Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
touristking
Oct 25 2018, 05:32 AM
QUOTE(oneeleven @ Oct 24 2018, 03:29 PM) I asked a friend to send me angpow. Came through OK but cannot open wallet without China ID and bank account. Ringgit wallet not usable in China. I did this. No guarantee. 1. I unlink my Public Bank debit card from my Ringgit wallet. 2. I get an angpow 3. I relink that same debit card to get a Yuan wallet.
touristking
Nov 14 2018, 05:27 AM
QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 13 2018, 10:00 PM) Phew... Meaning Malaysian bank card is useless? Not just Malaysian. Worldwide when it comes to alipay
touristking
Nov 14 2018, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(legendaryNOKIA @ Nov 14 2018, 12:22 AM) Same problem. You can have China wallet but you can't top up using your Malaysian/Worldwide credit card.
touristking
May 22 2019, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(sklc @ May 18 2019, 04:20 PM) You can get top up for wechatpay from Yayaka website. Buy whatever amount you need. In order to activate China wallet, yayaka support will help you by sending 1 cent yuan to u via wechat. However it requires you to install Wechat for windows, on your PC, to accept the 1 cent. It's a workaround. Once your wallet is activated you can logout from PC and on your phone wechat app, you will see a new item to switch wallet region... then you can also add your Malaysia credit card. Then Yayaka support will send you the QR codes for u to transfer/topup yuan into your China wallet. Don't rely on credit card although linked already. Try to ensure you have Cash balance in case your credit card transaction doesn't work with certain transactions. When was that? I used to have Wechat China wallet. Long story. But suddenly this year, it stop working. The only way to get it back is to have a China bank card and a China phone number.
touristking
Jul 18 2019, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(nordtty @ Jul 17 2019, 11:50 AM) Cisco? Some VPN interfere with WeChat e-payment, must check properly first before using. There is a list somewhere on which VPN can work well there, can Google first. Nordvpn
touristking
Sep 29 2019, 07:30 PM
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 26 2019, 07:53 AM) Any recent feedback on Hello1010? I did a search and found couple of positive feedback on Hello1010 but that was back in 2018. Just want to get reassurance that it is still a good buy before getting it  A couple of years ago, their 24/7 online help was excellent. As for their SIM, depending on where you use it, you may need some technical expertise to get it to work. You comfortable with APN setting?
touristking
Sep 29 2019, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(teng_08 @ Sep 29 2019, 01:43 PM) Not very familiar with APN Settings. I thought no set up is required for the Hello1010 SIM. Guess I'll have to research more on it. It may work straight out of the box or it may not. If you go to UK and they gave you a UK company's SIM card, then it most likely will. If they give you a non-UK company's SIM card that will work in UK, then it may not. Then you probably have to do the APN setting manually. Depends on your luck. Having said that, Hello1010's customer service is 24/7 and excellent. But you still need some technical expertise.
touristking
Nov 25 2024, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(Chaud @ Nov 19 2024, 04:31 AM) go anywhere in china no need visa for now. but only 15 days 30 days next month.
touristking
Nov 25 2024, 08:36 AM
QUOTE(Blofeld @ Nov 24 2024, 07:05 PM) have u tried to use Alipay in Malaysia? i tried just now but it keeps failing. Is it Malaysians cannot use Alipay in Malaysia? I think only mainland Chinese can use Alipay outside of China.
touristking
Nov 25 2024, 08:39 AM
QUOTE(dudester @ Oct 12 2024, 03:01 AM) Anyone tried the RoboTaxi before? How can I get one in ShenZhen Earlier this year I asked the local as to where I can find one. They all shake their heads.
touristking
Nov 25 2024, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(james.6831 @ Sep 19 2024, 01:45 PM) google maps might not be accurate for some locations. my hotel location totally different on google maps compared to actual location. use apple maps if lost from google maps lol.
Google is not supposed to work correctly in China. Install and use Amap instead.
touristking
Nov 30 2024, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(honsiong @ Nov 29 2024, 08:37 AM) Guangzhou Yinbingguan, the presidential hotel, doesnt hurt wallet but has historical value and nice decor. You mean this? http://www.guangdongyingbinhotel.com/
touristking
Jan 10 2025, 03:21 PM
QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Jan 10 2025, 08:10 AM) Yeah i saw that roaming is expensive hence opted for esim (data only) but apps such as didi always asked to register phone number so not too sure if the didi app will be tied to the number that i register..... or it is just a registration process? So basically as long as we have internet connection both alipay and didi can work? Like the previous post said, you can register your non-China phone number in Didi. The problem arise if the driver need to contact you etc and they can not or will not call you non-China phone number. The best way to go around this problem is, make sure you pick up location is correct or at a more well-known location.
touristking
Jan 11 2025, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 10 2025, 08:27 AM) interesting. so there's no need to buy VPN then if using roaming? don't understand nowadays why still got got people complaining roaming expensive it's only RM 58 for a 7 days unlimited pass or RM 98 for 14 days with Celcom/Digi With Roaming, no need for VPN. You are still, sort of still in Malaysia. Buy SIM from Shopee or eSim, about half the price. May be important for some people.
touristking
Jan 13 2025, 10:35 AM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 12 2025, 06:38 AM) Anything on dedicated apps, you need China number. Anything via Alipay mini apps, no need China number. Also roaming can buy from trip.com. Easy. I didn't know you can buy data roaming with Trip.com. How? Can it be use with Whatsapp etc? Thanks for the info
touristking
Jan 13 2025, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(Icehart @ Jan 13 2025, 03:36 AM) Those eSIM are from HK, so of course can access WhatsApp, Facebook etc. I am now looking at Trip.com. Can't find the option to purchase roaming. Care to show me? p.s. found it. They are just as expensive as Digi roaming. So better just stick to Digi Celcom This post has been edited by touristking: Jan 13 2025, 10:56 AM
touristking
Jan 23 2025, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(chang3rd @ Jan 22 2025, 03:29 AM) Personally used this ( trip.com link) in Hangzhou and Shanghai and worked flawlessly. This is much cheaper compared with Hotlink roaming. I believe is cheaper than other Malaysian telcos too. thanks. can you use Whatsapp etc? This post has been edited by touristking: Jan 23 2025, 10:47 AM
touristking
Feb 21 2025, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Feb 5 2025, 04:12 AM) btw, if passport left 5 pages, still able to travel to china? expiry date 2027. 5 pages is still a lot of empty space.
touristking
Feb 21 2025, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(ben3003 @ Jan 23 2025, 11:02 AM) Hi all, im planning to go china for a week. Planned to go Yunnan, sichuan that area. Is 1 week enough? My rough itinerary would be staying 4 days in yunnan and 3 days in chongqing then go chengdu. At yunnnan plan to go lijiang those places. If anyone went there before can share any worthwhile place to go. No. For 1 week, I would just concentrate on Yunnan.
touristking
Mar 31 2025, 04:33 PM
QUOTE(SuperTuhan @ Mar 31 2025, 03:01 AM) I now roaming in Shanghai celcom and it’s real shitty Didn’t knew why but last year in Guangzhou wasn’t like that If your phone support e sim Buy one from trip.com , u go rural area in China still got line , bought it cause my celcom roaming sucks So does maxis Sorry to hear that. Roaming has always work before. Does your phone has VPN installed? If yes, try uninstalling that and see how it goes. I once have some other problem with VPN, even thought I never switch the VPN on.