Just added KGF back to portfolio. Backing on election fuel.
Switched out partially from Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund
FundSuperMart v18 (FSM) MY : Online UT Platform, UT DIY : Babystep to Investing :D
Jul 29 2017, 03:47 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
52,874 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Just added KGF back to portfolio. Backing on election fuel.
Switched out partially from Kenanga Asia Pacific Total Return Fund |
Jul 29 2017, 04:05 PM
6 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
QUOTE(HahaCat @ Jul 29 2017, 12:23 AM) Is there a diff between a person who invested in unit trust successfully and made 14% per anum yoy and a person who is successful in making a lot of money? Scenario 1: Mr HC pinjam money from sharks to put into a fund with a short track record that dia "researched". Riding on the coattails of global economic growth, the fund's focus on small cap and penny stock multiplied in value, making him feel like he's a smart investor. This same person is confident that dia boleh lihat the future. Tapi bodoh jugak for not using the same ability to beli nombor menang jackpot. Because bodoh and coward kerana pinjam duit orang lain, he bayar orang lain who also did same research as him and ask them to buy the stocks for him.Scenario 1: Mr AV put Rm1K a month into fund A for 10 years. It grew 14% p.a annualized. He made Rm249K. Enough to buy a Toyota Camry Rm150K and rennovate his home 70K and go for a good holiday to Europe Rm29K. Scenario 2: Mr KC knows if he invest in fund A. He can make an annualized 14% per annum yoy. He is confident. He refinanced his house, top up, to get RM250K. He has to pay interest of 4.5% (Term Loan Reducing Balance) The loan tenure is 30 years. Every month he has to pay Rm937 instalment. He put RM250K into fund A, same as Mr. AV. 10 years later at 14% p.a, he will have RM926K in his portfolio. Beyond this 10 years, there are 20 more years to go before this two young men retire. Who is a more successful unit trust investor? At 14% pa, maybe both also successful. But who made more money and became a more successful investor? Scenario 2: Mr P has 500k fun money daripada berapa tahun day trading in stock market. Early 2016 after China choked and Mr P busy with work, he pulled out and masuk dalam UT Manu India. Lepas Trump won Mr P have more free time. Mr P sees global economy will grow faster so he pull out of India put into Malaysian small-cap/penny stocks that Interpac Dana Safi also invested in (Wah Mr. P happy kerana IDS validate his keen eyesight). Since YTD returned 195%. With years of investing experience in stock market, Mr P tahu small-cap/penny stock can be very volatile kena monitor tiap hari. He knows is high risk and is like gambling, and his gamble paid off. And since Mr P is gambling with his own money that he tak kisah losing, he tak takut sharks because he is the shark. So who is smarter and more successful? Maybe both also made money, but one is stupid and enter burning building dengan baju orang lain, the other is smart and pakai own IronMan suit before playing with fire. |
Jul 29 2017, 04:19 PM
60 posts Joined: Mar 2017 |
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 29 2017, 01:33 PM) Preliminary Algozen ver four reading for Aug 2017 period: Which rhb income fund? And why? 1) IDS is rejected in favour of KGF. Most likely explanation is Algozen ver four algorithm is program for risk reduction. 2) Selina reits 3) In lieu of RHB Total and Emerging market bond, she now chooses RHB Income fund. 4) The usual favourites: Ta - GTF, India, Esther bond 5) China specific fund makes the cut for those at higher risk portfolio. If you have aggressive appetite, China can be part of your portfolio. Max = cap at 15%. To recap, this session of consulting Algozen ver four was to answer is Safi good as part of a portfolio? Is Manureits better than Selina reits? Does china specific fund has a place in a portfolio? This round, Algozen ver four gave a very clear indication that the sweetest spot aka the best risk to return point is at the 14% per annum level. Xuzen |
Jul 29 2017, 04:32 PM
5,271 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
it just hit me xuzen's new port is to minimize the number of funds in the port and also the corelation between each of them.
so what's the corelation between esther bond fund vs rhb AIF also the other recommendations between esther bond fund vs rhb emerging markets bond that was weeks ago lol this one sure doesn't make sense so what changed? This post has been edited by Avangelice: Jul 29 2017, 04:32 PM |
Jul 29 2017, 05:45 PM
64 posts Joined: Jul 2017 |
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 29 2017, 03:46 PM) Can you? Mr One-hit-wonder! I can. And I have done scenario no.2. And I have been able to survive quite well this far. I even managed to make enough to settle 50% of a 35 year loan in the first year alone. So I am not talk cock only. And given our age diff, don't tell me u hav not acheived 14% p.a since u were in the game? Or at least, the last 3 years????Will you be remembered as Mr McFerrin? Only one hit song in his entire singing career? Xuzen |
Jul 29 2017, 06:39 PM
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
Jul 29 2017, 06:50 PM
5,750 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
My plan for August!
