09:39 AM

209 posts

Hi guys,

Thanks in advance
Hey there. So, I travelled to China a few months back (from mid-March to mid-April):

1. You can either buy a sim card or use roaming, but it's gonna be very expensive. Suggest you to buy sim card over there, saves you lots of hassle.
2. Use VPN. Install and configure them before you travel to China. I subscribed to ExpressVPN. They're quite OK, but there are a few days that I can't get the VPN working at all. For backup, get your Wechat ready before you fly to China.
3. Alipay. Download and try to configure them before you travel to China. Unfortunately, I can't link any of my bank cards (debit, credit or pre-paid) to Alipay. I read that Alipay recently decided not to support overseas bank. So, what I did was I gave my Chinese colleague (I was on business trip) some cash and ask them to transfer the money to my Alipay (It's quite a hassle as not many ppl want to accept cash). But you can try to link your card first, if you have those Union Pay card, I think you probably can link them. Once you are there, buy a sim card and link your new mobile number to your Alipay.

This post has been edited by Harfan: Jun 12 2023, 09:39 AM
post Jun 12 2023, 09:40 AM

834 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jun 12 2023, 09:39 AM)
Hey there. So, I travelled to China a few months back (from mid-March to mid-April):

1. You can either buy a sim card or use roaming, but it's gonna be very expensive. Suggest you to buy sim card over there, saves you lots of hassle.
how you managed to get a local sim card, last checked prepaid also they don't sell to foreigners, even if can also need local address
Harfan
post Jun 12 2023, 09:49 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 12 2023, 09:40 AM)
how you managed to get a local sim card, last checked prepaid also they don't sell to foreigners, even if can also need local address
Oh yea, forgot about that. I went there for business trip. So, I brought my local chinese colleague to buy the sim card and I think I used my hotel address. Make sure to bring your passport for registration.
nders
post Jun 12 2023, 10:56 AM

Age of lost direction
1,068 posts

QUOTE(812799 @ Jun 12 2023, 08:51 AM)
the last time i was there, data roaming can access everything
Can confirm. my 2018 trip digi roaming can access everything, WA, Line, FB etc.

VPN failed me, i subscribed to ExpressVPN too and it didn't work at all with local sim, although it is advertised to be able to circumvent the great wall.

speaking of local sim, you can walk in to any china telecom store (official one, not authorised reseller) and get visitor sim.

I'd suggest just use roaming for the best experience.
MR_alien
post Jun 12 2023, 09:17 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,499 posts

china where first
someone i know recently went to shanghai and no VPN needed
but he say those QR pay kinda useless as tourist...they're still mainly for locals, cash is still king for tourist(not sure how true is this though)
lee90
post Jun 13 2023, 10:44 AM

Ozibala
1,000 posts

Hi guys,

Thanks in advance
I just back from China last few days

Use data roaming so that you can access fb, whatsapp, google map etc
I buy RM50 for 7 days Digi Roaming, utilised 2gb for whole week

I use touch n go for buying things at physical store, they do have both alipay QR and wechatpay QR available, tng has better rate and can withdraw later
You only need either wechatpay or alipay for payment using china apps such as DiDi

If you're using iphone, it won't auto-locate your current location using DiDi

Apps that you might need in china:
DiDi for Transport
Baidu Map for Map (there's another one more widely use by chinaman, forgot the name
Touch n Go for payment at physical store, you can scan them or ask them to scan you.
Alipay or Wechatpay for china apps payment only coz you don't want to waste your alipay, unless you can reload on your own. I ask my suppliers to reload for me and I pay them cash.

This post has been edited by lee90: Jun 13 2023, 10:49 AM
alieamin
post Jun 13 2023, 02:09 PM

Mobile Phones Authorized Reseller
1,279 posts

Alright, thank you guys,much appreciated . Will buy roaming with digi, also might pre install vpn too just in case.

