Travelling in China, Wifi, Sim, e-payment
azack
May 18 2025, 11:25 AM
QUOTE(leenux @ May 17 2025, 07:38 PM) Have linked my Alipay with Wise card (with some balance) and Alipay successfully performed a card check. Thought wanted to try it out here locally.
Made a small purchase in a store that accepts Alipay but the transaction was not successful nor failed on my end - just nothing. Merchant side failed. No transaction history in Alipay. Wise balance not reduced. Worried if I'm doing something wrong (like payment only can in China).
My sis told me the Alipay locally is only for China Alipay use. Although i do not know the difference. Anyway, i have used Alipay and Wechat that link to with WISE card in China, no problem.
azack
May 20 2025, 04:27 AM
QUOTE(leenux @ May 18 2025, 07:21 PM) Thanks much for the reply. Hopefully it works okay in China when I'm there later this year. Quick question.. do you topup RMB in Wise or just MYR and let it auto-convert? TIA. Back to you previous question, believe the alipay in app store is international version and different from china version, only works within china. For currency I just let it auto convert. Really depends if you think if ringgit rate is good or may increasing or dropping value.
azack
May 20 2025, 04:31 AM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 18 2025, 09:12 PM) actually anybody can tell once and for all which mode of payment that malaysian can setup in malaysia that will work 100% when we reach china? or just bring cash? can we use TnG e-wallet there everywhere? Alipay and WeChat pay works for me 99%of the time. But need to used to it for example select bus or mrt and download digital bus card in different city. And install different mini program in WeChat for different bike rental companies. Bring some cash especially smaller change like 1/5/10/20..can pay cash but they retailer may not have small chances. This post has been edited by azack: May 20 2025, 04:36 AM
azack
May 20 2025, 09:08 AM
QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 20 2025, 07:49 AM) what about TnG? what you're saying is for individual right? what about 1 payment mode that i can use for the whole family? I didn't try tng. I think previous posts have someone said no problem. Btw, WeChat pay success rate is higher than alipay. Hotel online credit card booked. The rest of the spending all qrcode alipay or WeChat. I only use cash at first arrival for mrt as I didn't know how to configure alipay for mrt. Once I figured out, basically while trip cash free. I would suggest all of the family member have a smart phone with digital payment mode installed.
azack
Aug 10 2025, 08:44 AM
QUOTE(ycs @ Aug 8 2025, 05:42 PM) which SIM is best to use? still need VPN to access google etc? For me, I only bought data eSim from trip.com, have many option. Uness you expect that need to make call while in china. I think data Sim is good enough.