AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

babylon52281
post Jan 6 2023, 01:06 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Rei7 @ Jan 2 2023, 11:09 AM)
Idk man power consumption means nothing here in Malaysia unless you live elsewhere in the world. Electric bill hasn't even gone up ever since I use my new build for 3 months now and I'm running mine at least 10 hours a day. There is always Eco mode if you want to "save". Eco mode solve everything if you care about power consumption.

Edit: I'm more worried about food going up in price then paying for my electric bill atm. laugh.gif
Commercial & industrial have surged whoppingly high, its just a matter of time it will cascade down to home use
https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2022/12/...-surcharge-hike
babylon52281
post Jan 28 2023, 12:05 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jan 26 2023, 10:17 PM)
Ryzen 7000 CPU - Free Star Wars Jedi: Survivor
https://www.tomshardware.com/news/amd-star-...survivor-bundle

https://s3.ca-central-1.amazonaws.com/amdre...J-012023-EN.pdf
I recalled seeing Msia wasn't part of the eligible APAC countries but Indonesia got plenty a lot of distros joining the program.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 28 2023, 12:06 AM
babylon52281
post Jan 31 2023, 06:36 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Lurker @ Jan 31 2023, 03:23 PM)
No such combo in Msia

Of course not!
AMD Msia thinks Msian AMD fanboys are rich so why need to compete with Intel on pricing? You guys should be proud to overspend on hardware compared to poorfag Intel fanboys.
babylon52281
post Feb 1 2023, 09:30 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(cnpats @ Jan 31 2023, 10:12 PM)
This type of bundle usually is under the retailer own self offer right not AMD.

Microcenter speak to amd/ gskill to ask for credit note / marketing promotion to run the campaign.
Often in USA, you can get other retailers to price match their wares to other competitors so its not like deals will exclusively be only for 1 merchant, usually you can also get the same deals from Best Buy or even other MC to match Amazon or NewEgg offers.
babylon52281
post Feb 3 2023, 06:23 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 3 2023, 06:09 PM)
lol even with 8700k and 3080 will bottleneck hard on some games, i can share your pain

just now kept looking at the 13700kf in the shop but the only cheaper motherboard is not enough to power it, the other available ones are the same price as the 13700kf and i was  shakehead.gif
sien even 13600k and kf and 13400f stocks run dry. 10400 price is... doh.gif
Since MSI Pro B660M-A can handle up to 12900K (without OCing), it can supposedly handle 13700KF as long as you dont plan to OC, but can run up to max PL2 TDP. And if Pro-A mobo can do it, then B660M Mortar & Tomahawk oso can support it.
babylon52281
post Feb 4 2023, 03:06 AM

2,651 posts

Get ready for more price drops (but towards end of the year?)
https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/amd-ryzen...rop-to-299.html
babylon52281
post Feb 7 2023, 09:08 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Feb 6 2023, 07:36 PM)
Yeah the price is actually cheap

ddr5 5200mhz & 5600mhz is way cheaper now too, and zen 4 are not as picky on ddr5 speed
Zen4 DDR5 sweet spot is 6000MHZ and anything higher is preferable.
babylon52281
post Feb 7 2023, 09:47 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 7 2023, 04:38 PM)
confused.gif  confused.gif  confused.gif

Anything higher IS NOT preferable for Zen 4 due to flaky IMC.
https://www.anandtech.com/show/17585/amd-ze...-the-high-end/5
Zen4 runs ideally at DDR5 6000MHZ as that maxed out Gear 1 mode, past that and IMC goes into Gear 2 but similarly to Intel 12/13Gen, once the speed barrier goes high enuff and coupled with lower latencies, the memory perf will shoot past DDR5 'sweetspot'. In terms of IMC quality, AM5 is better as it can handle higher EXPO vs Intel nonK at DDR5 5200.
babylon52281
post Feb 8 2023, 08:30 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 8 2023, 12:05 AM)
Yeah ok dude. Tell me something that isn't more obvious than water is wet?
You seem to think water isn't wet?
babylon52281
post Feb 12 2023, 12:54 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Feb 8 2023, 03:44 PM)
Stability, dumbass, stability.
Intel fanboy sez: Stability? On an AMD platform? HAHAHAHAHA!!!

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Feb 12 2023, 12:55 PM
babylon52281
post Mar 2 2023, 12:58 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Mar 1 2023, 08:48 PM)
a lot reviewers not receiving 7900X3D review units innocent.gif guess there's something about it
AMD surely will seed the media with their king CPU as a starting launch to gain favourable reviews. Then only the lower range will get sent out later. This is normal practice so I dont think there is much to be read from it.
OTOH the actual reviews is far disappointing vs the 'leaks' results. Once again AMD leaker media overhyped their products.
babylon52281
post Mar 21 2023, 05:41 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(imboss.. @ Mar 20 2023, 04:54 PM)
Between amd vs intel.. is amd on the losing streak?
Just curious
What do you mean by that and how do you define that losing streak?
babylon52281
post Mar 22 2023, 02:28 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(imboss.. @ Mar 22 2023, 10:55 AM)
losing streak as in sale compare to intel
AMD historically done far less sales than Intel so I don't see how today is any different and what I would call a losing streak. However AM5 aint doing as well as AM4 was when both were at the same time frame. AMD made a bad call with expensive new platform, expensive DDR5, poor pricing, in an era of super high inflation & recession oncoming. They are getting cheaper but by the time these becomes affordable, less people will have the money to splurge on a new system.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Mar 22 2023, 02:29 PM
babylon52281
post Apr 23 2023, 10:07 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(lolzcalvin @ Apr 23 2023, 01:44 AM)
apparently there's a case of 7800X3D burnt up, and both mobo and CPU are killed.
https://wccftech.com/amd-ryzen-7-7800x3d-cp...70-motherboard/
https://videocardz.com/newz/redditors-ryzen...ffers-to-buy-it

other than the 7800X3D case, apparently a 7950X3D is affected in the same fashion too:
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/11yfw...50x3d_are_burn/

le ledditers started to do their own investigations and suspecting the cause to be asus mobo messing up their bios
https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/12uvc...urning_7000x3d/
https://www.reddit.com/r/hardware/comments/...or_their_x670e/

however, note that it's le reddit, better to wait for investigations from trusted sources such as GN instead of jumping the gun.