Koranshita
post Jun 24 2023, 11:57 PM

426 posts

Hi guys,

Thanks in advance
I use to he hello101 travel sim card. Normal use like in Malaysia. No block what so ever.

mr lappy
post Jul 7 2023, 04:46 PM

398 posts

malaysia roaming data will bypass their local restriction. but using roaming to access china related services and sites will be sllooooowww.... coz the traffic go from china to malaysia then back to china.

install the international alipay if you are going to restaurant coz when order need to scan their menu etc...

if you u buying things to pay only, tng can d. will work there like normal alipay

international alipay you need to verify your id if you want some of the restrictions off(cant remember what d) but there is a merchant level cap where there is a max amount you are allowed to pay to 1 particular merchan.(i tried to pay my hotel using alipay and hit the cap about 4kRMB when my hotel bill is about 20k rmb. had to use tng to pay the balance which dont seem to have a transaction or a merchant cap)

hope this helps
repusez
post Oct 8 2023, 12:36 AM

669 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Jun 13 2023, 10:44 AM)

I use touch n go for buying things at physical store, they do have both alipay QR and wechatpay QR available, tng has better rate and can withdraw later
You only need either wechatpay or alipay for payment using china apps such as DiDi

DiDi for Transport
Baidu Map for Map (there's another one more widely use by chinaman, forgot the name
Touch n Go for payment at physical store, you can scan them or ask them to scan you.
Alipay or Wechatpay for china apps payment only coz you don't want to waste your alipay, unless you can reload on your own. I ask my suppliers to reload for me and I pay them cash.
can i know how you manage to register for didi or baidu , seems they need china number to register. thanks
lee90
post Oct 9 2023, 08:40 AM

Ozibala
1,000 posts

QUOTE(repusez @ Oct 8 2023, 12:36 AM)
can i know how you manage to register for didi or baidu , seems they need china number to register. thanks
im using malaysia number to register
RegentCid
post Oct 18 2023, 10:18 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

Without China Simcard / (China) simcard data package from shopee, you can't used certain app such as DIDI or scan menu on table and order food.

You can used Data Roaming service which you no need vpn. Or used VPN if you used sim card which I mention above.

Our Touch N Go are China Alipay identical twin. You can used our T&Go E wallet app anywhere in China (Scan or Be-scan) but some shop only accept tencent pay then just pay with cash.
Jitty
post Oct 24 2023, 10:43 AM

1,046 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 18 2023, 10:18 AM)

Without China Simcard / (China) simcard data package from shopee, you can't used certain app such as DIDI or scan menu on table and order food.

You can used Data Roaming service which you no need vpn. Or used VPN if you used sim card which I mention above.

Our Touch N Go are China Alipay identical twin. You can used our T&Go E wallet app anywhere in China (Scan or Be-scan) but some shop only accept tencent pay then just pay with cash.
can those china simcard from Shopee usable in china ? biggrin.gif
skymade
post Oct 26 2023, 11:20 AM

301 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Jun 13 2023, 10:44 AM)

DiDi for Transport
Hi, going to Beijing next month, may i know how you make payment with Alipay in DiDi app?
In Alipay, I had linked my credit card and ID was verified with passport.

I failed to linked Alipay in Didi app, the message said require to "开通芝麻信用" in Alipay.
When I try it in Alipay -> 芝麻信用, it said require a China Credit card and thus it failed .... doh.gif

Fyi, my credit card was linked and ID was verified with passport, in Alipay.

lee90
post Oct 26 2023, 01:51 PM

Ozibala
1,000 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 26 2023, 11:20 AM)
Hi, going to Beijing next month, may i know how you make payment with Alipay in DiDi app?
In Alipay, I had linked my credit card and ID was verified with passport.

I failed to linked Alipay in Didi app, the message said require to "开通芝麻信用" in Alipay.
When I try it in Alipay -> 芝麻信用, it said require a China Credit card and thus it failed ....  doh.gif

Fyi, my credit card was linked and ID was verified with passport, in Alipay.
I didnt receive any error. I just choose alipay and it proceed to deduct.
or u can try using the 'Didi' within Alipay apps. It has same function.
skymade
post Oct 26 2023, 01:58 PM

301 posts

QUOTE(lee90 @ Oct 26 2023, 01:51 PM)
I didnt receive any error. I just choose alipay and it proceed to deduct.
or u can try using the 'Didi' within Alipay apps. It has same function.
Thanks, will try didi in alipay. notworthy.gif
icemanfx
post Oct 26 2023, 06:56 PM

21,206 posts

International version of alipay could tied to malaysian credit card, make purchases, order didi, use metro, etc.

