AMD Ryzen, AM4 / AM5 Platform

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 08:25 AM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 12 2021, 11:58 PM)
Just received the PC... just curious why GPU is connected with pcie 4.0? I thought 5700G support pcie 3.0 only?

is it because Proc <-- pcie 3.0 --> B550 <-- pcie 4.0 --> GPU?
can do benchmark and share here?
cinebench etc. with temperature.

I have a feeling that the 5800X is the bad bin while the 5700 is the good bin in this case laugh.gif

more or less same clock speed, lower TDP even though it comes with IGP, 100USD cheaper (or rather what the 5800X should have costed bangwall.gif bangwall.gif )

This post has been edited by EBBattlefield: Jun 14 2021, 08:26 AM
Bonchi
post Jun 14 2021, 09:59 AM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Jun 14 2021, 01:03 AM)
Shoot, I used PEA size on 5950x paired with Dark Rock Pro 4. How did you apply it? Cross?
After countless tries and tests, 5 small dots seems to work best.

llk
post Jun 14 2021, 11:51 AM

4,158 posts

Mine..lol

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 12:25 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(Bonchi @ Jun 14 2021, 09:59 AM)
After countless tries and tests, 5 small dots seems to work best.

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 14 2021, 11:51 AM)
Mine..lol

xxboxx
post Jun 14 2021, 12:37 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Mine..lol

Tribute to The Verge guy? tongue.gif
llk
post Jun 14 2021, 12:57 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jun 14 2021, 12:37 PM)
Tribute to The Verge guy? tongue.gif
Thermal paste so cheap lol.gif

Btw gonna try out brand new Arctic MX-5 soon when the parcel arrived.
SSJBen
post Jun 14 2021, 01:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

Lol I just do this.

The chiplets are under the Ryzen and the IO is under the serials. Just do a H spread and call it a day. Did this on a 3900x, did the same on a 5900x. Tried with D15s, tried with asetek AIOs, tried with EK blocks, they've always produced the best results.

Temps has never been an issue on my system.

And also to sai, please revert BIOS back to 3401. Latest BIOS has a nasty bug, been reported numerous times on OCN.
John Chaser
post Jun 14 2021, 01:03 PM

685 posts

Mine..lol

Omg, hardcore!!!

On a more serious note, won't the excess paste spill over to the motherboard?
nrw
post Jun 14 2021, 01:06 PM

398 posts

lol am I the only guy spreading his paste in a very thin layer manually before slapping the block on?! or do you all have extremely convex or concave heatspreaders? laugh.gif

to thankyou what board is exactly being used? do you have to option to OC your ram in the BIOS and which options are available?
This is where you should be able to extract most performance.
Other than this you could check if curve overclocking is available as well, this would be a little interesting as well.
llk
post Jun 14 2021, 01:07 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(John Chaser @ Jun 14 2021, 01:03 PM)
Omg, hardcore!!!

On a more serious note, won't the excess paste spill over to the motherboard?
No it won't, viscosity of this thermal paste abit high, and also this is before i spread them evenly.
TristanX
post Jun 14 2021, 01:42 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(llk @ Jun 14 2021, 12:57 PM)
Thermal paste so cheap  lol.gif

Btw gonna try out brand new Arctic MX-5 soon when the parcel arrived.
I'm using this.

They are not cheap. Gotta stingy a bit.
Bonchi
post Jun 14 2021, 01:43 PM

KittehPowah
1,649 posts

QUOTE(nrw @ Jun 14 2021, 01:06 PM)
lol am I the only guy spreading his paste in a very thin layer manually before slapping the block on?! or do you all have extremely convex or concave heatspreaders? laugh.gif
I used to.. now lazy liao laugh.gif especially since temp difference is close to negligible especially with 5 small dots method.

Anyways I use MX4 and they seem to squish very evenly

This post has been edited by Bonchi: Jun 14 2021, 01:45 PM
llk
post Jun 14 2021, 03:03 PM

4,158 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jun 14 2021, 01:42 PM)
I'm using this.

They are not cheap. Gotta stingy a bit.
I'm using thermal grizzly kryonaut as well, but the new MX-5 so cheap, 8g less than MYR50 laugh.gif
thankyou
post Jun 14 2021, 04:24 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 14 2021, 08:25 AM)
can do benchmark and share here?
cinebench etc. with temperature.