let's see if j2c gonna make a vid about this or not lmao
These kinda investigative review is more towards GN or Der8auer type of thing. Lets see who gets to post first but I like Roman ones as he does it from an indepth engineering perspective (similar to Buildzoid).
babylon52281
post Apr 26 2023, 09:37 AM

2,651 posts

Lets wait for Der8auer more indepth investigation. Even he says everything now is speculative and he has no comment to give without definitive proof (one reason why I trust his reviews).
babylon52281
post Apr 26 2023, 09:56 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(targon @ Apr 25 2023, 11:24 PM)
Updates:
https://wccftech.com/asus-says-latest-am5-b...000-cpu-damage/

Read update #2 in the article. They knew the issue before launch but being asked to keep QUIET.
A statement after the fact. If it were real why not reveal it beforehand, somemore that twitter said he was not NDA tied so in fact got nothing to lose if he had knew it. Internally AMD might or might not known it, but if Asus & others knew they would have taken some sort of legal or technical precautions as such a case would have been very damaging to their reputation on top of the RMA costs.

Clearly something did not happen or might just be an isolated matter where a bios or firmware update would resolve yet people will blow it to Intel's Meltdown/Spectre proportions. In a way its kinda AMD's Meltdown. Literally.

But honestly AMD is starting to turn into a chip designer & system integrator (ie ARM) and no longer a hardware maker. Their control over hardware is becoming shakier and bad things are popping up when their CPU are paired with mobo and unpredicted/untested scenarios occur.

Technically Ryzen is a engineering direction which CPU tech should evolve towards, but its sad that AMD lacks Intel's control of integration with everything else otherwise they would be way ahead of Intel today.
babylon52281
post Apr 28 2023, 09:05 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Apr 28 2023, 07:25 AM)
https://hwbusters.com/cpu/amd-ryzen-7000-se...d-on-real-data/

RMA rates of the 7000 series are lower than those of the 5000 series
Comparatively in the same period, 7000series sold much less compared to 5000series. The less you sell, the less problems you get.
babylon52281
post May 3 2023, 09:00 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(solarmystic @ Apr 30 2023, 02:37 PM)
Really nice vid from tech Jesus, they have truly outdone themselves this time.

What's not so nice is the evasive and misleading responses given by both AMD and the mobo manufacturer to GN, trying to sweep the problem under the carpet and putting the blame on the end-user for their OWN fuckups.
In a way, it is their own fault? EXPO, like XMP, is a form of OCing which is not guaranteed nor warrantied by the hardware makers, so anything that is out of JEDEC spec is a basically OC and technically it is a user choice to enable EXPO/XMP.

Tho its a very sleazy move if they really hide behind that legal technicality and not honour affected users or permanently fix the issue.

AMD, it seems to me, has turn into a chip design company and would appear to no longer have full control over their hardware & related 3rd party hardwares.

Intel, despite being slammed for their tight & restrictive controls on their gear and attitudes towards AIBs, would seem to avoid these issues thru tighter controls on their vendors, with fewer such technical cockups other than the highly variable choice of VRMs sufficient for full CPU support.
babylon52281
post May 11 2023, 01:32 AM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(targon @ May 10 2023, 09:25 PM)
To summarized , if u ever ended up with a LOUSY silicon and it can't tolerate the voltage it's being fed into, then this meltdown is more likely to happen.
Seems to justify what i had already guessed earlier. It's not first time. Happens to all Zen Cpu's with crap silicon quality. More likely to inhibit/cause platform instability one way or another.

What's da point in him bashing Asus ?? It's ZEN architecture he shld be commenting on.
Shhh!! Can't bash Zen uarch as this never happen in 1000-3000-5000 series and they have spent too many years praising Zen while hitting Intel. For science sake I'd love to see if someone could replicate this phenomena with a 5800x3d and a Asus mobo.

Permanent damage on CPU & mobo? Note to self; never to buy 7000series + X570/B650/A620 mobos in the used market few years down the road.
babylon52281
post May 11 2023, 11:29 PM

2,651 posts

QUOTE(targon @ May 11 2023, 10:23 AM)
How do u know it never happen?  Have u used Zen before? Those lower than normal silicon. It may not lead to burnouts but induce other forms of platform instability. I did owned few of those zens in the past and I know how they behave normally and what will happened if the silicon is lousy.
Bruh, if the cookoff will happen all those reviewers would have jump on this a long time ago. I dunno.
Could the cookoff only related to Asus mobo and others no problem? I dunno.
Maybe Zen1,2,3 DOCP is using intel XMP so the SOC V setting is more conservative than EXPO way of driving more V into the CPU as the Asus one did.

9 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.2385sec    0.82    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th November 2025 - 10:21 PM