AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

terradrive
post Jan 31 2023, 11:30 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 31 2023, 10:12 PM)
This type of bundle usually is under the retailer own self offer right not AMD.

Microcenter speak to amd/ gskill to ask for credit note / marketing promotion to run the campaign.
so nice, if same price here confirm buy already
babylon52281
post Feb 1 2023, 09:30 AM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 31 2023, 10:12 PM)
This type of bundle usually is under the retailer own self offer right not AMD.

Microcenter speak to amd/ gskill to ask for credit note / marketing promotion to run the campaign.
Often in USA, you can get other retailers to price match their wares to other competitors so its not like deals will exclusively be only for 1 merchant, usually you can also get the same deals from Best Buy or even other MC to match Amazon or NewEgg offers.
goldfries
post Feb 1 2023, 11:29 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Totally loving my Ryzen 5 7600. biggrin.gif OC already then UV some more, runs at sub 60c on CBR23 using 360mm AIO.
cnpats
post Feb 1 2023, 08:07 PM

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Feb 1 2023, 09:30 AM)
Often in USA, you can get other retailers to price match their wares to other competitors so its not like deals will exclusively be only for 1 merchant, usually you can also get the same deals from Best Buy or even other MC to match Amazon or NewEgg offers.
ya us retailers quite competitive. Envious of the bundles they get over there.
terradrive
post Feb 2 2023, 10:35 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

walao AMD kept milking early adopters

First, release 7000X series at jacked up prices, then releases way cheaper and still very good non X. All while selling B650 at jacked up prices.

Now, Delaying the 7800X3D which has the best value, pushing early adopters to the more expensive 7950X3D and hugely jacked up price 7900X3D (almost $200 vs the regular X ver).

All while taking sweet time to delay the release of the A620 chipsets @_@
cnpats
post Feb 2 2023, 02:21 PM

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 2 2023, 10:35 AM)

First, release 7000X series at jacked up prices, then releases way cheaper and still very good non X. All while selling B650 at jacked up prices.

Now, Delaying the 7800X3D which has the best value, pushing early adopters to the more expensive 7950X3D and hugely jacked up price 7900X3D (almost $200 vs the regular X ver).

https://www.pcworld.com/article/1499957/amd...s-elevated.html

Looks like they not interested to fight against Nvidia and intel anymore. Just solidify their bottom line.
SSJBen
post Feb 2 2023, 02:49 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 2 2023, 10:35 AM)

The angry ones are those that bought their Mobo, ram, GPU during the December sales in the US. All their parts sitting there collecting dust while waiting for AMD's sweet ass time to release shit.

I understand their frustration lol.

Apparently AMD may not even have enough 7800x3D to sell come April.
SUSipohps3
post Feb 2 2023, 03:08 PM

1,974 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Feb 2 2023, 02:21 PM)
https://www.pcworld.com/article/1499957/amd...s-elevated.html

Looks like they not interested to fight against Nvidia and intel anymore. Just solidify their bottom line.
for AMD, Epyc is their main aim.
TristanX
post Feb 2 2023, 03:42 PM

Where is my stars?
24,334 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 2 2023, 02:49 PM)
The angry ones are those that bought their Mobo, ram, GPU during the December sales in the US. All their parts sitting there collecting dust while waiting for AMD's sweet ass time to release shit.

I understand their frustration lol.

Apparently AMD may not even have enough 7800x3D to sell come April.
I'll sit back and watch for bugs. Its AMD quality anyway.
siles1991
post Feb 3 2023, 01:03 PM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

All these shenanigans just making me want to pull trigger on a 5800X3D. My 6700k bottlenecking hard after I got a 3080, and was hoping to jump on AM5. Was hoping Q4 might have some decent prices for AM5, but looking less likely ugh.
SSJBen
post Feb 3 2023, 05:52 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Feb 3 2023, 01:03 PM)
All these shenanigans just making me want to pull trigger on a 5800X3D. My 6700k bottlenecking hard after I got a 3080, and was hoping to jump on AM5. Was hoping Q4 might have some decent prices for AM5, but looking less likely ugh.
Why not just go straight for Raptor Lake instead? Better value there.

5800x3D is not advisable for new builds, it's more for people who already are on Zen/+, 2 or 3 and looking for one last upgrade on their AM4 platform.