Digi roaming could access Malaysia accessible site and apps..

peigeng
post Nov 12 2023, 05:17 PM

643 posts

Just wondering how was your experience after visiting china?I found everywhere is flooded with people. Most attractions are not accessible by public transportation unless you gonna use their paid shuttle. Just wondering nis most cities in china are in similar situations?
Lara~
post Dec 8 2023, 11:46 AM

80 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 26 2023, 06:56 PM)
International version of alipay could tied to malaysian credit card, make purchases, order didi, use metro, etc.

Can we reload Alipay with rmb here & use there without problem (including in-app didi etc)?
I don't have it linked to any bank card. I just paid someone to reload rmb for me.

This post has been edited by Lara~: Dec 8 2023, 11:46 AM
icemanfx
post Dec 8 2023, 11:58 AM

21,206 posts

QUOTE(Lara~ @ Dec 8 2023, 11:46 AM)
Can we reload Alipay with rmb here & use there without problem (including in-app didi etc)?
I don't have it linked to any bank card. I just paid someone to reload rmb for me.
No idea of reload rmb here. in app didi worked in cities i visited guangzhou, wuhan, qingdao, shanghai, etc.

scorgio
post Dec 8 2023, 04:40 PM

4,642 posts

QUOTE(Lara~ @ Dec 8 2023, 11:46 AM)
BigPay can transfer to Alipay.
Means u can topup urself if u have BigPay.
xiaoxiaoshen
post Jan 11 2024, 12:51 PM

916 posts

going to china soon, this 2pages info is useful enough. i think just require Alipay for all payment and also transport (in apps didi). and reload with bigpay. dont know why cannot reload with TNG wallet? alternate that ask friend to reload alipay then can transfer the RMB to friend using TNG wallet.

my problem solve after reading these info.
- get alipay apps register with malaysia phone and verfied.
- get roaming data and not retriction for all apps.
but 1 small problem still, from the comment above it cannot detect iphone location when using e hailing.
Tokik Siwok
post Jan 11 2024, 03:44 PM

299 posts

Is it better to use TnG ewallet or Wise in China?
babygrand123
post Jan 12 2024, 03:56 PM

671 posts

Found this forum and need input from everyone. Thanks in Advanced

Planning to visit shanghai this march and this is the first time for me to visiting main land. If i using TNG to pay by Alipay enough to pay everything in shanghai like restaurant & transportation?

Planning to enable data roaming via hotlink post paid can use whatsapp over there?

Is our GPS work correctly there by using their local map app?

Please share your experience what is the prerequisite stuffs to ensure smooth packages travelling there. Thanks

williamlee_1985
post Jan 13 2024, 12:29 AM

The Red Devils wear Nike
2,005 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Jan 12 2024, 03:56 PM)
Found this forum and need input from everyone. Thanks in Advanced

Planning to visit shanghai this march and this is the first time for me to visiting main land. If i using TNG to pay by Alipay enough to pay everything in shanghai like restaurant & transportation?

Planning to enable data roaming via hotlink post paid can use whatsapp over there?

Is our GPS work correctly there by using their local map app?

Please share your experience what is the prerequisite stuffs to ensure smooth packages travelling there. Thanks
Yes to alipay and WhatsApp
Jojolin
post Feb 24 2024, 11:57 AM

75 posts

Has any Malaysian travelled to China lately AFTER the visa waiver?
Just bring your Malaysian passport will do, right?
Need to fill in any pre-arrival forms etc?
Need hotel address?
miyakochan89
post Feb 24 2024, 01:48 PM

Wut?
6,706 posts

Hey all, just wanna double confirm, TNG confirm will work in China? So if I scan the QR code, the currency will just change to RMB,m? So I just need to key in the RMB amount right?
babygrand123
post Feb 27 2024, 10:52 PM

671 posts

Do we need a mainland sim card ? like order food and Didi transportation ?
babygrand123
post Feb 27 2024, 10:55 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(xiaoxiaoshen @ Jan 11 2024, 12:51 PM)
going to china soon, this 2pages info is useful enough. i think just require Alipay for all payment and also transport (in apps didi). and reload with bigpay. dont know why cannot reload with TNG wallet? alternate that ask friend to reload alipay then can transfer the RMB to friend using TNG wallet.

