Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment

honsiong
post Apr 1 2024, 04:42 PM

3,182 posts

Alipay/Wechat + Wise card.

Touchngo is 2% above spot, pretty high, and you cant pay to individuals. Alipay app can, and you can call Didi, Luckin Coffee, rent powerbank and bike inside Alipay.
honsiong
post Apr 1 2024, 05:42 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Apr 1 2024, 04:44 PM)
Alipay higher rate than touch n go la i just confirm leh...

I dont have wise card..😢
Alipay charges the card in CNY, Alipay doesn't handle the conversion themselves.

It's your fault for not having a low-forex card.
honsiong
post Apr 1 2024, 05:44 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Mar 28 2024, 12:15 AM)
as a malaysian we can use wechat pay also? wechat pay requires china mobile no is it?
I managed to use wechat pay in china with a Malaysia number on account. Just came back after a week there.

Alipay app + their mini apps kick ass too, I managed to call didi rides (intracity and intercity), rent halo bicycles, rent jiedian powerbanks, order luckin coffee.

KFC and some restaurants can be ordered in wechat QR too, then pay with foreign cards.

I just do alipay/wechat & wise card, good rates.
honsiong
post Apr 2 2024, 07:22 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 1 2024, 11:55 PM)
i had been paying using alipay that linked to my ocbc credit card (bolehland one). all the while no extra charge, but today i paid a purchase rmb552... i was charged 3% up front upon payment... why is it?
Wtf, do they have introductory 0 fees or smtg? Kena read T&C liao
honsiong
post Apr 2 2024, 11:16 AM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Apr 1 2024, 11:55 PM)
i had been paying using alipay that linked to my ocbc credit card (bolehland one). all the while no extra charge, but today i paid a purchase rmb552... i was charged 3% up front upon payment... why is it?
Related to this? -- reddit thread

Alipay & wechat charge 3% for txn > RMB 200.
honsiong
post May 6 2024, 05:09 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(adele123 @ May 5 2024, 03:38 PM)
Hello, want to check with you, did you tie your wechat pay with a malaysian debit card/credit card? so no issue all the way?

Also to other people... do you use ctrip or Trip for hotel booking? i have just started planning but ctrip looks a tad cheaper than trip for the same hotel. but i think there's verification on the ctrip. more work for me.
I used alipay + Wise Singapore's debit card, no issue at all. I even got back my jiedian powerbank rental deposit of CNY 99 after the trip.

Wechat pay I used only once, with SG Wise card also. Not sure bout malaysia debit card.
honsiong
post Nov 29 2024, 03:37 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(hihihehe @ Nov 25 2024, 09:44 PM)
Where should i stay in Guangzhou?

Along beijing rd or tianhe district? Will be travelling with big group of people
Guangzhou Yinbingguan, the presidential hotel, doesnt hurt wallet but has historical value and nice decor.
honsiong
post Apr 30 2025, 08:10 PM

3,182 posts

QUOTE(terrytong99 @ Apr 21 2025, 09:09 AM)
Hi all sifu, want to use baidu map & gaode map, but these 2 maps need register only can use, try to register but need china hp no, anyway to use msia hp no to register for it. thanks in advance
Apple Maps turns into Gaode or Amap when you enter China.

0.0170sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:29 PM