+gtf +kgf +india +Esther Huat arrr |
Jul 29 2017, 07:33 PM
88 posts Joined: Oct 2014 |
Jul 29 2017, 07:49 PM
5,271 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Jul 29 2017, 09:43 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
175 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2017, 01:33 PM) How long? It's determine by how sustainable is the run. If it's expensive and you have nothing to buy, don't buy. There will always be opportunities in between great bear. Eg. China, Greece issue, Brexit. I think if you are in it for the long run, you have to re-think about the opportunity cost. Imagine if you are really lucky, managed to time the market, get 200% return from your lump sum investment when the market finally turns bull. For me, it's very simple. When do you shop? Do you shop when there is sale or when there's no sale? If for me, if no sale, I just keep my money. Simple. Ask yourself, why are you buying when you can wait? Are you going to cash out everything and wait for the next big crash? I think this strategy would only work if you are a one-hit wonder who retires after the first break. However, I do agree that we need a war chest but not a war chest which is equivalent to our supposedly entire portfolio. Never time the market and catch a falling dagger. Coz you might not be able to catch it every time. The best time to invest is not now, it's yesterday. I would recommend staying invested. But that's just me and my risk appetite. Someone else might have a different investing philosophy which is hugely successful. Bon Appétit. This post has been edited by skynode: Jul 30 2017, 08:47 AM |
Jul 29 2017, 09:57 PM
4,436 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 29 2017, 07:49 PM) GTF can be Global Technology fund or Global Titan fund. I suggest to avoid confusing noobs, use TA - GTF or TA - Tech or just plain "tech fund" whereas use Titanic or Titan to refer to CIMB - Global Titan Fund. What do you all think? Xuzen This post has been edited by xuzen: Jul 29 2017, 09:58 PM |
Jul 29 2017, 10:06 PM
4,436 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(skynode @ Jul 29 2017, 09:43 PM) I think if you are in it for the long run, you have to re-think about the opportunity cost. Imagine if you are really lucky, managed to time the market, get 200% return from your lump sum investment when the market finally turns bull. And it is shown mathematically, the future value of any investment is linearly related to the ROI, whereas it is exponentially related to time invested. Even if you get a mediacore return but compounded over time will win over a large ROI but compounded over a short time. Are you going to cash out everything and wait for the next big crash? I think this strategy would only work if you are a one-hit wonder who retures after the first break. However, I do agree that we need a war chest but not a war chest which is equivalent to our supposedly entire portfolio. Never time the market and catch a falling dagger. Coz you might not be able to catch it every time. The best time to invest is not now, it's yesterday. I would recommend staying invested. But that's just me and my risk appetite. Someone else might have a different investing philosophy which is hugely successful. Bon Appétit. Remember folks: Speculate for syiok sendiri, compound it or real return. Xuzen |
Jul 29 2017, 11:50 PM
1,258 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: /k/ |
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 29 2017, 10:06 PM) And it is shown mathematically, the future value of any investment is linearly related to the ROI, whereas it is exponentially related to time invested. Even if you get a mediacore return but compounded over time will win over a large ROI but compounded over a short time. All hail sifu Xuzen Remember folks: Speculate for syiok sendiri, compound it or real return. Xuzen |
Jul 30 2017, 01:14 AM
843 posts Joined: Apr 2008 |
Jul 30 2017, 10:54 AM
14,854 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2017, 01:33 PM) How long? It's determine by how sustainable is the run. If it's expensive and you have nothing to buy, don't buy. There will always be opportunities in between great bear. Eg. China, Greece issue, Brexit. For me, it's very simple. When do you shop? Do you shop when there is sale or when there's no sale? If for me, if no sale, I just keep my money. Simple Ask yourself, why are you buying when you can wait? QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2017, 02:42 PM) How much is a drop? 10% I will start looking. 20% sure buy. 30-40% buy some more. Of course must know what to buy. If only 1% bleh, nothing to see. was just thinking in my mind....when you set up your UT portfolio......do you wait to buy when the intended fund prices dropped by 20% then before you bought into them?Another point of when to buy, when newspapers keep publishing it's all doom and gloom is another indicator. I am comfortable holding 50% or more in cash/liquid stuff. Nothing to buy, keep money. If for stocks, accumulate the dividends. If unit trust, leave it as it is. any funds of recent last 5 yrs that are suitable to be in the core portfolio that had dropped 20%? during a mkt crash,...the money in your stock accumulating dividend would be affected too so will the unit trust funds that you left it there..... a war chest waiting to buy 'cheap" stuffs should not be kept in those vehicles.....for they are directly affected and in the 'cheap" prices too...so will your wealth. btw,...I think you will make more $$ "timing" the markets by lowering your 20% buy trigger to maybe 5%.....that would be 5% drops of any region buy from CMF then 5% up moves back the money to CMF for the chances of 5% or lower drops happening are much more frequent than those of 20% ...... just my agar-agaration thesis no substance wan. |