my problem solve after reading these info.
- get alipay apps register with malaysia phone and verfied.
- get roaming data and not retriction for all apps.
but 1 small problem still, from the comment above it cannot detect iphone location when using e hailing.
ok got your answer that esim mainland card is not needed just get alipay account verify with our local number and link to credit card
thaifans
post Feb 28 2024, 05:05 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(Jojolin @ Feb 24 2024, 11:57 AM)
Has any Malaysian travelled to China lately AFTER the visa waiver?
Just bring your Malaysian passport will do, right?
Need to fill in any pre-arrival forms etc?
Need hotel address?
just bring passports and fill in a arrival card like thailand . Ur flight info hotel address and etc
thaifans
post Feb 28 2024, 05:07 PM

26 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Feb 27 2024, 10:55 PM)
ok got your answer that esim mainland card is not needed just get alipay account verify with our local number and link to credit card
in my case i only need TnG and it settles all my pay money problem . In their case of cannot reload money probably because not using local malaysia roaming package.
xiaoxiaoshen
post Feb 29 2024, 09:26 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Feb 27 2024, 10:52 PM)
Do we need a mainland sim card ? like order food and Didi transportation ?
Didi is in Alipay mini apps. but not able to register food apps need local number. but also face some issue, since all the thing there will need wechat to scan n pay, but we dont have verify acc, like buying express bus to airport, indeed it need to scan and paid by wechat.

some entrance ticket also will require wechat scan n pay.

some restraunt will require scan order and pay (can use Alipay) but if you payment by card regardless CC or DC it will impose 3% charges.
joe09
post Mar 9 2024, 06:35 PM

39 posts

Hi guys, going to China soon. From existing discussion here, looks like if I download Alipay international version and linked it with my debit/credit already, I should be able to make any payment in China that accepts Alipay right?

Anyone can confirm if the Alipay International version app only can let the merchant scan our QR code (like the Alipay in Touch N Go) to make payment?

I tried to play around with both so far and it seems that we are not able to scan the merchant QR code to make payment?

RegentCid
post Mar 13 2024, 09:00 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,048 posts

QUOTE(joe09 @ Mar 9 2024, 05:35 PM)
Hi guys, going to China soon. From existing discussion here, looks like if I download Alipay international version and linked it with my debit/credit already, I should be able to make any payment in China that accepts Alipay right?

Anyone can confirm if the Alipay International version app only can let the merchant scan our QR code (like the Alipay in Touch N Go) to make payment?

I tried to play around with both so far and it seems that we are not able to scan the merchant QR code to make payment?

Cut everyhing to simple. Just used TnGo E Wallet.
Just Scan & pay like you do in Malaysia, It will automatic do the conversion.
If Shop required you to provided QR Code for scan, Just go to "PAY" Section and "Swipe up to pay aboard via Alipay" Choose "Mainland China"

IF someshop no Alipay, only got Wechat Pay......then Pay with Cash. I always bring some Cash just in case.

babygrand123
post Mar 14 2024, 12:52 PM

671 posts

i just came back from shanghai last week. Please download Alipay global version & Amap is a must app when you traveling in China.

Very convenient to use it when come to payment, public transportation & didi (aka grab) inside the mini program. Enjoy travelling as a free backpacker

westlife
post Mar 15 2024, 10:35 PM

13,378 posts

QUOTE(babygrand123 @ Mar 14 2024, 12:52 PM)
i just came back from shanghai last week. Please download Alipay global version & Amap is a must app when you traveling in China.

Very convenient to use it when come to payment, public transportation & didi (aka grab) inside the mini program. Enjoy travelling as a free backpacker
what is the use of amap?
babygrand123
post Mar 17 2024, 12:31 AM

671 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 15 2024, 10:35 PM)
what is the use of amap?
it just like google map but only can use in china only

elm0001
post Mar 17 2024, 11:27 PM

I'm Tyrion Lannister's whore
991 posts

for the visa free 15 days, is it per trip? planning to go china on 2 trips, so trip A 15 days, trip B 15 days right?
tristantim54
post Mar 18 2024, 11:17 PM

how do i know is my alipay version is global/international or not ?
tristantim54
post Mar 18 2024, 11:29 PM

malaysia version wechat pay can use in china? or must use weixin?
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:36 AM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(fongkarseong @ Jun 12 2023, 08:39 AM)