I have a feeling that the 5800X is the bad bin while the 5700 is the good bin in this case  laugh.gif

more or less same clock speed, lower TDP even though it comes with IGP, 100USD cheaper (or rather what the 5800X should have costed  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif )
Okay, will run Cinebench tonight with everything stock. Will feedback the score and temp. Anything you would like to know feel free to ask... Will answer if it's within my knowledge...

QUOTE(nrw @ Jun 14 2021, 01:06 PM)

to thankyou what board is exactly being used? do you have to option to OC your ram in the BIOS and which options are available?
This is where you should be able to extract most performance.
Other than this you could check if curve overclocking is available as well, this would be a little interesting as well.
The board seems to be HP branded B550... It's pretty much locked down... You can do RAM OC via OMEN software (I'll share screenshot later).... and I read on reddit, anther possibility through Ryzen master? I'm not sure haven't downloaded...

BIOS also seems pretty much locked down... I will share CPU-Z screenshot later...

There's also no way to use "non-HP" branded RAM or else, it will run at default clock speed @ 2400MHz. Wanted to upgrade RAM to 32GB... so I guess I'll have to either find the HP part or forget about the upgrade...

Please find a snapshot of the motherboard and RAM.

This post has been edited by thankyou: Jun 14 2021, 04:38 PM

SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 04:30 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 14 2021, 04:24 PM)

welcome to buy OEM PC due to scalper season crowd laugh.gif laugh.gif
thankyou
post Jun 14 2021, 04:34 PM

1,941 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 14 2021, 04:30 PM)
welcome to buy OEM PC due to scalper season crowd  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
Yeah, will continue to use for a year at least.... worst case will upgrade/swap out the Proc/GC/PSU(800W Gold) for newer build later on...

Really cannot accept the RAM part... I needed > 16GB for VM purposes...

This post has been edited by thankyou: Jun 14 2021, 04:34 PM
SUSEBBattlefield
post Jun 14 2021, 04:37 PM

Ramadass Vijandren
637 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 14 2021, 04:34 PM)
Yeah, will continue to use for a year at least.... worst case will upgrade/swap out the Proc/GC/PSU(800W Gold) for newer build later on...

Really cannot accept the RAM part... I needed > 16GB for VM purposes...
my 2500K sandy bridge still working.
got 16GB DDR3 brows.gif brows.gif
JohnLai
post Jun 14 2021, 04:48 PM

Skeptical Cat
3,669 posts

QUOTE(EBBattlefield @ Jun 14 2021, 04:37 PM)
my 2500K sandy bridge still working.
got 16GB DDR3 brows.gif brows.gif

Same, uncle also still has 3570K ivy bridge (delidded, no liquid metal) OC to max 4.5Ghz all cores + 2 sticks of 8GB (16GB total) DDR3 9-9-9-27 1600Mhz.

The darn Meltdown mitigation sure hurts the performance since our ancient CPUs don't support PCID (process-context identifiers).
nrw
post Jun 14 2021, 05:56 PM

398 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Jun 14 2021, 04:24 PM)
[...]The board seems to be HP branded B550... It's pretty much locked down... You can do RAM OC via OMEN software (I'll share screenshot later)[...]

BIOS also seems pretty much locked down... I will share CPU-Z screenshot later...

There's also no way to use "non-HP" branded RAM or else, it will run at default clock speed @ 2400MHz. Wanted to upgrade RAM to 32GB... so I guess I'll have to either find the HP part or forget about the upgrade...

Please find a snapshot of the motherboard and RAM.
Useful info right there. Pretty sad that you can't utilize the strong IF on the 5700G
So for those who are out for an Cezanne they rather wait till Retail stocks arrives in just about less than 2 months time.

sai86
post Jun 14 2021, 05:59 PM

StilL LearninG
4,934 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 14 2021, 01:01 PM)

Lol I just do this.

The chiplets are under the Ryzen and the IO is under the serials. Just do a H spread and call it a day. Did this on a 3900x, did the same on a 5900x. Tried with D15s, tried with asetek AIOs, tried with EK blocks, they've always produced the best results.

Temps has never been an issue on my system.

And also to sai, please revert BIOS back to 3401. Latest BIOS has a nasty bug, been reported numerous times on OCN.
revert to 3401 no longer hit 90C during steam/origin download. rclxm9.gif
thanks alot to all sifu that gave advice as well. now i really need to open up as temp is not to my liking or ryzen 5900X is just that hot/warm even under water 70C+ is a norm??

475 Pages « < 407 408 409 410 411 > » Top

0.0403sec    1.29    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:25 PM