Jul 30 2017, 10:58 AM
14,854 posts Joined: Mar 2015 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 27 2017, 09:56 PM) Well I am just giving suggestion. Those 2 are definitely better than anything public mutual can dish out. QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Jul 30 2017, 01:14 AM) btw,....why do you choose this Kenaga ONe PRS Growth "over" the Cimb Asia Pac? just curious.... |
Jul 30 2017, 11:13 AM
33,586 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 30 2017, 10:54 AM) was just thinking in my mind....when you set up your UT portfolio......do you wait to buy when the intended fund prices dropped by 20% then before you bought into them? His talks are mostly just theory and his money is also rather small to make a difference.any funds of recent last 5 yrs that are suitable to be in the core portfolio that had dropped 20%? during a mkt crash,...the money in your stock accumulating dividend would be affected too so will the unit trust funds that you left it there..... a war chest waiting to buy 'cheap" stuffs should not be kept in those vehicles.....for they are directly affected and in the 'cheap" prices too...so will your wealth. btw,...I think you will make more $$ "timing" the markets by lowering your 20% buy trigger to maybe 5%.....that would be 5% drops of any region buy from CMF then 5% up moves back the money to CMF for the chances of 5% or lower drops happening are much more frequent than those of 20% ...... just my agar-agaration thesis no substance wan. He says will be buy when prices drop more than 20%. Okay there was indeed a case, which happened to the greater china UT a year ago. Did he buy any ? I doubt so. End up most of his money are in ASNx, almost all the time. The talk about buying other things are just fancies only. |
Jul 30 2017, 11:17 AM
4,999 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 29 2017, 12:21 PM) Yes. That's right. That's why if one put into ASNB FP, one needs to wait for 2 years+ to see that return. I would argue that you cannot put large enough sums into it immediately.But ASNB have 3 good points 1) 6% return 2) fix at RM1/unit 3) instant liquidity The above 3 points make ASNB an ideal parking place while waiting for mr bear to appear/an ideal bomb shelter if your heart cannot tahan a bear market. |
Jul 30 2017, 11:19 AM
24,333 posts Joined: Feb 2011 |
QUOTE(MUM @ Jul 30 2017, 10:54 AM) was just thinking in my mind....when you set up your UT portfolio......do you wait to buy when the intended fund prices dropped by 20% then before you bought into them? That time. No. Just buy. When sell off of reits happen, pump in lump sum for manulife AP reits. Best decision ever. any funds of recent last 5 yrs that are suitable to be in the core portfolio that had dropped 20%? during a mkt crash,...the money in your stock accumulating dividend would be affected too so will the unit trust funds that you left it there..... a war chest waiting to buy 'cheap" stuffs should not be kept in those vehicles.....for they are directly affected and in the 'cheap" prices too...so will your wealth. btw,...I think you will make more $$ "timing" the markets by lowering your 20% buy trigger to maybe 5%.....that would be 5% drops of any region buy from CMF then 5% up moves back the money to CMF for the chances of 5% or lower drops happening are much more frequent than those of 20% ...... just my agar-agaration thesis no substance wan. Now stop to look and think already. Yes dividend could drop, but if your dividend is already 10%, a 30% drop in dividend still give you 7%. Want to drop more Can. 50% drop = 5% dividend. Still decent. That's why my selection: - Get bluechip stocks supported by govt - Bluechip stocks which consistently beat/match the market - Defensive health care reits - Gov linked reits - Reit with excellent management Got such counters? Got. Got real life example? Got. Of course muat see govt got the moo to back them up or not. Govt like SG, HK and AU have the mooo. Malaysia, don't think they have much moooo left (just look at the reserves). US and UK govt are practically broke. This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 30 2017, 11:23 AM |
Jul 30 2017, 11:25 AM
4,999 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Went to the penang talk yesterday.
Wasn't too impressed with AMAsia REITS asset allocation. More countries yes but places like Japan? I don't know , doesn't sound like rental yields are high there. There was this guy who asked why there is so much cash 18-20% and I don't think I got a good explanation from the fund manger. It sounded like they couldn't find any good opportunity and therefore not do anything about their money. Imagine 20% of your money not working for you. |
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 03:59 PM |