2) Yes.  VPN is the only way. Even if you are on data roaming, FB, and WhatsApp cannot access also. So VPN is a must.
3. how about touch n go ewallet?? acceptance ok there?
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:36 AM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(tristantim54 @ Mar 18 2024, 11:29 PM)
malaysia version wechat pay can use in china? or must use weixin?
cant seem to add any payment card leh...
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:38 AM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(Harfan @ Jun 12 2023, 09:39 AM)

2. Use VPN. Install and configure them before you travel to China. I subscribed to ExpressVPN. They're quite OK, but there are a few days that I can't get the VPN working at all. For backup, get your Wechat ready before you fly to China.
3. Alipay. Download and try to configure them before you travel to China. Unfortunately, I can't link any of my bank cards (debit, credit or pre-paid) to Alipay. I read that Alipay recently decided not to support overseas bank. So, what I did was I gave my Chinese colleague (I was on business trip) some cash and ask them to transfer the money to my Alipay (It's quite a hassle as not many ppl want to accept cash). But you can try to link your card first, if you have those Union Pay card, I think you probably can link them. Once you are there, buy a sim card and link your new mobile number to your Alipay.
3. Now able to link liao for alipay. Just link my CC in alipay app and its working already...
achong09
post Mar 19 2024, 07:42 AM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 26 2023, 06:56 PM)

yeah configured mine in Malaysia and its working... cant try didi cause the map is china map.. not there yet hahhaa
westlife
post Mar 28 2024, 12:15 AM

13,378 posts

QUOTE(noos @ Jun 12 2023, 08:47 AM)
If u use roaming data from Malaysia then don't worry, u will still able to access FB & YT & +++
If u buy local data sim then u need to preinstall VPN app
WeChat pay is more widely used, but usually both are available
as a malaysian we can use wechat pay also? wechat pay requires china mobile no is it?
achong09
post Mar 29 2024, 04:47 AM

1,247 posts

Planning to travel to china in apr. Read most blogs it states able to use qr for payment there and no need go money changer to change money. Hence so can use touch n go ewallet, maybank qr, alipay qr, wechat qr etc

Would like to ask so many msian qr now can be use in china, which qr/ewallet has best rate?

Any advise is much appreciated.
honsiong
post Apr 1 2024, 04:42 PM

3,180 posts

Alipay/Wechat + Wise card.

Touchngo is 2% above spot, pretty high, and you cant pay to individuals. Alipay app can, and you can call Didi, Luckin Coffee, rent powerbank and bike inside Alipay.
achong09
post Apr 1 2024, 04:44 PM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 1 2024, 04:42 PM)
Alipay/Wechat + Wise card.

Touchngo is 2% above spot, pretty high, and you cant pay to individuals. Alipay app can, and you can call Didi, Luckin Coffee, rent powerbank and bike inside Alipay.
Alipay higher rate than touch n go la i just confirm leh...

I dont have wise card..😢
achong09
post Apr 1 2024, 04:45 PM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 28 2024, 12:15 AM)
as a malaysian we can use wechat pay also? wechat pay requires china mobile no is it?
We can use wechat in msia but wont work in china lo... its 2 diff server eventhough the app is same.. dont know why they dont standardise it...
honsiong
post Apr 1 2024, 05:42 PM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 1 2024, 04:44 PM)
Alipay higher rate than touch n go la i just confirm leh...

I dont have wise card..😢
Alipay charges the card in CNY, Alipay doesn't handle the conversion themselves.

It's your fault for not having a low-forex card.
honsiong
post Apr 1 2024, 05:44 PM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 28 2024, 12:15 AM)
I managed to use wechat pay in china with a Malaysia number on account. Just came back after a week there.

Alipay app + their mini apps kick ass too, I managed to call didi rides (intracity and intercity), rent halo bicycles, rent jiedian powerbanks, order luckin coffee.

KFC and some restaurants can be ordered in wechat QR too, then pay with foreign cards.

I just do alipay/wechat & wise card, good rates.
achong09
post Apr 1 2024, 06:10 PM

1,247 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 1 2024, 05:42 PM)
Alipay charges the card in CNY, Alipay doesn't handle the conversion themselves.