Otherwise just go AM5, pick up a good board, get the 7700 and call it a day until Zen 5 comes around and pop in the relevant CPU upgrade after that if it's enticing enough.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Feb 3 2023, 05:58 PM
terradrive
post Feb 3 2023, 06:09 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Feb 3 2023, 01:03 PM)
lol even with 8700k and 3080 will bottleneck hard on some games, i can share your pain

just now kept looking at the 13700kf in the shop but the only cheaper motherboard is not enough to power it, the other available ones are the same price as the 13700kf and i was shakehead.gif
sien even 13600k and kf and 13400f stocks run dry. 13400 price is... doh.gif

This post has been edited by terradrive: Feb 4 2023, 08:46 AM
babylon52281
post Feb 3 2023, 06:23 PM

2,673 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 3 2023, 06:09 PM)
lol even with 8700k and 3080 will bottleneck hard on some games, i can share your pain

just now kept looking at the 13700kf in the shop but the only cheaper motherboard is not enough to power it, the other available ones are the same price as the 13700kf and i was  shakehead.gif
sien even 13600k and kf and 13400f stocks run dry. 10400 price is... doh.gif
Since MSI Pro B660M-A can handle up to 12900K (without OCing), it can supposedly handle 13700KF as long as you dont plan to OC, but can run up to max PL2 TDP. And if Pro-A mobo can do it, then B660M Mortar & Tomahawk oso can support it.
siles1991
post Feb 4 2023, 12:52 AM

1,861 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 3 2023, 05:52 PM)
Why not just go straight for Raptor Lake instead? Better value there.

5800x3D is not advisable for new builds, it's more for people who already are on Zen/+, 2 or 3 and looking for one last upgrade on their AM4 platform.

Otherwise just go AM5, pick up a good board, get the 7700 and call it a day until Zen 5 comes around and pop in the relevant CPU upgrade after that if it's enticing enough.
Was thinking of going the 7700 route as well, but waiting for better prices. The mobo prices are still too insane, and not many options yet. Raptorlake is something I would consider if really can't get the 7700 build at a reasonable price. Maybe like around RM2.5k(hoping Q4 or early next year hahahaha) for a 7700 with a B650 board with good VRM design and at least 4 SATA ports as I still use some HDDs for storage.
siles1991
post Feb 4 2023, 01:02 AM

1,861 posts

just now kept looking at the 13700kf in the shop but the only cheaper motherboard is not enough to power it, the other available ones are the same price as the 13700kf and i was  shakehead.gif
Especially since I stream a little, I get bottlenecked really hard and can't fully use NVIDIA's broadcast suite. Just picked up HZD up from Steam sale and straight bottlenecked by CPU.
babylon52281
post Feb 4 2023, 03:06 AM

2,673 posts

Get ready for more price drops (but towards end of the year?)
https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/amd-ryzen...rop-to-299.html
goldfries
post Feb 4 2023, 04:25 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

Buy my 12600K. tongue.gif
targon
post Feb 4 2023, 12:00 PM

291 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Feb 4 2023, 12:52 AM)
Was thinking of going the 7700 route as well, but waiting for better prices. The mobo prices are still too insane, and not many options yet. Raptorlake is something I would consider if really can't get the 7700 build at a reasonable price. Maybe like around RM2.5k(hoping Q4 or early next year hahahaha) for a 7700 with a B650 board with good VRM design and at least 4 SATA ports as I still use some HDDs for storage.
u re better off with raptors. no need to deal with minor unpleasant Zen nonsense that might not be fixed by amd.
I5 13500 and a B660/B760 board will do the trick
Depend on ur choice of Ram
D4 - MSI B660m Mortar
D5 - Asrock B760m sonic [no issues in handling higher tier cpu. comes with twin 8 pin cpu power]
Both abt the same price
terradrive
post Feb 4 2023, 12:29 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 4 2023, 04:25 AM)
Buy my 12600K. tongue.gif
ohhh curious on what price
Lurker
post Feb 6 2023, 07:34 PM

L U R K I N G
4,420 posts

7700x + MSI B650 Tomahawk for RM2k worth? used set (seller aiming for x670 w X3d chip I suppose)

still need to get ddr5 tho

474 Pages « < 440 441 442 443 444 > » Top

0.0467sec    0.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:32 AM