How can this work without a China SIM card. Cannot buy nowadays due to new security rules.
Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
Oct 24 2018, 09:59 PM
1,515 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
How can this work without a China SIM card. Cannot buy nowadays due to new security rules.
Oct 24 2018, 10:13 PM
Are SIM cards still for sale at airports or anywhere?
Recent trip, I could not buy one from shops without a China ID. Foreign passport not eligible. Shenzhen airport zero, even asking staff. Any solution (without asking someone else to register illegally)? |
Oct 24 2018, 10:26 PM
Oct 24 2018, 10:29 PM
I asked a friend to send me angpow. Came through OK but cannot open wallet without China ID and bank account. Ringgit wallet not usable in China.
Oct 24 2018, 11:20 PM
Oct 24 2018, 11:24 PM
@Avantasia
How did you use cards for public transport? Were local taxis, buses, DiDi, bus and train stations OK for foreign VISA? |
Oct 24 2018, 11:37 PM
QUOTE(knwong @ Oct 24 2018, 10:36 PM) I bought WeFly SIM from Qoo10 Singapore before heading to China last month. Can use Whatsapp, YouTube in China without VPN. Just put in the SIM when landed there and straight away can use Thanks for the tip! I found Sim2Fly on Lazada which looks like it will do the job too. My alternative was to ask a relative to bring along a HK dual card under his name, but that has its own problems like non renewable expiry, no top up outside of HK, etc. |
Oct 25 2018, 09:04 PM
QUOTE(cytyler @ Oct 25 2018, 05:52 PM) u can always get the SIM using passport at airport (mostly the shops inside the airport) , i've got the SIMs before in Guangzhou and Shenzhen airport , but Guilin airport is not available. Last week at Shenzhen none in sight. Asked airport staff , they said none in airport. In another city, several shops and agents said passport not enough, must have China residence or some other China ID.Several brands available Myfly Sim2fly etc but one drawback -- no voice except maybe via WeChat etc, and no China number for others to call. Sometimes needed for apps and other business. A few years ago the HK dual ones had a number but don't know about the present system. This post has been edited by oneeleven: Oct 25 2018, 09:06 PM |
Oct 25 2018, 11:42 PM
Oct 27 2018, 11:10 PM
Found Lazada one for Guangdong only, enough for me this trip. Cheaper, more days, more GB, no blocking. But data only.
Jan 22 2019, 01:28 AM
QUOTE(cheekiat95 @ Dec 14 2018, 11:05 AM) True it is, but only for Alipay. Wechat unable to receive credit without identity verified. Purchasing tickets at some public transportation with AP or WP will need real name identification with ID or China bank account. If the AP is working on your phone with China SIM registered to you, wouldn't your passport be enough for ID? |
Jan 22 2019, 01:31 AM
Jan 22 2019, 02:16 AM
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Oct 25 2018, 09:42 PM) Unicom China Sim card for foreigners Nice site, nice service, but maybe over-priced in USD$. 10GB data for Rm80?https://www.mychinaunicom.com/toProdisplayPage.dhtml Customize your Sim card here then shipped to your China Hotel. Collect it once you check in Guangzhou in November - I found SIM service at the Hotels Info counter before exiting security area. It was Unicom but I don't remember the price. Official Unicom counter in big mall told me it would be valid as long as there is balance. I bought a 50 yuan top up card to keep on hand for next landing in China.. The website says expires after 90 days despite balance. Extend 90 days for USD$10, etc. When I put in number, it says not valid for their service. I guess I should risk 50 yuan and load the topup before the 90 days. Dunno if works outside China though. This post has been edited by oneeleven: Jan 22 2019, 02:18 AM |
Jan 22 2019, 08:59 PM
QUOTE(aussieMB @ Dec 14 2018, 11:55 AM) Wah it seems so complicated to transact a purchase within China. The entire tech platform is skewed against non-Chinese residents and makes it really hard for casual foreigners to visit and buy stuff on streets and shops. This is really a big negative, I hope they realise. Left-over Soviet style tourism economy. Obviously you didn't experience the hassle before of different currency notes for foreigners, notes that local people had never seen before and could be used to buy "luxury" goods, like rationed soap. |
Mar 3 2019, 10:17 PM
Update: I could not do the 50 rmb top up myself. I had to get a China resident visiting Malaysia to do it for me.
@pigduck: " or just get a Unionpay debit card?" Do you mean do this in Malaysia? Might not work in China or charges very expensive. If it allows you to validate for AP and WP then good! |
Nov 13 2019, 01:16 AM
Any non-China residents with a report about using WeChat Pay in China ?
| Change to: | 0.0194sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 03:46 PM |