It's your fault for not having a low-forex card.
Got la conversation rate can see from alipay app. Touch n go lower..
Why blame me? 😢
ExCrIpT
post Apr 1 2024, 10:10 PM

1,665 posts

only way to add bank account to alipay is by linking CC to the alipay account right?
since we're using CC making international transactions, wont the rate be lower compared to using touch n go?

This post has been edited by ExCrIpT: Apr 1 2024, 10:14 PM
westlife
post Apr 1 2024, 11:55 PM

13,378 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 1 2024, 05:44 PM)
I managed to use wechat pay in china with a Malaysia number on account. Just came back after a week there.

Alipay app + their mini apps kick ass too, I managed to call didi rides (intracity and intercity), rent halo bicycles, rent jiedian powerbanks, order luckin coffee.

KFC and some restaurants can be ordered in wechat QR too, then pay with foreign cards.

i had been paying using alipay that linked to my ocbc credit card (bolehland one). all the while no extra charge, but today i paid a purchase rmb552... i was charged 3% up front upon payment... why is it?
honsiong
post Apr 2 2024, 07:22 AM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 1 2024, 11:55 PM)
i had been paying using alipay that linked to my ocbc credit card (bolehland one). all the while no extra charge, but today i paid a purchase rmb552... i was charged 3% up front upon payment... why is it?
Wtf, do they have introductory 0 fees or smtg? Kena read T&C liao
westlife
post Apr 2 2024, 09:21 AM

13,378 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 2 2024, 07:22 AM)
Wtf, do they have introductory 0 fees or smtg? Kena read T&C liao
I dun know also. my visit to china was 15 years back. That time no e-wallet.

But this was what I observed so far.
westlife
post Apr 2 2024, 09:37 AM

13,378 posts

Besides, china do they have tax return scheme for tourists?

If yes, what is the requirement?
honsiong
post Apr 2 2024, 11:16 AM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 1 2024, 11:55 PM)
Related to this? -- reddit thread

Alipay & wechat charge 3% for txn > RMB 200.
westlife
post Apr 2 2024, 01:12 PM

13,378 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 2 2024, 11:16 AM)
Related to this? -- reddit thread

Alipay & wechat charge 3% for txn > RMB 200.
i was charged for 3% on my spending of rmb552 yesterday. Not sure about the threshold.
Andr3w
post Apr 20 2024, 12:32 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 2 2024, 09:37 AM)
Besides, china do they have tax return scheme for tourists?

If yes, what is the requirement?
I also would like to know this...
I want to purchase smartphone from Shanghai...anyone also know must it be sealed or how strict is it?
joshhd
post Apr 22 2024, 01:28 PM

7,505 posts

Has anyone ever tried subscribing to CMLink eSIM and use it in China?
https://esim.cmlink.com/en_US/plp?hitName=China&type=COUNTRY

Example if want to get a plan that valid in China for 7 days:

"Unlimited" for 7 days (1GB per day of high speed usage, then throttle to 384kbps until next day))
https://esim.cmlink.com/en_US/pdp/P202308170397

Pay in either 3 currencies:
HKD $44.10 (~RM26.78)
USD $5.62 (~RM26.69)
CNY ¥40.40 (~RM26.49)

"Unlimited" for 7 days (500MB per day of high speed usage, then throttle to 384kbps until next day).
https://esim.cmlink.com/en_US/pdp/P202308170114

Pay in either 3 currencies:
HKD $29.40 (~RM17.85)
USD $3.75 (~RM17.84)
CNY ¥26.9 (~RM17.64)

Payment method of credit & debit cards are supported (Visa, Mastercard & UnionPay)
If pay using CNY (RMB) currency, then payment method must be either Alipay or Wechat Pay only.

If anyone used it before, can share how's the overall experience? Any known limitation or something?
adele123
post May 5 2024, 03:38 PM

4,626 posts

QUOTE(honsiong @ Apr 1 2024, 05:44 PM)

Hello, want to check with you, did you tie your wechat pay with a malaysian debit card/credit card? so no issue all the way?

Also to other people... do you use ctrip or Trip for hotel booking? i have just started planning but ctrip looks a tad cheaper than trip for the same hotel. but i think there's verification on the ctrip. more work for me.
honsiong
post May 6 2024, 05:09 PM